Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
H
Page 1 of 2

Go to 2nd page of Surname H

Use the Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames (Ctrl & F)

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing.

Page 219

HAEG, Charles was born in Germany, July 13, 1819. He learned the trade of cabinet maker, served three years in the German army, and in 1844, emigrated to the United States. Enlisted at Milwaukee, Wis., in September, 1845. Mr. Haeg enjoys the distinction of being a veteran of the Mexican war, serving under General Scott during the continuance of the war. In 1848 he was stationed at Fort Snelling, and, after a stay of six months was removed to Fort Ridgely. In 1851 he received his discharge, and in September of that year made a claim about five miles north of St. Anthony, living there until 1853, when he came to Richfield. In 1865 he purchased the farm on which he has since resided. Was married in 1856, to Mary Walter who died in 1866, leaving five children. Married for his second wife Albertina L. Adleman, by whom he has seven children all living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing.

Page 316

HAFFTEN, Carl, was born in Germany in 1828. H is father died in 1849, and in 1852, Carl went with his mother to Canada. In 1857, they moved to Minnesota, and settled in Greenwood, where he has since lived. He has a fine farm located near lakes Hafften and Scheudel. He has been engaged, for the past five seasons, in the manufacture of Amber Cane Syrup, turning out from eight hundred to one thousand gallons per year. In 1852, he married Maria Holtz of Germany. They have had sixteen children. Those living are: Charles, August, John, William, Louis, Albert, Robert, Emma, Frederick, Matilda, Henry and Mary.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing.

Page 555

HAGLIN, Charles F. of the firm of Haglin and Corser, architects, was born at Syracuse, Now York, in 1848. He studied the profession of architect at Syracuse, and in 1869, moved to Detroit, Michigan, remaining until the fall of the same year, when he went to Chicago, and in 1873, came to Minneapolis. He established an office in connection with Mr. Long, and in 1876, formed a partnership with Mr. Corser. Mr. Haglin drew the plans for the Minneapolis and St. Paul depot, also for the high school building, completed 1879.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing.

Page 555

HAIGHT, W. N. was born at Burlington, Vermont, in 1850. His early life was passed at St. Albans, of that state, and after the age of twelve years, he was there engaged in architecture and building. He located in Minneapolis in 1876, and has been successful in business. Mr. Haight built the Woman's Home, Col. Benton's residence and others.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 274

HAINES, B. C. was born in New Jersey, in 1820. Moved to Ohio and Pennsylvania; then came to Hennepin county in 1855, and made a claim in Medina. In 1863 he returned to Pennsylvania, and remained there until 1868, when he removed to his farm in Medina, and has lived there since. Married Lucy Ann Counselman, of Pennsylvania, in 1850. Six children have been born to them.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 219

HALL, Andrew N. was born in Maine November 1st, 1835. Remained with his parents until 1865 when he came west and located at Minneapolis, residing there until 1862, when he returned to Maine and enlisted in Company B of the 28th regiment Maine Infantry, serving one year. In 1866 he returned to Minneapolis, and purchased a farm of 72 acres in the town of Richfield. Resided in the city until 1872, since which time he has lived on his farm. Was married in 1875, to Eliza Caley. Their children are Albion and William.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 555

HALL, Christopher Webber was born in Wardsboro, Windham county, Vermont, February 28th, 1845. He remained with his parents on the farm, attending the village school, and for one or two terms the Leland and Gray Seminary, at Townsend, Vermont, until he began preparation for college at Chester Academy, Chester, Vermont. The expense of his preparatory course was paid by teaching penmanship. Entered Middlebury College in 1867, and graduated in 1871. Taught one year at Glen's Falls, New York; then came to Mankato, Minnesota, as principal of high school. In l873 he was elected superintendent of the Owatonna city schools, where he remained until his departure for Europe to pursue his scientific studies in the universities of Germany. July 27th, 1875, he married Nellie A., eldest daughter of Hon. M. H. Dunnell, of Owatonna, who shortly afterward accompanied him to Germany. She died at Leipzic, February 21st, 1876. After taking the degree of Doctor of Philosophy, Prof. Hall returned to America in December, 1877, and passed six weeks assisting Prof. Seeley, at the Middlebury, Vermont, College. In April, 1878, upon invitation of Prof. Winchell, he came to Minneapolis, and entered into work at the University of Minnesota, relieving that gentleman of his class-room duties that he might give his attention to the duties of the natural history survey of the state. In June following he was employed for one year with the duties indicated by the title of assistant state geologist, and later, the same year, was appointed professor of geology, mineralogy and biology, which position he has since held.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 316

HALL, W. W. was born in Quebec, Canada, in 1832 ; moved to Minnesota in 1855, and settled on a farm in Independence; sold it in 1866, and bought the one he now occupies. During the Indian troubles he moved to Rockford and worked on the stockade, which was built for protection of the settlers. He assisted in organizing the town of Independence, and held the office of supervisor for two years, and one year in Greenwood. He is now manufacturing amber cane syrup. Married in 1854, to Harriet Bishop. They have nine children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 556

HALL, William S. a native of England, was born in January, 1844. He came to America, in September, 1869, first locating at Philadelphia, and remaining there until 1871, when he returned to England. In 1873 he returned to America and removed to Hudson, Wisconsin, where he was in the employ of the West Wisconsin railroad until 1878; he then came to Minneapolis, and entered his present business, that of machinist. His marriage with Miss Alice Singleton was solemnized at Bury, England, in 1868. Their children are: Sarah A., John Wm., and Susan.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 349

HALLARON, M. J. a native of Ireland, was born September 9th, 1832. He emigrated to America in 1851, located in Cortland county, New York, and engaged in farming. In 1857 he came to St. Anthony, and that winter worked in the woods, and in 1855 made a claim one mile west of Cedar Lake. The summer of 1856 he worked on Lake Pepin, and that winter he was with Mr. Nash, in the hardware business. The following summer he was employed by Tufts, Reynolds and Co. Mr. Hallaron was married, December 20th, 1858, to Catharine Wallace. They removed to the farm, and remained until, November, 1862, when they came to Minneapolis, and he engaged in the dray and express business for fourteen years. In 1878 he moved to his farm, and erected all the buildings. They have six children: John, Mary, Nellie, James, Katie, and Agnes.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 556

HALLER, J. G. pastor of the Evangelical Mission, was born in New York, in 1858, moved to Michigan in 1864, and was converted at twelve. He attended district school until fourteen years of age, then took a clerkship in a mercantile house for a few months; it not being congenial to his tastes, left it and fitted for college in the high school. At sixteen entered the Northwestern college, at Napierville, Illinois, and graduated in three years. Came to Minnesota in 1877, taught school seven months, in Stearns county, and in 1878 joined the Minnesota conference and was stationed on the Dakota circuit, twenty-fiver miles south of St. Paul, laboring jointly with the Rev. Mr. Manthey. In the spring of 1879 stationed at the Minneapolis Mission, when failing health almost compelled him to abandon the ministry, but feeling a stronger obligation to his Master than to himself, he persevered until health returned.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 556

HALLING, Lorentz a native of Sweden, was born in 1839. He came to the United States in 1867, residing in New York one year where he was employed as tailor. After visiting cities in Wisconsin and Michigan, he located at Winona,. Minnesota, where he remained two and one-half years. In 1871, he removed to Minneapolis, where he opened a saloon and has since resided. Mr. Halling married Julia Danielson, in 1870. Their children are Hjalmar, Nellie, Jessie, and Florence.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 556

HAMLIN, Hobart, O. son of Oliver Hamlin, was born at Salem, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, June 29tb, 1832. Mr. Hamlin moved to St. Anthony, Minnesota Territory, in 1854, and has since resided at the Falls. In the fall of 1856, he engaged in the mercantile business with Alpheus Rowell, and in common with many others during the trying period of 1857, he met with severe financial reverses. In that year he was elected the first auditor of Hennepin county, but soon resigned his position and, in 1861, was elected clerk of the district court, which office he filled four years. In 1877, he formed a partnership with Zelora E. Brown, and they have since been successfully engaged in the real estate, loan and insurance business. Mr. Hamlin's and Miss Anna Rocke's nuptials were celebrated, September 28th, 1862., Their children are: Grant G., Oliver C., George B., Ernest T. Kate and Hobart O.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 556

HAMM, Henry a native of Germany, was born in 1846. He came to the United States, in 1873, locating in Philadelphia, and very soon enlisted in the Ninety-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers, in which he served eight months. He returned to Philadelphia, where he engaged in blacksmithing until 1867. He established his saloon business in Minneapolis in 1879. He was married to Lizzie Freideger in 1872, and have three children, Annie, Maggie and Lillie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 274

HAMEL, J. O. was born in Quebec, in 1839. He was educated at the Seminary of Quebec, the oldest College in the town. In 1857 he moved to Minnesota and settled in Hennepin county, near what is known as Lenz. When he came it was a wilderness. In 1863, he went to Montana; returned in 1868, and established his store at Long Lake; the first one in this part of the county; the post office of Lenz was transferred to him at that time.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 556

HAMMOND, William was born in Oakfield, Wisconsin, May 22d, 1847. He came to Minneapolis in 1870 and worked at lumbering ten years. In July, 1880, he established a saloon business at 21 Nicollet Avenue.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 556

HAMNSTROM, C. J. was born May 16th, 1843, in Sweden. He learned the trade of shoemaker at an early age, and continued in that avocation until 1865, when he came to the United States, proceeding directly to Minnesota. Four years he was engaged in the pursuit of his trade in different parts of the state, thence came to Minneapolis. In 1874, he opened an establishment and has since been very successful in the manufacture of boots and shoes. Mr. Hamnstrom was married in 1866 to Miss Barbara Larsom, of Sweden. They have four children, Preston, David, Lydia and Elizabeth.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 557

HANCE, Samuel F. physician and surgeon, was born at Macedon, Wayne county, New York, July 1st, 1825. He was educated at Canandaigua, New York, also at Wesleyan University of Lima. He studied and graduated as M. D. at the Albany Medical College, and has been in continuous practice since. In 1862, he entered the army as surgeon of the Eighty-ninth Illinois Infantry, and was successively promoted brigade surgeon, and division medical director, in General McCook's corps. On account of ill-health, he served only two years. He located, at Minneapolis in 1872, and has practiced here since. Dr. Hance is a member of the State Medical, Society of Minnesota. He and Miss Sarah Wright were united in matrimony, in 1855. They have one child, Elizabeth.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 349

HANKE, Christopher a native of Germany, was born in 1826. He emigrated to America in 1854; and lived in Ohio until 1857, when he came here, for two years he rented a farm, and in 1864 purchased 205 acres on section 5, 6 and 7, and has since resided there. He was married in Germany, November 9th, 1851, to Miss Stammen. They are the parents of five children. Mr. Hanke makes a specialty of raising full blood Jersey cattle, Chester White and Poland China swine. He has one of the finest farms in Hennepin county; his barn, built in 1876, is 88x36 feet, and four stories high; it is considered the second best in the county; he also has a granary 73x24 feet, three stories high; the whole place is a model of neatness. Mrs. Hanke annually manufactures 2,000 pounds of fine butter for private customers.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 557

HANKINSON, Richard was born at Grand Rapids, Michigan, in 1842. He lived on a farm until 1861, when he enlisted in Company D, Eighth Michigan Volunteer Infantry. He was wounded at Wilmington Island in 1862, and was discharged in 1863, on account of his wounds. He re-enlisted in the Thirteenth Michigan Light Artillery and served till the close of the war. He came to Minneapolis in 1865 and entered the service of the North-western Telegraph company, and has since been in their employ. He was line builder and repairer four years; for three years was superintendent of construction, and since has been assistant general superintendent. He organized the North-western Telephone Exchange company in 1878, and was elected general manager, serving as such until March 1880.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 557

HANSON, George A. was born at Southbridge, Worcester county, Massachusetts, in 1842. He received an academic education and a course in Thompson, Connecticut, College. In 1861, he enlisted in Company H, Fifty-first Massachusetts nine-months' volunteers, and was discharged at the expiration of the time. After his discharge he engaged in the mercantile business until coming to Minneapolis, in 1875. The next year he was employed as general agent of the Norristown agricultural works until 1878, when he entered the Minneapolis Harvester works, as general superintendent, where he has since remained. Mr. Hanson's marriage with Miss Carrie Lewis occurred at Southbridge, August, 1861. Their children now living are George, Frank and Edgar.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 557

HANSON, J. D. was born October 30th, 1826, at St. Stevens, Charlotte county, New Brunswick. At nine years of age he apprenticed as a black-smith, and has since engaged in the business. He came to Minneapolis in 1877, and two years later built the shop he now occupies. Having formed a partnership with his son, the firm is now known as J. D. Hanson and Son. He was married June 13th, 1848, to Miss Susan Tourtillott who bore him four sons and three daughters.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 557

HARGRAVES. J. W. was born in New York, and at an early age moved with his parents to Wisconsin. At the age of twelve he removed to Decorah, Iowa, and while there acquired a knowledge of milling. In 1877, he removed to Lanesboro, where he remained three years; he then came to Minneapolis. Mr. Hargraves was married in 1878, to Miss Augusta Jordan, who bore him one child, James C.

 

History of Goodhue County, Red Wing, MN 1878.    


HARN, E.L.
was born in Sidney, Shelby county, Ohio on August 24, 1836. Moved with parents to Elkhart county, Indiana in 1845. In 1851 he went to Chicago and was engaged in milling until 1866, when he came to Minneapolis and engaged as head miller in the Island Mill for a number of years, then in the Cataract Mill at the same place. In 1871 he went to Winona where he was engaged in Otto Frosts' mill for two years and in September 1873 to Red Wing, and has since been engaged as head miller in the mills of Red Wing Mill Company. Married Miss Z. St. John in Cass county, Michigan in April of 1865. She was a native of New York State. Their children are Hattie B., Lottie M., Arthur and an infant not named.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 244

HARRINGTON, John S. born in Canada East, August 11th, 1815. Moved to Western Reserve, Ohio, where he attended school. Then traveled through a part of Illinois, Wisconsin and Iowa. In 1854, came to Minnetonka, and made a claim to the farm on which he now lives, known as "Lake Side Home." Has been a member of the town board several times. Married Minerva Hoagland, December 23d, 1842. Has six children now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 557

HARRIS, Ariel C. attorney at law, was born at Toledo, Ohio, November 30th, 1855. He was educated in the Toledo high school and University of California. He read law in the law department of Michigan University in the class of 1876. After practicing in Detroit, Michigan, for a time he removed to Texas, in 1877, thence to this city in the summer of 1879. Mr. Harris was manager of the Saturday Evening Spectator one year, when he opened his law office and has since practiced his profession.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 557

HARRIS, S. A. cashier of the North-western National Bank, first came to this city in 1868. From 1870 until April, 1880, he field positions in the different banking institutions in the city. At the latter date he was elected to his present position.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 290

HARRISON, C. W. born in Essex county, New York, in 1825. He remained there engaged in farming until 1871, when he came to Minnesota, and settled in Minneapolis, being part of the time in the lumber trade, and finally moved to his farm in Brooklyn. Married in 1852, Ruth A. Stickney. They have two children, Abbie A. and Clifton D. Abbie was married January 1877, to William Sloan; Clifton married Elva Moscript in 1879.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 557

HARRISON, H. G. was born at Belleville, St. Clair county, Illinois, April, 1822. He remained at his native place until 1859, when he came to Minneapolis and engaged in lumbering, and organized the firm of J. Dean and Company. When the Security Bank was established, Mr. Harrison became its vice-president, which office he has since held. He was the second person who engaged in the wholesale grocery business in this city: he opened with a partner, B. S. Bull, in 1863. After a period of eight years a new partnership was formed with George R. Newell, which was dissolved in 1879. Mr. Harrison was married in 1847, to Miss Irene A. Robinson, who died in 1876. Their children are Edwin, George, Lewis, Hugh and Perry. Mr. Harrison remarried to Miss Lizzie Hunt, who bore him one child, James G.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 254

HARRISON, J. J. born in Erie, Pennsylvania, 1848. Moved to Juneau county, Wisconsin, where he lived until he came to Minnesota in 1874, settling in Excelsior in 1877. In 1878 he bought the blacksmith shop which he is now operating. Married in Juneau county, Wisconsin, to Abbie Dutton. They have three children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 229

HARRISON, Joseph was born in Ireland, 1815. Emigrated to Canada in 1818. Settled in Kings ton. Married in 1840 to Miss H. Cook, of Kingston. Had thirteen children, nine of whom are living: Cecilia, Amelia, Elizabeth A., Martha J., Frances May, Charlotte, William A., Harriet M., Clement D., Hulda C., Abbie, Eva, Edith Hope. Came to Minnesota in 1854, and moved to his present home in 1874. Has held the office of town supervisor and school director for several years. Has land valued at $7,000.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 244

HARRISON, Capt. N.H. born in Petersburgh, Virginia, in 1822. Moved to Hennepin county in 1855, and settled on what is now known as "Harrison Bay," Upper Lake Minnetonka, and remained there eleven years. Went to Excelsior for about two years, and then returned to the Upper Lake, where he has since lived. Is a ship carpenter by trade, having built the steamers "Mary" ,"May Queen," and "City of Minneapolis," and the sail boat "Coquette." Was one of the first white settlers on Upper Lake Minnetonka.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 558

HARRISON, Thomas A. was born in St. Clair county, Illinois, December 18th, 1811. He lived on a farm until sixteen years of age, when he moved with his father to Belleville, Illinois, and worked in a flour mill which his father had purchased. In 1860, Mr. Harrison removed to Minneapolis to join his two brothers who had preceded him. Two years later he entered into partnership with his brothers, and J. Dean, forming the well-known firm of J. Dean and Company, and carried on an extensive lumber trade. When the Security Bank came into existence Mr. Harrison was elected its president, which high trust he still retains. His marriage with Miss Rebecca Green was solemnized in November 1840. Four children were born to them.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by Wayne C. Blesi. waybliss@aol.com


Paster Henry Hartig
(Click to enlarge)

HARTIG, Paster Henry,  Paster of St.Fridolin's Lutheran Church of New Schwanden.
Pastor Henry Hartig of Minneapolis, MN. was the Pastor of St. Petrie Lutheran Church of Minneapolis and also served the St. Fridolin's Lutheran Church of New Schwanden, Hennepin County, MN. Dayton and Champlin Townships. He served from 1899 until 1935. Pastor Hartig held the last Confirmation Class on Aug.21,1932. He would preach from the start only 2 Sundays per month. He would take his horse and buggy to Champlin on Saturday to the Weber residence of Champlin to stay overnight and then go to the Church for his services in the morning and then return to Minneapolis, MN.  At first the services were held only in Swiss-German and later on in the early 1920's held one service in German and the second service of the month in English. In 1935 He retired from the ministry and Pastor G.W. Busse served from 1935 until 1951 when the Church ceased to function and closed. The Church was sold for residential purposes and the funds placed into the perpetual care funds for the St. Fridolin Cemetery located in Champlin Township. The Church was located in Dayton Township across Goose Lake Rd. Pastor Busse then took up residence in Ohio with the Christian Missionary Alliance Church. This yellow brick faced Church of New Schwanden was built in 1897 and dedicated on Jan.1,1898. The brick was made in Dayton, MN of which other building used the same kind of brick in the area.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 558

HARTMANN, Philip a native of Germany, was born in 1846. He came to the United States in 1854, locating in Scott, county, Minnesota. Ten years later he removed to Minneapolis, where he was employed in Morrison Brothers saw-mills, until 1874, when he opened a saloon, billiard-hall and summer gardens, at his present location. Mr. Hartmann married Katie Pauly, in 1872, who bore him five children. Those living are: Adolph, Philip and Annie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 254

HARVEY, William born in Scotland, 1813. Moved to America in 1850. Settled in Broome county, N. Y., then moved to McLean county, Illinois. Came to Hennepin county in 1854, and took a claim in Excelsior, on which he has since lived. Married 1835, in Scotland, to Isabel Miller. Had one child that died in Scotland.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 558

HASHOW, Charles C. a native of France, was born in 1843. He became familiar with the machinist's trade, in his native country. In 1862, he came to America and superintended several copper mines on Lake Superior. He invested largely in mining stock, but in the financial panic after the war, he lost heavily and. was left destitute. He walked from La Belle to Houghton, sixty-eight miles, then went by boat to Green Bay, thence to Chicago, where he found employment, which was furnished him by the North-western Manufacturing Company. In 1865, he came to Minneapolis, and was engaged as foreman in the Minneapolis Iron-Works ten years, then began business for himself once more. Mr. Hashow married Miss Mary Crickler, in 1866. Their children are: Charles and Louise.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 282

HASTY, R.H. was born in York county, Maine, December 12th, 1823. Came to Minnesota in 1849, and settled in Stillwater, where he followed he lumbering business till June 14th, 1862, when he enlisted in the Sixth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, and was appointed Lieutenant by Gov. Marshall. He crossed the plains with General Sibley in his campaigns against the Indians. On returning, charge was given film of the convalescent department at Fort Goodhue. He was appointed Drill Sargent to the drafted men at Fort Snelling; was relieved July, 1864, and joined his regiment at Helena, Arkansas. Before leaving, Gov. Marshall appointed him Lieutenant. At Helena he found half of the officers sick, which obliged him to do double duty. He was taken with fever, obtained sick leave, and came to Minnesota. He was honorably discharged in 1865, and again engaged in the lumbering business, until 1880. He is now manufacturing brick in Crystal Lake.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 558

HASTINGS, W. H. was born in Elmira, Chemung county, New York. He came west with his parents who located at Red Wing, Minnesota. Here he remained and was engaged six years in the flouring mills. After pursuing his trade, in the states of Michigan and Wisconsin, he returned to Minnesota and was employed in the Galaxy mills of this city, as stone dresser. He was married May 30th, 1871 to Miss Bessie Kendall. They are parents of one child, Bernice.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 558 

HAUSCHILD, Henry a native of Germany, was born in 1848. He came to America in 1867, and lived two years in southern Minnesota, when he removed to this city. In the spring of 1880, he became proprietor of the present sample room and billiard hall. Mr. Hauschild and Miss Jennie Stremel were married in 1872. They have two children, Oscar and John.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 558

HAUSE, J. F. was born at Tyrone, Schuyler county, New York, July 12th, 1850. He came to Minneapolis in 1870, and after working three years for Mr. Heffelfinger became his partner in the boot and shoe trade. Two years later he opened a shoe store and in 1875, sold a share to Mr. Davis; this firm continued until April, 1880, when Mr. Davis sold and was succeeded by Mr. Chesnut. The firm is now known as. Hause and Chesnut.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 558

HAUSER, Jacob was born in Germany in 1829. He came to the United States in 1853, locating first in Wisconsin; during the same year he went to California, where he remained three years, when he came to Minneapolis and at once opened a grocery store. He is one of the oldest grocers in the city. Mr. Hauser was married in 1857, to Catherine Holloran, a native of Ireland. Their children are Catherine, Johanna and John.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 296

HAVILAND, Chancy was born in Lenawee county, Michigan in 1843. When the war broke out he enlisted in Company A, Fourth Michigan Cavalry. Was under Grant and Sherman, and was with the latter in his march to the sea. He was honorably discharged at Nashville, Tennessee in 1864, and re-enlisted in the Third Michigan Light Artillery, Battery C, and served till the close of the war. He was in Washington at the Grand Review, and was honorably discharged at Detroit, Michigan. He went to Indianapolis, Indiana, learned the profession of railroad engineer and followed it for eight years. Came to Minnesota and settled in Champlin, where he worked as engineer; also in Anoka in the same business, and finally settled in Osseo. In 1861 he married Martha Powers. They have one child living: Etta.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 296

HAVILAND, Eli was born in Lenawee county, Michigan in 1836. He came to Hennepin county in 1857, settled near Osseo and started blacksmithing here in 1859. He enlisted in 1862 in Company F, Minnesota Mounted Rangers; served nine months and was honorably discharged at Fort Snelling. He sold his interest in the shop and began farming, followed it a short time, and then was engaged in mercantile business for one year in Osseo; he afterward went back to his old trade in Champlin for three years, and finally located at Osseo in 1879. He was married in 1855 to Lavina Lee. They have two children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 219

HAWKES, James was born in Yorkshire, England, May 6th, 1820. In 1844 he came to America. In 1854 he came to Minnesota and preempted a farm of 120 acres in Richfield, where he resided until his death. Mr. Hawkes formed one of the Company who in 1862 marched to the relief of Fort Ridgely under Capt. Northrup. In 1863 he enlisted in the First Minnesota Infantry, and served in the First Battalion until discharged in 1865. He was with his company in several of most severe engagements of the war, and was wounded June 1864, for which he received a pension. He was married in 1839 to Mary Ann Holdsworths. The family record is: Harriet, Henry Thomas, David H., John W., Emma J., Alfred, Charles Lincoln. Five children have died. Mr. Hawkes came to his death in Minneapolis Sept. 29th, 1880 by a fall from his wagon. He was one of the pioneers of Richfield, and was respected by all who knew him.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 310

HAWKINS, Horatio a native of England, was born in 1827. He learned the trade of shoemaking. In 1853 he emigrated to America, moved to Minnesota and settled in Crystal Lake. In 1856 he came to Hassan, and in 1858 made a claim, where he has since lived. In 1864 he enlisted in Eleventh Minnesota, Company G, went south and was discharged in June, 1865. He was married in England to Martha Powell, in the year 1850. They have five children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 310

HAWKINS, Jasper was born in England, in 1829. He emigrated to America in 1853, and moved directly to St. Anthony, where he worked as clerk eighteen months, for John G. Lennon. In 1854 he bought a claim in Crystal Lake, and held it fifteen months. Made a claim in Hassan in 1855, and has since lived here. In 1862 he enlisted in Ninth Minnesota, Com any B, was clerk in Quartermasters department a few months, and was then ordered to General Commandery Central District of Missouri; joined his regiment as clerk for Col. Marsh, until discharged at Davenport, Iowa, in 1865. He was married in 1869, to Alice M. Mattey. Four children, have been born to them.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 326

HAWKINS, Leonard L. was a native of New Hampshire. In 1829 he married Olivia P. Wright, at Keene, New Hampshire. He lived in Vermont until he came to Minneapolis in 1856. For two years he had charge of the tollgate near the University. Mr. Hawkins died in 1863, and Mrs. H. resides in Minneapolis with her daughter, Mrs. G. W. Chowen.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 326

HAWKINS, S.S. was born September 12th, 1842, at East Highgate, Vermont, and lived there twenty-two years. He went to Minneapolis in 1856, remained there until 1859, then located in Maple Grove. He was married August 29th, 1864, to Mary Woodworth. He is traveling for O. S. Rixford, of East Highgate, Vermont; has been in the business for twelve years, traveling winters, and spending summers at home. They have four children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 558

HAWTHONE, E. P. (possibly a typo and name should be HAWTHORNE) was born at Huntington, New York, in 1842. He came to St. Paul in 1861, and immediately opened a farm of 160 acres in Richfield, Hennepin county. He, however, still resided in St. Paul, remaining there until 1866, when he removed and located on his farm. There he remained ten years at the expiration of which, he removed with his family to Minneapolis and rented the firm, which he still owns. Mr. Hawthorne and Miss Rebecca Giles were married in 1866. Their children are Meredith, Harry and William.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 254

HAY, August born in New York city, 1850. Moved to Minneapolis in 1867, and embarked in the meat business, which he followed until 1880, when he located at Excelsior in the same business. Married in 1877 to Caroline Thaler, of New York City. Is the father of one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 349

HAYES, J.W. was born in 1853 at Watertown, Jefferson county, Wisconsin. In 1866 he moved to Steams county, Minnesota, and engaged in farming; he came to Minneapolis in May, 1875 and worked for G. McPeters until he bought him out in 1877, since which time he has conducted the Lyndale Dairy in partnership with Mr. Mathison; they own fifty-three cows, and are doing a successful business. Mr. Hayes was married in May, 1879, to Miss Glenen of Wisconsin.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 559

HAYES, John born in June, 1819, is a descendant of William Hayes and Julia Ryan, of Ireland. He came to America in 1847, remaining a short time in New York, then came to St. Anthony, in 1856. Mr. Hayes was one of the early settlers, and was obliged to endure the hardships of pioneer life. He pursued his avocation, that of a carpenter until May, 1861, when he engaged in the grocery business in which he has since continued. Mr. Hayes was married in Chicago, July 8th, 1855, to Miss Margaret Hardy. They have eight children, all of whom are living at home except two daughters, who are at the convent in St. Paul.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 559

HAYS, Lambert a native of Germany, was born December 25th, 1841. He came to Albany, New York with his parents, where they lived three years. After living five years in Wisconsin, he removed to St. Anthony, where he engaged in the bakery business in which he continued until 1871. He then opened his First and Last Chance sample room at his Present location. He has also been a member of the city fire department several years. Mr. Hays was married in 1864. Their children are, Katie, Theodore, Lambert, Lizzie, Joseph, Mary, and Albert.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 559

HAYES, M. P. was born at Limerick, Maine, in 1829. He went to Brighton, Massachusetts, where he was employed as salesman in a meat market, remaining about seven years. In the fall of 1854, he came to St. Anthony and opened a meat market which he kept until 1865, when in company with H. M. Martin, he established the old St. Anthony Iron Works. In 1876 they took another partner, C. R. Bushnell, and continued business until 1879, when their works were destroyed by fire. In 1876, Mr. Hayes. in company with T. F. Andrews built the block occupied by N. B. Harwood and company. Three years later they built four elevators. Mr. Hayes was married at Limerick, Maine, in 1855, to Miss Elizabeth Stimson. Their children are Ellen E., Carrie A., Emma and Frank M.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing

Page 559

HAYFORD, George was born at Farmersville, Cataraugus,county, New York, in 1843. He came to this city in 1865, and was employed by Judd and Brackett in the Washburn B mill, since which time he has been engaged in the different mills of the city, occupying the position of head miller, grinder, and stone-dresser. Mr. Hayford was married to Miss Ardilla Stillman from his old home in New York, in 1864. They have one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, North Star Publishing.

Page 559

HAYNES, O. F. was born November 7th, 1845, at Wilmington, Vermont. He learned the trade of blacksmith, and since his locating in Minneapolis, has been engaged in the pursuit of his avocation. He was married November 12th, 1865, to Angie E. Bowen, born at Jamaica, Vermont, in 1848. They have two children, Lillian A., and Freddie E.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 219

HAYWOOD, Jesse is a native of England, born May 10th, 1840. Remained in England, engaged in the Manufacture of woolen Goods until 1872, when he came to America, landed at Quebec, thence by lake to Duluth, going from there to Clay county, Minnesota, where he purchased a half section of land. In 1874 he came to Hennepin county, and has since been engaged as florist with Mr. Booth, at Minnehaha.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 559

HAZER, James. H. was born at Albany, New York, in l838. At the age of sixteen he acquired a knowledge of engineering at Troy, New York, where he remained until 1857, when he went to Hartford, Connecticut. In 1862 he enlisted in the First Connecticut Cavalry, and was with the army of the Potomac until 1865, when he was discharged. In 1874 he removed to Minneapolis, and took charge of the Monitor Plow Works engine four years; then of the Nicollet House engine until November, 1879, since which time he has had control of the Corliss engine at elevator "A.". Mr. Hazer was married to Miss Annie Travis, of Madelia, Minnesota, in 1865. Their children are Frank and Clarence.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 296

HECHTMAN, John a native of Germany, was born in 1828, and came to America in 1832. He settled in Erie, Pennsylvania, and lived there until 1849, when he went to California for two years; returned to Erie, and in 1857 came to Minneapolis. When the war broke out he was in Pennsylvania looking after his oil interests; he enlisted with the three months men, afterwards with the three years men in the Eighty-third Pennsylvania regiment; was wounded at the battle of the Wilderness in 1864, and honorably discharged at Harrisburgh, September 1864. He established the present general store at Osseo in 1865. Married his second wife, Augusta Schmidt in 1869, by whom he has had five children. Two sons were born to him by his first wife; both are now in Colorado.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 559

HECKRICH, Fred born in 1843, is a native of Germany. He came to this city in 1867, and for six years was engaged as a painter. Since that time he has been the proprietor of his present restaurant and sample room. For several years he has been a member of the fire department. Mr. Heckrich was married in 1869, to Caroline Figge, who bore him three children: Freddie, Charles, and Mattie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 560

HEDDERLY, D. G. son of one of the earliest pioneers of this region, was born in Minneapolis, March 16th, 1856, where he has always lived. After receiving his education, Mr. Hedderly was employed by the Trades Manufacturing Company as harness maker, until he became familiar with the trade; afterward, by George Calladine. In 1875 he opened a grocery store, and has since been having a fine trade. Mr. Hedderly's marriage with Lillian A. Foster was solemnized in 1877. They have one daughter, Zetta V.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 559


(click for larger image)
HEDDERLY, EDWIN one of the earliest pioneers, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1814. He was engaged in mercantile pursuits in his native place until 1846, when he located in Indianapolis, Indiana, and was connected with the business interests of that place. In 1849 he came to St. Anthony, which at that time, like St. Paul, was only an Indian trading post. In 1851 he took a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in what is now known as West Minneapolis. He was connected with the various committees appointed for the purpose of naming and laying out the streets and boundaries of this city. His first business experience here was in the firm of Hedderly and Chambers, grocers; next as Hedderly and Roach, hardware dealers; then as Hedderly and Vroman, and last as E. Hedderly, druggist, in which business he continued until his death in June, 1880. He was prominently connected with the interests of this locality for thirty-one years. He was married to Mary J. Kennard, of Philadelphia. Their living children are: Angeline E., Emma, Theresa J., George W., Edwin P., Charlotte C., Thomas L., Alfred H., Daniel G., and Josie J.

OBITUARY - Minneapolis Journal - June 1, 1880

EDWIN HEDDERLY'S DEATH

The many friends of Edwin Hedderly were shocked, yesterday afternoon, by the sad announcement of his death, in Boston. Several weeks ago, Mr. Hedderly left this city for the East to submit to an operation for the removal of stone in the bladder. The operation was successfuly performed in the Massachasetts hospital, in Boston, and for a time the patient seemed to be doing well. Yesterday morning however, Dr. Hedderly, his son, received a dispatch stating that he was sinking rapidly. This was followed by a second message announcing his death, which occured at 4:40 p.m.

Mr. Hedderly was among the early settlers of this city, where he engaged for years in the hardware business. He was also a county commissioner for some length of time. Upright and intelligent, he was greatly esteemed by all who knew him and his death will be regretted by a large circle of acquaintances.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 560


Thomas Lupton Hedderly
(click for large image)

HEDDERLY, T. L. was born in this city, April 2d, 1852, and was a son of the old pioneer, Edwin Hedderly, and is one of the first white boys born in this locality. Mr. Hedderly received his education in Minneapolis, and studied dentistry with Doctor Bowman, which profession he has practiced six years. He was married in 1875, to Miss Jessie McGregor, of Black River Falls, Wisconsin. Their children are: Duncan, Roy and Edwin.

 

Obituary: Made available to The USGenWeb Archives by: Kathryn Kelly

HEDDING, Mrs. Anna K. Obituary of Mrs. Anna K. Hedding, Minneapolis Tribune, p. 20, Wednesday, October 16, 1940 Mrs. Anna K. Hedding Burial: St. Mary’s cemetery. Widow of the late Simeon E. Hedding. Born: Stafford, N. Y. Resident of Mpls for 60 years. Sons: Charles A. of St. Paul and Simeon A. of Beverly Hills, Calif. Daughters: Mary L. Hedding, Mrs. E. E. MacGibbon, and Mrs. Ruth H. Geddes, all of Minneapolis, and Mrs. A. R. Rheinberger of St. Paul; 16 grandchildren, and 10 great-grandchildren.

 

Death Notice: Made available to The USGenWeb Archives by: Kathryn Kelly

HEDDING, Mae O. Death notice of Mae O. Hedding, Minneapolis Tribune, Saturday, October 20, 1973 Mae O. Hedding - Age 88 years Sons: R. P. Hedding of Los Angeles, Calif.,S. W.Hedding of Brooklyn Center. Grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Services: Werness Brothers Funeral Chapel. 3700 Nicollet Av Mass:St. Olaf’s Catholic Church, 8th St and 2nd av s. Interment:St. Mary Cemetery.

 

Death Notice: Made available to The USGenWeb Archives by: Kathryn Kelly

HEDDING, Mary L. Death notice of Mary L. Hedding, Minneapolis Tribune, p. 34, Monday, November 13, 1967 Survived by 3 sisters, Mrs. A. R. (Florence) Rheinberger, St. Paul, Mrs. E. E. (Lucinda) MacGibbon, Mpls., Mrs. Ruth Hedding Olson, Mpls. Several nieces and nephews. Requiem Mass:the Basilia of St. Mary Co-Cathedral. Interment: St. Mary’s Cemetery. Vigil Prayer Service: Gill Brothers (Downtown Chapel) off Henn. at 14th St.

 

Obituary: Made available to The USGenWeb Archives by: Kathryn Kelly

HEDDING, Simon E., Obituary for Simeon E. Hedding, Minneapolis Tribune, p. 8, Thursday, April 30, 1908 Death Overtakes Veteran Engineer Simeon Hedding Reaches “Terminal Station” After 40 Years at Throttle. He Pulled the First C., M. & St. P. Trrain Out of Minneapolis [Photo] Simeon E. Hedding, one of the oldest passenger engineers on the Milwaukee road, died yesterday morning at 1:30 o’clock of heart trouble, at his home, 2004 James avenue south. His illness was brought on by inhaling coal fumes on his last trip to La Crosse. Mr. Hedding was in the employ of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul road for more than forty years, and was the oldest engineer in point of service this side of the Mississippi river. He had the remarkable record of never having missed a run during the entire time. Among the men on the road he was known as always kind and genial and was one of the most respected employes on the entire system. He was born May 5, 1844, at Chazy, N. Y., and was a direct descendent of Bishop Elijah Hedding, one of the first Methodist bishops of the United States. He helped to build the river division of the Milwaukee road between Minneapolis and La Crosse, and with Jerry Coughlin, since dead, he ran the first train on the Milwaukee road, out of Minneapolis. Mr. Hedding moved to Minneapolis 38 years ago. He is survived by his wife and eight children, G. D. Hedding, Dr. Joseph A. Hedding, S. A. Hedding, C. A. Hedding, Mary Hedding, Mrs. A. R. Rheinberger, Lucy Hedding and Ruth Hedding.Funeral services will be held Friday morning at 9:30 o’clock at St. Charles church, Thirteenth avenue south and Fourth street. Interment at St. Mary’s cemetery.

 

Obituary: Made available to The USGenWeb Archives by: Kathryn Kelly

HEDDING, S. W. Death notice of S. W. Hedding, Minneapolis Tribune, Monday, May 30, 1983 S. W. (Bill) Hedding - Age 71 Survived by wife, Eleanor Sons: Curt Hedding, Burnsville and John Hedding, Garden Grove, CA Daughters:Mary Cheese, Eagan, Beth Cramond, Huntington Beach, CA, Joan Mueller, Maple Grove 10 grandchildren. Mass: St. Alphonsus Catholic Church, 71st & Halifax N., Brooklyn Center. Visitation:Evans-Nordby Funeral Home, 6000 Brooklyn Blvd. Interment:Lakewood Cemetery.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 560

HEDSTROM, N. M born in 1843, is a native of Sweden. He emigrated to America in 1869. Being a miller, he has been in the employ of the firm of Crocker, Fisk and Company, occupying the position of shipper in the Minneapolis mill for ten years. Mr. Hedstrom was married in 1878, to Miss Ellen Nelson, who bore him two children: Emily and Charles.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 560

HEFFELFINGER, C. A. was born in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, March 8th, 1850. He first located permanently in Minneapolis in 1866, engaging with the firm of Walker and Heffelfinger, boot and shoe dealers, one of the firm, Major Heffelfinger, being his brother. He succeeded the firm, in 1874, as sole proprietor and has since continued in the same line of business. He is also a partner in the firm of Heffelfinger and Kingman, of Red Wing, Minnesota. He was married in August, 1879, to Carrie B. King, daughter of W. S. King, of this city.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 560

HEFFELFINGER, C. B. was born in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, January 13th, 1834. He came to Minneapolis, in 1857, where he engaged in various pursuits until 1861, when he responded to the first call for volunteers, by enlisting in the First Minnesota Infantry, Company D. He was promoted, for gallant conduct, to the office of second lieutenant, first lieutenant and captain successively. In 1864 he was mustered out, but in 1865 he was tendered the commission of major of the First Minnesota Artillery, by Governor Miller, which he accepted and served as such until mustered out in October, 1865; at Fort Snelling. Mr. Heffelfinger engaged in the boot and shoe business, in 1866, with Mr. Walker, under the name of Walker and Heffelfinger. Four years later he bought Mr. Walker's interest, and in 1873, in company with others, he organized the North Star Boot and Shoe Company, and has been its manager since its organization. Mr. Heffelfinger was married, in 1863, to Mary E. Totton. Their children are: Alfred, William, Frank, Mary, Fannie Charles and Annie. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

HEFFELFINGER, Christopher B. was born in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, Jan. 13, 1834. He arrived in Minneapolis on the 21st day of April, 1857. April 23, 1861, he enlisted in the Union Army, and on the 29th was mustered in Company N,. First Regiment Minnesota Volunteer Infantry for three months. He was re-mustered May 4, 1861, for three years, to take date from the original muster, April 29.

He participated in the following battles: Bull Run, Va., July 21, 1861; Balls Bluff, Va., Oct. 21, 1861; Siege of Yorktown, Va., April, 1862; West Point, Va., May 7; Fair Oaks, Va., May 31 and June 1; Peach Orchard, Va., June 29; Savage Station, Va., June 29; Glendale, Va., June 30; White Oak Swamp, Va., June 30; Malvern Hill, July 1; Malvern Hill, August 5; Vienna, Va., September 21 Antietam, Md., September 17; Charlestown, Va., October 16; Fredericksburg, Va., Dec. 16, 1862, and May 16, 1863; Hay Market, Va., June 25; Gettysburg, Pa., July 2 and 3; Briston Station, Va., October 14; Mine Run, Va., Nov. 27, 1863.

He was mustered into service as a private and was appointed sergeant the same day. Nov. 27, 1861, he was commissioned second lieutenant, and on Sept. 17, 1862, was prornoted to first lieutenant, and became captain July 3, 1863. He was mustered out of service at Fort Snelling, Minn., May 4, 1864.

In March, 1865, he was commissioned major of the First Minnesota Heavy Artillery, and served with the regiment at Chattanooga, Tenn. from April to September. when he was again mustered out at Fort Snelling in October, 1865.

Mr. Heffelfinger engaged in the retail shoe business in 1866, and in 1873 he went into the jobbing and manufacturing business, and at the present time is the president of the North Star Shoe Company.

Mr. Heffelfinger married Miss Mary Ellen Totton, daughter of John Totton, of Pittsburgh, York County, Pennsylvania, Dec. 20, 1863. (SEE ALSO BELOW

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

Mary Ellen Heffelfinger wife of C. B. Heffelfinger, was born at Dillsburgh, York County, Pennsylvania, Sept. 20, 1835. Her father was John Totten. She was married to Major Heffelfinger at Shippensburgh, Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, Dec. 20, 1863, and came to Minneapolis in 1864.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 560

HEFTI, Frank was born in Switzerland, June 16th, 1844. He was educated in his native country, in the universities of Zurich and Muenchen; he studied medicine five years at these universities, and graduated at "Kanton Glarus," Switzerland, with degree of "M.D.," in 1868. Doctor Hefti came to the United States in 1874, locating in Wisconsin,, where he remained two years. He then located in Minneapolis, where he has been in continuous practice. Doctor Hefti was married in 1871, to Anna Blumer, of Switzerland. Their children are Barbara and Katie.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by Wayne C. Blesi. waybliss@aol.com


John Hefti
(Click to enlarge)

HEFTI, John (Johann Jr.) was born in Schwanden, Switzerland on Oct.18,1848. John and his sister Anna came with their parents to St. Anthony (Mpls.) MN. in May 1854 and moved with them to Champlin, MN on Mar.6,1855. It is likely He worked with his father building homes until he started working for the W.D. Washburn saw mill in Anoka from 1873  to 1889.During the years of 1883-4-5 and 1896-7-8 he was a member of the school board of supervisors. He served on the school board in 1895-6-7. John Hefty was twice married 1..Anna Wild married on Nov.15,1875 died Oct.19,1876 2. Anna's Sister Agatha Wild then married John on Nov.10,1878 and died on Dec.27,1943. They had 2. children 1. Margaretha born Nov.22,1880 and married Herbert Cold Dahlgren for two years and had 1, son John ,and then married Walter G. Bartley born 1888- 1948. and she gave her son John to Agatha  and John Hefty who raised him as their Own. 2. Rose Catharine born May2,1889 and died single on Dec.13,1909 They are buried in the St. Fridolin Cemetery of New Schwanden, Champlin, MN. except for John Dahlgren  who in later years was a tailor  and managed a shop for Carl Johnson at Cambridge, MN. John Hefty ran the swing span of the Anoka-Champlin bridge crossing from about 1913 to 1916 at the close of the logging industry on the Mississippi and may have continued until 1920 for river boat travel. John Hefty died on Apr.27,1936 and is buried in the St. Fridolin Cemetery also known as the New Schwanden (Swiss) Cemetery Hennepin County, MN.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by Wayne C. Blesi. waybliss@aol.com


HEFTI, John (Johann Sr.) was born about 1820 in Switzerland and came from Schwanden. He was married about 1845.Rhey had 2 children,1.Anna born in 1847 died about 1876 and 2. Johann Jr. born on Oct.18,1848. They came to St. Anthony (Mpls.) MN. in May 1854. John worked several months on a bridge crossing from St. Paul to St. Anthony. The  family moved to Champlin, MN. on March 6,1855 and John worked on a Survey crew headed up by Hardin Nolan the last survey for Hennepin County starting at the mouth of the creek in Champlin west and south which was named Elm Creek by John Hefti for a town up the mountain from Schwanden. In Sep. 1855 the survey crew came into a area which had several cabins with traila leading from one to the other in this primitive forest according to the survey foot notes. This is the area which was settled by Swiss families and was named New Schwanden, Hennepin County, MN. John was also a carpenter and built homes in Champlin one in particular was a home across the street from the DeJarles home. The family history states that Anna Hefti  died about 1876 aged 29 single. If John lived to be 85 it would be estimated he may have died in 1913 -18.There are no records found when or where they are buried.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 560

HEFTY, J. a native of Switzerland, was born April 28th, 1833. He came to the United States in 1853 and located in Illinois. After a few years he removed to Eau Claire, Wisconsin, where he remained until 1868; then removed to Minneapolis, and in 1869 opened a grocery store in which he has since continued. He was married in Switzerland, in 1860, to Barbara Colby. They have eight children: Emma, Ella, Andrew, Fred, Julia, Nick, Frank and George.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 561

HEINRICH, John of the firm of Mueller and Heinrich was born in 1829. He came to America in 1853, locating at Galena, Illinois, and engaged in the meat business one and one-half years. He removed to Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, remaining seven years in market business and boarding house. He removed to Minneapolis in 1865, and had control of a meat market eight years, going into partnership with Mr. Mueller in the brewery in 1874. He married Minnie Borchert in 1858. They are parents of five children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 219

HEISS, Franz J. was born in Germany, October 19th, 1835, and there learned the trade of carpenter. Emigrated to this country in 1855, and to Minnesota in 1859, locating on a farm in Brown county. In 1861 he enlisted in the Sixth Minnesota, and served until the discharge of the regiment, in 1865. He purchased eighty acres of land in Richfield, in 1875, and has since resided there, in the pursuit of farming. In 1871 he was married to Salomey Souder, a native of Germany. Their children are: Frank D., Amelia, Charlie, Katie, and Willheim. Frank D. died in 1875.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 350

HELD, J. F. a native of Prussia, was born in 1844. He moved to Indiana in 1861; enlisted August, 1862, in the Fifth Indiana Cavalry, and served until the close of the war. He came to Minneapolis in 1865 and worked three years in a saw mill; afterwards was engaged as a laborer until 1871, when he bought 145 acres of land on section 80, and the spring following started an extensive garden; he makes a specialty of fine celery, also raises a large variety of vegetables, and has a vineyard of one-half acre. His wife was Austine Crousey, whom he married in 1878. They have one child: Margretta.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 561

HELFRICH, W. H. was born in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, March 21st, 1848. He remained with his parents until 1864, when he removed to Logansport, Indiana, and engaged in milling, continuing there five years. He then came to Minneapolis and secured a situation with Tomlinson and Tiffany, at the Arctic mill as second miller. He was engaged in the mills of the city a number of years, when he took the position of head miller in the Empire mill, January 14th, 1877, which position he still holds. Mr. Helfrich was married, May 25th, 1877. to Miss Nellie Legg who bore him one child, Mabel.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 356

HILGEDICK, ERNEST a native of Germany, was born in 1823. He attended school until sixteen years of age, and was employed in farming from that time until 1844, when he emigrated with his parents to America. He resided in Warren county, Missouri, until 1850; then spent three years in California, where he met with considerable success in mining. He came to Minnesota, and purchased a farm in Ramsey county. Lived there until he settled in this county, in 1872. His marriage with Lisetta Dothage occurred in 1853. They have ten children. Two of the sons are proprietors of the Edgewood Dairy.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 561

HENDERSON, J. H. was born in Livingston county, New York, February 4th, 1829. He came to St. Anthony in 1852 ; in a few weeks he removed to Anoka and assisted in building the first dam across Rum river. He remained at Anoka sixteen years. In 1861 he enlisted and served one year in the war. In 1869 he came to Minneapolis and engaged in the grocery business; also dealt in lime, feed and cement, in which business he continued four years, then opened a sale and livery stable at his present location. Mr. Henderson married Ann J. Kurn, of Livingston county, New York, in 1855. They have one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 561

HENION, J. W. was born at Plymouth, Wayne county, Michigan, April 8th, 1832. When yet a child he accompanied his parents to New York, where he remained until 1854, when he came to Minnesota and located at Anoka. When the St. Paul and Pacific railroad was built through Anoka, Mr. Henion accepted the position of station agent. In 1866 he was appointed agent at St. Anthony, here he served until a station was established on the west side when he took charge of it in 1867 and held the position of general station agent until January 1st, 1880. Mr. Henion is one of the oldest station agents west of Chicago, having held that office continually for seventeen years. In 1878 he was treasurer and one of the directors of the Street Railway company. Mr. Henion was married at Anoka, January 1st, 1857, to Miss Emily Robbins. They have one child, Grace.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 561

HENRY, C. foreman of Hose Company No. 3, was born in Washington county, Wisconsin, in 1845. He attended the public schools until 1860 when he commenced his apprenticeship as shoemaker. In 1864 he enlisted in company I, Thirty-seventh Wisconsin volunteers, and served with the Army of the Potomac until he was mustered out in 1865. He soon settled in Wisconsin, where he followed his trade until 1868, when he came farther west, locating in Minneapolis. In 1871 he was appointed on the police force, serving until 1875. He was appointed as foreman of Hose Company No. 3, at the time of its organization in 1873. In 1866 he was married to Miss Kate Shuple. Their children are, John, Annie, Andrew and William.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 562

HENRY, Kennedy a native of Scotland, was born at Ayr, February, 11th, 1844. He apprenticed as miller in his native town and served six years. He was married to Miss Annie Boyd, a native of Scotland, in 1866. and embarked for America on their wedding day. He located at Chicago, where he remained as a miller, three years, then removed to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, remaining eight years. In April, 1878, he came to Minneapolis and obtained a situation as second miller in the Excelsior mill and has since held the same position. He has had three children born to him, John, Kennedy and Annie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 562

HENSHAW, C. E. M.D. Was born at Kirtland, Ohio, March 20th, 1844. He received his education in Ohio and Kentucky. He studied medicine and graduated from the medical department of the University of New York. He practiced his profession in Cleveland, Ohio, eight years, when he removed to Minneapolis, in 1880, and located his office at 101 Washington Avenue south. Dr. Henshaw is the father of one child, Emily.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 562

HERNLUND J. W. of the firm of Malmsten, Nelson and Company, was born in May, 1855. and is a native of Sweden. He accompanied his parents to America in 1869, locating at Red Wing, Minnesota, where they remained until 1871, when they removed to Minneapolis. Mr. Hernlund learned the machinist's trade, after which he attended Macalester College, preparatory to a two years course at the University of Minnesota. The death of his father compelled him to return to the pursuit of his trade, and in 1879 he bought an interest in the firm of Malmsten and Nelson, and has since been a member of that firm. Mr. Hernlund was married in this city, to Miss Clara Berguest, November 12th, 1879.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 561

HESLER, Frank E. son of Alexander and Helen Hesler, was born at Galena, Illinois, April 3rd, 1851. In 1854, moved with his parents to Chicago, Illinois, where he resided until 1869, when he removed to Evanston, Illinois. He entered the Northwestern University, and in 1872 he accepted a position as division engineer on the Prophetstown extension of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railway. In the following year he began his journalistic career upon the reportorial staff of the Chicago Post. December let, 1873, Mr. Hesler removed to Minneapolis, as city editor of the Evening,@ Times. With the exception of about two yews spent in travel, Mr. Hesler has been engaged in journalism for the past seven years. When the Daily Evening Journal was re-organized, he was appointed city editor, and now occupies that position. He was married to Ada V. Reid, only daughter of Hon. A. M. Reid, December 15th, 1874. In June, 1851, Mr. Resler's parents with their babe, visited St. Anthony, and held Frank under the spray of the then primitive falls. A bystander at the time, remarked, "Who knows but that some day this may be the site of a great city, and that this babe may not come here to live." The prophecy has been verified.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 562

HICKS, Henry G. is a native of New York, was born at Varysburgh, Genesee, now Wyoming county, January 16th, 1838. At eleven years of age he commenced to learn the harness trade with his father. At the age of fifteen, he began teaching school, which occupation he was engaged in until 1861. At the ages of fourteen, fifteen and sixteen he worked on a farm. His education was secured in the common schools of his native state and at Girard, Pennsylvania; also attended three summers at Oberlin, Ohio, where he entered college in 1860. In 1855, he removed to Freeport, Illinois, and in July, 1861, he enlisted in the Second Illinois Cavalry, as a private, in Company D; was made corporal and sergeant of his company, sergeant major and adjutant of his regiment he afterwards served as adjutant of the Seventy-first and Ninety-third Illinois Infantry Regiments until February 1864. Was with a squadron of the Second Illinois Cavalry at the battle of Fort Donaldson, and in the Ninety-third Infantry at Raymond, Jackson, Champion Hills, the siege of Vicksburg and Missionary Ridge, being severely wounded in the face at the latter place. In April, 1865, he removed to Minneapolis, and has since made this his home. He was married May 3d, 1864, to Mary Adelaide, daughter of I. G. Beede, of Freeport. Illinois, by whom he had four children, two of whom are living, a daughter of fifteen, Minnie Adelaide, and a son of twelve, Howard Henry. His first wife dying in July, 1870, he married again November, 1873, Susannah R. Fox, of Clarion county, Pennsylvania. Mr. Hicks was sheriff of Hennepin county from December 1867, to January 1871; was city justice of Minneapolis three years, 1871-1874. Has been from 1870, to the present time, a member of the board of trustees for soldier's orphans, and president of the board for the last seven years. Was a member of the house of representatives in 1878-1879 and 1881. At the close of his term as city justice, in 1874, he commenced the study and practice of law, and was admitted to the bar in February 1875. He is a member of the law firm of Cross and Hicks.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 562

HIERHOLZER, Charles was born in Germany, November 2d, 1828. He acquired a knowledge of shoemaking, in his native country, and continued in the pursuit of his trade until 1849, when he emigrated to the United States, locating first at St. Louis. The next year he removed to Mississippi, where he remained one year, thence to Louisiana. Here he made his home, until 1855, when he removed to St. Anthony and the next year opened a boot and shoe store, and is probably one of the oldest men in the business in the city. Mr. Hierholzer was married in 1854, to Marguerita Berger, of Germany. Their children are: Ellen, August, Mary, Charles, Frank and Adolph.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 356

HILGEDICK, ERNEST a native of Germany, was born in 1823. He attended school until sixteen years of age, and was employed in farming from that time until 1844, when he emigrated with his parents to America. He resided in Warren county, Missouri, until 1850; then spent three years in California, where he met with considerable success in mining. He came to Minnesota, and purchased a farm in Ramsey county. Lived there until he settled in this county, in 1872. His marriage with Lisetta Dothage occurred in 1853. They have ten children. Two of the sons are proprietors of the Edgewood Dairy.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HILGERMANN, O. A. is the proprietor of the Boston furniture house. This house was established in September, 1880, as a branch of O. A. Hilgermann's establishment at Chicago. The walnut furniture is manufactured by this house and sold on Chicago price list. Mr. E. Bundschuh has the management of the Minneapolis house, which is located at 405 Washington Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HILL, F. C. was born in Vermont, 1850. In 1870 he came to Minneapolis and remained one year, when he returned to Vermont, and engaged in the hotel business a few years, then removed to Cambridgeport, Massachusetts. In 1876, he returned to this city and was employed by the Street Railway Company two years, when with his brother, F. K. Hill, he opened the Chicago House.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HILL, F. K. in company with his brother, is proprietor of the Chicago House, of this city. He was born in Vermont, 1855. He went to Boston, 1873, where for several years he was in the restaurant business. In 1876, he came to this city and was in the employ of the Street Railway Company, and since, in the above named house, with his brother. Married Mary Cavanaugh in 1878; they have one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HILL, Francis was born at Rochester, New York, September 11th, 1836. He learned milling with his brother, Ichabod, and has been with him, through the greater part of his experience. Mr. Hill has been in the employ of Mr. Brackett one year and Pillsbury five years. His marriage to Miss Julia Brackett was solemnized March 26th, 1859. Their children are: Julia, Cora, Mary, Clara and Lucy.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HILL, Ichabod P. head miller of Palisade mill, was born at.Westonville New York, December 18th, 1831. He became a miller at Rochester, New York, and spent ten years in Rochester and Oswego. He came west in 1864, located in St. Anthony, and worked in the old Minnesota mill, being engaged in milling five years; he then conducted the Nicollet House one year, when he sold out and removed to Belle Plaine and purchased the Belle Plaine mills, which were burned four years later. In 1873 he returned to this city and was engaged as stone-dresser, and since 1875 has been head miller. He is probably the oldest miller in the city. Mr. Hill married Miss Agnes Bibbins, June 3d, 1858. Their children are: Lola, Ichabod, Dursean, Blanche and Harvey.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HILL, James. W. a native of New Hampshire, was born in 1848. He enlisted as drummer-boy in the war, and served three years. He attended the Newbury Seminary, Vermont, three years, then removed to Manchester, New Hampshire, for the purpose of preparing for an apothecary. After traveling about, several years, he came to this city, and engaged in the livery and sale stable business in 1874.. Mr. Hill married Elizabeth Richardson, who bore him two children, Elizabeth and Charles.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HILL, L. D. was born in Cumberland county, Maine, May 19th, 1845. He resided on a farm until eighteen years of age, when he enlisted in the Third Maine Battery, under Captain E. R. Mayo. He was with the company until June, 1865. In August of the same year, he came to .Minneapolis which has principally been his home since. He is now engaged in dealing in second hand g oods, 27 Nicollet Avenue. He was married in 1878 to Julia E. Stouart. Their children are Charles and Willie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 266

HILLSTROM, John was born in Sweden, in 1849, and emigrated to America in 1870. After a short residence in New York and eight months in Michigan, he came to Minneapolis and worked in a lumber mill until 1876, when he removed to Maple Plain. In 1877 he bought the farm he now lives on. He married Miss Clara M. Johnson, who was born in Chicago, Illinois, in 1855. The children are: Jennie, aged four years, and Hannah, aged two.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 254

HILTON, L. C. born in North New Castle, Maine, where he lived for twenty-two years, when he came to Minnesota, and settled at Princeton. Enlisted at Red Wing, in Company F, 6th Minnesota Volunteers. Served in the company about one year; then was transferred to the invalid corps, and was honorably discharged at Fort Snelling. Returned to Princeton, remained there until 1877, then bought his present farm on Lake Minnetonka. Married Lucretia Garlinghouse, in 1871. Is the father of four children, all living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HINELINE, George a native of Germany, was born April 3d, 1830. He came with his parents to America, locating in Ohio. He removed in 1859 to Minnesota, and was engaged in different parts of the state, as a miller. In 1866 he located in this city, and secured a position as head miller with Perkins and Crocker; he remained with them four years. In 1872, he bought one-third interest in the Holly mill, which he sold five years later, and purchased one-third interest in the Model mill, which interest he now controls. Mr. Hineline married Miss Rosetta Stewart of Ohio. Their children are Margaretta, Mary, Thomas, Emma and Agnes. Two children have died.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HINKLE, Francis S. was born at Cincinnati, Ohio, August 22d, 1847. He came to Minneapolis January 1st, 1878. Mr. Hinkle with his brother bought the Holly mill May 31st, 1878.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 300

HINKLEY, J. B.
was born in Geauga county, Ohio in 1818. He received his education at the Genesee Western Seminary, near Rochester, New York, graduating in 1839. He then began teaching winters, passing his summers on a farm. In 1854 he came to Hennepin county, and resided in Minneapolis one year, then removed to Dayton township where he took a claim of 160 acres near Diamond Lake, remaining there nine years. In 1857 and 1858 Mr. Hinkley was a member of the legislature, during which time, Minnesota was admitted as a state. He held the office of County Commissioner a number of years, and had charge of the county poor farm for three years, dating from 1864. He then returned to Minneapolis where he remained until 1878, when he came to Champlin and has since resided here, engaged in farming. Mr. Hinkley has held the office of justice of the peace, excepting a short time, since he came to this county, and was census enumerator of Dayton township in 1880. He was married in 1844 to Miss S. S. Moore. They have two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 563

HINTON, John was born at Birmingham, England, February 29th, 1832. He removed to the United States with his parents in 1845, who located at West Cambridge, Massachusetts, He served apprenticeship in England as saw manufacturer. He removed to St. Louis in 1857, and was engaged in the manufacture of saws until 1867, when he removed to Minneapolis, and pursued the same business. He volunteered in the fire department in 1868, and was appointed foreman of the steamer and hose company No. 1, in 1877, which position he resigned. but remained a member until the organization of the paid department, in 1879, when he was appointed as first pipeman, and continued as such until 1880, when he was again appointed as foreman of the steamer and hose company No. 1. He was married to Miss Sarah E. Locke, of Massachusetts, February 28th, 1844. They have two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 564

HISCOCK, J. H. was born in Franklin county, Maine, in 1851. He learned his trade of cabinet-maker in New York city, where he remained nearly five years. He removed to Waverly, Iowa, in May, 1876, but soon after came to Minneapolis and resumed his, trade, in the employ of others, until 1879. The firm of J. H. Hiscock and Company was then formed, which has been in the furniture manufacturing business since. Mr. Hiscock was married in 1876, to Miss Kate Dagget. Residence 422 University Avenue south-east.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 266

HISTED, Johan was born in Sweden, in 1821, and in 1861 came to America, locating at Long Lake, Hennepin county, where he remained two years. He then removed to the town of Independence and leased a farm which he held until 1873, when he purchased the farm on which he now lives. He was married, in 1844, to Anna Hemmingson, of Sweden. Their children are: Hannah, aged 34; Peter, 32; Charles J., 30; Matilda, 24; and Josephine, 20. Charles J. Histed married Mary Moline in 1878. They have one child, Almer.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 310

HOAG, Aaron A native of New Hampshire, was born in 1806. In 1835 he moved to Bangor, Maine, and followed teaming for twelve years; then he bought a farm at South Gardner, which he occupied for six years. In 1858 he came with his youngest daughter to Minnesota, prospecting and in 1859 bought part of the land he now lives on. The same year his family sold out and joined him. He married in 1830, Annie Wiggins. They have four children. His son Charles lives with him and was married December 1877, to Mary A. Inveen. Their children are George and Ida.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 219

HOAG, Charles, one of Richfield's representative men, and a pioneer of Hennepin county, was born June 29, 1808, in New Hampshire. After receiving such education as the common schools of his native town afforded, he attended the Wolfboro Academy and Friends' Boarding School, at Providence, R. 1. At the age of sixteen he began teaching, and followed that profession for twenty-seven years, thirteen of which he was engaged as Principal of a Grammar School in Philadelphia. In 1852 he came to Minnesota; taught school in St. Anthony two terms. In May, 1852, he made a claim of 160 acres of land, in what is now the city of Minneapolis; was a member of the first town council, and to him is due the honor of giving to the city its beautiful and appropriate name, Minneapolis. He was the second treasurer of Hennepin county, and has held many positions of public trust. Is an ardent Odd Fellow, and served one term as Grand Master of the Minnesota Grand Lodge. He claims to be the oldest Odd Fellow in the state. Has also occupied the position of President of the Agricultural and Horticultural Societies. In 1857 he purchased the farm he now occupies, which is known as the "Diamond Lake Farm," and removed to it in 1865. Mr. Hoag was County Superintendent of Schools from 1870 to 1874. Has one daughter by his first wife, married to Charles H. Clark, who is in the revenue service. Mr. Hoag's first wife died in 1871, and in March, 1873, he was married to Susan F. Jewett, of Solon, Maine.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 274

HOAGLAND, Charles W. came west with his parents, in 1862, and after remaining in the vicinity of Long Lake, a short time, decided to make further explorations; after several changes he returned to Minnesota in 1872, and settled near Long Lake, where he has since resided. He remained with his parents until August, 1880, when he entered the store of Christlieb & Lydiard. He is Lodge Deputy of Long Lake Lodge No. 65, I. O. of G. T.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 274

HOAGLAND, Louis K. a native of Ohio, was born in Trumbull county, in 1852. He moved to Hennepin county, and settled at Wayzata. In 1876, he came to Long Lake, and in 1877 began milling, with the North Star Mill B. Married to Annie John son, in 1876. They have two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 244

HOAGLAND, William born in Trumbull county, Ohio, December 16, 1824. Learned the tailor's trade, then turned his attention to farming. In the spring of 1862 came to Minnetonka, Minnesota, where he has since lived for most of the time; now furnishes hotels with supplies. Married Joanna Wakefleld, February 27, 1845. They have seven living children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 564

HOBBS, J. T. was born in Newark, New Jersey, in 1842. At eleven years of age he went to Wisconsin, and lived with an uncle three years, when he went into the lead mines of La Fayette county, in that s tate, and was employed there twelve years. He then removed to Eau Claire, and passed eight years in lumbering. He came to Minneapolis in September, 1878, and since that time has been engaged in milling, and is now shipping clerk in the Trades mill. He was married in August, 1873, to Miss Sarah J. Hanes.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 564

HOBINE, Henry was born April 12th, 1844, at St. Louis, Missouri. He has been engaged as a millwright for twelve years in Utah and Wyoming territories and states of Kansas and Missouri. In 1872, he located in Minneapolis, and has assisted in putting in machinery in nearly all the mills of this city, erected since then. He has been in the North-western mill since September, 1879. In 1861, he enlisted in the Seventeenth Missouri Riflemen, known as the St. Louis Turners, served three and one-half years and participated in a number of the principal conflicts; he was discharged in December, 1865. He married Miss Luretta Saffell in 1875. They have one child, John H.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 564

HODGES, E. J. was born in Ohio, in 1848. He enlisted in the Thirty-second Wisconsin Volunteers in 1862, and was discharged in June, 1865. He went to Fond du Lac and worked in the lumber mills until he came to Minneapolis in 1875, since which time he has been employed in the planing mills of this city. He has been with the Union mills as superintendent since January, 1880. He married Miss Emma Martin in 1869. They have one child, Hattie A.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 326

HOFF, Minerva, was born in Ohio, April 17th, 1824, and lived with her parents until twenty-two years of age. She was married, in Ohio, to Luther E. Hoff, October 19th, 1850. They came to Maple Grove, June 2d, 1855, being among the first settlers of the town. They have five children living. Mr. Luther E. Hoff, her husband, died October 10th, 1864.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 316

HOHENSTEIN, Adam was born in Germany, in 1832, and emigrated to America in 1850. He was engaged three years in the baker's trade in New York; worked at farming in McHenry county, Illinois, three years; then moved to Minnesota in 1856, and located on his present farm. He has been town supervisor eleven years, town clerk seven years, and treasurer two years. He was drafted in 1864, and ordered to Company A, Third Minnesota; was mustered out in 1865. He was married in 1858, to Caroline Glaser. They have seven children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 316

HOHENSTEIN, George, was born in Germany in 1848, and came with his parents to this country four years later. They remained in Now York until 1854, when they removed to Illinois, and in 1861 came to Minnesota, and located on their present farm. He was married in 1873, to Miss Louisa Bechtle, of Germany. They have four children: Ida, Martha, Louisa and Christian. Mr. Hobenstein has held the office of constable for eight years.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 254

HOIBY, Andrew born in Norway, in 1846. Came to America in 1868, and settled in Minneapolis, working at his trade until he moved to Excelsior, in 1878, and established his present business, blacksmith and wagon-maker. Has been married twice. First wife died in Norway. His second wife was Bertha Delle, of Excelsior, whom he married in 1878.

 

From 1868 - 1968 Maple Plain & Independence Past - Present" published by the Maple Plain Garden Club. Submitted by Claudine Pearson ClaudeP@aol.com

HOISINGTON, George- Came from Ohio and settled in Armstrong in 1854. He served in the Civil War, but spent many years here until his death in 1898.  His brother, Earl came to Armstrong in 1855, from Ohio by railroad and then up the river to St. Paul and then to St. Anthony where he was welcomed by an old-time neighbor, Amos Clark.  Mr. Clark gave him work getting out timbers for the first suspension bridge at the Falls of St. Anthony.  There was a large band of Winnebago Indians encamped nearby. The Indians were being moved to their new reservation in Nebraska.  Mr.  Hoisington worked on this timber project until June when he came to Hennepin County and pre-empted a claim in the Big Woods.  He camped in the wood overnight, building a fire to roast a partridge for his supper.  His claim was on the Watertown Road in Independence.  Before his wife arrived he had a cabin built, which was covered with poles and hay.  A later cabin, somewhat larger, was covered with shakes.  The Hoisingtons were noted for their musical ability and were active in the affairs of the township.  He was burred from the Maple Plain Presbyterian Church in 1916, at the age of 91years.  His body was brought here from Portland, Oregon by his daughter Mrs. Mary Bradford with whom he lived the last six years of his life, following the death of his wife.

Additional information below provided by Harriette Jensen

George was the first of the Hoisington brothers to move from their home in Ohio in 1854.  He settled in Armstrong, where he married his wife Jane.  In 1861, their son Benjamin R. was born.  George enlisted in Company F 11th MN in Aug 1864 and served until Jun 1865.  In 1868, their second son William G. ("Willie") was born.  George continued to farm until his death at the age of 67.

Earl Hoisington had a bit more circuitous route in getting to Armstrong in 1855, leaving his wife Almira in Ohio until such time as he could provide a home for her.  Their land was adjacent to Earl's brother George.

In August of 1864, Earl followed his brother into the service.  He also joined Company F 11th MN.  He was discharged in May of 1865. Earl and Almira had 4 children:  Clara, Mary, Aurilla, and Homer.

In 1887, Earl was approved for a total disability pension due to physical ailments resulting from his service in the Civil War.   His health continued to deteriorate and, after the death of his wife in 1910, he went to live with his daughter Mary Bradford in Portland OR, where he died in 1916. His daughter brough the body back to Maple Plain
to be buried in the Presbyterian Church graveyard

The Hoisingtons were noted for their musical ability and were active in the affairs of the township.
 

For additional information on the Hoisington family, please contact Harriette Jensen at hoisingtonweb@yahoo.com 

 

From "History of North Washington" Published 1904 Transcribed by: Nancy Grubb

HOLCOMB, WALTER E. Walter E. Holcomb one of the energetic young business men of Loonlake,Stevens county,is foreman of the Holland-Horr Mill Company,of that place. He is a native of Minneapolis,Minnesota,and was born on Nov. 10,1873. His parents were H.and Evelin (Forbush) Holcomb,natives of Wisconsin. They settled in Minneapolis,residing there until 1889,when they removed to Spokane,where they now live. The father is a millwright, and interested in the Holland-Horr Mill Company. They are the parents of three children;Gladys,married and residing in Spokane;Eva B.,living with her parents and Walter E. Graduating fron high school at the age of seventeen years,our subject began learning the carpenter's trade,which he industriously followed for five years. Then engaging in the mercantile business in Spokane until 1901, he at that time,secured an interest in the Holland-Hoff Mill Company,with which he is now connected. For the past two years he has been foreman of the mill at Loonlake Fraternally he is a member of the I.O.O.F.,Unique Encampment,No.32,and Hope Rebekah Lodge,No.38. His political affiliations are with the Republican party and he takes an interest in all local affairs.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 564

HOLEHOUSE, George is a native of Lower Canada. At ten years of age he accompanied his parents to the United States, locating at Buffalo, New York. Upon reaching manhood, he served an apprenticeship as machinist and millwright. He came to Minneapolis in 1862, engaged in the pursuit of his trade several months, and enlisted in August of the same year, and served until the close of the war, in the Seventh Minnesota Regiment. After his discharge, he removed to Red Wing and remained six years, when he went to Iowa. In 1878, he located in this city, and has been employed in the platform mills much of the time since. He married Miss Louisa Blakie, of Red Wing, in 1867.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 220

HOLMAN, Laura was born in the State of Vermont in 1817. In 1855 she came to Minnesota. In 1848 she was married to N. Butterfield who was drowned in Lake Minnetonka in 1859. She settled with her husband in Minnetonka in 1855 and remained there until 1861 when she removed to the farm in Richfield where she has since resided. In 1860, was married to L. Holman. He was killed in 1871, being run over by a heavy load of wood. Mrs. Holman has one son by her first husband, Frank J. Butterfield.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 564

HOLMBERG, Charles a native of Sweden, was born in 1849. He came to America in 1871, locating at Fort Wayne, Indiana, where he was employed in a flouring mill. He removed to this city in 1873, and secured a situation in the Minneapolis mill of Crocker, Fisk and Company, since which time he has remained with the same firm and now occupies the position of stone dresser and miller.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 564

HOLMES, H. W. was born in Allegheny City, Pennsylvania, January 4th, 1845. He came to Minneapolis in 1858. He engaged in steam-boating on the Minnesota, Mississippi and Red Rivers until 1877, with the exception of five years, during which he was engaged with the North-western Union Packet Company on the Chippewa river one year, and in the milling business at Wabasha, three years. In 1877, he engaged in milling in this city, in which he has since continued. He married Miss Frances E. Rollins, February 8th, 1869; Two children have been born to them, Payton R. and Agnes.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 564

HOLT, Charles Evans was born at Clinton, Massachusetts. When eight years of age he moved with his parents to Cleveland, where his father still resides. Here he received his education, and at sixteen years of age, he enlisted in the Sixth Ohio Cavalry, in which he served three years, engaging in the battles of Cross Keys, Culpepper Court House, and numerous others. He was honorably discharged, at the hospital, at City Point, Virginia, at that time and for many months after, being under the physician's care. He returned home in 1865, then removed to Boston, where he was assistant superintendent and foreman of the iron works of George T. McLauthlin and Company. In 1875 he came to this city and was employed as head book-keeper for O. A Pray, and in 1878 became one of the present firm of O. A. Pray and Company. While in Cleveland he was in the firm of Holt, Ruple and Company, machinists, also firm of D. Holt and Son. He was active in organizing the Young People's Christian Association, of Cleveland, and was first secretary, then president of the same. He is a director of the Widows and Orphans' Protective (Life) Association of Minnesota, and honorary vice-president, for Minnesota, of the United States Mutual Accident Association of New York and Chicago. His union with Miss Rebecca E. Sherman, occurred at Lowell, Massachusetts, May 6th, 1867, They have four daughters: Alice, Agnes, Sophie, and Lucy. Their two sons are deceased.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 565

HOLT, E. E. was born at Lebanon, Connecticut, November, 1823. He went to New York city in 1837, and for twelve years occupied the position of book-keeper for J. W. and J. Morgan, coal dealers; he was also engaged by J. Odell, serving in the same capacity two years. He removed to Oswego county, New York, where he opened a general produce store; thence to Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, where he was engaged in the drug business twelve years. In 1867 he removed to this city and under the firm name of Treat, Holt and Company, began dealing in furniture, and at the end of one year closed out, and was employed by the Elevator Company, where he has since remained. He was married to Miss Anna Tilley of z New, Jersey, in 1843. Children. Carrie W., now wife of George H. Eastman, Minnie V., wife of F. B. Felt; and Hudson K. who died at the age of eight years.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 282

HOLWAY, F. L. was born November 11th, 1836, at Machias, Washington county, Maine. He followed farming and lumbering till 21 years of age. In 1857 he went to Saint Paul, for a short time, then went to Afton, Minnesota, and engaged in farming. In 1859 he went to Saint Anthony, and worked on a contract for railroad ties, a few months; then came to Crystal Lake to work on a farm; after which he was employed in various ways in Minneapolis until 1868, when he came to his present farm in Crystal Lake, built a house, and moved into it in 1871. Mr. Holway married Ellen Shepard, of Plymouth, Minnesota. Two children have been born to them, Howard and Marcia. In 1864 he enlisted in Company F, of the Eleventh Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, under Captain Plummer, and served till the close of the war. He has held several town offices.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 565

HONKOMP, Henry proprietor of the Minneapolis Cotton Mill, came to this city in January, 1877, from Chicago, and has been engaged in the manufacture of seamless bags, carpet warp, etc. since his locating at the foot of Sixth Avenue South.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 254

HOPKINS, A. H. born in Providence, Rhode Island, in 1837. Moved to Hennepin county in 1854, and located near Hopkins Station. Married in 1859 to Susan C. Wood, of Providence. Returned in the same year to the old home. In 1861 came to Excelsior, and has since made it his home. Enlisted in 1862 in Company B, 9th Minnesota Volunteers, serving one year under Gen. Sibley among the Indians; then under Generals Smith and Sturgis, in the war of the Rebellion, two years. Was honorably discharged at Fort Snelling in 1865. Is a member of the Old Settlers' Association. They have four children now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 565

HOPPER, Frank was born at Oswego, New York, May 29th, 1853. He came to McLeod county, Minnesota, in 1857, where he remained two years, removing thence to Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin. Two years later he went to Waverly and rented a mill which he had in control eight months, when he again changed his location to Le Sueur and worked in different mills until 1876. He located in Minneapolis in the spring of 1878, and has since been employed at the Anchor mill. He was married June 3d, 1878, to Miss Estella Chance, who bore him one child, Albert.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 565

HORAN, Frank J. a native of Ireland, was born in Galway, March, 1847. He came to this country in 1866, and remained in New York city three years, then came to Minneapolis, and has since been engaged in business as merchant tailor. He began business with very small capital, but by perseverance and hard work he has risen and now has an extensive business, employing thirty persons. Mr. Horan was married in 1878, to Maggie Mahoney.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 565

HORAN, Mrs. J. W. is proprietress of the Milwaukee House, situated at 112 Second street South. This house was built by Mr. J. W. Horan, in 1867, who was its proprietor until November 6th, 1874, when he died. His widow has since taken charge of the house, which has seventeen. rooms, with office, parlor, dining-room and kitchen on first floor.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 565

HORNER, W. H. was born in Washington county, Indiana, February 28th, 1848. He accompanied his parents to Scott county, Minnesota, in 1854, and remained with them on the farm, until he reached manhood. In 1868 he removed to North-field and learned milling, remaining one and one-half years, when he went to Marshall, Lyon county, and took a claim, on which he lived two years. He then came to Minneapolis in September, 1873, and engaged with C. A. Pillsbury, where he remained three years, then went to Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, returning the next year and again was employed by Pillsbury as packer. He was married to Miss Dora La Roy in August, 1876. Their children are William B. and Bessie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 566

HORTON, J. W. a native of England, was born March 23d, 1842. He came to the United States in 1850, locating at Minnetonka, Minnesota. He farmed until 1861, when he enlisted in the United States Sharp Shooters, serving two and one-half years. After his discharge he located at Columbus, Ohio, remaining three years. In 1867, he came to this city, and practiced as a veterinary surgeon. From July, 1875, until August, 1880, he was driver of hose carriage No. 2. He was married April 17th, 1871, to Miss Julia A. Hoy. Their only child living is Frankie.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by Wayne C. Blesi. waybliss@aol.com


5 Generations
Dorothea, (wife of Martin),  Mary (Hosli) Reiling,
Amie (Hosli) Auschbach, & Robert Auschbach
(Click to enlarge)

HOSLI, Martin came from Schwanden, Switzerland and settled in New Schwanden in 1855 and built a log cabin. Martin married Dorothea Blesi sister of Peter Blesi before he came to America. In 1860 Dorothea came to join him in New Schwanden, MN. and the Swiss Government paid for her passage. Martin went into the Civil War in 1862 and was discharged in 1865. Dorothea came with other family members. There were11 children born of this union. Martin's son William Hosli continued with the farming, married Christine nee Torkelson and had 5 children. William's  son, Clarence Hosli, continued with the homestead farm and married Edna nee Johnson. They had 6 Children. The farm was then owned by a Mr. Banks, and after that the farm was taken over by the Elm Creek Park Board. There was not a picture of Martin Hosli, but a picture of Dorothea was taken in Oct.1917 of 5 generations, namely Mary Hosli who married Theodore Reiling of St.Paul,MN., Amie Hesli who married Otto Bernard Auschbach and great grandson Robert O. Ashbach who became a senator of MN.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 566

HOVELSON, O. was born February 23d, 1837, and is a native of Norway. He there passed his youth and learned his trade, that of shoe-maker. He came to the United States in 1868, working at his trade in Menomonee, Wisconsin, and other places until 1873, when he came to Minneapolis and after being employed by boot and shoe firms five years, he opened a store of his own and has continued in the same place since. He was married in 1868, to Carrie Hanson of Norway. They have four children, Oluf, Hannah, Hilda, and Bernhard.

 


To page 2 of surname H