Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 

SURNAME
H
Page 2 of 2


Go back to page 1 of Surname H

Use the Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames (Ctrl & F)

 

Minneapolis Morning Tribune, Monday, Dec 17, 1928

HOLMGREN, Nels P. - aged 72 years, passed away Saturday evening December 15.  Besides wife, survived by two daughters, Mrs. A. G. LUNDQUIST and Mrs. F. Y. ELLIOTT, also three sons, C. E. and A. C., of Mpls., and F. A. Holmgren, Duluth; one sister, Mrs. F. G. ANDERSON, St. Paul, and 10 gerandchildren.  Funeral services 12:45 p.m. Tuesday at Lakewood chapel.

Submitted by Jackie Ginn. (Jackie is not related to the above and does not have additional information.)

 

From the History of Goodhue County, Red Wing, MN 1878.

HOWARD, E.T., superintendent Red Wing Stone Works. Born in Canada West, July 28, 1837. Emigrated to this country, settling in Rockford, Illinois in the spring of 1857. In 1860 moved to Ripon, Wisconsin, where he married N.H. Hazen on June 18, 1861. She was born in Fond du Lac, WIsconsin and came to this city in the fall of 1864. Belle T. is their only child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 254

HOWARD, Silas was born in Providence county, Rhode Island, in 1804. Was engaged in the coal and wood trade in the East until he came to Minnesota in 1858, and took, under the homestead law, what is now known as Howard's Point, located on upper Lake Minnetonka. Married in 1845 to Lydia Reed. One child was born to them - Simeon, born in 1846. Came to Minnesota with his parents, and lives on an adjoining farm. He was married in 1870 to Adeline Kibbey. They have had three children, two now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 290

HOWE, Asa born in Washington county, Maine, in 1819. He lived there until 1853, when he came to Hennepin county, and bought a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, near what is now known as Brooklyn Centre. Mr. Howe was married in 1834.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 290

HOWE, C. R. was born in Washington county, Maine, in 1848 ; moved with his parents to Hennepin county, in 1853, where he has since resided; was appointed postmaster of Brooklyn Centre in 1873, and opened a stock of general merchandise at that place in 1875; married in 1871, to Clara M. Butts. Two children have been born to them.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 334

HOWE, Jonas a native of Massachusetts, was born in Worcester county, April 29th, 1821. He attended the Academy at Deerfield and New Salem, and at the age of twenty-one, went to Boston for two years, then returned to his father's farm for nine years. He came to Hennepin county in 1854, and made a claim where he now lives. The same year, went with a party to Crow Wing to get out timber for the first Suspension bridge. In the fall, built a cabin sixteen feet square, on his claim-. This was the second house built in the township. He brought the lumber for his house, from St. Anthony, floating it across Medicine Lake, as there was no road around. In 1855 his family joined him. In 1864 he was appointed enrolling clerk for the township, and afterwards enlisted in Company P, Eleventh Infantry, with the rank of sergeant, and served one year. He was elected to the House of Representatives in 1865. In 1878 his dwelling was destroyed by fire, and he immediately rebuilt a more substantial house. Mr. Howe has been town clerk for a number of years, justice of the peace, and was census enumerator in 1880; has always taken an active part in the affairs of the town. His wife, whom he married in Massachusetts, was Margaret Swendell, of Boston. They have had ten children, seven, now living. Cora, the eldest, was a member of the first class at the Deaf and Dumb Institute at Faribault; was a pupil seven years, and taught three years, when poor health compelled her to retire from teaching.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 566

HOWELL, E. P. was born in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, November 8th, 1839, where he resided until 1867. He then removed to Minneapolis and first engaged with Walker and Heffelfinger, boot and shoe dealers, in whose employ he remained until 1873, when he became one of the firm of Heffelfinger, Howell and Company, at Red Wing, and resided there five years, when he sold his interest to Mr. Kingman and opened an establishment at his present location, 119 Nicollet Avenue. He is doing a fine business, employing six men in the custom department.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 566

HOY, Michael special city detective, was born near Phillipstown, Ireland. He came with his parents to America, in March, 1853. He was first employed as a stone cutter in New York, then came west, locating at St. Anthony in 1857, and labored on the stone work of the State University. He continued at his trade until the fall of 1859, when he went to Louisiana as foreman on the levees of the Mississippi river. The next year he returned to St. Anthony and took the contract for building the East Side Irish Catholic Church. He enlisted in the Tenth Minnesota Volunteers and was commissioned second lieutenant by Governor Ramsey. He went with Sibley's expedition across the plains in 1863, and during the trip encountered the Sioux Indians at different places. At the battle of Nashville, December 15th and 16th, 1864, where he was in command of company "K," he was wounded and was honorably discharged April, 1865, on account of his wounds. He returned to his home and in 1867 was elected city marshal of St. Anthony, serving seven years, until the consolidation of the two cities, since which he has been a member of the police force, serving as captain and chief. At present he is the city detective, which office was created for him by the council. He was married in October, 1860, to Miss Catherine Qualy, at St. Anthony. They have had twelve children, seven of whom are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 566

HOY, William a native of Ireland, was born June 26th, 1835. He lived in his native place until fifteen years of age. In 1850 he came to America, locating at Brooklyn, where he resided two years, engaged in marble-cutting. He then removed to Otsego, Now York, where he remained three years. In 1855 he came to Minnesota, locating at St. Anthony, and teamed from that city to Little Falls with supplies. Three years later he was employed as assistant wagon-master by the government, on the Spirit Lake expedition against the Indians. In 1862 he joined the Tenth Minnesota, serving under General Sibley against the Indians, at Mankato. Two years after, he began the house-moving business, in which he has continued. He was married August 26th, 1859, to Mrs. Mary Kelly, a native of Ireland, by whom he has nine children: John, Rosanna, Willie, Agnes, Joseph, Thomas, Edward, George, and Christopher.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 220

HUBBARD, Orrin, was born in the State of New York, April 5th, 1835. In 1854, moved to Janesville, Wisconsin, where he remained for eleven years, eight of which he passed in the employ of the American Express Company. Enlisted in 1862 in the 12th Wisconsin Battery and served until his discharge in 1865; participating in many of the hardest fought battles of the Rebellion. In 1865 he accepted a position as conductor for the C. M. & St. P. Ry. Co., and has since been engaged in that vocation. In 1877 he bought a farm in the town of Richfield and has improved it until it is now one of the finest farms in this part of the county. He was married in January, 1866, to Harriet E. Beaumont. They have had four children, Mary C., Nellie B., Sarah R., deceased, Hattie, died February, 1877. He resides in Minneapolis at 916 Sixth Avenue South.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 335

HUGHES, Charles W. was born in England, May 2d, 1838. He came with his parents, Thomas and Hannah Hughes, to America in 1849, and to Minnesota in 1853. Charles W. remained in St. Anthony, working with Daniel Bassett, one of the first carriage-makers in the place, one and one-half years. He and his brother Henry made, claims in Benton county, remained one year, but were obliged to abandon their claims on account of scarcity of Provisions. In the fall of 1859, he built a carriage shop near the suspension bridge, in Minneapolis, and remained there until 1861, when he enlisted in Company D, First Minnesota Infantry, and served until mustered out in May, 1864. He participated in twenty-one engagements, some of them the hardest-fought battles of the war. In 1864 he joined Gen. Sully's expedition up the Yellowstone; returned in the fall and worked for the government at Fort Snelling, till the spring of 1865, when he came to Plymouth, bought forty acres of land, to which he has since added forty more, and has built up a good home. Married to Martha Hatcher, of Hennepin county, May 14th, 1865. They have eight children

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 336

HUGHES, Edward was born in England, October 18th, 1849. At the age of three years, his father and family came to the United States, and resided at Burlington, Iowa, until 1854, when they came to Minnesota. Here Edward grew to manhood, and farmed with his father until November 28th, 1871, when he was married to Sarah Day, of this county. They settled on the present farm in March 1873. They are the parents of four children: George, Edward, Ada and Edna.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 566

HUGHES, H. J. is a native of Wales, and was born in 1846. He came to America, locating in Columbia county, Wisconsin, where he remained seven years, then removed to Blue Earth county, Minnesota. He came to this city in the fall of 1873, and worked in Symes' barrel factory for two years and has since then been in the coopering business. Since June, 1878, he has been with the Co-operative Barrel Company. He was married in 1878, to Miss Anna McCormick. They reside at 1225 Ninth street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 335

HUGHES, Henry son of Thomas Hughes, was born in England, January 28th, 1835. He came to the United States with his parents, and was engaged in blacksmithing at Burlington, Iowa; came with his parents to Minnesota in 1853, with two yokes of oxen, two cows, three horses and two wagons, being twenty-seven days on the road. He worked at blacksmithing in Minneapolis, one year, then joined hi s father on the homestead in Plymouth. He was married December 4th, 1862, to Mary A. Case, of Ohio, who has borne him eight children, seven of whom are living. In July, 1864, he enlisted in the Eighth Minnesota Infantry, and was mustered out May, 1865. Mr. Hughes has a fine farm, and in connection with it, carries on the blacksmithing business.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 335

HUGHES, James was born in England, January 2d, 1825. He remained with his parents until the age of twenty-one, in the meantime serving an apprenticeship of seven years at the blacksmith trade. He then went to Wales, and was engaged in Lee's iron works for nine months; returned to England, and established a smithing business. In 1852 he came to Burlington, Iowa, and engaged in business there until March, 1854, when he started for Minnesota, with six yokes of oxen, two cows and one wagon. The journey was pleasant until they arrived in Minnesota Territory, where they found large bodies of snow and no roads. He was obliged to leave his family alone in the wagon one night, while he went in search of food and assistance, during a terrific storm. When he arrived at Red Wing he had only five oxen and one cow, the others having perished on the route. Shipped from thereto St. Paul, sold his cattle, went to St. Anthony, and in May, 1854, made his claim in Plymouth, where he has since lived. He engaged in farming and smithing until the war of the. rebellion. July 1864, he enlisted in the Eighth Minnesota, and was detailed as post blacksmith at Fort Snelling, where he served until mustered out, May, 1865. He has been active in all public affairs of the township, and has held all its offices. He was married to Elizabeth Hatcher in England, April, 1848. They have had nine children, of whom six are living: Edward, Ellen, John, Julia, Thomas and Carrie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 335

HUGHES, Thomas one of the early settlers of Plymouth, was born in England, November 25th, 1803. He served five years in the British Army, and in 1849, brought his family to America, and located at Burlington, Iowa, until the fall of 1853, when he removed to Minnesota. He settled on the claim in what is now Plymouth, where he has since resided. At the time he came, there were no roads, excepting the Indian trails used by Shakopee and his band of Sioux. Mr. Hughes has given his attention to farming, since his first settlement, and has built up a fine home. He was married to Hannah Buckell, in England, February 6th, 1825. They have had nine children, six of whom are living in Hennepin county. Names of children: James, Mary Ann, John (deceased) Thomas, Henry, Charles, Ellen (deceased) Edward and Ellen second, (demmed.) His son, Thomas, who is now living with him, enlisted in the Sixth Minnesota Infantry in 1861, served one year and was transferred to Company K, Twenty-third Regiment Veteran Reserve Corps, and served until mustered out at St. Paul in 1865. He was engaged in the battle of Birch Coolie and Wood Lake. during the Indian outbreak.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 566

HUGHES, Thomas S. was born in Tipperary, Ireland, in 1829. His father died when he was eight years of age, when he, with his mother and three sisters, went to Liverpool, England, there serving an apprenticeship of five years as stone-mason and brick-layer. In 1852 he was married, and with wife and mother came to America, locating at Cincinnati, Ohio. He worked at his trade five years, four of which were in the employ of the Little Miami Railroad Company. In 1857, he removed to Faribault, Minnesota, thence to Hastings, and after making the latter place his home seven years, removed to LeSueur county, on a farm. He came to Minneapolis in 1866, and has since resided here, engaging in the pursuit of his trade, under the direction of George McMullin. Mr. Hughes was married in 1852 to Miss Sarah Jones, who has born him five children: Susan S., Edmond S., Katie E. S., Elizabeth S., and Thomas S., Jr.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 236

HULBERT, William F. was born in Pittsfield, Michigan, in 1837; removed with his parents to Ann Arbor in 1854; attended school one year, then engaged in farming until 1861, when he came to Eden Prairie, and bought a tract of land. In the fall returned to Michigan, and in December, 1863, married Miss Rachel Booth, of Lodi, Michigan, who has borne him two children. Has been active in educational matters, and several times a member of the town board. His pleasant farm residence, is about one mile from the station of Eden Prairie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 567

HULL, James was born December 15th, 1836, and is a native of Nova Scotia. He came to the United States in April, 1854. He worked at ship-building for thirteen years at Boston, New York, Philadelphia, and Wilmington, Delaware. He next was employed in building sleeping coaches for the Jackson and Sharp Car Company, remaining with them three years, when he went to Duluth, and was in the employ of the railroad company, building a depot and elevator. He remained one year, then came to Minneapolis, engaged as a millwright, in the different mills of the city. After the explosion, Messrs. Hull and Parker rebuilt the Pillsbury, Anchor and Empire mills, also the new elevator, in 1879, in company with L. C. Bisbee. He married Miss Jennie M. Brown, in 1868. They have two children living: Harry A. and Meta.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 567

HUMPHREY, H. H. was born in Lorain county, Ohio, September 16th, 1844. He came to Minnesota in 1854, and engaged in farming in Rice county, thence to this city in 1870, and has since made this his home. He was in the employ of Mr. Bidwell until he entered into partnership with Daggett and Bidwell. He was married in August, 1864, to Miss Rosie Bidwell. (SEE ALSO BELOW).

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

HUMPHREY, H. H. was born at Huntington, Loraine County, Ohio, September 15, 1843, When he came to Minnesota in 1855, the family came with teams from Ohio to Galena, Ill., and up the river on the steamboat Luella, locating first at Union Lakes, Rice County, the latter part of May of that year.

On August 24, 1864, he enlisted in Company D, Eleventh Minnesota Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, and was with the regiment until mustered out at Galiton, Tennessee, in 1865.

Mr. Humphry was married to Miss Rosie L. Bidwell in August, 1864. Her family came to Minnesota in 1859. She died at Minneapolis June 1, 1892. Mr. Humphry was re-married to Mrs. Louisa H. Stickney (nee Staples) February 8, 1893. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

HUMPHREY, Louisa H., wife of H. H. Humphry, was born at Cornish, Maine, November 13, 1844, and came west with her parents in 1855, arriving at St. Anthony May 15th of that year, coming up the river on the steamer "War Eagle." She was married to Frank J. Stickney in 1865 in Anoka, Minn. He died January, 1885. Her father, William Staples died at Anoka, April, 1893. Mrs. Stickney was married to H. H. Humphry Feb. 8, 1893. Her mother, at the age of eighty, is well and active after having raised a family of twelve children, and makes her home in Minneapolis with her daughter, Mrs. Humphry.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 567

HUNT, B. was born at Baden, Germany, June 7th, 1834. He came to the United States, in 1854, locating at Lansing, Iowa, and. engaged in milling until 1866, when he came to this city. Here he engaged in milling one year, when he was appointed on the police force, where he served until 1878, except two years on account of sickness. On retiring from the force, he removed to Oregon, and once more engaged as a miller, and as such, remained until August, 1880, when he returned to this city and became the proprietor of the Hennepin House, 214 First street north. He was married to Margaret Hirt in 1860. They have three children living, Peter B., Kate, and Bernard X. Mr. Hunt also owns the building on Plymouth Avenue, occupied as the Bethany Home, which he erected in 1868.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 567

HUNTER, Samuel was born in Glasgow, Scotland. He came to the United States in 1852, located at Providence, Rhode Island, where he learned the trade of plumber and gasfitter. Five years later he removed to Chicago, thence to St. Louis, in 1859, where he resided until the first call for volunteers, when he enlisted in the Third Missouri Infantry. At the expiration of five months he entered the United States Navy, and was attached to the navy yards at Cairo and Mound City, Illinois, until the close of hostilities. He came from St. Louis to this city in 1867; he returned three years later to St. Louis, where he remained three years, then came to this city and located. He was the first plumber here, and at that time were neither gas nor water-works. He was married in 1861, to Miss Rose Burns, of St. Louis. They are parents of four children living, Andrew W., Jessie, John B., and Samuel.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 567

HUNTINGTON, George H. was born in Green Lake county, Wisconsin, in 1848. He attended the district schools until 1864, when he came west with his parents, locating in Dodge county, Minnesota. For five years he attended the North-western College, and taught school, when he came to Minneapolis, engaged in the ice business with Roberts and Lum. In the fall of the same year, he was employed on the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad as brakeman he served in different positions in railroading, and was also in the coopering business until 1878, when he opened and conducted the Bushnell House on Fourth street, Minneapolis. In May, 1880, he was appointed on the police force and is yet serving. He was married in 1878, to Miss Sarah Erickson, of North Branch, Minnesota.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 567

HUNTINGTON, James was born in Canada East, May 29th, 1818. He came to Dodge county, Minnesota, in 1864. While there built a flouring mill, of which he was proprietor three years. In 1869 he bought the Bushnell House in this city, of which he was proprietor until 1876; he then removed to Hinckley, Minnesota, but returned to this city two years later. He then rented the Sixth Avenue House, where he has since been. He was married in 1846, at Lowell, Massachusetts, to Miss Rachel C. Burbank, a native of Vermont. Their children are: George H., James H., Abbie H., and Alice H. C.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 275

HUNTSBERGER, M. was born in Pennsylvania, in 1834. He moved to Hennepin county, in 1865, and settled in Medina. In 1877, started wagon making at, Long Lake, having learned the trade at Council Bluffs, Cumberland county, Penn. He worked on the first building in Long Lake

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 275

HUNTSBERGER, Jacob was born in Pennsylvania, in 1844. He enlisted in 1861, in Company H, 87th Pennsylvania. Served nearly four years; participating in fifteen engagements; was taken prisoner at Winchester. Exchanged and transferred to the Army of the Potomac, and was honorably discharged in 1865, when he came and settled in Medina. Married, in 1866, to Charlotte Arthur. Six children have been born to them.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 305

HURLBUT, R. R. born in Vermont, in 1830. Followed railroading when young. He was married in 1852, to Mary Stebbins, and moved to Minnesota in 1855. Located in Hassan for one year; thence to Dayton, where he engaged in mercantile business for two years. Located where he now lives in 1870, a fine location in Wright county, opposite Dayton. Purchased, in 1878, one-half interest in the Dayton Flour Mills, which, with his farm, occupies his entire attention. He has two children: William F. and Rodman R.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 305

HURLBUT, William F. son of R. R. Hurlbut, was born in Vermont, in 1853. He remained with his parents until 1870, when he entered the State University at Minneapolis, at the same time taking a commercial course. Returned to Dayton in 1874 and purchased a half interest in the Dayton Flour Mills, and also carried on a general merchandising business in connection with his milling. In 1880 he married Jennie E. Nixon, of Pennsylvania.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 568

HUSH, Valentine G. was born in Licking county, Ohio, in 1842. In 1867, he took the advice offered to young men by Horace Greely, and came west, locating in Minneapolis. For two years he was engaged as clerk, and during that time was married to Florence M., daughter of Judge W. W. Woods, of Marysville, Ohio. In 1869, he, in company with three other gentlemen, started the City Bank, and three years later, he established V. G. Hush's Bank, in which he has since continued. Mr. Hush has been connected with banking since boyhood, having never been engaged in any other business. The names of his children are: Estelle Woods, Harriet Louise, Jane Mary, Florence Belle, and William Woods.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 568

HUSTON, James F. a native of New Brunswick, was born May 11th, 1830. He came to Minneapolis in 1865 and for four years had charge of the Monitor Plow Works. In 1870 he formed partnership with Mr. McCrimmon, with the firm name of Huston and McCrimmon, which was dissolved in one year. He pursued his calling until 1874 in this city, when he removed to Eagle Harbor, Michigan, where for three years he was in the employ of the government making improvements in the harbor. In June, 1879, he returned to this city and has since been in the pursuit of his trade. He married Miss Anna Hannes, in 1869. They have five children living: Nicholas, Mary J., Anna, Sarah and James.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 568

HUTCHINS, E. A. M. D. was born in Vermont, November 14th, 1838. His education was secured at different schools and Fort Edward Institute, New York; he studied at Plattsburg, Burlington, Vermont, and at Berkshire Medical College, at Pittsfield, Massachusetts. He practiced in St. Lawrence county, New York, until the spring of 1878, when he came to this city and is now permanently located here. He was a member of the St. Lawrence County Medical Association and is now a member of the State Medical Society. He was married in 1863; his wife died leaving one daughter, Jennie C. In 1867 he remarried and has one daughter by his second wife, Gabrielle E.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 568

HUTCHINSON, John Corrin was born on the Isle of Man, England, May 11th, 1849. He emigrated to America with his mother in 1867. He first worked on a farm near Red Wing for two years, then taught in a district school for one year. Mr. Hutchinson then entered the University in 1870, and by his energy and perseverance, working at whatever he could get to do, pushed his way through the institution, taking a complete classical course, and graduating in 1876. During the junior year he taught in the St. Paul high school. After graduating he was employed as instructor of Greek and Latin in the University. In 1880 Mr. Hutchinson was appointed assistant professor of Greek, which position he now occupies. He was married in 1876, to Miss L. D. Hinckley, daughter of J. B. Hinckley, one of the earliest settlers in Minneapolis. They. have three children, Effie H., Drusilla and Ruth.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 568

HUY, George E. was born in Steuben county, New York, in 1819. He remained at the old homestead until 1851, when he came west, locating at Long Prairie, Minnesota, in 1852, and the next year removed to Minneapolis and engaged in lumbering; it was he who sawed the first lumber on the west side. In 1854 he was elected register of deeds and also served as superintendent of the Minneapolis Mill Company until 1857. He was elected justice of the peace in 1858, and about that time built and had charge of a planing mill in company with R. P. Russell, on the site of the present Model mill. In 1861 he built the Dakota flouring mill and took as partner O. B. King; in 1866 Mr. Huy became sole owner and eight years after, sold to S. S. Brown and, company. On account of failing health he went to the Black Hills, where he engaged in mining. He married Miss Mary Ticknor, who died a few years after, leaving one daughter, Mary E. He was again married, to Miss Caroline Taylor, who bore him five sons, all residents of this city: George L., Frank, Albert, Arthur and Douglass.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 568

HYDE, Mell L. was born at Almond, New York, in 1824. He came to Minneapolis in 1857, and published the Minnesota Beacon, a temperance paper, and afterwards the Rural Minnesotian, which was devoted to agriculture, also to the temperance work. In the years of 1858, 1859, and 1860, he held the position of Grand Secretary of the Good Templars, and was again elected as such in 1880. His profession was that of house painting and wood engraving in which he continued eight years, then engaged in wood engraving only, at 222, Hennepin Avenue. He married Miss Annie H. Goodrich in 1860. They are parents of two children: William L. and Grace F.

 


Back to page one of surname H