Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
I

Use the Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames (Ctrl & F)

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 569

ILIOWIZI, Henry was born in Russia, January, 1851, where he attended school until sixteen years of age, pursuing rabbinical studies. He then left for Germany, spending two years under the auspices of Dr. Baerwald; thence to the Jewish seminary in Berlin, under the care of the celebrated Honviz, remaining with him for three years; from there to the theological seminary at Breslau, for over one year. Was then called to London by the Anglo-Jewish Association, to acquire a knowledge of the English language and popular science, for the purpose of visiting the East as a teacher and director of a school. From London he was sent to Paris, for the purpose of learning the French language, at the same time studying Spanish. After remaining in Paris fifteen months, he proceeded to Africa, for the purpose of managing a school for children at Tetuan, remaining there for seventeen months, battling. with the cholera, famine, and the barbarisms of the uncivilized natives, whose great or chief mark of honor, was to kill an infidel, for such they called all who came to civilize them. From that point he crossed to Gibralter, remaining there for one year, instructing the youth, preaching in the synagogue, and giving lectures. From there he proceeded to America, landing in New York, July, 20th, 1880, remaining in the city for a few days, then going to Harrissonburgh, Virginia, to officiate during the holidays. So satisfactory were his labors that they invited him to become their resident pastor; but a difference arising upon the day of worship, which was not in keeping with the Jewish Sabbath, he, in a scholarly letter, clothed in kind and courteous language, declined the offer, and left for Chicago, Illinois, where he preached one sermon, to the entire satisfaction of the congregation; but the Portuguese pronunciation which he gave them did not agree with their German pronunciation. Bidding them good-bye, he left for Cincinnati, spending two or three weeks with Rev. Dr. J. M. Wise, who advised him of the necessity of the Hebrew Reformed congregation of Minneapolis, to which place he immediately came, and received a unanimous call, which he accepted, and is now in full charge, very much to the satisfaction of all.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 262

INGERSON, Ashbel, was born in Jefferson county, New York, September 19, 1827. At the age of eighteen he went to Georgia and remained three years teaching school. He spent four years as civil engineer in New York state, and came west in 1855. Remained in Indiana one year, and then came to Steele county, Minnesota. In 1858 was elected county surveyor. In 1862 he enlisted in the Fifth Minnesota, and served ten months, participating in several battles; he was then transferred to the signal service and discharged in 1865. He was clerk in the United States Treasury department for two years, and in 1867 settled in Hennepin county. He was engaged four seasons on government surveys in northern Minnesota. He represented his district in the house in 1875, and has taken an active part in public affairs. In 1880 he removed to his present home, "Aralia," on the west bank of Minnetonka. He married Sarah A. Chase in 1857, and they have had six children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 569

INKS, B. F. a native of Brandonville, Preston county, West Virginia, was born July 7th, 1855, and in November, 1857, accompanied his father to Minneapolis. With the exception of two years in the grocery store of Bradley and Branch, Mr. Inks has always worked at carpentering, being employed by other parties until November, 1880, when the firm of Stranahan and Inks, contractors and builders, was formed.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 569

IRELAND, C. H. was born June 19th, 1836, at Dexter, Maine, and came to this city in 1876. Mr. Ireland is an old hotel man, having had several years experience in the business while in Maine. In 1880 he rented the Fewer House at 215 Second street south; it is of brick, and three stories high. Mr. Ireland keeps a strictly temperance house. His marriage with Sarah Langdon, of Hyde Park, Massachusetts, took place June 1st, 1870. In June, 1874, she died, leaving one child, Clarence G.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 220

IRWIN, E.F. is a native of New York, born in Erie county February 2d, 1840. In 1855 he came with his parents to Minnesota, settling in the town of Richfield. Was occupied in various pursuits until 1862 when he joined the company commanded by Captain Northup for the relief of Fort Ridgely. In 1865 he bought the farm he has since occupied, and has improved it until it ranks among the finest farms of the town. Was married October 1st, 1867 at Iowa City, Iowa, to Martha J. Bortland. They have one son. John Bortland, born February 16th, 1874.

 

Contributed by: Deborah Knoll dnknoll2@aol . Information obtained by Eugene Charles Iverson ( son of Eugene James Iverson )
 

IVERSON, John  was born March 25, 1837 in Jutland, Denmark and immigrated to the  US in 1856 to the area of Racine and Waterford, Wisconsin, ( Racine County).  He enlisted in the Civil War on August 6, 1862: was wounded July, 1864 at  Peachtree Creek, Georgia and mustered out on June 12, 1865. He returned to  the Waterford area and married Josephine Smith on October 12, 1867 in  Savanah , Missouri, Andrew County. Waterford was their home for a few years  where two sons were born: James Eugene on Oct. 4, 1869, ( was later called  Eugene James) and William Sherman on Oct. 2, 1871 who died in infancy. Death  of the mother, Josephine, occured soon afterward from measles on May 19, 1872  at Minnneapolis, MN - age 23 yr. Family history or information passed on that  Hannah Trobak took care of Josephine during her illness. John was farming and  operating a blacksmith shop at Hersey, MN.

John later married Hannah Trobak ( Throbeck) on March 6, 1873 in Minneapolis,  MN. Hannah also had a son, William Hermand, born on May 28, 1871 (  Minneapolis). The family then consisted of two sons, Eugene and William and  eight more children were born listed as follows:

Caroline J. born March 4, 1874 - died December 10, 1965 ( married  Oscar Fisk)
Hans Henry born November 14, 1875 - died in infancy
Nellie O. born March 1, 1877 - died February 1946 ( married Mason  Fisk)
Hannah and Mary - twin girls born February 1879 - died July 22 &23, 1879
Henry H. born February 1, 1880 - died October 6, 1936 ( married Lillie  Anderson)
Alfred Eugene born November 7, 1881 - died June 26, 1930 ( married  Marie Tollefson)
Mary A. born January 10, 1886 - died xx/xx/1966 ( married to Maurice  Hoover)

John and Hannah lived in Hersey, MN until 1883 then moved to Minneapolis where  he worked for his brother James, who owned the North Star Wagon and Carriage  Co. at 200-202 N. First St., doing Blacksmith work. His son, Eugene J. also  worked there as a trimmer. Residential addresses were 2204 10th Ave. .s and  3034 23rd. Ave. S. , Minneapolis, MN.

In 1892 they moved to a farm just north of Wolf Creek, Wisconsin where he  farmed for sixteen years, in 1908 the farm was sold and they moved to  Taylors Falls, MN. where they lived until his death on April 24, 1915. he  suffered from a hip wound which occurred during the Civil War. he was a great  Bible student, a kind husband and father , and known as an obliging neighbor  and friend.