Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
M
Page 1 of 2


Go back to page 1 of surname M

Use the Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames (Ctrl & F)

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by: Wayne C. Blesi.  waybliss@aol.com

MAAG, JACOB, was born in Zurich, Switzerland on Mar.28,1859, His wife Margaretha Albrecht of Zurich born on Oct.18, 1856 were married in MN. in 1885.He came with His friend Jacob Weber from Zurich, Switzerland to America in 1877 and lived for 2 years on farmland at Florence, No. Dakota. He moved to Champlin Township around 1880-1882 and settled on farm land on the south side of Elm Creek. Jacob was a mason by trade and He did the brick facing on the St. Fridolin Lutheran Church of New Schwanden in 1897 and the plastering inside with fancy ceilings. He also did brick work on buildings in Rogers and Anola, MN. His work is seen today in 2006 of  stone walls and pillars on the west side of Ferry St. into Anoka of the old Caswell Mansion which was completed later by another stone worker but not as neatly grouted or tucked. The Maags took an active part in the St. Fridolin Church of New Schwanden, MN. Their children were 1. Margaret born in 1866 "Mrs. B.L. Elliott, 2. Henry born in 1894 married on Jun 1,1918 to Amanda Ttromblly, 3. Louise born in 1894 and married Willis Bovee ,4. Edward Maag born in 1896. Henry and Edward  served in W.W.1.conflict

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 586

MACHMEIER, Jacob a native of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, was born November 2d, 1855. When fifteen years of age he commenced learning black-smithing and has continued the trade since. He was in different places in Wisconsin until the spring of 1879, when he removed to Fargo, and in the fall of the same year to Minneapolis. At first he worked for the street car company, then a short time for Mr. Cramsie, and is now one of the firm of Murphy and Machmeier; they do all kinds of repairing and job work, and make a specialty of horse shoeing.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 586

MACKROTH, J. H. a native of Germany, was born in October, 1848, and was given the advantages of a college education. He came to America in 1868, and was employed by the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy railroad company as civil engineer until 1870; then two years for the Missouri, Iowa and Nebraska railroad, and three years in the office of the latter company serving as auditor. After this he went in business for himself, and is now a member of the firm of Clark and Mackroth, dealers in agricultural implements. Mr. Mackroth resides at 1408 Nicollet Avenue. He was married in 1875 to Belle Kelso. Their children are Otis and Stuart.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 586

MACURDY, D. A. born at Dunbarton, Now Hampshire, in 1832. For many years he kept a general store in his native state. August 11th, 1862 he enlisted in the Fourteenth New Hampshire Volunteers as private, and was promoted to captain; he was honorably discharged July 28th, 1865. He went to St. Paul in November, 1878, and after a residence of a few months there, removed to this city. In June, 1879, he was employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railroad company and has charge of shipping the lumber from this point. He married Salome Fellows in 1852., They have buried their three children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing.

Page 586

MADSON, C. a native of Denmark, was born October 11th, 1849. He came to the United States in 1871, and located at St. Paul. He removed to Minneapolis, and was employed in the North Star Woolen Mills until the spring of 1876; in September of that year he started in the grocery trade in partnership with Mr. Johnson. They own the property they are occupying, No. 1216 Western Avenue. Mr. Madson was married in 1879 to Lotta Johnson.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing.

Page 586

MAEDER, Louis was born in Switzerland, January 1st, 1831. He came to the United States in 1854, and passed a few months in Ohio and, two years in Indiana; then spent six years in Wisconsin in the brewing business. In 1862 he came to this city and kept the toll house, at the bridge near Orth's brewery, some time, and in 1865 became proprietor of the hotel where he now is, at 229 Main street, N. E. His marriage with Theresa Schab took place August 2d, 1862. They have had five children: Elizabeth, Josephine, Charles, Albert and Louis.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing.

Page 587

MAHAFFY, W. D. a native of Ireland, was born September 25th, 1848. He was educated at Queen's College, Belfast. On leaving school he removed to Canada, and located in Toronto, where he carried on an extensive painting and decorating establishment. In July, 1880, he came to Minneapolis, and contemplates making this his home.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 229

MAHONEY, Jeremiah born in Ireland in 1818. Came to America in 1839. Enlisted in 1840 in the U. S. Army, as Quartermaster Sergeant, and was ordered to Florida under Genl. W. S. Harny, to gather the Seminole Indians and take them to the reservation in Arkansas. Stationed at Fort Gibson four years. Ordered to Mexico in 1846. Was through all the battles of the Mexican war under Gen. Scott. Ordered to Fort Snelling, and appointed Ordnance Sergeant, where he remained until the post was sold to Franklin Steele. Married in 1853 to Anna Nevin. Moved to his present farm in 1858. In 1861, enlisted in the First Minnesota Regiment as Commissary Sergeant. Received the appointment of Head Clerk and Cashier in Quartermaster's Department, Alexandria, Va. In 1864 returned to his home. They have one child living, Martha A. Town Supervisor one year, and Justice of the Peace two years.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 587

MAHONEY, Mrs. B. is the owner and landlady of the Excelsior House, situated at the corner of Second street and Second Avenue. This house was built in 1872; it is 33x60 feet and two stories in height. Mrs. Mahoney was left a widow in 1871, with a family of seven children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 587

MAISH, Captain Lewis was born July 2d, 1840, at York, Pennsylvania. When sixteen years of age, he was apprenticed to the Variety Iron Works of York, and served there four years. In August, 1860, he took an active part in organizing a company, and was appointed second lieutenant of Company B, Eighty-seventh Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers; he was promoted to captain in October, 1863. In June, 1864 he was captured and held as a prisoner of war for nine months; then he made his escape, and was mustered out of service in April, 1865. In September, 1867, he came to Minneapolis and has since been in business here; he is a member of the firm of Hashow, Maish and Davis of the Variety Iron Works. Mr. Maish was married in 1863 to Jennie Gaenslen. Their only living child is Nettie. Mrs. Maish was well known by many of the sick and wounded soldiers for whom she cared. For her persistence in aiding the wounded Union soldiers, she was arrested, by order of a rebel general and sent with forty-four Union ladies to Richmond, and incarcerated in "Castle Thunder", until exchanged.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 587

MALMSTEN, August a native of Sweden, was born in 1844. He learned the trade of machinist in the old country, and in 1869 came to America. He located in Minneapolis and worked at his trade with different firms, until he engaged in business for himself. He was married in this city, in August, 1871, to Miss Annie Johnson. Their children are: Mary, Nellie, Annie and Jennie. The family reside at 1121, Eighth street South.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 220

MALONEY, Michael was born in the County of Galway, Ireland, November 20th, 1845; came to New York in 1852, and two years later removed to Wisconsin, where he resided for fifteen years. August 1862, enlisted in a Wisconsin regiment, and served three years under Generals Sherman and McPherson. He was discharged August, 1865, and four years later removed to Minnesota, and has since resided in Richfield, where he owns 160 acres of land. He was married November, 1877, to Albertina Erickson. They have one daughter, born December 31st, 1878.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 589

MANGEN, Nicholas was born May 6th, 1856, in Germany. In 1866 he came to Minneapolis and in 1876 commenced blacksmithing, he also learned the trade of wagon-making, and is now doing a good business. He was formerly in company with Mr. Wier, but in December, 1880, Mr. Mangen bought his partner's interest, and is now manufacturing wagons, sleighs, etc., besides doing general blacksmithing. In 1880, he married Annie Jaspers, who has borne him one son.

Captain Nicolas Mangen, Engine 12

 

Born May 6, 1856, in Luxembourg, Germany.  In 1866 he came to Minnesota, and in 1875 he arrived in Minneapolis and learned the trade of wagon maker.  He joined “Germania Hose Company No. 2” in 1876, and when the department was made part paid July 1, 1879, he was continued as a member at call of that company.  When the fire department was made permanent November 4, 1884, he was promoted to Lieutenant of that company, and on October 3, 1886, he was promoted and transferred to be Captain of Engine Company No. 12, his present position.

 

From the 1890 “History of the Fire and Police Departments, Minneapolis”, by A.E. Costello

 

Note:  Germania Hose Company No. 2 was located at 13th & Main Street Northeast.

          

 

1890 Roster

 

Engine Company No. 12 – Summer & Jackson Streets Northeast

 

Captain Nicolas Mangen, Lieutenant Patrick T. Quinn

                    Steamer – 1889 Clapp & Jones 2nd Class, 700 GPM pump, serial #511, weight 6,880 lbs.
                    3-horsehitch

                    Engineer John A. Gonsted, Assistant Engineer Fred B. Morse, Driver Charles Saunders

 

                    Hose – 1880 Fire Extinguisher Mfg. Co. 4-wheel hose carriage, serial #7, 1,000 ft. of 2½-inch hose,    weight 5,000 lbs., 2-horse hitch

                    Driver Joseph Bray

        Pipemen Solomon H. Cyrier, John Benolkin, William Benolkin

 
 

From the Minneapolis Journal

November 18, 1899 Page 7, “City” column

 

Nicholas Mangen, captain of engine company No. 12, died yesterday of consumption, at the age of 43 years.  The funeral will be held Monday at 9 a. m., at St. Boniface church, under the auspices of the fire department, the Luxemburgers and the St. Boniface benevolent societies.  The deceased joined the old volunteer department and was appointed in the paid department in 1879.  He leaves a wife and five children.

 

 

From the Minneapolis Tribune

November 18, 1899 Page 11

 

A VETERAN FIRE FIGHTER

Nicholas Mangen, Who Started in the

Old Volunteer Department, Answers

The Last Call

 

Nicholas Mangen, a pensioner of the fire department, died at his home, 1123 Spring street yesterday.  He had been a member of the fire department ever since it was organized, 20 years ago, and before that had been in the old volunteer department.  That means that he had spent his life as a fireman, for he was but 44 years old.  He ceased active relations with the department in 1896, having a pulmonary weakness, and spent some time in Arizona in the hope that the climate would be better for him than the cooler Northwest, but the change did not prove as helpful as was expected and he returned to Minneapolis. Mr. Mangen leaves a wife and four children. The Funeral will take place Monday morning, and service will be held at St. Boniface church at 8:30 o’clock.

 

(Note:  He is buried at St. Mary’s Cemetery, 43rd & Chicago Avenue, Mpls., (Minneapolis Fire Dept.  Relief Association plot)

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 326

MARCHAND, David a native of Canada, was born October 14th, 1834. He lived there fifteen years, then removed to Massachusetts, and stated until 1851, when he came to Minnesota, and settled in Maple Grove; worked at carpentering till 1870, and has since that time followed farming. In 1863 he joined General Sibley's expedition as a scout, was drafted while on his way from Fort Snelling to Ft. Ridgely and was ordered to return to St. Paul. He paid three hundred dollars for a substitute. He was detailed for duty at Fort Wadsworth, transferred to Fort Abercrombie, and again transferred to Fort Wadsworth; he left there in November 1864, and returned to Maple Grove. He married Laura Gasner, September 20th, 1858. They have six children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 587

MARRIOTT, William was born in Nottingham, England, March 27th, 1832. He came to America in 1849, and served an apprenticeship in Henry Diston's saw works at Philadelphia. After learning his trade he began business in company with Henry Diston, at Cleveland, Ohio, manufacturing saws, files, etc. He made and lost a large fortune, then became discouraged and retired from business for six years, during which time he invented Marriott's celebrated boiler compounds He came to this city in 1879, and was employed by different firms until 1880, when he again went into business, manufacturing all kinds of saws, at No. 256, Sixth Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 587

MARSH, Albert born in Aroostook county, Maine, June 21st, 1840. He moved with his parents to Bangor, where he attended the public schools until 1858, when he entered Kent's Hill College, and graduated in the spring of 1861. Soon after leaving school he enlisted in the Second Maine Volunteer Infantry. He was wounded at the second battle of Bull Run, and taken prisoner, but was paroled, and returned just in time to participate in the battle of Fredericksburg; another time when he was captured he made his escape by swimming a river. His regiment was mustered out in June, 1863, and the following September he re-enlisted. He received four wounds, and was several times taken prisoner, and served until honorably discharged in 1866. He came here in 1878, and since the fall of 1879 has served on the police force. His wife was Eva Sumner. Their children are: Arnold and Fred.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 587

MARTEN, Jacob was born in Germany, in 1838. He came to the United States in 1864, and lived one year in Carver county, Minnesota, engaged in farming. In 1865 he came to this city, worked about five months in a brewery, then was employed in the woolen mills nearly five years, and passed two years in the teaming business. In 1872 he erected the building at 1501 Washington Avenue south, and for four years kept a grocery and feed store. In the summer of 1880 he built at 1507 Washington Avenue south, where he is now located. He married Mena Copul in 1867. Their children are: Anna, Mary, Amelia, Lillian, John, and William.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 588

MARTIN, H. M. came to Minneapolis in 1857, and worked at printing until 1861, when he enlisted and served three years in the First Minnesota Volunteers; afterwards two years on the frontier. In 1866, he returned to this city arid again engaged in printing until 1868, when he took up his present business. He is located at 209 Nicollet Avenue, and deals in soda, mineral and excelsior waters. October 7th, 1866, he married Matilda Peterson. They have had four children; only two are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 588

MARTINDELL, Mahlon a native of Lambertville, New Jersey was born April 20th, 1839. He learned carpentering, and in 1870, moved to Iowa, where he remained one and one-half years. In 1872, he came here and worked in the Washburn A mill, and has since been employed as mill-wright at the different mills of this city. On the 18th of January, 1866, his marriage with Rachel Dalrymple took place. Five children have been born to them, Harry, Ella, Laura, Leva, Lille and Bessie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 588

MARTO, Paul born January 7th, 1848, in Vermont. In 1861 he went to Fort Plain, New York, and remained until he enlisted, in 1862, in the one hundred and twenty-eighth New York Volunteers. After serving three years he returned to Fort Plain, and for five years was engaged in the manufacture of cigars. In 1870 he removed to Minneapolis. He continued in the cigar business about two years, then went back to New York for a short time, and thence to Bennington, Vermont, where he resided until 1878, when he once more came to this city, and went into business at No. 53 Central Avenue. He married Amanda Clapper, in 1869.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 589

MARTTY, Samuel was born in Switzerland, February 25th, 1821. He came to the United States in 1848 and resided in the state of New York until 1852, when he removed to Dakota county, Minnesota, and bought a farm. He has made Minneapolis his home since 1862. In September, 1879, he opened a drugstore at 103 Plymouth Avenue. Mr. Martty married, in 1846, Margaret Hilficker. They are the parents of four children:, Mary, Sophie, Othmar, and Lizzie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 588

MASKELL, George a native of England, was born January 11th, 1839, in Essex county. In 1878 he came to the United States, and first located in Clay county, Minnesota, where he was employed in farming until 1874. He then came to this city and opened the first meat stall in the new market, where he is still located. Mr. Maskell's family consists of a wife and one son.

 

From "Our Independence 1854 - 1981" Submitted by Claudine Pearson. ClaudeP@aol.com

MASKI, Albert F. and his family came to Independence in 1902.  He and his wife, Frieda, had five children.  Albert died in 1908.  After operating the farm by herself for a few years, Frieda decided to go near Bear Paw Mountain.  She planned to ship her livestock and machinery by rail.  However, it was discovered that her cows had hoof and mout disease.  She was not allowed to take them.  The horses and machinery were sent by box car.  Albert Jr. rode in the car to care for the horses.

While they wre in Montana the two younger boys attened school with Indians on a neighboring ranch.

In 1924 they oved back to th farm in Independence on County Road 92 (where Tom Fink lives).  They continued farming until 1937.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 588

MASSOLT, William born January 1st, 1831, in Germany. In 1850 he moved to Pennsylvania, and lived at Allentown until 1854 when he went to Seneca county, Ohio. The year following he came to this city, and hence to Stillwater, where he resided nine years, and then spent four years at Eau Claire, Wisconsin. He returned to Minneapolis in 1868, and engaged in bottling ginger ale, soda and mineral waters, etc. He is at 126 Plymouth Avenue. In 1861 he married Mary Costmann. Their living children are: Matilda, Albert, Anna, Augusta, Willie, Ida, Lillie, and Charlie.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by: Kenneth Smith.  ksmith22@mn.rr.com

MATHEWS, John Robert, John was born in rural Jefferson County, Indiana, near the Town of Caanan, on August 5th, 1867. He was the son of Thomas M. Mathews and Sarah Earhart, who were married in Jefferson County on August 28th, 1859. Thomas died when John was young, and Sarah remarried, about 1880, David H. Wilson. There was apparently friction between John and his step-father, because John left home when he was in his teens. From the late 1880's to 1900, John traveled and worked through the United States. He learned to be a barber, and according to his retirement article in the Northern States Power in-house magazine, he "practiced the tonsorial art in all forty-eight states, Mexico, and part of Canada".

John first appears in the Minneapolis City Directory in 1901, as a barber, working in a shop at 124 Hennepin Avenue. In 1902 and 1903, he is in the Directory as a barber working in a shop on Nicollet Island. His residence is listed as 622 Hennepin. The 1903 directory also has a listing for a young lady named Louise Newman, a cashier. She too was boarding at 622 Hennepin. Louise was born in 1883 in Menomonie, Wisconsin. Her mother had died when Louise was young and she had become the woman of the house for her father and brothers. When her youngest brother was old enough, Louise probably wanted to take a break from caring for her family, and came to Minneapolis when she was about 19 to see what life was like in the big city. Louise didn't take long to tame the "traveling man" in John, because they were married on June 17th, 1903 in Minneapolis.

John continued barbering until 1909. During those years John and Louise were living on Nicollet Island and beginning to raise a family. John Jr., Donald and Violet were born on Nicollet Island. In 1909, John began working for Northern States Power, which was then known as Minneapolis Mill Company, as a watchman. The couple soon rented a home on NE. Washington Street and their family kept growing. Evelyn, Lloyd, Albert & Muriel were born between 1910 and 1916. Around 1918, John and Louise moved to the near south side of Minneapolis, renting homes near Franklin & Bloomington Avenues for a few years. They bought a home and settled at 2213-16th Avenue South. Louis, Douglas & Robert were born between 1918 and 1925, completing the Mathews family at ten children.

John retired from NSP in December, 1948. John and Louise celebrated their 50th anniversary in 1953. John was 86 at the time. On September 12, 1954, at the age of 87, John suffered a heart attack at his home and died. He is buried at Sunset Memorial Cemetery in St. Anthony, Minnesota.

Information from personal recollection of his grandson, Kenneth Smith and his daughter Muriel; John's Social Scurity application; Jefferson County, Indiana records; the Northern States Power Co. in-house magazine and the Minneapolis City Directory.

 

Contributed  by:Kenneth Smith ksmith22@mn.rr.com

MATHEWS, Violet.  Violet was born on May 18, 1907 in a small house on Nicollet Island in Minneapolis, at 91 Nicollet St. She was the first daughter of three born to John and Louise Newman Mathews, along with seven sons, two older than Violet. During her youth, her family moved frequently around near northeast and south Minneapolis, finally settling at 2213-16th Avenue South. She attended Adams school and South High, graduating in 1925. During her younger years, she spent lots of time in Menomonie, Wisconsin, visiting her many cousins on her mother's side who lived there.

After graduation, Vi worked for the telephone company. In the evening, she would go dancing at one of the many small ballrooms that dotted Minneapolis at the time. Before long, she married her favorite dancing partner, Leon Grant. Unfortunately, they soon discovered that dancing was all they had in common. They divorced, and Vi went to work with her sister Muriel at the 620 Club in downtown Minneapolis as a waitress. It was "the" nightspot of Minneapolis in the 30's.

In 1939, she met and married Ray Smith, in a whirlwind romance. After the marriage, Vi never worked outside the home again. She had a large circle of friends, and loved to go out to lunch with her girlfriends. Vi and Ray also had an active social life, dining out frequently, attending dances and dinners sponsored by the local Shrine Temple to which Ray belonged, and spending lots of time with family and friends.

Vi was a closet poet all her life, but not too many people outside her family knew it. She wrote especially moving tributes to her parents and older siblings after their deaths. After Ray retired, they moved out of their home to a four-plex. After Ray died in 1976, Vi found the apartment too difficult to care for. She moved into a senior citizen's high rise close to her old family home, on 22nd and 16th Ave. She spent the better part of ten years there before a series of falls forced her to move into a rest home in Richfield. She was very popular in the home, and had a regular poetry column in the home's newsletter.

Vi doted on all of her son’s children, and their successes. Her room was filled with pictures of all eight of her grandchildren, and nothing made her happier than a visit from one or more of them. The kids all remember Vi as a great babysitter, because she made them feel so special. She would make up a story with the kids as characters in the tale. As Violet got into her upper eighties, she grew weaker. In the spring of 1993, she was hospitalized several times, and passed away peacefully on May 4th. She is buried with Ray at Sunset Memorial Park in St. Anthony, Minnesota.

This information is the personal recollection of her sister Muriel and her son Kenneth.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 589

MATTHEWS, A. C. was born in Montgomery county, New York, February 1st, 1832. He went with his parents to Pennsylvania, and learned carpentering. At the age of twenty-one years he removed to Ohio, and thence to Illinois. In 1861 he enlisted in the Seventeenth Illinois, Company D, as private, and was promoted to first lieutenant. He was several times wounded, and in February, 1868 resigned on account of disability. At Winona, Minnesota, he was engaged in carpenter work about ten years, and removed to this city in 1873. He was employed at the Washburn 'A' and 'B' mills until July, 1878; since that time has been at the 'C' mill. In 1863 he married Jenny Taylor. Their children are: Harry, Charles, Frank, Minnie, George, Ernest, Grace, and a babe.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 588

MATTSON, Col. Hans editor of the Stats Tidning, was born in Onestad, Sweden, December 23d, 1832. He received his primary education at Christianstad, Sweden, and at the age of seventeen, entered military service. Two yearn later he left the service and emigrated to the United States, arriving in June, 1851. He engaged in various occupations in the eastern states, and the second winter in this country, he mastered the English language. His parents came to this country in 1853, and together they went to Illinois. In August of that year, he located with a colony of his countrymen, in Goodhue county, Minnesota, and at once took a prominent position in the public affairs of his township. He speculated in lots and lands until the crash of 1857, which left him in debt. He then began the study of law with Warren Bristol, now a judge in Arizona territory, and after one year was admitted to practice. He occupied several prominent offices in Goodhue county, and on the breaking out of the war, enlisted as captain of Company D, Third Minnesota Infantry. Was promoted through the intervening offices, and came home in 1865 as colonel of his regiment. He then engaged in the practice of law until 1866, when he went to Chicago as editor of a Swedish newspaper. January, 1867, he returned to Minnesota as secretary of the state board of immigration, and in 1869, was elected secretary of state, but went to Europe in the interests of railroad corporations, before his term expired. Remained in Europe four years, and returned to this state, and has since resided in Minneapolis. He is chief editor of the Stats Tidning, a Swedish newspaper, and general manager of the Swedish Tribune of Chicago. He was married November 23d, 1855, in the town of Vasa, Goodhue county, to Cherstin Peterson, who was born in Sweden, April 5th, 1838. Their marriage ceremony was the first performed in that township. After passing through many hardships in the course of his life, he is now enjoying the comforts of a happy home.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 589

MAUREN, Nicholas was born June 25th, 1842, in Prussia. He came with his parents to America and located at Chicago, Illinois, where he remained nine years. In October, 1861, he came to Minnesota and the year following enlisted in Company I, Sixth Minnesota Volunteers. He was promoted to corporal and served three years, being discharged with the regiment in August, 1865. On his return he located in Minneapolis, and has since resided here, engaged in the manufacture of barrels, and is the business manager of the East Side Cooperative Barrel Company. In October, 1871, he married Anna Thielen. They are the parents of five children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 589

MAY, E. M. a native of New York, was born February 25tb, 1829, in Madison county. When comparatively young, he learned the confectionery business at Troy, New York, and has followed it ever since. In 1874 he came to Minneapolis and has become very popular here as a confectioner and caterer. His marriage with Lydia Smith took place in 1851, at Oxford, Chenango county, New York. Their family consists of two sons and one daughter.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 306

MAYER, Charles was born in Germany in 1818, where he taught school for twenty years. He emigrated to America in 1856, and settled in St. Bernard, Ohio, and taught school two years; then taught eight years in Johnstown, Pennsylvania, four years at Utica, and three years in Jefferson City, Missouri. He is the organist at the Catholic church in Dayton, and also teaches music. Married the first time, in 1842, to Veronica Seiberlich, who died in 1856. Married again to Kate Oberle. He has six children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 589

MAYNARD, J. B. was born in Montreal, Canada, January 19th, 1845. He learned milling at home and in 1869 moved to Rochester, New York, and worked at his trade there five years. After a residence of two years in Illinois, he returned to Rochester, thence to Toronto, Canada, and in January, 1879, came to Minneapolis. Since June, 1880, he has had charge of the North Star mill. His wife was Harriet Grieve, whom he married in 1875. She has borne him two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 229

MCAFEE, W.J. proprietor of Bloomington Flour Mills, was born in Ireland May 8, 1840. Came to St. Johns, N. B., 1843. Learned of his father the millwright and machinist trades. Engaged in the manufacture of lumber, ten years. In 1868 moved to St. Paul and opened the City Iron Works; 1869, took a partner, in 1871, dissolved and took in his brother, Hugh J.; 1877, bought present property, erected his mill, which, with the improvements made from time to time, makes it a first class country mill. Married in 1865 to Miss M. E. Spencer, of St. Johns, N. B. They have had six children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 589

MCANINCH, S. was born in Licking county, Ohio, December 6th, 1846. He accompanied his parents to Valparaiso, Indiana, in 1855. In 1861 he enlisted and served three years in the war of the rebellion, participating in the battles of Nashville, Altoona, Atlanta, Dalton and many others. After leaving the army he lived in Indiana five years, then went to Michigan and was employed in a barrel factory there three years. In 1873 he came to this city and was in a planing mill, and worked for Bisbee and Moses until 1877, since which time he has been running stationary engines for different parties. He married Ida Hunter in 1870. Their children are: Harry and Orvil.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 589

MCARDLE, William was born in Ottawa, Canada, October 5th, 1848. He moved to the state of New York in 1865, and lived there two years. In 1867 he spent a short time in Kansas in the cattle herding business. He came to Minneapolis and engaged in lumbering until May, 1880, since then has been in the saloon business with Mr. Walker. July 28th, 1879, he married Miss Kate Rice, who has borne him one child, Susan Kate.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 590

MCCARTIN, Joseph a native of Lonsdale, Rhode Island, was born November 26th, 1857. When a boy, he came with his parents to Minneapolis, and since 1866 has been in the Union mill, with the exception of two years that he was employed in the North Star woolen mills.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 255

MCARTY, T. born in Washington county, Indiana, 1820. Lived in different parts of the state until 1854, then moved to Carver county, Minnesota. He was married to Harriet A. Thompson, of Elkhart county, Indiana, in 1848. He enlisted in the New York Rifles in 1864, was taken prisoner at Cold Harbor and taken to Andersonville Prison, where he died from ill treatment in 1865. They have five children. Mrs. McArty was born in Wayne county, Indiana, and now lives at Excelsior.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 220

MCCABE, Merriman was born in the state of New York, December 12th, 1843; came with his parents to Minnesota in 1853, and has since resided in the town of Richfield. In 1862, he was with Captain Northrup on the Fort Ridgely expedition. John McCabe, his father, was born in Ireland in 1808; came to America, and resided in the state of New York until 1858, when he came west and Pre-empted a farm in Richfield, where he remained until his death, which occurred in May, 1878; he was married to Harriet Toles, who bore him six children, Mercy., Merriman, Emily, Mary, Amelia and Elnoria.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 590

MCCARTY, S. J. was born in Ireland, April 7th, 1841. He came to America with his parents in 1847, and located at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. At the age of seventeen, he commenced learning the machinist's trade, and in 1857, moved to Meeker county, Minnesota, but in about three years he returned to Pittsburgh and worked at his trade until 1862, when he came to Minnesota and taught school in Meeker county. In the spring of 1869, he came to this city and was employed four months in the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad shops, then worked six years as foreman of the North Star Iron Works, and for over two years as O.A. Pray's foreman. Since June, 1880, he has been working at mill machinery, forging and general blacksmithing. He was married in 1865 to Lizzie Campbell, who died in 1878, leaving four children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 590

MCCLARY, Thomas pastor of the First Methodist Episcopal Church, was born in Canada in 1841. He was licensed to preach in 1859, and appointed to Eureka in 1860, on a salary of fifty dollars; to Glencoe one year, having a revival and making many additions to the church. At Shelbyville one year, St. Peter and Cleveland one year, at Morristown for two years, then to Anoka for three years, Red Wing two years. Then to the Seventh street Methodist Episcopal Church for three years, during which time the membership was increased from about sixty to three hundred. During that time, organized the Washington Avenue Methodist Church, which is now in a flourishing condition. Organized and built a mission chapel on the comer of Cataract and Third streets, also organized and built a mission chapel on the comer of Eighteenth Avenue south and Twenty-second street. From the Seventh street church he was transferred to the upper Iowa conference as pastor of the First Methodist Episcopal church at Davenport. Then transferrd back to Minnesota and stationed at Mankato for three years, paying in that time fifteen hundred dollars of the floating debt, and adding by conversion, some two hundred members to the church. Commenced about that time a course of temperance and literary lectures. Among his popular ones are: "Diana of the Ephesians," "Henry Wilson," "Struggle for a Home," "Joan of Are," and "Sunshine in Labor." Among the many incidents of his eventful life we cannot refrain from mentioning the following: Weary of traveling on foot over his large circuit, he bought a horse for thirty-seven dollars, paying ten dollars down, then a harness had to be improvised; some scraps of leather were obtained and with tow strings for buckles and using an old piece of the britching of an old harness for a breast plate and a bed cord for reins and a jumper for a sleigh, with a white hat on his head and a pair of green goggles on his nose, our hero in the cause of Methodism started, carrying with him in his primitive rig at times, all there was of Methodism.

At another time, the ladies made out of an old three cornered blanket, a coat for him, with the broad stripe around the bottom. When at another place a broken merchant gave him a cut away coat with the sleeves much too short for him, which he wore for a while and then traded with a Pennsylvania farmer for a capacious shad bellied one, which was afterwards cut up and made into a vest for him. At another place he received for a year's preaching one hundred ears of corn and two chickens, and had to catch them himself and carried them six miles on horseback to get them cooked. At one collection on a very important occasion, after the contents of the contribution box had been carefully examined and finding only a few pennies and a button or two in it, he with much gravity of manner told them it was not worth a benediction, and dismissed the congregation without it. Married Miss Lizzie Fowble of Ohio. They have four children: Clarence O., Clara H., Ella Zue (the elocutionist), and Corrine.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

MCCLAY, Samuel was born in the town of Ayr, Scotland, Jan. 20, 1837. He settled On section 25, Eden Prairie, Hennepin County, in November, 1854. Attended the ferry of Dean & Chambers in the summer of 1855; served an apprenticeship at the carpenter trade in Minneapolis in 1866 and 1867; enlisted as private in Company C Sixth Regiment Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, Aug. 14, 1862,, mustered out as first lieutenant, Aug. 19, 1865; was at battles of Birch Coulic and Wood Lake, Minnesota, Spanish Fort and Blakeley, Alabama; served as clerk of school district No. 14. Hennepin County, from 1884 to 1896; elected supervisor town of Bloomington in 1880 and served continuously until March, 1901, the last five years as chairman.

Mr. McClay was married Jan. 1, 1868, to Marion Moran.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 590

MCCULLOCH, A. S. was born in 1836, in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania. Until twenty-five years of age, he lived on a farm, then engaged in mercantile business six years, and was for a time treasurer and collector for the Harrisburg and Potomac Railroad Company. He came to Minneapolis in 1874, formed a partnership with D. M. Gilmore, and engaged in the manufacture of furniture. Their factory is located in South Minneapolis.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 262

MCCULLOUGH, Frances was born in Crawford county, Pennsylvania, March 22d, 1843. He lived in Chautauqua county, New York, six years, and in Alleghany two years In 1852, went to McKean county, Pennsylvania. In December, 1861, enlisted in Co. F, 1st Pennsylvania Rifles; served until 1864, when he was appointed by General, Meade, 2d Lieut. of Co. I. 190th Penn. Inft. He was taken prisoner at Weldon R. R., August 19th, 1864, and kept in Libby Prison two months, also, at Saulsbury Prison, one month; then to Danville, and back to Libby Prison again; in one month was paroled, and taken to Annapolis hospital, Maryland. Returned home on a furlough, joined his regiment again, and after Lee's surrender, was mustered out at Washington, June, 1865. In the fall, he came to St. Anthony, Minnesota. April 30th, 1868, was married to Miss Susan J. Jennings. They have six children: Mary P., Francis E., Frederick J., William E., Ellanora J., Lucy A. The family moved to their present home on Jennings Bay, Lake Minnetonka, in 1868.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 591

MCCUNE, M. a native of Ohio, was born in 1837. He moved to Ripon, Wisconsin, in 1854, and worked at farming twenty years; he then went to Austin, Minnesota, and resided until October, 1880, when he came to this city, and started in the restaurant and lodging-house business at 18 Washington Avenue north.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 591

MCDANIEL, James was born in Madison county, New York, December 1st, 1847. He went to Manlius, Onondaga county, in 1864, to learn the milling business, and worked there fourteen months. He then returned to Madison, county for one and one-half years, and after residing in Oneida county about a year, he went to Cazenovia. His next move was to Dexter, Michigan, where he remained two yean, and in March, 1874, came to this city. He worked several years in the A and B mills, and now occupies the position of head millor in the C. In 1878 he married Fannie Robie, who has borne him one child, Albert.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 591

MCDONALD, Ernest was born December 14th, 1848, in Maine. He came west when a child and located at Brooklyn, in 1853. He removed to Minneapolis in 1859; was in the grocery business and working in the pineries until 1875, when he opened a restaurant on Nicollet Avenue; he remained there about three years, then moved to his present location, Boston Oyster House No. 200 Hennepin Avenue. His wife was Annie Lewis. Their children are Nellie and Minnie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 591

MCDONALD, Francis S. was born June 10th, 1835, in Cumberland county, Maine. At the age of seventeen he went to Saccarappa, and worked in a cotton factory through the summer, and in the fall removed to Lewiston, where he was employed in the same way. After spending one year in Massachusetts, he came to Minnesota. Served one term as county commissioner of Wright county, and was assessor of Otsego. In 1861 he enlisted as private in the Third Minnesota Volunteers, and was promoted to sergeant. He had command of his company in the Indian campaign, and was commissioned second lieutenant. He re-enlisted in Hatch's Battalion, and was detailed as clerk in the draft rendezvous at Fort Snelling until 1865, when he was mustered out. In 1866 he was appointed postmaster, which office he held about five years, when he resigned. In 1868 he come to this city, and was employed by different parties until 1874, when he was appointed deputy and afterwards elected county auditor. He was married in 1857, to Elizabeth Spencer. Their children are: Mary, Frank, Charles, and Nellie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 591

MCDONALD, John was born November 2d, 1830, in Maine. In 1847 he went on a whaling expedition. After two years experience he gave up this business, and sailed for San Francisco. They were totally wrecked on the coast of Panama, but were picked up by another vessel and continued their journey. He traveled about from California to the Sandwich Islands, China, Cape Horn, and Columbia, until 1850, when he went to Boston, thence to Mobile, and in 1852 he came to Minnesota and made a claim of 160 acres in Wright county, which he sold two years later, and came here. In 1861 he enlisted, and since being honorably discharged has divided his time between running as pilot on the upper Mississippi and lumbering. He married Mary J. Wood, in 1862. Of their three children but one is living, Addie C.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 591

MCDONALD, John W. born January 17th, 1842, in Canada. He worked at milling there five years, and in 1866 moved to Faribault, Minnesota, continuing in the same business. He then spent two years at Clinton Falls, nine months at Mantorville, one year at Northfield, and in 1871 came here. He was employed at the Washburn B, the Zenith, the Palisade and the Humboldt mills until the explosion, since which time he has been at the Pettit. His marriage with Mrs. Sarah Coburn took place in January, 1871. Their children are: Agnes and Irving.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 591

MCDONALD, P. a native of Canada, was born April 4th, 1848. He went to Maine in 1864, and remained six months, then followed lumbering eight years in Michigan, and was two years in Wisconsin, engaged in the saloon and lumber business. In 1877 he came to this city, continuing in the lumbering business until he opened his sample room on Hennepin Avenue.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 320

MCDONNELL, John is a native of Waterford county, Ireland, where he was born in 1835. He emigrated to America in 1852, and settled in Orange county, New York; remained there two years, then went to Wisconsin and lived one year; from there he came to Minnesota and made a claim in Corcoran, in 1855. He lived in Minneapolis in 1856, and in 1857 went to his claim, where he has since resided. He held the office of town supervisor one year, and town treasurer seven years. He married, in 1856, Sarah Crawford, by whom he has had ten children.

 

From "1868-1968 Maple Plain and Independence Past - Present" published by the Maple Plain Garden Club. Submitted by Claudine Pearson. ClaudeP@aol.com

MCGARY, John H. was born in Kentucky in 1842. In 1855 they came to Minnesota and located in Independence.  In 1864 he enlisted in the Civil War and served one year.  In 1866 he was married to Mrs. Eliza Brandon.  Their three children were Ruth, Katy and Omar Ray.  John held offices of assessor and town treasurer for nine years.  He lived on the pre-emption claim made by his father in Section 15 for over sixty years.  He served during the Civil War along with S. Churchill, a. K. Richards, George Walsey, Robert Stimpson, James Shaver and others.

He wrote many articles regarding early events for a column for the Minnetonka Record.  He wrote, "In 1857 the hard times and scourge of grasshoppers reduced the settlers to near poverty.  The ginseng crop was called a Godsend to the people of western Hennepin County as the ginseng buyers paid a spot cash, badly needed to pay taxes and buy necessities."

He writes of their journey to Minnesota, "In May 1885, the families of Irvin Shrewsbury, John Willaims, J. R. McGary and R. D. McGary and E. Brandon left southern Indiana by the overland route by ox-team.  It was seven hundred miles to Minneapolis, passing by Minnehaha Falls.  On July 4th 1885 we started out to settle in the Big Woods. There were no roads, only a trail thru swampland and forest.  On July 5th we reached the town of Independence where Job Moffitt had made the first settlement, locating on Pioneer Creek in Section 22.  My father took up his claim in Section 15, N.W. 1/4."

John's brother was Doctor Ennis McGary from Missouri who was the father of Claude McGary who with his wife, the former Emma Cleveland live at Lake Independence.

Mr. and Mrs. Moses Brandon and sons, J. D. and Ebenezer pre-empted land n Independence about 1856, coming from Jefferson County, Indiana.  Their near neighbor also from Indiana was Frank Shrewsbury, who located here in 1855.  J. D. Brandon, a farmer, also dealt in lumber and railroad ties.  In 1876 he married Belle McDonald.  Their children were Ida, and Charles.  Ebenezer Brandon was one of the first supervisors when the township was organized in 1958 at the home of J. Wison.  overseer of the poor was Moses Brandon.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 592

MCGAUGHEY, S. N. was born in 1827, at Mount Carmel, Indiana. In 1847 he went to Decatur county, and was in the saw-mill business nine years; then moved to Minnesota and worked at farming six or seven years. He then passed some months at Red Wing, dealing in wheat, and in 1863 came to this city. For a while he was employed in manufacturing pumps; afterward spent two years with the North Star Iron Works, and one year in the fence works. Since 1875 he has been in the Union Planing Mill. In 1848 he married Isabella Wynn. Their children are Viola, Margarette and Cora.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 245

MCGENTY, John born in Ireland, 1805. Came to America in 1847. Lived in Vermont three years. Then went to Illinois and worked three years. In 1855, came to St. Paul then to Minnetonka, and located the farm on which his sons, Dennis and James, with their mother, now live. Died, Sept., 1877, aged 72 years.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 591

MCGOLRICK, James the subject of this sketch, is a native of Tipperary, Ireland, where he received a thorough theological education in All Hallow's College, Dublin. Upon the completion of his studies in 1867, he came to America remaining one year in St. Paul, where he was engaged as assistant priest at the Cathedral. In 1868 he came to Minneapolis, and soon there after secured the grounds on which his house is located; first erected a small frame building in which services were held until his new church the first Catholic church on the West Side, was built and dedicated. He has been foremost in every good work connected with his society, and is universally esteemed by the citizens of Minneapolis, irrespective of sectarian association or religious views.

 

Submitted by descendant, Don Ondracek dondra30@bellsouth.net

MCGRAW, Amanda Caroline born 24 May 1848 at Calais, Washington County, Maine, the daughter of James and Lucinda Rapley of Calais, Maine.  Married Andrew McGraw Jr. 1871 at Emporium, Pennsylvania, bore six children (see bio. Andrew Jr.).  Amanda died 21 August 1939 at the age of 91, at 818 24th Ave. NE having lived in Minneapolis 45 years.  She is interned at Hillside Cemetery.  Amanda was a charter member of the William Downs Relief Corp. and her deceased husband was a Civil War veteran.  She was survived by a son, Clarence H.; a daughter Florence, and five grandchildren.

 

Submitted by descendant, Don Ondracek dondra30@bellsouth.net

MCGRAW, Andrew Jr. born 22 December 1843 at St. Andrews, Charlotte County, New Brunswick son of  Andrew and Annie (Smith) McGraw who came from Ballee, Down County, Ireland abt. 1830.  Andrew Jr. along with his parents moved to
Calais, (Milltown), Washington County, Maine in 1850.  1860 US Census shows that at age 16 he was working as a Mill Laborer.  On 22 September 1861 Andrew Jr., age 18, along with his father Andrew, and brothers Barnard and
Thomas Henry enlisted into Co." A" Maine 9th Infantry.  The Company was in action at Fort Wagner South Carolina where on ll July, 1863 Andrew Jr. was wounded, having been struck with a piece from an exploded shell back of his right ear.  Taken to the steamer "Cosmopolitan" and on July 13th transferred to the General Hospital at Hilton Head. Returning to duty 18 September 1863. Enlistment records show he re-enlisted a veteran at Black Island, SC, having served 3 years, 10 months and 10 days.  Discharged 13 July 1865 as a Corporal, returning to Calais, Maine.  In 1867 Andrew Jr. moved to Williamsport, Lycoming County, Pennsylvania.  On 1 June 1871 Andrew Jr. married Amanda Caroline Rapley of Calais, Maine at Emporium, PA.  Andrew Jr.and Amanda had three children born in Pennsylvania prior to 1876, Andrew Chester, George Everett and Alice Lucille.  In 1876 they moved to Pequaming, Baraga County, Michigan, remaining there till 1895 where three more children were born, Clarence Hartwell, Guy Winfield and Florence Helen.  In 1895 they moved to Ashland, Wisconsin, staying there until 1896 when they moved to Minneapolis, Minnesota living at 818 24th  N.E. Ave. 25 years, 3 months where he died 20 March 1921 at the age of 77.  Certificate of death states his occupation as Millwright.  Place of burial as Hillside Cemetery.

 

Submitted by descendant, Don Ondracek dondra30@bellsouth.net

MCGRAW, Barnard, born 11 January 1836 at St. Andrews, Charlotte County, New Brunswick, the son of Andrew and Annie (Smith) McGraw.  Barnard moved to Calais, Maine about 1850 with his parents and family.  Barnard at age 24, along with his father and brothers Andrew Jr. and Thomas Henry enlisted in Co. "A, Maine 9th Infantry in September 1861 as a Wagoner.  Barnard was taken prisoner 3 November 1861.  Statement of War Department 26 September 1887 states Barney McGraw was taken prisoner 2 November 1861 at Bagne Island, NC.  The steamer on which Barney was in charge of horses being transported from Annapolis to Hilton Head, ran into a sand bar and broke. Regimental book shows prisoner of war taken on board steamer "Union" on or about October 30, 1861. Roll for Sept & Oct 1863 shows Barney present, returned to Company October 31, 1863, subsequent rolls show him as present on daily duty as Teamster.  Discharged September 27, 1864 as Barnard McGraw Wagoner.  Prisoner of War records show him captured at Salisbury, NC November 3rd, 1861.  Paroled at Salisbury May 28, 1862.  Barnard married Margaret Trigerson in 1857 in St. Stephen, Milltown, New Brunswick. Children from this marriage was Clara  born in 1865.  They moved to Minneapolis, Minnesota in 1873 after having spent one year in New York State and one year in Michigan.  A statement by a John Kernan made 4 April 1896 states that Barney McGraw was involved in an accident on December 16, 1895 on St. Croix River, Stillwater, Minnesota, where he was driving a four horse team hauling logs, and after the sled was loaded Barney got on top of the load and started for the landing, in going down hill the two lead horses fell just before they came to a sharp turn in the hill and thinking the horses would all be killed and capsize the load he jumped from the top of the load to the ground and injured his left leg.  One of the horses was killed and the others badly injured. After the death of his wife and daughter prior to 1900, Barney in 1911 remained in the Soldier's Home in Minneapolis till his death, 5 June 1928 at the age of 92.  Barney's Minneapolis addresses are listed: 1887 - 713 3rd Ave. SE, 1890 - 213 7th St.SE, 1895 - 2205 2nd St. N, 1896 - 2705 7th St. N., 1904 - 407 9th St. SE, 1911 - Soldiers Home.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 592

MCGREGOR, William was born in Montreal, Canada, March 6th, 1852. After receiving a liberal education in his native place, he embarked in the grocery business in 1875 and continued it until coming to Minneapolis in 1879, when for one year he was in the oil business. In 1880 he bought an interest in the meat market of Sallada and Company, 727 Washington Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 592

MCKENZIE, A. G. born November 11th, 1821, in Beaver county, Pennsylvania. From 1840 until 1850, he acted as pilot of a steamboat on the Ohio river, and then came to St. Anthony and was in the employ of Benson and Patterson in the stage line. He was in a hotel near Fort Snelling about two years; then returned and opened a restaurant in St. Anthony. In 1863 he went East, but came here again in 1865, and went into the Sutler's department at Fort Snelling. He passed eighteen months at the Black Hills, and traveled from 1874 until 1880, when he opened a restaurant at 113 Central Avenue. His wife was Joanna Christmas; their marriage took place in June, 1852. Three children have been born to them: Don Carlos, Isaac and Harry.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 592

MCKERNAN, Peter was born in Ireland, December, 1833. He came to America in 1848, and received his education in New York. In 1857 he came to Minneapolis and worked at farming until 1861, when he enlisted in Hatch's battalion and served until honorably discharged in 1865. He returned to this city, and from 1872 acted as street commissioner, until he entered the police force, in which he serves as patrol. In February, 1857, he married Ellen Rochford. They have had five children, Ellen, Margaret, Ferrel, Peter and Mary. Only Mary survives.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 592

MCLASKEY, R. H. a native of New Brunswick, was born in 1844. He lived two years in Iowa, and in 1872 removed to Minneapolis. He was in the lumbering business three years, and for the past five years has been connected with the mills of this city. July 18th, 1867, Mr. McLaskey married Josephine Kildea. They have had five children: Henry, Frank, Willie, Cora and Ernest.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 592

MCMILLAN, James a native of Maine, was born October 24th, 1856, in Oxford county. In 1872 he came to Minneapolis and was employed in the North Star woolen mill, in the wool and sheep-skin department, until 1876, when, with a partner, he started in his present business. They are at 109 First Avenue south, and deal in hides, wool. tallow, etc.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by: Judy Lee memomlee@onewest.net

MCMORRAN, Thomas Edward lived on 16th Ave S E Minneapolis until his marriage to Eleanor Ann Schroers Nov 23, 1931. His parents were Edward Henry McMorran and Eliza Ann Dow. Both from New Brunswick, Canada. Thomas had an older sister Helen Whiteford a brother James K. McMorran and sister Mary Meirick. He started out as teamster at age 16. Driving a team of horses and delivering around the Twin City area. When he married they lived in Minneapolis and moved to 1409 Cambridge in St. Louis Park. He worked at the shipyard in Savage MN. and drove truck for various companies, Moore and Schriver a furniture Store on Nicollet Ave in Mpls. Later he and Eleanor and their 3 daughters moved to Williston Rd. Minnetonka Mills. They had daughter Lois Ann, Mary Elizabeth and Judy Isabel. During that time he drove furniture truck delivery for Johnston Transfer of Mpls. Later he was employed with the Hopkins School District and drove part time bus for Ed DeVeau. In 1956 they moved to 334 8th Ave N. in Hopkins. He was well liked by all who knew him. He worked at Alice Smith school and Hopkins Senior High located on hwy #7. He was a very devoted employee, husband and Father. His family tree originates in Ireland on both parents. He believed in Unions and the Democratic Party as it was in his day. He was very loyal to family and friends. He was a simple man. He and Eleanor were charter members of St Georges Episcopal Church in St Louis Park MN. The Hopkins School District always found employment positions for him. His last day of work was Mar 20th 1981. Many friends, family, and Hopkins High faculty and student visited the mortuary to pay their respects to this warm kind and helpful little man. We as family were always proud of him and his sincere values and concern for others.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 592

MCMULLEN, Albert E. was born June 30, 1851, in Minneapolis and was one of the first white children born in this city. He attended the public schools and University and assisted his father, who was a contractor, until twenty years old, when he engaged as book-keeper and teller in the Exchange and Savings Bank. He occupied the same positions and that of cashier, in different banks until 1879, since then he has given his whole attention to the lumber mill in which he is a partner.; he is also one of the firm of Wilcox and Co., who own a general store at Big Stone Lake. In 1878 he married Minnie Wilcox; she has borne him one son.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 593

MCMULLEN, George was born in March, 1819, at Ottawa, Canada. He learned the trade of contractor from his father. In 1857, he left his native city, came to Minneapolis and has since followed his trade here. As an evidence of his popularity and worth, we mention some of the leading buildings of the city which he erected. In 1860 he built Harrison's block, the oldest cut stone building here; Mendenhall's bank, residence and green house; T. A. Harrison's house; the Centenary Methodist Church; St. Mark's Episcopal Church; the Athenaeum; City Hall; Church of the Immaculate Conception; Washburn A and C mill, two stone elevators belonging to the Washburn mills, the dam wall for Washburn and Company, foundation for the Millers Association elevator, and Taylor's mill; also the anchors for the suspension bridge and finished the towers; he built the stone arch bridge; North Star Iron Works; the Pillsbury A mill; and is now at work on the James Hill canal.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 592

MCMULLEN, James was born July 21st, 1824, at Reading, Pennsylvania. When ten years of age he went as cabin boy on the bark White Oak. He followed the sea, on various vessels, until 1849, Visiting all parts of the world, and the last three years being captain of vessels in the West India trade. On leaving the water, in 1849, he moved to St. Anthony, with his family. He worked several years at carpentering, and then went into the general merchandise business, with H. Morrison, at Pine Bend. He built a shingle mill on the St. Anthony Water Power Company's dam. In 1878 it was moved and his present saw mill erected. Mr. McMullen was several years a member of the St. Anthony city council. In 1849 he married Charlotte McKnight, who has borne him three children; the living are Albert and Willie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 593

MCMURDY, R. S. M.D. was born July, 1824, at Albany, New York. He received his education there, and graduated from the Albany Medical College in 1846; for several years he was city physician of that place. He practiced for a time In Ohio, and since the spring of 1873 has been in Minneapolis. Dr. McMurdy married in 1847. His wife died, leaving one child, Robert C. His second wife was Mary Pease, whom he married in 1873. They have two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 593

MCNAIR, W. W. of the law firm Lochren McNair and Gilfillan, was born in 1836, in New York. In 1854, he went to Wisconsin, and March, 1857, removed to this city. Soon after his arrival in Minneapolis he was admitted to practice in the United States territorial court. He has repeatedly been nominated by his party, but has never held office, with the exception of being county attorney in 1861-1862, mayor of St. Anthony two years, and several times a member of school boards. In 1862, he married Louise, sister of Hon. E. M. Wilson, of this city. They are the parents of two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 306

McNEIL, N was born in Scotland, in 1830. In 1831 he emigrated with his parents to America. He moved to Boston, Massachusetts, in 1852, and worked three years in the Navy Yard. Moved to Minnesota in 1856, and lived in St. Paul one year, when he moved to Dayton and worked seven years for Lyman Dayton. In 1863, joined Gen. Thomas' command, was mustered out in 1865, and returned to Dayton and engaged in the stock business. He married, in 1857, Sarah Sweeney. They have had nine children. Mr. McNeil held the office of Supervisor ten years, and was Constable for seven years.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 593

MCNIECE, W. D. a native of Vermont, was born October 3rd , 1845, in Orange county. In 1861, he went to New York city, remained eight years. He was four years in the drug trade in St. Lawrence county, and then returned to New York city, where he resided until 1878, when he came to Minneapolis and became a partner of Mr. Bohan, in the boot and shoe business, 104 Central Avenue.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 593

MCVEIGH, William a native of Ottawa City, Ontario, Canada, was born June 5th, 1839. He came to Minneapolis in 1872, and was in the carpet and dry goods business with McConnell and Company, six years. In August, 1880, he became a partner of Mr. Kenyon in an extensive wholesale and retail carpet business.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 593

MCWATERS, Daniel was born in Muirkirk, Ayreshire, Scotland. He came to America in 1866, and to Minneapolis in 1875. He engaged with the North-western foundry as foreman, and remained with the company until the spring of 1880, when he formed a partnership with R. Peet in an establishment known as the Minneapolis Brass Works. January, 1875, he married Sarah Paul. They are the parents of two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 593

MEAD, George H. was born at Waukegan, Illinois, in l847. He became a resident of Minneapolis in the fall of 1865. He was in the omnibus company twelve years, then formed a partnership with Mr. Robinson. They are now proprietors of a livery, boarding and sale stable at 220 Third street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 593

MEAGHER, J. O. F. was born in 1852, at St. Paul. He went to Troy, New York, and learned the laundry and dyeing business. He returned to Minnesota and in 1879 bought the place where he is now in business, No. 26 Second street north. The works are run by steam, and it is in every way a first-class institution.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 255

MEAKER, O.C. born in Monkton, Harrison county, Vermont, 1835. When nine years of age he went to Barre, Washington county, where he lived eleven years, learning the moulder's trade and working at the same. Moved to Minnesota and settled in Excelsior in 1871, and has since resided here, acting as Chairman of town board one year and Justice of the Peace two years. Married Mary Hale, of Stowe, March 4th, 1856.

 

From "Minneapolis Portrait of the Past", collected and compiled by Edward A. Bromely. Voyaguer Press 1890


(click for large image)

MEEKER, Judge Bradley B. Judge Bradley B. Meeker had the honor of presiding over the session of the first district court held in Minneapolis. The old government mill was utilized as a court house and Judge Meeker, who had been appointed one of the associate justices of the supreme court under the administration of President Taylor, was on the bench. The court was held in July, 1849. The records of that court have been lost; but it is known that the judge's duties were not very arduous. No cases were tried, criminal or civil. The judge, jury and the two or three attorneys on duty enjoyed a sort of basket picnic, the sheriff serving the refreshements.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 593

MELSTROH, Henry was born in 1833, in Germany. He came to the United States in 1864, locating in Carver county, Minnesota, and worked one year at tailoring. In 1865 he came to this city and the next year went to Stillwater, where he resided until 1873, when he returned to Minneapolis. In 1876 he removed to his present location in the American House, No. 800 Marshall street, East Division. January, 1869, he married Rachel Macks. They have three children; the living are: Joseph and Katie.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

MENDENHALL, Abby G. was the daughter of Captain Silas Swift, a merchant sailor of West Falmouth, and was born Aug. 19, 1832. She was descended from a long line of Quaker sailors who had always been connected with the charitable associations of the Society of Friends. She was married to R. J. Mendenhall of North Carolina, Feb. 11th, 1858, and in April the young couple came to Minneapolis. From the pioneer days Mrs. Mendenhall has always been a friend to those needing help, and her interest and influence is seen today in the charitable institutions of the city, She was one of the four women who were instrumental in the organization of Bethany Home and its work has always been very near her heart. She served as treasurer for twenty-three years, and for one term acted as secretary. She was also prominently identified with the Northwestern Hospital, and was a member of the board of directors for thirteen years and for six years held the office of vice president. The Friends' Society of Minneapolis counted her as one of its efficient members and she represented it at the national meetings an several occasions.

Without children of her own, Mrs. Mendenhall became by sympathy and choice mother to the unfortunate. Many of these have been inmates of her own family, from which they have gone to illustrate in their own households the virtues of Christian motherhood.

Mrs. Mendenhall's mother, Mrs. Chloe Swift, was a member of her family in Minneapolis until her death in 1891, at the age of ninety-five.

Mrs. Mendenhall died at her home in Minneapolis January 11, 1900.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 594

MENDENHALL, R. J. loan agent, was born in Guilford county, North Carolina, November 25th, 1828. He attended school a few years in New England, then went to Ohio, and in 1853 returned to North Carolina. The next year he went to New York, and in 1855 to Iowa as civil engineer; the year following he came to this city, and has since been in business here. On his arrival in Minneapolis he could not find a dray to haul his trunk and was obliged to get a wheel barrow. Mr. Mendenhall was married February 11th, 1858, to Abby Swift, of Massachusetts. They have no children.

From "Minneapolis, Portrait of the Past", Colleceted and Compiled by Edward A. Bromley, Voyageur Press Inc. 1890


(click for large image)

MENDENHALL, R. J. It was in 1856 that R. J. Mendenhall located in Minneapolis. A native of North Carolina, he had wandered out West and joined an engineering party just previous. In the following year Mr. Mendenhall engaged in the banking business, and continued it until 1873. From 1862 until 1866 he was president of the old State Bank of Minnesota. It was afterward merged into the State National Bank of Minneapolis, and Mr. Mendenhall was president of that until 1874. Later he became identified with a savings bank. This bank was unable to survive the financial panic of 1873. That was the end of his career as a banker. From boyhood he had been a great lover and successful cultivator of flowers. He decided to devote himself to that sort of thing. The sucess that has attended his efforts has been a source of personal pleasure as well as valuable in a pecuniary way. He has done much in the way of cultivating the tastes of the people of the city in this direction. In other ways he has been a helpful member of this community. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

MENDENHALL, Richard Junius was born at Jamestown, N. C., Nov. 25, 1828. When nine years of age he spent one year at the Quaker boarding school of New Garden and then returned home and attended the village school for a few years, and assisting his father in his extensive tannery and helping his mother and sisters in the flower garden. Later he was employed in the store of his uncle in his native village, when one of his uncle's slaves escaped, and young Mendenhall was sent, with his cousin, in pursuit of the fugitive. They tracked him through the mountains of Virginia, embarking on a steamer on the Ohio river, proceeding to Cincinnati, and then to Richmond, Ind., where the pursuit was abandoned, the "underground railway" being in operation at the time. Young Mendenhall's father was what the Southerners called an abolitionist, and consequently he did not share in the disappointment of his cousin and uncle in the result of the trip. In 1848 he again entered the New Garden boarding school where he remained for two years, after which he went to Providence, R. I., where he entered the celebrated Friends' School. While at this school he spent a summer vacation at Center Harbor and Lake Winnepisaukee, N. H., where he met Cyrus Beede, with whom he formed an acquaintance that resulted, some fifteen years later, in their becoming partners in the banking and real estate business at Minneapolis, Minn.

After leaving the Providence school Mr. Mendenhall taught a school at North Falmouth, Mass., where he first met Miss Abbic G. Swift, who several years later became his wife. His next employment was as bookkeeper for Richard Fox on railroad construction work in Ohio, and afterwards with his brother engineering on the North Carolina Railroad. In 1855, with a letter of introduction to John Houston, engineer, he came to Muscatine, Iowa, where he was given charge of the rear end of a surveyor's chain, and thirty days later became the head of the party. He left the surveying party at Des Moines, where be spent the winter in the office of Dewey & Tabby, civil engineers and land agents. The next spring he came up the river, arriving at Minneapolis April 25, 18S6, where he has since resided.

In 1857 he was joined by Cyrus Beede, with whom be formed a partnership under the firm name of Beede & Mendenhall, and they engaged in loan and land agency, and private banking, locating on Bridge Square, nearly east of present City Hall. The financial panic of 1857 had a serious effect on their business, but they continued and preserved their credit. In January, 1858, Mr. Mendenhall visited West Falmoutn, Mass., where, on February 11th, he was married to Miss Abby G. Swift, returning a few weeks later to Minneapolis.

In the spring of 1862 Mr. Mendenhall was elected town treasurer, and to relieve the scarcity of fractional currency, silver having disappeared from circulation, the town council decided to issue scrip of different denominations of the following form: "Treasurer of Minneapolis will pay to bearer Five Cents, redeemable in currency when presented in sums of Five Dollars and upwards, dated August 1, 1862. Signed, S.H. Mattison, President; G.A. Savory, Town Clerk."

This script was then endorsed by Mr. Mendenhall, after which it passed into circulation, and was afterwards faithfully redeemed.

In 1862 Mr. Mendenhall became half owner and president of the State Bank of Minnesota which was afterwards merged into the State National Bank of Minneapolis, with a capital of $ioo,ooo. Mr. Mendenhall continued as president until 1871. In the panic of 1873 the State Savings Bank, of which he was president, was forced to suspend, and at much personal sacrifice Mr. Mendenhall has satisfied most of the claims growing out of the failure. Adjoining his beautiful home on Stevens avenue are extensive greenhouses, and since the adversity of 1873 he has devoted his time to the cultivation of plants and flowers for the market.

Mr. Mendenhall was one of the organizers of the Minneapolis Street Railway, the Minneapolis & St. Louis Railway, the Minneapolis Gas Company and the Lakewood Cemetery Association. (SEE ALSO ABOVE)

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 594

MENOR, J. C. born December 24th, 1847, in Ashland county, Ohio. He learned the milling business in his native town, and came to this city in 1873; he remained only about three months, and went to Red Wing, where he was employed as second miller. He returned to Minneapolis in June, 1874, and was with E. V. White two years. He then went to Lanesboro, and remained until July, 1878, when he returned and fitted up the Standard mill, where he has since occupied the position of head miller.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 594

MENZEL, Gregor was born in Bielendorf, in the province of Silesia, Prussia, August 21st, 1826. For his family record, see volume eleven, page 397, of American Cyclopedia., His father died before Gregor's birth, but his last request was that if his offspring was a boy, and lived, he should learn a trade. When five years of age he nearly lost his life in a flood, which swept away their little home and nearly all the property his mother possessed. When ten years old he went on foot across the mountains to Friedeberg, Austria, to live with an uncle, and fulfill his father's last wish. In July, 1842, having learned the blacksmith's trade, he returned on foot to Prussia, and went to work in a large machine shop, near Glatz, to learn the machinists trade. After this he considered it necessary to travel and work in different places, in order to perfect himself as a mechanic. He walked to Breslau, Frankfort, Berlin, Hamburg, and Bremen, being employed in different shops. While working near the latter place, he became acquainted with Henrietta D. Roesner, whom he married. Soon after they started for this country, stopped a short time in London, and arrived at New York April 7th, 1847. He at once commenced work with James Bogardus, the celebrated inventor (see volume two, page 780, American Cyclopedia) and worked for him until August, 1850, when he removed to Milwaukee. He was given the position of foreman in the machinery department of the Menominee Locomotive Manufacturing Company, and held the situation until December 1st, 1854, when he went into partnership with L. Keuck, and under the name of Menzel and Keuck, carried on steam engine building. In 1855, M. and M. Stone bought Mr. Keuck's interest, and the new firm name was Menzel, Stone and Company. They were also extensively engaged in manufacturing threshing machines, and in 1855, made the first threshing engine used in the west. The following year he took an active part in politics, helped organize the Republican party, and was the presidential elector from the first district of Wisconsin, and cast his vote for John C. Fremont and Dayton, in the electoral college. On the first of February, 1857, Messrs. Cummings and Goodrich bought the Stone interest. The shop was moved and enlarged, and carried on under the name of Menzel, Cummings and Goodrich. The same year the first elevator was built in Milwaukee, by Angus Smith and Company. For this he manufactured the engine, boiler, and all the other machinery and iron work. He also made the first mash machine driven by power in that city, for V. Blatz's brewery. After years of prosperity came reverses. The financial crisis of 1857 which swept the whole country, relieved him of all his hard earnings. He then devoted his time to inventions. He obtained a patent on a steam boiler, April 5th, 1859 (see Patent Office Report of 1859, and for cut see Scientific American of October 1st, 1859), and also on a fire and burglar-proof safe, April 24th, 1860 (see Patent Office Report of 1860). One of his large safes was bought by J. Dean and Company of this city in 1866. In the spring of 1860, he took an eight-stamp steam quartz mill to Colorado, put it in operation, and returned with the intention of building another quartz-mill to work the claims he secured in Colorado; but the rebellion broke out and his plans were frustrated. In the fall of 1861, he took charge of the elevator and engines for Angus Smith and Company and remained with them until June 11th, 1864, when he accepted the position of superintendent of the Bay State Iron Manufacturing Company, at that time the largest works of the kind in Milwaukee. His first work there was to build a 250 horsepower, low pressure beam engine, it being the first in that city, and was built for Mr. Smith's new elevator, A. In 1866 the steam engine, boiler, etc., were built under his supervision for J. Dean and Company's Pacific mill, and August 16th of that year he arrived in Minneapolis, to put the machinery in the mill. It was accomplished on the 8th of October, and the firm were so well pleased with his work that they presented him with one hundred dollars, as a token of appreciation. He liked this city so well that he determined to make it his home, in time. July 1st, 1868, he bought an interest in the Cream City Iron Works, in Milwaukee, and the business was carried on under the name of Menzel, Stowell and Company, until November, 1870, when he withdrew from the firm, to come to Minneapolis and accept the position offered him as superintendent of the North Star Iron Works, of this city. The following is some of the work done under his supervision: the celebrated saw-mill of W. D. Washburn and Company, at Anoka, also Isaac Staples', at Stillwater; the engine at the Nicollet House, engine and machinery in the City Hall, including passenger and freight elevator, the first in the city; the engines at Captain Rollins' sawmill, Barnard and Company's factory, etc.; he also designed all of the above machinery. On the first of April 1874, he formed a partnership with his son, Charles G., and D. C. Howard, to establish the Northwestern Foundry. The works are located on the corner of Third street and Tenth Avenue south, on the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railway. The first gray iron castings were made July 13th, and the first car-wheels, first in the city, were cast October 12th, 1874. On the 1st of September, L. V. N. Blakeman bought the interests of C. G. Menzel and D. C. Howard, and the business is still carried on under the name of G. Menzel and Company. It may well be said of the firm, they have a good, hard-earned reputation. His family circle, until their arrival here, was unbroken, and consisted of his wife Henrietta, Maggie H., Carrie M., Charles G., Minnie A., and Emma D.; but to his great sorrow, his eldest and beloved daughter, Maggie H., passed away, January 24th, 1872.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 595

MERCER, T. E. a native of Illinois, was born at Peoria, June 27th, 1850. He came to Minneapolis in 1864, and attended school several years two of which were spent at the University. He moved to Grinnell, Iowa and engaged in the hotel business and followed it until 1877, when he returned to this city and was in the grocery business until April 15th, 1880. He then opened the restaurant and oyster house on Third street, between Nicollet and Hennepin Avenue. He married Emma Brown, May 15th, 1872.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 262

MERRIMAN, Aaron was born in Unadilla, Otsego county, New York,, July 12th, 1801. When twelve years of age he moved with the family to Alleghany county, New York. Married, March 8th, 1821, to Miss Charlotte Taylor. They have seven children living. He spent most of his time in milling and farming, up to 1866, when he came to Minnetrista. Mr. Merriman died, September 15th, 1876.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 262

MERRIMAN, Eugene was born in Alleghany county, New York, March l7th, 1850. He worked on the farm with his father, till 1866, when with his parents he came to Minnetrista, and settled. Married June 21st, 1871, to Miss Lorena Cook. They have four children.

 

From "Minneapolis, Portrait of the Past", collected and compiled by Edward A. Bromley. Voyageur Press. 1890


(Click for large image)

MERRIMAN, O. C. For twenty years Capt. O. C. Merriman has been identified with the lumber business to such an extent that none but the old settlers are aware of the fact that the captain was originally a lawyer. He practiced for several years, after removing to St. Anthony from Wisconsin in 1859. He did valiant service in the war. He was a member of the lumber firm of L. Butler & Co., organized in 1870. The firm of Meerriman, Barrows & Co. was formed in 1878, and has been for many years one of the largest concerns in the city. He has been in office serveral times. Captain Merriman was born in New York State in 1827.
(Same as O.C. Merriman below)

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing. (Same as O.C. Merriman above)

Page 595

MERRIMAN, O. C. born July 27th, 1827, in St. Lawrence county, New York. From 1854 until 1859 he resided in Wisconsin, then removed to St. Anthony, and has since been identified with this place. For a time he engaged in the practice of law, but since 1870 has been in the lumber business, he was a member of the firm of L. Butler and Company. The firm of Merriman, Barrows and Company, as at present organized, dates from April, 1878. Mr. Merriman's wife was Hosanna Herring of St. Lawrence county, New York, their marriage took place in 1854. They have four boys and one girl living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 262

MERRIMAN, Warren was born in Alleghany county, New York, February 16th, 1823. He lived with his parents until eighteen years of age, when for one year he worked on the Erie canal, then worked at the carpenter and joiner trade for about twenty-two years. In 1862 he settled in Minnetrista. May 28th, 1864, enlisted in Co. I, Sixth Minn. Inf. Served one year and was mustered out at Montgomery, Alabama. Married Miss Rhoda Clark December 31st, 1864. Had four children. The living ones are Anor A. and Joseph A.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 595

METZGER, Charles was born May 19th, 1842, at Albany, New York. In 1849 he accompanied his parents to Galena, Illinois, where he lived until 1856; in the fall of that year he came to Minnesota and settled in St. Paul, where he learned the painter's trade. He enlisted in 1861 and was discharged in 1862. He re-enlisted in 1864, serving until the close of the war. Since 1870 he has lived in this city and been employed as painter and house decorator. September 12th, 1865, he married Charlotte Halgren of Illinois.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 595

METZKE, Fritz a native of Prussia, was born May 2d, 1827. He came to the United States in 1852 and located in Chicago. He was in the hat, cap and fur business until July, 1880, when he came here and opened what is known as the Chicago Exchange, at 117 Nicollet Avenue. In l854 he married Ino Kirchner. They have had seven children, only two are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 245

MEYER, Ernest born in Prussia, October 22, 1858, and moved with his parents to Germany, where he learned the machinist and miller's trade. In 1876, came to America, and worked in the mills at Hazleton, Iowa; also at Elgin, and Clayton county, Iowa. In 1878,came to Minnetonka, and worked for the Minnetonka Mill Company. Parents now live in Holstein, Germany.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 595

MEYER, John D. a native of Germany, was born November 28th, 1820. He came to the United States in 1852 and lived in New York two years. He moved to St. Louis and two, years later to La Crosse, Wisconsin, being all the while engaged in the dyeing business. In 1866 he came to this city; his steam dyeing establishment is at No. 2 Hennepin Avenue. He married Mary Sefried November 5th, 1857. They have six children: Amelia, Mary, Bertha, Emma, Olga and John.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 596

MEYRS, Jacob was born in New York, June 12th, 1840. He was employed in farming and teaming until 1866, since then he has been a resident of Minneapolis, and is a member of the firm of Meyrs and Davis, dray line. In October, 1870, he married Carrie Hinglesback. Their children are: Clara, Mary and Amelia.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 596

MICHIE, J. W. was born in Canada, in 1851. His father being a miller, he has been in that business since early boyhood. In 1876, he came to Minneapolis, and since that time, has been employed by the Pillsburys in the different mills. His marriage with Delphia Lawrence, occurred in this city, February 19th, 1879. One child has been born to them, Charles.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by: Kenneth Smith ksmith22@mn.rr.com

MIDDAUGH, Angeline Burlingame, Angeline Burlingame Middaugh was born in Waseca, Minnesota, on
November 8, 1878, the daughter of Richard M. & Orry E. Wood Middaugh. She grew up in Waseca and was known as a tomboy. Her nickname was “Dutch”. She was a good skater and even skated with a sail on Rice Lake.
After high school, she attended business school, then took a position as a clerk in a dry goods store in Mankato, Minnesota. Because it was too far from her home, she stayed at a rooming house in Kasota, just north of Mankato, owned by Catherine Rowe. It was the same rooming house where her future husband, Percy H. Smith, who was a nephew of Mrs. Rowe, stayed on his railroad layovers. Aunt Kit must have been quite a matchmaker, because two of Percy's sisters, Minnie and Carrie, also met their husbands at her rooming house.

Angie and Percy were married in St. Paul, Minnesota on September 3, 1902. The witnesses were Angie’s brother Luther and Percy’s married sister, Geneva Imlah. After their honeymoon, they lived in St. Paul for a while, at 425 St. Clair. Then they moved back to Mankato, where Avavalle and Raymond were born. Percy was moving up in the railroad, and his promotions brought the family back to St. Paul, where they lived at 391 Goodrich from 1906 to 1913. James and Kenneth were born while they lived on Goodrich. They moved to 705 Jefferson in St. Paul for a year, then another promotion brought them to Minneapolis, Minnesota, where they lived at 965-14th Av. SE. When Percy was named yardmaster at the Rollins yard, they bought a larger home at 1047-17th Av. SE.

Angie was ahead of her time. Even though she had children, she worked in a department store. She was the librarian at Tuttle School. She took pictures with her Brownie Kodak. She raised canaries on the back porch.
Angie loved to drive, even though her first adventure behind the wheel would up with the car sitting on a lilac bush. She had the freedom to do those things because her widowed mother lived with her and helped care for her children. Angie also loved to cook. She baked, usually without a recipe, on a big wood stove, and turned out delicious pies, cookies, rolls and muffins.

In the late 1930’s Percy retired from the railroad. A few years earlier, they had bought a resort near Mcgregor, Minnesota, on Lake Minnewawa, named Greenwood Lodge. It was their plan that their boys would take over the resort. Jim did work at Greenwood Lodge for nine years, but Ray and Kenny weren’t interested. In 1935, Kenny was killed in an auto accident on the way to Mcgregor from Minneapolis. Over the years, Angie took an active part in managing the resort. She kept the books and cleaned the cabins. They owned Greenwood Lodge until the early 50's, when they sold it and bought a home in Osseo, Minnesota, where they both lived out their days. Angie died on July 19, 1963, in Minneapolis, three years after Percy died. They are both buried in Sunset Memorial Park in St. Anthony, Minnesota.

This information is the personal recollection of their daughter Avanalle, her daughter Joanne, and their grandson Kenneth Smith, and the vital records of Waseca, Ramsey and Blue Earth Counties in Minnesota.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 596

MILLER, J. H. a native of Oswego county, New York, was born December 9th, 1852. He learned the milling business at home, and in December, 1872, came to Minneapolis and engaged with C. A. Pillsbury as night grinder, after that he worked as stone-dresser. He then had charge of the Empire mill six months, after which he worked one year at the Pillsbury mill, and since August, 1878, he has occupied the position of head miller at the Excelsior.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 596

MILLER, J. W. born April 22d, 1858 at Chateaugay, New York. At the age of fifteen, he went to Malone, learned the tinner's trade, and worked there until 1878, at which time he removed to this city. He worked for Stafford and Company until April, 1879, when he started for himself in the stove and hardware business. In September, 1880, Mr. Smith became his partner, forming a young, enterprising and Prosperous firm. Mr. Miller married in 1878, Jennie Heath. They have one child, Mary.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 596

MILLER, W. A. manager of the Minneapolis department of the Pioneer Press, commenced his career in a printing office, where he served a regular apprenticeship of seven years, mastering every detail of the business, but having a love for mercantile pursuits, abandoned the trade. Engaging in business, became a traveler, and, in the course of time, made the grand circuit of the globe. When the war of the rebellion broke out, he was in Australia, but upon receipt of the news, immediately started for home, and entered. the Union service. He came to Minneapolis in November 1875, and at once was placed in charge of the Minneapolis branch of the Pioneer Press, to which he is at present devoting all his time and energies.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 596

MILLER, Walter a native of England, came to the United States in 1869, and located in Minnesota City. He remained there two years, engaged in milling, having learned that business in England. He then lived in Lanesboro about one and one-half years, and from that time was employed in different mills in this state until May 1880; since then he has been working as packer in the Standard mill of this city.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 596

MILLS, Sylvester came to Minneapolis in 1855, and for seven years worked a farm in this township. He now has a bowling saloon and bar at 16 Second street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 596

MILNE, David A. born March 15th, 1853, in Canada. In 1864 he went to Cedar Falls, Iowa, and the next year, commenced working in a mill. He removed to Nashua in 1871, and for two years had charge of E. P. Greely's mill; he then came to this city, and was employed by Mr. Cahill one year. In the spring of 1864 he rented the Money Creek Mill, at Houston, Minnesota. From there went to Salem, Wisconsin, and in 1877, returned to Minneapolis. He was with Washburn until, July, 1879, and since then has been at the Galaxy, where he is the head miller. He married Emma Pattison, August 19th 1875.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 597

MINER, Amos L. was born November 27th, 1837, in Clinton county, New York. He lived with his parents until thirteen years of age, when he went to East Salem and clerked in a store for his brother, about two years. He then removed with his brothers to Juneau, Wisconsin, thence to Horicon, and after one year to St. Croix county, where he learned the trade of millwright. In 1862 he enlisted in the Thirteenth Wisconsin Volunteers, and served three years. He came to this city in June, 1866, and was one year with Webster and Pray, then went to Polk county and worked a farm five years. In 1871 he returned, and for nearly two years had charge of the mill furnishing department of Lee and Hardenbergh's iron-works. He invented a middlings puriller, and manufactured them, in partnership with Hardenbergh and Fender, until October, 1873, when he sold his interest to O. A. Pray, and acted as superintendent of the old Minnesota Iron-Works, until June 1st, 1878, when he became a partner in the firm of O. A, Pray and Company. He married Sarah Beede in 1859. Their children are: Adella, Mary, Lydia and Charles; one died in infancy.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 596

MITCHELL, Charles A. business manager of the Tribune, was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, September 16th, 1845. His first business venture was in connection with the Boston Gold Mining Company, in the fall of 1865. The company sent him to Colorado, where he remained two years and six months. Thence he returned to Boston, remained there until June 7,1869, when he came to Minneapolis and became identified with the newspapers of this city in July, 1873, first taking charge of the circulation of the St. Paul Pioneer, in Minneapolis. He remained with the Pioneer, and its successor, the Pioneer Press until 1876, when that paper was consolidated with the Morning Tribune and the Evening Mail. Mr. Mitchell at that time purchased the circulation of the Mail and the Tribune, and continued the owner as long as the Pioneer .Press company owned the Tribune, and after it passed into the hands of the present company, up to March 9th, when he was made manager of the Tribune. Mr. Mitchell was married in November, 1878, to Miss Mary J. Church, of Boston, Massachusetts.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 597

MITTWER, John a native of Prussia, was born March 30th, 1844. He came to the United States in 1868, and has resided in Minneapolis most of the time since. He worked at painting, and afterward in a hardware store until 1875 when he engaged in trade for himself. He owns the building which he now occupies, 1301 Washington Avenue north, and is doing a good business in hardware. In 1870 he married Frederica Weiss, who has borne him one child, Julius.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 597

MOELCHERT, Louis born in 1851, is a native of Prussia. In 1873 he came to Minneapolis, and was employed for five years in the hardware trade, part of the time selling goods on the road. In June, 1879, he fitted up and opened his present place of business, 503 Washington Avenue north. His wife was Miss Anna Brown; their marriage occurred in 1875. They are the parents of two children: Etta and Minne.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 597

MOHR, E a native of Germany, was born in 1854. He emigrated to the United States in 1871, and located at Sheboygan, Wisconsin. In 1879 he removed to Minneapolis and engaged in the bakery business at the corner of Fifth street and Sixth Avenue south. His marriage with Mary Torpe occurred September 30th, 1877. They have two children: Paul and Minnie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 597

MOLIN, A. P. is a native of Sweden, born April 3d, 1851. He came to the United States in 1869, making Chicago his home two years. After taking a tour throughout the country he came to this city in 1873, and has since made this his place of residence. In 1876 he became one of the partners in the firm of Ryberg and Company in the Stockhobn meat-market.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 597

MOONEY, M. C. was born October 29th, 1854, at Newport, Vermont. In 1866 he went to Boston, Massachusetts, and worked at the meat trade in Faneuil Hall Market, and in the same business at Cambridge, Massachusetts, until March, 1879, when he removed to Minneapolis, and in August of the year following, bought an interest in the firm of Barker and Company, 717 Washington Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 597

MOORE, John G. was born in Germany in November, 1848. His father dying, Mr. Moore in 1863, came to America with his guardian, and went to Oswego county, New York. At the close of the war, he made a tour through the South, and then went to New Haven, Connecticut. After attending school for a time, he returned to Oswego county, entered the academy at Mexico, where he fitted for college, and entered Cornell University whence he graduated after a four years course. After graduating, he held the position of instructor in German in Trumansburg Academy, in Tompkins county, for two years. In 1873 he received an offer from the State University, which he accepted, and after being employed as instructor in German for two years was appointed Professor of German, which he still retains. Professor Moore was married, in 1877, to Miss Anna Cole of Seneca, New York. They have one child, William C.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 321

MORIN, Francis was born in Quebec, in 1826, and lived there twenty years. He moved to Lake Superior in 1846, worked in the copper and iron mines for three years, and then returned to Quebec. In 1851 he moved to St. Anthony and stayed four years, when he came to Corcoran and has since resided here. He was married in 1863 to Alice O'Hearn. He is the father of seven children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 598

MORRISON, A. C. was born October 10th, 1841, at Northfield, New Hampshire. He came to St. Anthony in December, 1854, and worked with his father in his mill five years; then went to Castle Rock, Minnesota, and worked on a farm two years. He enlisted in the Fourth Minnesota Volunteers, and served nearly four years, after being mustered out, he returned to this city and has since been employed in the different mills here. He has acted as engineer for Wheaton, Reynolds and Company since March, 1880. He married Annette Carlton in July, 1873.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 598

MORRISON, Clinton was born January 21st, 1842, at Livermore, Maine. He was educated in his native town, and in 1855, came with his parents to Minneapolis. In 1863, he engaged in the mercantile business, and afterwards in lumber business; since 1878 has been interested in the Minneapolis Harvester Works, being vice-president of the company. Mr. Morrison married Julia Washburn, of Massachusetts, in February, 1873. They have one child, Ethel.

 

From "Minneapolis, Portrait of the Past", collected and compiled by Edward A. Bromley. Voyageur Press. 1890


(Click for large image)

MORRISON, Dorilus Minneapolis and Dorlius Morrison have been fast friends since 1853, when Mr. Morrison left his native state (Maine) and located here. He had had consiserable experience in business, and at once became a leading factor in the commerical life of the young city, which he continues to be to-day, although he passed the three score and ten limit six years ago. He was one of the projectors and proprietors of the Minneapolis Mill Company, and has been extensively interested in the manufacture of lumber and flour and in other industrial enterprises. He was the first Mayor of Minneapolis, in 1867, and was a member of the State Senate.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 597

MORRISON, H. G. O. was born in Livermore Maine, January 24th, 1817. In the spring of 1834 he went into a printings office at Gardner, and from there to Bangor the following December, where he engaged on the Bangor Whig and Courier. He graduated at the Bangor high school, and read law with Appleton and Hill, the former new chief justice Appleton. He was admitted to the bar in the fall of 1838, and began practice at Sebec, Maine. He was elected to the Maine legislature in the fall of 1840, and served in the session of 1841. He continued the practice of his profession in Maine until 1855, when he came to St. Anthony, and two years later went to Dakota county and started the town of Pine Bend, remaining there twelve years. He served in the legislature of Minnesota during the sessions of 1860-1861. In 1862 was appointed by President Lincoln, assessor of the internal revenue for the congressional district, which then comprised the northern part of the state, and held the position until 1865 or 1866. He moved to St. Paul in 1869, and remained until 1872, when he returned to this city. Was deputy collector of internal revenue from 1869 to 1873, and since then has been in the practice of law. He is now a member of the firm of Morrison and Fitch. He was married in 1841 to Maria F. Lovejoy, of Maine; she died nine years after, leaving no children. He was married the second time at the cathedral, St. Paul, to Rebecca Newell. They have three children living, David Whipple, Samuel Benjamin and Stanford.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 598

MORSE, Elisha was born January 12th, 1831, at South Paris, Maine. He went to California in 1852, remained about two years, and removed to Macomb, Illinois, where he was in the real estate business until he enlisted, in 1862, in Seventy-eighth Illinois Volunteers as private, and was promoted to first lieutenant. He was captured and held a prisoner seventeen months; after he rejoined his regiment, he was commissioned captain, and was honorably discharged in June, 1865. The following spring he came here, and for a time engaged in the purchase of flour for eastern markets; then was in the wholesale grocery trade three years with Messrs. Stephens and Newell, and has since been doing an extensive real estate and loan business. April, 1859, he married Lizzie Pillsbury, who has borne him six children; the living are, George, Mary, Edward, William and Frank.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 598

MORSE, Frank L. a native of Vermont, was born January, 1837, at Johnson. April, 1858, he came to St. Anthony. At the first Minneapolis election he was chosen alderman, and was three times re-elected to that office; he was also elected to represent this district in the legislature in 1871, and four times re-elected. Mr. Morse was married in Chicago, June, 1879, to Catherine Cummings, of Burlington, Vermont.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 598

MORSE, George A. was born in Peterborough, Hillsborough county, New Hampshire, July 6th, 1836. He moved to Lowell, Massachusetts, in 1852, and two years later to Lewistown, Maine. In October, 1864, he come to this city, and the year following started in the book and stationery business; he is located at 206 Central Avenue. Mr. Worse's family consists of a wife and one son.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 598

MORTIMER, Elias W. was born at Hastings, England, May 24th, 1837. He came to America and located at St. Paul in 1855, working at the baker's trade. In 1863 he enlisted in the Fifth Minnesota Infantry and served until the fall of 1865; when discharged he was orderly sergeant of company. He returned to Minnesota and has since been employed by the St. Paul, Minneapolis and Manitoba railway company. He is now baggage agent of the Northern Pacific railroad, the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis and Omaha railway, and general baggage agent for the Minneapolis and St. Louis railroad. His wife was Altanice Hayford of Farmersvflle, New York. Their children are: Elias, Mary Jane, Georgia and Willie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 599

MORTIMER, G. W. was born at St. Paul, Minnesota, July 27th, 1857. He moved with his parents to Northfield, where he worked three years in the packing department of the Ames mill. In 1870 he came to this city and for three years was employed at the Washburn B mill; he was with Mr. Cahill at Minnetonka two years, and one year at the Pillsbury mill here. He then removed to Red Wing and was employed in a mill there three years, but returned to Minneapolis in August, 1880, and went, to work at the Galaxy. His wife was Miss G. A. Foster. Their children are: Chancie and Frederick.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 599

MOSES, Elias born April 18th, 1829, in Piscataquis county, Maine. He was left an orphan at the age of fourteen, and when eighteen years of age engaged as salesman in a general merchandise store; the next year he went into the lumber business, which he carried on in connection with farming, for eight years. He came to St. Anthony in October, 1856, and has since been in the lumber trade, having been in business for himself since 1860. He married Lydia Nichols, of Maine, in 1852. Their three children have all passed away: Hannah, Herbert and an unnamed infant. Mrs. Moses died April 4th, 1879.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 301

MIARS, G. D. is a native of Nova Scotia where he was born in 1816. At the age of eleven years he went to sea and followed that occupation fourteen years. He then resided in Canada three years, and in Maine, where he was engaged in farming. He came to Hennepin county in 1856 and purchased a claim of eighty acres in the town of Crystal Lake. In 1866 he removed to Anoka county, and three years later came to Champlin, where he has since resided, engaged in the pursuit of farming. He was married in 1852, to Syrene Pratt, a native of Penobscot county, Maine. They have had nine children, eight of whom are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 220

MILLAM, George was born in Scotland August, 1849. He came to this country in 1859 and ten years later to Hennepin county. He has, since coming to Richfield been engaged as miller in the Edina Mills. In 1872 was married to Miss Margaret Jibb, a native of Scotland. Following is the family record: Charles A., born August, 1878; Lily F., born April, 1875, died at the age of three years; Annabella, born May, 1877; and Rosella, born April, 1879.

 


Go to 2nd Page of Surname M

 


Go to Surname "N"