Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
M
Page 2 of 2


Go back to page 1 of surname M

Use the Windows "Find" feature to locate the surname (Ctrl & F)

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 245

MILLER, Charles D. born in Ohio May 14th, 1845. When four years old, came with his parents, to Minnesota. Attended the first school taught in Hennepin county, in the old Government House, near the Government Mill. August, 1864, enlisted in Co. F, Eleventh Minn. Inf. under Capt, Plummer. Was mustered out at Fort Snelling, in 1865. In May, 1876, married Emma J. Hawkes, of Hennepin county. They have one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 245

MILLER, Frank L. born in St. Paul, Minnesota, October 10th, 1850. When he was two years old his father moved to the farm in what is now Minnetonka. Received his education in the public schools, and has, with his father and brother, made a good farm.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 245

MILLER, John P. born in Pennsylvania, May 11, 1809. In 1831, married Rachael Parks, who died in 1837. Lived in Lancaster, Ohio, three years; then went to Crawford county, and engaged in the hotel business. In 1848, went to Rockford, Illinois, and entered grocery business. In 1849, came to Minnesota. Kept a boarding house in St. Paul, and helped to fit up the hall for the first legislative session. Went to Minnetonka in 1853 and made a claim. He afterwards bought a farm on which he now lives. August, 1844, married Catherine Didie. They have three children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 350

MILLER P. S. it native of Sweden, was born in 1854. In the autumn of 1879, he married Miss Rozetta Jordan, of Minneapolis. He came here in 1872, and worked for dairymen until 1877, when the firm of Miller Brothers started with twenty cows. They own two acres of land on section 17, and now have sixty fine cows. They run one wagon twice a day in summer, and are doing a prosperous business.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 301

MILLER, Robert H. is a native of Oxford county, Maine, where he remained until twenty-three years of age; then removed to New Hampshire. He was married in Conway, New Hampshire, January, 1848, to Sarah R. Hill, and removed to Waterford, Maine, where their only living son, Orange S., was, born September 6th, 1849. In 1852, Mr. Miller came to St. Anthony, Minnesota, where he remained one year, thence to Anoka and after a few months residence there, made a claim on the west side of the river in what is now Dayton. In 1856 he came to Champlin and bought a number of town lots, also the hotel now owned by Mr. Thorndyke, which he conducted for seven years. When he first came to Minnesota he made a squatters claim, on the west side of the river, the present site of Minneapolis. Mr. Miller learned the trade of carriage maker, in Maine, which business he engaged in for many years in Champlin. He held the office of post-master from 1860 to 1867. The son, Orange S., resides with his parents. He was married to Miss Mary E. Wiley. They have one son.

 

From "1868 - 1968 Maple Plain and Independence Past - Present" published by the Maple Plain Garden Club. Submitted by Claudine Pearson. ClaudeP@aol.com

MILLS, Robert M. was born in New Castle, Indiana, August 7, 1845.  He enlisted in the 9th Indiana Cavalry at age 18 and served until the close of the Civil War.  He moved to Hennepin County in 1865 and married Maria Batdorf of Independence township in 1866.  His farm was in Section 22, which was a claim formerly owned by Job Moffitt.  Mr. Mills was town clerk of Independence for 23 years, Justice of the Peace, and postmaster at Maple Plain for 20 years.  His son, Dexter, moved to Saskatchewan, Canada, where he passed away, and daughter Mae, Mrs. Arthur Berquist, still resides in Maple Plain. His brother William Mills, took a claim in 1857, east of that of Irvin Shrewsbury.  He married Margaret Batdorf, sister of Maria Batdorf, who married his brother, Robert.  Mr. and Mrs. Williams Mills celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary here on May 8th, 1917.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 236

MITCHELL, Andrew W was born in Bally Bay, Monaghan county, Ireland, February 14th, 1831. Came with his father's family to America in 1852, arriving at New Orleans May 1st. Came from there to St. Anthony by steamer. In July his father made claims in Eden Prairie, upon which they settled in the fall. His father died January 10, 1866. The subject of this sketch was married September 10, 1857, to Miss Francis Anderson. They have five children, Elizabeth A., Andrew W. Jr., Martha J., Fanny and Henry H. Their pleasant rural home is in the central part of the town, and north of Staring Lake.

 

From the "1868-1968 Maple Plain & Independence Past-Present" published by the Maple Plain Garden Club.  "Dates and events have been carefully checked with records of the Hennepin County Historical Society and other reliable sources".  Pages 3 and 4.


MOFFITT
, Job. The first settler arrived in Independence Township in the fall of 1854.  Job Moffitt and son John came by covered wagon drawn by ox team to St. Anthony from Indiana where he learned through James Maxwell of water power on Pioneer Creek.  They traveled over the O. G. Garrison Road to Wayzata and were obliged to open their own road following an Indian trail to Long Lake, and on to the southeastern corner of Independence.  Turning northwesterly with the trail, they came to Pioneer Creek, where they settled on Section 22, now known as the Glen Hillstrom farm.  Thus they became the first settlers of the township. Pioneer Creek, also known as Moffit's Creek, was in the Big Woods 25 miles west of Minneapolis.  After building a log house, Job returned to Indiana.  The following spring he returned with his wife Anna, two sons and a daughter Lydia Ann.  During his absence his son John stayed on the premises.  Mrs. Ana Moffitt was the first white woman in Independence.  In 1856 Lydia Ann Moffitt married Kelsey Hinman, who was one of the party who discovered Lake Independence and Pioneer Creek, July 4, 1854.

There was an Indian Camp in 1856 and 1857 on the South side of Pioneer Creek opposite the Job Moffitt cabin.  During the winter the Indians killed over two hundred deer in the vicinity during their circle drives, trying to discourage white people from settling in this area.

At one time Job Moffitt had a small store on Pioneer Creek.  The family moved away years ago.  There is no record of where they located.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 321

MORIN, Joseph was born in Montreal, in 1810. He lived there thirty years; went to Michigan in 1840, stayed about one year, then worked four years at Lake Superior as shipwright. Married, in 1844, Lissette Landeau. In 1845 he started for Minnesota, with a birch bark canoe; and accompanied by his wife, followed the Black river fifteen days, then they packed their things and he carried the canoe, on foot, to the St. Croix river, which they reached in one day; they followed it to the Mississippi, thence to St. Paul, where they remained eleven years. Moved to Corcoran in 1856, and have since resided here. They have nine children.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

MORGAN, George N. was born at Masina, St Lawrence County, New York, Sept 7, 1832. He was married to Delia E. Warner Dec. 9, 1852, and moved to St. Catherine's, Canada, where they lived until June, 1856, when they came to Minnesota, first locating for a few months at Lakeland, then at St. Paul until June, 1857, when they came to St. Anthony, and Mr. Morgan, in partnership with Mr. Morgan, opened the first foundry and machine shop at the falls. In April, 1861, he enlisted in Company E First Minnesota Volunteers, and was commissioned captain of the company. This regiment was the first regiment tendered the government under the three months call, and before leaving the state re-enlisted and was the first three years regiment of volunteers mustered into the service If the United States. Captain Morgan participated in all of the battles of the regiment, some twenty in number. Oct. 22, 1861, he was commissioned major of the regiment; Aug. 28, 1862, was appointed lieutenant-colonel, and on Sept. 26, 1862, colonel.

Colonel Morgan's health failing, he resigned May 6, 1863, and returned to Minnesota and was appointed major of the Second Veteran Reserve Corps in June and stationed at Fort Snelling. where he remained in command of the post for three months. In September, 1863, he was ordered to Louisville, Ky., where, on his arrival, he was commissioned colonel of the Second Veteran Reserves, which position he held up to the time of his death. He brought 500 prisoners to the Northern prisons that fall without the loss of a man. He was stationed at the barracks in Detroit, Mich., about one year, returning to Fort Snelling December, 1864, where he remained until June 30, 1865. On March 13, 1865, he was commissioned brevet brigadier general by President Lincoln, for gallant and meritorious service during the war. He died at his home in Minneapolis July 24, 1866, at the age Of 41, three weeks after being mustered out of government service.

Their eldest daughter, E. Louise, is the wife of S. B. Lovejoy, postmaster of Minneapolis. A son, Major George H. Morgan, is in the regular army, and now in the Philippines; Frederick is bookkeeper for the Illinois Watch Co. at Springfield, Ill.; Delia, now Widow Maher, is with her mother, and Capt. Alfred Sully Morgan has been with the army in the Philippines. Their oldest son was in the battle of Santiago, Cuba, and their youngest son was in the battle of Manila.

Prior to going into the army General Morgan was a member of the firm of Scott & Morgan, who built the second foundry and machine shop, in Minnesota, and in 1859 built the Cataract and Germania fire engines, the first and best ever owned by the city of St. Anthony, and about ten years before the Minneapolis (west side) department was organized.

Mrs. Morgan was remarried to W. W. Woodward, Dec. 14, 1879, at Minneapolis, where he died Aug. 22, 1892.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 599

MOULTON, E. H. a native of Now York city, was born January 10th, 1844. He came to Minneapolis in 1872 and has been treasurer of the Farmers and Mechanics Savings bank since its orpnization in 1874, Mr. Moulton's wife was Harriet Skiles; their marriage occured November 11th, 1874., They have two children: Kate and Eder.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 599

MOULTON, E. was born in 1827, at Haviland, Maine. He came to St. Anthony in 1849 and worked at carpentering fifteen years. In 1864 he established the second planing mill on the east side. The firm of E. Moulton and son, commenced manufacturing farm wagons in 1879, making a specialty of "The Moulton Wagon;" shop is at the corner of Division and Taylor streets, east division. Mr. Moulton died during the winter of 1880.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 599

MUDGETT, A. H. a native of Maine, was born in 1824, at Hallowell. He moved to Boston in 1842, and Chicago in 1862, thence to Rochelle, and in 1875, to Tiptown. He bas been in practice as a veterinary surgeon more than thirty years. In April, 1878, he came to this city; his office is at 410 Fourth street south.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 599

MUELLER, John B. was born in Bavaria in 1850. He emigrated to America and was twelve years engaged in the manufacture of Morocco leather, at Milwaukee, and at the same time had an interest in a New York fur company. In 1862 he removed to St. Paul, where for three years he was engaged in the distillery and wholesale liquor trade. May, 1865, he came to this city, and that year the corner stone of the Mueller and Heinrich brewery was laid by Kranzlein and Mueller. In 1857 he married Rosa Smith, of Milwaukee. They have seven children.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 599

MUELLER, Louis C. was born in Germany, March 24th, 1839. In February, 1859, he came to the United States, and lived in Milwaukee ten years, employed is salesman for a large dry goods house. He removed with his brother to Faribault in 1865, and although commencing with very little capital, they have by energy and perseverance, built up the leading dry goods house of that place. In 1876 Mr. Mueller opened, in Minneapolis, the German-Scandinavian Bank, and was president of the institution; after paying all depositors, he closed the bank in October, 1878. He has been a member of the firm of Mueller and Schulte since June, 1880; they deal in harness and saddlery hardware. Mr. Mueller married, in 1868, Matilda Hill. They have one child: Cora.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by: Wayne C. Blesi.  waybliss@aol.com


Theodore Mueller
(Click to enlarge)

MUELLER, Theodore was born at Rohrbach, Switzerland Canton of Bern on Sep.1,1862. He came to New Schwanden, MN. in 1885 with 4 Sisters Maria, Alice, Magdalena and  Rosina. He married Clara _______ in Minneapolis, MN. in1912. Clara was born on Jun. 28,1872 and died in Jan.1953. They were involved in the German Swiss Club at the Harmonia Hall in Minneapolis, MN. Theodore was involved with Church Missionary work which was not compatible with his wife's steady activities at the club and they were divorced. They had one daughter Laura Mueller born on Jul.29,1893 and married  Roy Cole of Janesville, WI. about 1917 and had a daughter Betty Cole. Laura's second marriage was to ________ Walker. In 1890 to 95  Theodore drew from memory a hand drawn picture of his home town of Rohrbach, Switzerland of which was kept in the family artifacts and the Swiss Amer. Historical Society of Chicago, IL. used the print as a greeting card in 1988.Clara died in 1953 and Theodore died on June 24,1936 in Minneapolis, MN. Hennepin County.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 599

MULLIKEN, William born July 19th, 1830, in Steuben county, New York. He learned civil engineering and followed that business in Ohio and Indiana until 1856, when he went to Illinois and in 1860, to Wisconsin. He came to this city in July 1863, and was employed as assistant engineer on the Minneapolis and St. Paul Railway until December, 1865, when he went to the Pennsylvania oil regions. He returned to Minnesota, and has much of the time since, been in the real estate business; he was in the United States land office from 1870 to 1874, and was one year special agent in the pension department. In June, 1880, he returned to this city and has since been dealing in pine lands. He married Sarah Cortelyon in 1859. They have one child, Ida.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 599

MUNGER, Albert S. was born March 1st, 1837, at Orwell. Vermont. In 1857, he moved to Waterford, Minnesota, and worked at farming a number of years; he removed to this city in 1867 and was engaged with George B. Wright on the Northern Pacific Railroad until 1870 when he entered the police force, and five years later was promoted to chief of police. Mr. Munger is widely known as a faithful, vigilant and efficient officer; his office is at the city station house, in the rear of 212 First Avenue south. He married in 1863, Mary Kelly, who was a teacher in the public schools of Northfield. They have one child, May Alberta Lincoln.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 600

MUNSON, J. W. a native of Maine, was born February 25th, 1820, in the town of Cooper. He learned the trade of blacksmith at East Machias and worked there until 1849, when he went to California; he remained only seven months, but went again in 1852 and stayed one and one-half years. In May, 1856, he came to Minneapolis, worked for a man named Fenderson a short time, and the year following established his own black-smith shop. December, 1841, he married Miss Abbie Munson. They have two daughters.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 600

MURPHY, A. born December, 1834, in Ireland. When nine years of age, he came with his parents to America, and located in Senaca county, New York, where he learned the blacksmith's trade. In 1855, he removed to St. Paul, thence to Minneapolis. He has had different partners, but is now a member of the firm of Murphy and Machmeier, they do general blacksmithing at 111 Main street south. In November, 1866, he married Annie Fuer. They have had seven children, one daughter is dead.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 600

MUSSER, J. P. established his present business April 15th, 1879. He manufactures patterns, wagon jacks, step ladders, clothes dryers, ironing boards and barrel trucks. His place of business is No. 110 Main street and his residence 306 Eighth street south-east.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 600

MUSSER, J. P. established his present business April 15th, 1879. He manufactures patterns, wagon jacks, step ladders, clothes dryers, ironing boards and barrel trucks. His place of business is No. 110 Main street and his residence 306 Eighth street south-east.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 600

MUTHER, W. a native of Germany, was born November 11th, 1836. He emigrated to the United States in 1865, located at Minneapolis and engaged in contracting, building and architecture. For the past year he has been employed as millwright at the Crown Roller mill. In 1867 he married Christiana Brooch. Their children are: Leo, Henry, Edward, Ludwig and Wendlin.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 600

MYERS, C. W. was born in Lewis county, New York. When eighteen years of age he commenced to learn the trade of blacksmith. In 1873, he came to Minneapolis and has since been in business here. He is now a member of the firm of Myers and Jewett. His wife was Susie Hinton, whom he married in 1868. Mrs. Myers died February 27th, 1877, leaving one child, Mary Helen.

 

From "The History of Hennepin County & City of Minneapolis. North Star Publishing. 1881

Page 600

MYERS, W. D. M.D. was born in Madison county, New York, February, 1830. He was educated at Washington, D. C., and graduated from the National University, medical department of Columbia College. He was one year surgeon of the Eighty-eighth Indiana Infantry, and after being mustered out, resumed his practice at Waterloo, Indiana. December, 1878, he came to this city and established the Surgical Infirmary, of which he is surgeon and medical director. It has thirty finely furnished rooms, and is situated on the comer of Second Avenue south and Third street.

 


To page one of Surname M
 

Go to Surname "N"