Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
J
Page One of Two

Go to Page 2 of Suranme J.

Use the Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames (Ctrl & F)

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 266

JACKSON, Henry is a native of England, born in Chatham, in 1821. He came to New York while young, and engaged in the manufacture of cutlery and surgical instruments, until he reached the age of twenty-one. He then removed to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, and was engaged in the boot and shoe trade until 1856, when poor health forced him to retire. He then came west and located near Lake Minnetonka. He was one of the voters to elect the first Town Board of Minnetonka, and put on the first shingle roof in town, using shingles of his own make. In 1862, he purchased his present home in Independence, where he has since resided. In 1862, he married Mrs. Stimson. They have one child, Edwin W., aged seventeen. Mr. Jackson enlisted in the 6th Minnesota Infantry, August, 1862; was discharged June, 1868. He was drafted in 1864, and served about four months.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 244

JACKSON, J.R. born in Ulster county, New York, March 1846, and came with his father to St. Paul. Mr. Jackson was one of the first businessmen in the place. He made one of the first claims where Minneapolis now stands. John R. enlisted in 1863, in Company F, First Minnesota Cavalry, served fourteen months, was mustered out at Fort Snelling in 1865. Married Lucretia H. Miller of Hennepin county; they have five children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 316

JACOBS, John, one of the early settlers of this county, is a native of Wales, born in 1835. He emigrated to the United States, with his parents, in 1843, and located in Oneida county, New York, where his father died. He removed to Wisconsin in 1851, and engaged in lumbering until 1858, when he removed to Minneapolis, Minnesota. He enlisted in Comp. B, 6th Regt. Inf., and served against the Indians until 1864, when he went South, where he was taken sick, and mustered out. He was married in 1864, to Miss Matilda McKinley of Wright county. They have had four children, three of whom are living: William, Nettie and Belle. Lizzie R. died. Mr. Jacobs has held the office of town supervisor, two years.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 569

JACOBSON, C. a native of Norway, was born August 9th, 1835. He emigrated to the United States in November, 1868, and first settled at Red Wing, Minnesota. In 1869 he removed to this city, and worked at various lines of business until July, 1878, when he embarked in the grocery trade; he owns the property where he is now located, at 1314 Fourth street south, and is doing a prosperous business. In January, 1862, he married Sigrid Engebretsen. They have five living children: John, Laura, Wolborg, Charlotte and Jacob.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 569

JACOBY, George G. was born in 1838, in Germany. He moved to New York in 1859, remained two years, and in 1861 enlisted in the Fourteenth New York volunteer militia, the first regiment that enlisted to serve through the war served one year, and was discharged for disability. He located in West Virginia, and transacted a general merchandise business until 1865, when he returned to New York; after a three years residence there, he went to Philadelphia, where for nine years he was in the wholesale liquor trade. In 1877 he came to Minneapolis, and after about two years experience in the clothing and merchant tailoring business, returned to the wholesale liquor trade. He was married April 18th, 1868, to Fannie Mikols.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 570

JACOBY, W. H. photograph artist, was born at Massillon, Ohio, May 24th, 1841. Since the early age of fourteen he has studied the art, and now stands in the front rank of photographers. In 1861 he opened a gallery at Dayton, Ohio, from there he went to Springfield, thence to Xenia and in 1866 removed to this city. He commenced, business here at the corner of Bridge square and Second street, and about five years after, built his present studio at 252 Nicollet Avenue. In September, 1860, he married Louisa Stafford. They have one child, Charles L.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 310

JAMES, Freeman D. was born in Chautauqua county, New York, in 1822, where he lived twenty-seven years, much of the time engaged in lumbering. He went to California in 1853, met with considerable success, and returned to New York. In 1855 he came to Minnesota and settled in the town of Hassan, where he now lives. He has served the town as supervisor and constable. In September, 1864, he enlisted in Second Battery, Minnesota volunteers, was mustered out in July, 1865, at St. Paul, and returned o his farm. He married, in 1843, Mary B. Strong, who died February, 1876, leaving three children. Mr. James has done much for the cause of education.

 

From "Our Independence 1854 - 1981" Submitted by Claudine Pearson. ClaudeP@aol.com

JAMES, Roy Sr. and his wife came from Germany in the late 1880's.  Roy served as foreman on the railroad from North Dakota to Montana prior to coming to Independence.  In 1905 he and his wife purchased a farm on County Road 92 (where the Douglas McCulley family now live).  Mr. James was overseer of County Road 92 to County Road 26 for many years.  He and his wife reared a family of eight children.  Peter and Frank moved to Maple Plain.  Frank is well know to this area.  He was employed by the State Bank of Maple Plain all of his mature years.  He is retired but continued on as vice-president of the bank.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 336

JAMME, Joseph one of the early settlers of Hennepin county, was born east of Quebec, Canada, May 16th, 1814. He lived with his parents on the farm until he reached the age of twenty-four, and in 1838, removed to the United States, residing in Maine, engaged in lumber business near Bangor. In 1853 he came to Minnesota, and spent two years lumbering at St. Anthony and on the river. In 1855 he made a claim of 160 acres, in what is now Plymouth, where he now lives. After residing on his claim one year, he returned to Minneapolis and engaged in lumbering until 1866, since which time he has resided in this town where he has a pleasant home twelve miles west of the city. He was married in Oldtown, Maine, to Miss Celeste Barber, of that place. They have had nine children, of whom six are living. Those living are: Addie F., Clara, Phoebe, Joseph R., Henry C., and Bernard G.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 336

JARDINE, Alexander a native of Scotland, was born in Ayreshire, on the 8th of October, 1847. At the age of fifteen he commenced to learn the blacksmith's trade, also worked for a time with Randolph, Elder & Co., ship builders of Govan, Scotland. In 1869, he went to Canada; stayed one year, and then removed to Massachusetts, but afterward returned to Canada, and in 1879, he came to Plymouth, Minnesota, and established a blacksmith shop, where he is doing a thriving business. October 19th, 1880, he . married, in Minneapolis, Miss Sarah, daughter of William and Ellen Allen, of Scotland.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 236

JARRETT, William J. was born September 14th, 1823, in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania; attended the Moravian school until fifteen years of age. In 1838, removed to Allentown, and engaged in farming until 1840 ; went to Philadelphia as currier, for a short time; thence to Mauch Chunk, following the same trade until the spring of 1867, when be, came to St. Anthony, and engaged his brother in the Jarrett House, for a short time; thence to Eden Prairie. While in Pennsylvania, married Miss Susan Detwiler, of Mauch Chunk; has had six children, five of whom are living. Has been a been a member of the town board several times.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 570

JARVIE, Matthew a native of Scotland, was born December 18th, 1827. He came to the United States in 1855, and settled in Berkshire county, Massachusetts, where he worked at the woolen manufacturing business; he moved from that county in 1857, and continued the same pursuit at various places. In 1871 he came here and was at once engaged as superintendent of the weaving department of the North Star Woolen Mills. This position he resigned in 1873, and entered the grocery trade in which he is meeting with success; he owns the property where he is now located, No. 1329, Fourth street south. His wife was Miss M. Jarvie, whom he married in 1855.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 570

JEFFERY, Thomas a native England, was born September 16th, 1845, in Derbyshire. In October, 1865, he came to the United States and lived in New York city until 1875, when he removed to Minneapolis and started in the carpet business; first alone, then as Kenyon and Jeffery, and now the firm name is T. Jeffery and Company. Their place of business is No. 225 Nicollet Avenue. He was married in 1869, to Miss M. B. Hague of England; the fruits of this union were four children, only one of whom survives: John Arthur, aged seven years.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 254

JELLISON, Jesse L. born in Ellsworth, Maine, 1845., Moved to Springfield, Illinois; moved to Minneapolis when thirteen years old, which has been his home since. Enlisted in company E, Eighth Minnesota, in 1862. Served a few months, when he enlisted again in Hatch's Battallion, in 1863, and served against the Indians. Was honorably discharged at Fort Snelling in 1866. Married in 1871 to Elldora Fuller. They have four children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 291

JENKINS, N. H. was born in Caledonia county, Vermont, in 1820. He lived there twenty-three years; lived in Washington county, Maine, eight years; engaged in teaching part of the time. In 1851 he came to St. Anthony, Minnesota, and lived about two years, when he took a claim on Jenkins Prairie; he lived there fourteen years, then sold it, and moved to Minneapolis, where he lived two years. In 1869 he moved to Brooklyn. He was married in 1850, to Emily R. Hanson. They have five children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 290

JENKINS, Sylvanus was born in Vermont, March 6th, 1818,and lived there twenty years. He then moved to Washington county, Maine, and lived thirteen years. He was married in 1840, to Eunice R. Noyes. Came to Hennepin county in 1851, and his family followed in 1852, He took a claim on Jenkins Prairie; sold it in 1865, and moved to Dakota county, and bought 1,000 acres; sold this also, and now lives near Farmington, Minnesota. They have seven children

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 570

JENKS, G. A. born at Watertown, Jefferson county, New York, in 1826. He removed to Worcester, Massachusetts, in 1846, and was employed in the manufacture of machinery, with L. and A. G. Coes; after about two years he was given the general management of the financial department; he was with this firm ten years. In 1856 he went to St. Louis, Missouri, and accepted a similar position in the wholesale dry goods establishment of Pittman Brothers. In 1860 he came to Minnesota, and in 1862 was appointed republican commissioner to go into the army and take the vote of soldiers; and in 1865 was at Prairie du Chien, in the quartermasters department. He engaged in the manufacture of barrels, for A time, at Excelsior, and in 1872, came to Minneapolis; he worked for different firms until September 1st, 1878, since which time he has been employed by Fraser and Shepherd as general book-keeper. In 1846 he married Pamelia Lockwood. They have one child: Arthur, who is now assistant train dispatcher for the Minneapolis and St. Louis Railway.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 350

JENSON, C. was born in Denmark, in 1847. He emigrated to America, and in 1867 went to Fond du Lac, Wisconsin. In the fall of 1868 he removed to Minneapolis, and was engaged as laborer until 1872, when he embarked in the dairy business. The firm of Smith and Jenson started with forty cows, but at the expiration of four months they sold out, and in the fall of 1873, commenced with only twenty cows, which they sold again in the spring. The following autumn, the firm of Jenson Brothers located on the east side, engaged in the dairy business with twenty-four cows, and in 1875, bought their place of fifteen acres, on section 29. In the spring of 1878 this partnership was dissolved and C. Jenson is now sole proprietor of the "Western Avenue Dairy."

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 570

JEWETT, A. W. a native of Maine was born in June, 1840, at Aurora. His father was a black-smith and so he commenced learning that trade as soon as he was large enough to hold a hammer, and has continued in the business since. In April, 1869, he came to this city and is now a member of the firm of Myers and Jewett. December 11th, 1872, Mr. Jewett married Anna McCausland. They have two sons: Ira and Leon.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 350

JOHANSON, Hans , a native of Denmark, was born in 1844. He came to Minneapolis in 1872, and in, 1876 commenced the dairy business. He now has fifteen cows. Mr. Johanson was married in 1875, to Miss Anna Madsen. They are the parents of one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 570

JOHNSON, A. M. a native of Ohio, was born May 29th, 1849, in Logan county. He accompanied his parents to Minneapolis in 1866, and attended school here three years. Until 1872 he worked with his father at building, and then started in the milling business at the ''Old City Mill," where he remained three years; he then went to the Pettit mill where he is still employed. Mr. Johnson's marriage with Miss Clarinda Scott occurred October 11th, 1874. Two children have been born to them Nellie and Gertrude.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 570

JOHNSON, ASA E. M.D. was born at Bridgewater, Oneida county, New York, March 16th, 1825. He first studied medicine in 1849 with Dr. Kellog, a homeopathic physician; then studied three years, in Otsego county, with Dr. Erastus King, afterward, he became dissatisfied with his homeopathic experience and, attended two courses of lectures at the State University of New York, where he graduated March 16th, 1851. The following May he went to Beloit, Wisconsin, and practiced there until May 1853, then removed to St. Anthony. Dr. Johnson is the oldest practitioner in the city. He was married March 16th, 1853 to Hannah Russel, of Wisconsin. They are the parents of one child, Roesina.

The Dr. was county physician for one year, and on the board of health two years. It was he who suggested the organization of the Minnesota Academy of natural sciences, now located in this city; he was the first president of that institution and held the office four years. He has served on committees of various natural sciences, entomology, comparative anatomy, geology and cryptogamic botany; he classified and identified eight hundred species in mycological botany. Among the classifications, the Dr. is the discoverer of seventeen new species peculiar to this state; some of them have been confirmed by such high authority as Professor Peck, state botanist of New York; he also discovered at Palmer Lake mound, Brooklyn, Minnesota, the skeleton of a mound builder; this curiosity is now in the Minnesota Academy of Natural Sciences.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 571

JOHNSON, C. was born in Sweden, September 12th, 1847. He emigrated to America in 1868, and after a short stay in Kansas, he removed to Goodhue county, Minnesota, where he remained until 1872. He then came to Minneapolis and engaged in the grocery business in which he continued until becoming a member of the firm of Ryberg and Company in the Stockholm meat market. He was married in 1880 to Anna Peterson, of Sweden.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 275

JOHNSON, Charles was born in Maine, 1816. He moved to St. Anthony in 1852, remained there until 1855, when he went to Nebraska; was gone four years; returned and spent two years in Carver county; moved to Minneapolis, for one year, and then came to Long Lake, where he has since resided. When he first came here there were only two houses, and nothing but forest where now is the centre of the village. He married Miss E.F. Barnes, in l870. They have one child.

Additional notes provided by descendant, Gene Barnes. Eugene Barnes

He married Eleanor Frances Barnes in 1870. She was the daughter of Shepard Blanchard Barnes (1819 - 1898) and Olive Hill Small (1818 - 1897) and born June 30, 1843, in Springfield, Penobscot County, Maine.  Their son, Charles Menos Johnson, was born in Hennepin Co. on June 24, 1880.  The family migrated to Beaverton, Washington County, Oregon, in 1883.  Charles Johnson died there in 1901, and is buried in the Cedar Mill Cemetery, Washington County, Oregon.  Eleanor Frances Johnson/Griffin died in Raymond, Pacific County, Washington, on June 14, 1943, and was buried in the Cedar Mill Cemetery.

Note: (Charles is said to have died in Beaverton in 1901, but Eleanor and her son appear alone in 1900.  Death certificates for Oregon at that time are unavailable.  A lot of counties did not report from turn of century on although required to do so by law.  My gr. gr. father Barnes died in 1906 - not even a funeral record - checked four counties.   As far as I can tell Charles had a parcel within my gr. gr. parcels, held with his wife, Eleanor Frances Barnes  Johnson. He may have been a Cooper (West. Henn. Co. Pion. Assoc. notes). Oregon records were supposed to be sent, circa 1900 to a central source, but as late as 1930, some counties did not participate, and there is no death certificate yet to be found on Charles, and as I indicated, records show he died in 1901, but 1900 census has my great aunt Eleanor with her son.  Charles is not listed. I think sent his sup. through, but just a note of explanation.  

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 571

JOHNSON, Charles W. was born in Belleville, St. Clair county, Illinois, March 17th, 1843. He received an high school education at his native place, and learned the printer's trade at intervals between the terms of school. He came to Minnesota in 1860 and worked on a farm and taught school two years; enlisted in the Sixth Minnesota and served over three years. At the close of the war he returned to Minneapolis, taught school and finally resumed his business of setting type, drifting naturally into newspaper work in the capacity of correspondent, reporter and editor on various city papers. He was elected and served one year as city clerk. In 1873 he was elected assistant secretary of the state senate and the following year was elected secretary of that body and for six years afterwards performed the duties of that office. In 1880 he was appointed supervisor of the census in the second census district of Minnesota. During the winter of 1881 he was engaged as the Washington correspondent of the Pioneer Press, and received the republican nomination for chief clerk of the United States senate. He has been engaged actively in politics of Minnesota as a republican for many years, and has been secretary of the state central committee and of the republican central committee for the Third congressional district. His family consists of his wife, the daughter of J. D. Rich, Esq., and two promising children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 571

JOHNSON, David. B. a native of Winchester, Gurnsey county, Ohio, was born August 7th, 1852. When seventeen years of age, he went to Muskingum College in New Concord, Ohio, and remained there about two years; he then attended the Geneva institute for the same length of time. At the age of twenty-one, he began the study of law with Milton Barnes at Cambridge, Ohio, and later with Amos Coggswell, of Owatonna, Minnesota. He was admitted to the bar in February, 1876, and practiced law at Owatonna three years, then came to this city and has since resided here. He married Miss Carrie M. Johnson at Owatonna, June 27th, 1877. They have one child, Antoinette.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 571

JOHNSON, F. A. was born in Sweden in 1849. He emigrated to the United States in 1871, and located in Minneapolis. For five years he was with the American Express Company, and since that time has been in the hotel business. He has been proprietor of the Swea House since September 1879. It is located at 723 Washington Avenue south. His marriage with Lena Cornell occurred in June, 1880.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 571

JOHNSON, George H. was born in Norway. He came with his parents to America in 1850, and settled in Cook county, Illinois. In 1862 he enlisted in the First Illinois Artillery. He served most of the time with the army of the Cumberland, and was in the battles of Chickamauga, Stone River, Lookout Mountain, Mission Ridge, and others. He also accompanied Sherman as far as Atlanta on his march to the sea. . He was mustered out in July, 1865, and came to this city in the autumn following. He worked in the lumber mills for a time, and then went on the police force. Mr. Johnson was elected sheriff in 1870-1872-1874, and went to the legislature in 1876. In May, 1877, he was appointed deputy sheriff, and has since continued to fill that office. His wife was Annie Sheridan, of Anoka. She has borne him five children. Those living are: George and Nellie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 245

JOHNSON, Gustavus, V. born in Clayton county, New York, March 2nd, 1845; learned the trade of ship building. In 1868 enlisted in Company M, 14th New York heavy artillery, and was mustered out September 1865, at Rochester. The same fall came to Chicago, worked at ship building, then to Fox Lake, Wisconsin, and did carriage making a number of years. Sold out and went to Winona, then to La Crosse, where he was engaged in boat building four years, thence to White Bear Lake, following same business three years, then to Lake Minnetonka and established a large boat building business. Married Elizabeth Buffett, Sept. 23, 1869. Have two children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 572

JOHNSON, J. W. was born May 2d, 1825, in Franklin county, New York. He learned the contracting and building business, and worked in that line until 1857, when he engaged in mercantile business. In August, 1864, he moved to Red Wing, Minnesota, and in 1868 came to Minneapolis. He was in the dry goods trade here until September, 1869, when he took charge of the North Star Iron Works, then located in St. Anthony, but removed to the west side, and greatly enlarged in 1870. In 1872 he bought one-fourth interest in the works, and in 1874 bought the other three-fourths, and conducted the business until 1880, when he retired from active business. January, 1881, he was elected president of the City Bank. Mr. Johnson has been married twice; his first wife was Martha Walker. The second wife, Mrs. Malinda Roman, has borne him three children, Annie, Frederick, and Walter.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 572

JOHNSON, K. a native of Norway, was born in 1844. He emigrated to the United States in 1868, and ten years later came to Minneapolis. He is engaged as millwright at the lumber mill of P. G. Lamoreaux, and resides at 203 Third street north.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

JOHNSON, Luther Gage was born at Concord, N.H., November 13, 1813. His parents removed during his infancy to Boscawin, Merrimac County, with whom he remained until twenty-three years of age, at which time he opened a general country store at Fisherville, now Penacook, J. S. Kimball as partner. Ten years late opened a tavern at Fisherville for the accommodation of stages and teams passing over turnpike road from Canada through Vermont Boston and Portsmouth. The country tavern in those days was headquarters for the neighbor to meet for the daily mail and exchange greetings.

In 1853, accompanied by his brother John C., he visited St. Anthony and decided to locate here. Returning to Fisherville he closed out his business and with his family reached St. Anthony in the spring of 1854, accompanied by his brother and Mr. Hubbard. They establish furniture factory just below the bridge crossing to Hennepin Island, which was furnished with power from the falls. Here for three years they carried on quite an extensive business for that time until 1857, when they sold out their business to the Barnard Brothers. Johnson Brothers then built a three-story stone store on Main street, just below the present Pillsbury A Mill, where they opened a general grocery and supply store, with Wm. M. Kimball and Mr. Hubbard partners. Two years later their partners retired from the firm, and the Johnson brothers continued the business under the style of L. G. & J. C. Johnson until 1880. The Johnson Brothers also laid out some additions to St. Anthony.

Mr. Johnson was alderman of the city in 1856, but did not seek or enjoy public positions. He was deacon of the First Congregational Church for more than twenty years. He was married Miss Cornelia E. Morrill, January 21, 1847. He died in August, 1897, in the same house he purchased and moved his family into on his arrival in St. Anthony in 1854, after an honorable, active and long business career, loved by those knew him intimately and highly respected by all of his acquaintances. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

JOHNSON, Cornelia E. , widow of Luther G. Johnson, was born at Canterbury, N. H., December 6, 1826. Her father was Hon. Ezekiel Morrill of Canterbury, N.H. She was married to Mr. Johnson January 21, 1847, who died at Minneapolis, August, 1897, leaving four children, the eldest son, Edward M., late judge of the district court of Hennepin County, being born in New Hampshire; Mary, wife of Lieut. John A. Lundeen of the U. S. Army; William C., secretary of the Northwestern. Casket Co.; and Luther A. Johnson, who died in January, 1897. Mrs. Johnson resides in the same house she occupied with her family on their arrival at St. Anthony, in April, 1854.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 572

JOHNSON, Peter a native of Sweden, was born July 12th, 1845. He attended school until 1861, then followed farming until 1866, when he came to America; he first located in Wright county, Minnesota, and in May, 1867, came to this city; he worked as an apprentice at the mason's trade until 1870, then worked five years as journey-man, and since 1875 has been contracting. Mr. Johnson still retains his old homestead in Wright county. He was married August 3d. 1873, to Miss Christina Swedeburg; they reside at 507 Fourth street north. Two children have been born to them: Carrolton and John Edward.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 572

JOHNSON, W. H. was born October 5th, 1825, at Ogdensburg, Now York. At the age of nineteen years commenced lumbering; in 1849 he went to Wisconsin, bought 160 acres of land, and after the heavy work of clearing was done, he run, in connection with his farm, a sawmill and lumbering business. Mr. Johnson hauled a portion of the rolling stock for the Chicago and North-western railway from Sheboygan to Fond du Lac, a distance of forty-one miles, on a plank-road, using eight teams; he drew an engine entire. In June, 1864, he came to Minneapolis, and had charge of Morrison's saw-mill until 1879, when he was elected superintendent of the water-works. He was councilman four consecutive years, and went to the legislature in 1877-1878. He married Miss Sarah Lyman, of Jefferron county, New York, March 11th, 1847. Their children are Jasper and Sumner. Mr. Johnson and family resident 1229 Eighth street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 572

JONAS, Joseph a native of Prussia, was born June 16th, 1848. He came to the United States in 1872, and lived in St. Louis, Missouri, until the following year, when he came to Minneapolis, and has since been engaged in the sale stable business. In 1880 he started a grocery and general merchandise store at his present location, No. 420 Plymouth Avenue. Mr. Jonas married, in 1879, Caroline Sternberg, of Prussia.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 572

JONES, J. G. was born in Washington county, Maine. He came to Minneapolis in 1857, and went into the clothing business in company with his father. In 1861 he enlisted in the Third Minnesota Volunteers, and served four years. He participated in the battle of Murfreesboro, the seige of Vicksburg and the capture of Little Rock; he then came to Minnesota and took part in the war against the Sioux Indians; he was at the battle of Wood Lake where three hundred Indians were captured, thirty-eight of whom met the death penalty on the scaffold at Mankato in 1862. On being mustered out of service he returned to Minneapolis, and was elected county treasurer while absent on his wedding tour. This office he held four years. Since 1870 he has been engaged in the logging business. He now has lumber yards at the corner of Washington Avenue and Tenth street north. In 1866 he married Anna Harrison. They have two children, Carrie and Harrison.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 573

JONES, R. F. born in St. Lawrence county, New York, September 25th, 1852. He came to Minneapolis in 1875, and since then has been a wholesale and retail dealer in oysters, fish, game, etc., at his place of business, No. 806' Hennepin Avenue. The wholesale trade is very extensive; shipments being made throughout Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, and the northwestern territories. He is the originator of the brand of oysters known as the Gold Seal; they are packed and shipped to him by his branch house in Baltimore, Maryland. Mr. Jones family consists of a wife and one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 254

JONES, W.B. born in Madison county, New York, 1828. Moved and located in Saint Anthony in 1855, then to Excelsior in 1856. Took a claim, and in 1860 started a store. Was Postmaster for eighteen years, Has been twice married, the first time in 1850; the second in 1876 to Mary H. Moore.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by:
Carol Mitchell
gooddog@wi.rr.com June 27, 2004, 4:42 pm

JONES, WILLIAM H.
was born in the South. The family believes it was Georgia. He joined the Confederate Army in Georgia on 15 October 1863 as a Private. He was with K Co 66th Inf Reg, GA. This Company had formed on the 13th of Oct 1863. William was about 18 at the time. By Dec of 1863 William is absent without leave. At this time it is assumed he changed his name to JONES. It was said to be his mothers’ maiden name. It was said that he was captured and given the choice of staying in the prison camp or joining the Union Army to help fight the Indians out West. He choose fighting the Indians out West. He appears next on the 1870 census of Dodge County, Fremont, Nebraska. He trained to become a paper-hanger. He is married to MARGARET (MAGGIE) O’GORMAN born at Dane County, Madison, Wi 1849-1912. She was the daughter of EDWARD O’GORMAN and MARGARET WALSH, DUNN, O’GORMAN. B 1815-unknown. WILLIAM was an avid fiddle player. It was said he learned to play on a “gourd fiddle”. He would play his fiddle for extra money and was in at least one contest that was published in the Minneapolis Tribune on Feb 26, 1926. He played in other contests throughout the Midwest. The Minneapolis contest was broadcast on the radio WCCO. The other contestants were: FRANK SWANSON, 63 yrs old, “OLD DAD JONES (WILLIAM), 79, played Marching Through Georgia, “OLD KING TUT’ SCHWANENBERG , 58 he said his fiddle cured him of chronic arthritis, AUGUST SIEGEL, 62 who can play his fiddle with his mittens on, WEBB KOONS, 68, played Silver Threads Among The Gold, AA LUND, the gum chewer, O.A. HENDRICKS,76, a farmer, and J.S. LeBRUN, 72. and HARVEY MUSSEY, 78. This event was The Minneapolis Tribune- Finkelstein & Ruben Old Time Fiddling Contest. It was reported that between 25,000-30,000 people were in the audience. The winners of the contest were:
1. KING TUT 2. D.M. MORRIS, 3. FRANK SWANSON 4. J.S. LeBRUN 5. HARVEY MUSSEY 6. “FIDDLING SAM” BLACKETER. WILLIAM JONES died in 1931 and had a wonderful article published about him, most probably untrue, but he seems to have had a wonderful spirit and zest for life that is a wonderful gift to pass on. He was an amazing man without the embellishments.

The children were:

LUCY A. JONES b.1867 Nebraska –1949 She married ROBERT E LEE 1856-1913 Son of
JOHN LEE. She re-married sometime after 1931 to a Mr. KERBER.

SARAH JONES B Mar 1868 in Wyoming and died unknown
She married ( abt 1887) CHARLES MONTAGUE, b. 1863 in Wisconsin d. unknown. Son of JOHN MONTAGUE and BRIDGET MCGUCKEN. Children were: JENNY MONTAGUE, B Dec 1888. INEZ MONTAGUE b. Sept 1890. LEONARD MONTAGUE b 1902. PATRICK MONTAGUE b. 1911 and adopted son ( we are assuming from a brother) CHARLES MONTAGUE b 1921.

KATHERINE JONES b. 1870 d. 11 Mar 1949. She married NOAH LABELLE.

WILLIAM H JONES, JR b. 1874- d. 7 Aug 1913

MARGARET JONES b. 1876 d. unknown. Married GEORGE WILSON. One son named GEORGE WILSON.

JENNIFER JONES 1879-1951. She married CHARLES BENNETT. 1883-Unknown Children were: HAROLD BENNETT, MARGARITE BENNETT, RICHARD BENNETT, VERA BENNETT 1901-1986 and ROBERT BENNETT b. 1924

CAROLINE JONES 1882-1967. She married WILLIAM R CONWAY. B 1884 in Minnesota. Their Children were: WILLIAM R CONWAY 1902-1985 JOHN (JACK) H CONWAY b 1904 . Married ALICE unknown . THOMAS E CONWAY b 1906.

ROBERT JONES 1883- Unknown

MYRTLE JONES b 28 Oct 1886 d. 27 Oct 1976. She married MATTHEW NICHOLAS ALTENHOFEN 1887-1958

FLORENCE JONES 1889-1949. She married (abt. 1906) HERMAN PETERSON 1884-1930. Son of PETER PETERSON and ANNA unknown. One child RUTH PETERSON 1907-1982. She married HARRY GILBERT. Son of ADOLPH GILBERT and JENNIE HILL. Marriage #2 IRA R MITCHELL 1882-1953 Son of JAMES F MITCHELL and NELLIE ROBINSON. Children : DONALD S MITCHELL 1909-1988 and MILDRED MITCHELL 1915-1961

EDWARD D JONES 1891-1891

FRANK JONES 1893-Unknown. He married JOSEPHINE UNKNOWN 1894-Unknown. Children were: MARIE JONES 1917-Unknown, DAVID JONES 1918-unknown, ROBERT JONES 1919- Unknown and JANE JONES 1922- unknown.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 573

JONES, W. H., born in Wales, May 1st, 1845. In the spring of 1857, he accompanied his parents to America, and lived with then on a farm in Columbia county, Wisconsin, until 1866, when he went to Green Lake county, and for two seasons was in the agricultural implement business; then he was employed one year as general agent for a Milwaukee firm, and afterward with E. H. Gammon. In January, 1878, he established himself in the agricultural implement business in this city. He is now president of the Plano Manufacturing Company of Plano, Illinois. He married Elizabeth Owens, September 18th, 1876. They have three children, Hugh, William and Arthur.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 572

JONES, Edwin Smith president of the Hennepin County Savings Bank, was, born June 3d, 1828, at Chaplin, Windham county, Connecticut. He received such education as the schools of his native town afforded, and attended two terms at the Monson Academy, Massachusetts. After completing his academical studies he began the study of law in the office of Hon. J. H. Carpenter, at Willimantic, Connecticut. Having finished his professional course he wished to explore the rich and fertile lands of the west, which were only waiting to reward the toil of those industrious ones who were willing to work. He accordingly carried out his plans in 1854, coming to seek a home and fortune in Minnesota. Finding Minneapolis a desirable place in which to locate, he entered the law office of Hon. Isaac Atwater to complete his reading. He was admitted to the bar in l855 and continued with Mr. Atwater until 1857, and afterwards alone. The next year, 1858, he was elected to the office of probate judge, in which he continued until 1861. In 1863 he entered the Union army and was commissioned captain and commissary of subsistence in the department of the gulf, an office which he retained to 1866, when he returned to Minneapolis and resumed the practice of his profession. During the years of 1866-1867 he was chairman of the county board of supervisors. Continuing to practice until 1870. Judge Jones accepted the position he now occupies, president of the bank. In 1873-1874 he was a member of the city council. Since 1860 he has been connected with the Masonic fraternity. He and his wife are members of Plymouth Church in this city. He was married in September, 1853, to Miss Harriet M., daughter of Whitman and Harriet James of his native town., and lost his wife twelve years later. He was married again in September, 1866, at Minneapolis, to Miss Abigal J. James, sister of his first wife. She died in April, 1872. In May, 1877, at Goffetown, New Hampshire, Mr. Jones was wedded, to Miss Susan C., daughter of Charles and Susan C. Stinson. His children living are: Edwin S., Jr., Ellen, David P. and William O. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

Edwin Smith Jones was born June 3, 1828, at Chaplin, Windham County, Connecticut. His father, David Jones, was of Welsh descent, and his mother, Percy Russ Jones, was of English stock. His father was a sturdy farmer, who tilled one of the hill farms of Connecticut. His father died when he was ten years old, and his mother when he was seven. All the education which he obtained was in the common district schools of the neighborhood and several terms at Munson Academy. At sixteen he began teaching school, and, with his older brother, carried on the home farm, until his removal and departure to Minnesota in the spring of 1854, settling in Minneapolis, which was then only a straggling village. As was customary in those days, he came up the river to St. Paul by boat, and then on to Minneapolis to join the pioneer village, residing first in what was called St. Anthony.

Just before coming to Minnesota he had begun the study of law in the office of Ron. J. H. Carpenter, of Willimantic, Connecticut, and continued his study of law upon coming to Minneapolis in the office of the Hon. Isaac Atwater, being admitted to the bar in 1855. He continued the practice of law until the breaking out of the Civil War. Just prior to his departure for the seat at war, he, with other citizens, were called upon in quelling the Indian outbreak on the frontier, and was one of a group of volunteers who went to the front to protect and assist the terror-stricken farmers upon the frontier.

Early in 1862 he received an appointment from the government to an important service in the South as commissary of subsistence, mainly in the Department of the Gulf. His most important service was perhaps in connection with the ill- fated Red River expedition. He was the chief commissary of that expedition, both up and back During his service his headquarters were, at various times, at New Orleans, Mobile, Baton Rouge, Port Hudson and Shreveport. At the close of the war he retired and was brevetted as major for faithful and meritorious service.

On returning from the army, in 1865, he took up again the practice of law until 1870. During this period he was for three years judge of probate of Hennepin County. Prior to the incorporation of the town of Minneapolis into the present city, me was chairman of the board of supervisors, and, with Dorillus Morrison, was one of the candidates for the office of mayor at the first city election of the new city. He subsequently served two years in the common council as alderman of his ward, all of which positions he filled with ability and with a high sense of his responsibility and obligation in the various positions of trust or duty to which he was called.

He was the founder of the first savings bank in the city of Minneapolis - the Hennepin County Savings Bank, and served as its president from the date of its organization, in 1870, until his death.

During the later years of his life he carried out many plans of beneficence and charity, among them a long-cherished plan in the founding of an old ladies' home, through the agency of the Woman's Christian Association of Minneapolis, now known as the Jones-Harrison Home. He was a director or trustee of a number of educational institutions, both in the State and beyond its borders, and was also a corporate member of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. In the mountains of North Carolina he also established and maintained a large school for girls, which is still a flourishing institution for the education of Southern white girls of the mountain districts, and continues to do a fine work under the name of Jones Seminary.

Judge Jones was a man of very large benevolence, and during his lifetime gave very largely of his wealth to aid educational and charitable institutions. He was one of the broad-minded, liberal citizens among the older settlers of Minneapolis who helped to lay the broad and deep foundations of that beautiful city, and whose, most earnest desire was always for its higher life.

He died at Minneapolis in January, 1890.

 

From "Minneapolis Portrait of the Past", collected and compiled by Edward A. Bromley. Voyaguer Press. 1890


(Click to enlarge image)

JONES, Judge E. S. (same as Edwin Smith Jones above) Well up on the roll of prominent pioneers belongs the name of E. S. Jones. It was in 1854 that Mr. Jones, then twenty-six years of age, left his native State, Connecticut, came to Minnesota, and chose Minneapolis as his home for life. After completing his study of law in the office of Isaac Atwater, he was admitted to practive in 1855. He received his title, Judge, by serving as a judge of probate, from 1858 to 1861. He was in the service during the war,and aat its close resumed his law practice. He needed a wider field for his stirring energies, and during the twenty years prior to his death, in 1890, he was a business man with large interests. He was one of the organizers, and continued year after year, president of the Hennepin County Savings Bank. He was very successful in business and exceedingly liberal with his accumulating wealth. He gave freely to scores of worthy objects, and in church adn charitable enterprises his name was a household word in Minneapolis and in many remote places.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 573

JORDAN, Amos. C. managing editor of the Tribune, was born in Eaton, Canada East, April 22d, 1842. He removed to Minnesota with his parents in May, 1854, locating at Purgatory, four miles from Excelsior in Hennepin county. In 1867, he entered as an apprentice in the office of the St. Anthony Express, then owned by Isaac Atwater. In 1861, with four other compositors of the Atlas, owned by W. S. King, he enlisted in the First Minnesota Infantry, and in the absence of Mr. King at Washington, they closed the office. Remaining in the service continuously until August, 1865, he returned to Minneapolis and soon afterward secured the position of telegraph editor of the Daily Tribune. In 1872, he resigned, and with Col. Lounsberry, founded the Bismarck Tribune, of which he had entire editorial charge during the first year. In 1874, he joined as night editor of the St. Paul Pioneer, owned by David Blakeley. After the consolidation of the Pioneer and the Press, he continued as night editor of the consolidated concern until the purchase of the Minneapolis Tribune by Mr. Blakeley, when he once more returned to Minneapolis to assume the duties of managing editor, which position he has since held. Mr. Jordon has done more of editorial service in Minneapolis than perhaps any other person. His continuous service in responsible positions on leading journals in the state, amply testify to his capacity and ability.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 336

JORDAN, John H. a native of Prussia, was born January 16th, 1845. When seven years of age, he came with his parents to America. They landed in New York in the fall of 1852, and went to Newark, New Jersey, for a short time, and in 1853, moved to Illinois. In the spring of 1855, they came to Minnesota, and made a claim on section 18 of what is now Plymouth township, where they experienced, of course, their share of the hardships of pioneer life. In July, 1864, John R. enlisted in the 8th Minn. Regt. Vol., served nine months, and was mustered out at Fort Snelling, May 16th, 1865. He returned to the homestead and lived, until his marriage with Anna M. Weidenbach, which occurred in November, 1868. In l871, he bought the farm where he now lives, Mr. Jordan has been active in all the public affairs of the town, also in promoting the causes of Christianity and education. He has been assessor for six years, also justice of the peace, and school officer for a number of years. At present he fills the office of town clerk. They have had six children, only three of whom are living: Anna, John and Alexander.