Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
D

Use the Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames (Ctrl & F)

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 535

DAGGETT, C. H. member of the firm of Bidwell and Company, was born at Canton, Massachusetts, September 19th, 1847. He came to Minneapolis in 1867, and worked for M. D. Bidwell until 1873, since which time he has been a member of the firm. He was married in 1873, to Sarah N. Bidwell, of this city. They have one son: Hubert L., aged three years.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 535

DALE, Alpheus was born in the state of Pennsylvania, in 1844. At the age of nine years, he removed with his parents to Illinois and remained there until 1863, when he removed to Iowa, and two years later, came to Minneapolis. He worked at carpentery until 1871, then started a back stable, and continued until 1879, when he added a livery business. His stable is located at 220 Second Avenue north, where he has accommodations for thirty-four horses. Mr. Dale was married February 28th, 1872, to Louisa Arnold.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 535

DALLUGE, Rudolph a native of Germany, was born November 8th, 1844. In the fall of 1867, he came to America and passed the winter in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, coming to this place the following spring. He learned the trade of blacksmith in his native country, and has been engaged in that business in this city. He was married September 13th, 1873, and is the parent of one son and two daughters. He has been a member of the firm of Dalluge and Rapke, general blacksmithing, since 1876. Their shop, which is located at 106 north First street, is 26x36 feet. They run two fires and employ three men.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 536

DALY, Patrick a native of Ireland, was born in Tryone county, April 23d, 1836. In 1857, he went to Australia, where he engaged in gold mining; in 1865, he removed to New Zealand, and continued mining. In October 1870, he left that country for America, landed in San Francisco, California, and after a short time, came to Minneapolis. Until 1875, he was in the hotel business; since then, has served on the police force. Married in 1860, to Catharine Fox, a native of Ireland. They have had six children, four of whom are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 320

DANIEL, Dennis was born in Montreal, Canada, in 1825. In 1842 he, moved to Vermont where he worked ten years at farming. In 1852 he went to Canada again and stayed one year. Came to Minnesota in 1853, and worked on the river at Stillwater three years, then went to Arkansas, and was engaged in lumbering three years. He moved to St. Paul and stayed from 1859 to 1866, when he came to Corcoran and bought the farm on which he now lives. He was married in 1854, to Mrs. Mary Hennesee, who had three children.

 

DANIELS, Farrington, Late in the year 2000, while searching Westminister's Archives, senior pastor Timothy Hart-Anderson found a dusty old scrapbook titled "Book of Remembrances, Class No. 1. Compiled by ten boys ages 10-12, and inspired by their teacher Andrew Benton, the book is filled with photos, information about the boys, inspiring quotes from notable regional and national figures, and messages to future students. Click on the link below to explore the Book of Remembrance and read the legacy left by ten boys, including Farrington Daniels.
http://www.ewestminster.org/classof01/biographies

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 536

DANIELS, S. G. proprietor of the Bellevue house, corner Washington and Third Avenue north, was born in Saint Albans, Vermont, in 1841. He engaged in hotel business in his native town, then in Boston, Massachusetts, four years; in the City hotel, Brattleboro, Vermont, two years; and two years in the Park house. He built the Bellevue house, this city, in 1870. It is, in size, 30 x 40 feet, three stories high, and contains thirty-one rooms. Mr. Daniels is the oldest landlord in the city.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 536

DANFORTH, T.K. was born in Nashua, New Hampshire, in 1824. He came to Saint Paul, in the fall of 1853, and engaged in the express business for eleven years; then accepted a position as conductor on the Saint Paul and Pacific railroad, which he held until 1875, when he went to Champlin, Hennepin county, and engaged in farming until 1878. He then came to this city and opened a livery, sale and boarding stable, which he has since conducted. His location is in the rear of the Brigham house, on Hennepin Avenue, between Fifth and Sixth streets. He was married August 2d, 1857, to Olive Fogg. They have one child, Hattie, born November 26th, 1860.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 536

DARK, Frank is the proprietor of the Market hotel, located corner of First street and First Avenue north. The house has a stable in connection, which has room for fifty horses. The proximity of this house to the city market makes it a favorite with the farmers. C. D. Dark, son of the proprietor, has charge of the office.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 325

DARMONDY, Patrick was born in Tipperary, Ireland, in 1825. Came to America, stopping a short time in New Orleans and Cincinnati, landed in Minnesota May 24th, 1855, and settled in Maple Grove. He married Ellen Peters, July 19th, 1855. There are six children living. Mr. Darmody died December 5th, 1879.

 

Obituary - Minneapolis Journal, Sunday May 10, 1914


Click for large image

SURVIVOR OF INDIAN BATTLES DIES OF WOUNDS INFLICTED BY ROBBERS
W. H. Dart, 86 years, Came to Minnesota in 1856, Settling at Forest City

DART, W. H. The death of W. H. Dart, 86 years old, Minnesota Pioneer, and said to be the last survivor of the Indian battle at Forest City, Minn., who passed away last Thursday, was due to injuries received a year ago when he was attacked by two robbers in his store at Litchfield. Mr. Dart's death occurred yesterday at the home of his son, Dr. L. O. Dart, Curtis Court.

Mr. Dart came to Minnesota in 1856, traveling by ox team from Illinois. He settled in St. Anthony, but after a year moved to Litchfield, where he lived unitl a year ago, playing an important part in the Indian uprising in that part off the state and also holding several important politial offices of Meeker County.

Left Unconscious in Basement

A year ago Mr. Dart was in his store alone one night, when two strangers attacked him, beating him into unconsciousness and robbing the cash drawer. A few hours later Mr. Dart was found in a critical condition lying in the basement. He was rushed to a hospital, but never fully recovered from injuries received in the attack. No clue as to the identity of the robbers was ever found. Because of Mr. Dart's broken health the store was sold and he came to Minneapolis to live with his son.

Mr. Dart foresaw possible attack by Indians and with others of that part of the state built the little stockade at Forest City and when the settlement was attacked by the Sioux in 1861 he was one of his defenders. He also was at the Fort Ridgely Indian uprising and several other engagements in the southern section of the state.

Held County Offices

After the Indian attacks had been repelled and the territory placed under military rule, Mr. Dart returned to his home at Litchfield and for a number of years was prominent in Meeker County politics. He was in turn county clerk, auditor and treasurer.

The funeral will be held Sunday at Litchfield. Mr. Dart is survived by two daughters and two sons--Miss Della DArt of Minneapolis, Mrs. J. W. Morris of Mankato, Charles H. Dart of Litchfield and Dr. Dart of this city.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 536

DARUM, T. H. was born in Copenhagen, Denmark, in 1848. He came to the United States in 1873, and for two years resided in Illinois and Wisconsin. He came to Minneapolis, and for five years was traveling for A. Kelly and Company, selling goods. In September 1880, he opened a saloon on Tenth Avenue south, corner of Second street.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 537

DAVENPORT, E. J. was born at Middlebury, Vermont, May 15th, 1852. He graduated at Middlebury College in 1871, and came to Minneapolis in the fall of that year. He occupied the position of deputy clerk of the district court until 1874, and for the three years following was clerk of the municipal court. From that time until January 1881, he was engaged in the practice of law; then entered upon his duties as clerk of the district court, to which office he was elected in the fall of 1880. He was married June 16th, 1875, to Miss Jennie H. Taylor, a grand-daughter of ex-President Harrison. They have one child, Levi B., born November 11th, 1876.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 536

DAVIDSON, Charles was born near Hudson, Ohio, July 29th, 1852. When he was three years of age his parents removed to Iowa. He attended a select school at Danville, and afterward taught in his father's house, on the farm near Grinnell, Iowa. In 1869 he entered the preparatory department of the Iowa College, and after six years graduated in the classical course. In 1876 he entered the graduate department of Yale College, and in the fall of 1877 returned to Grinnell, where he was appointed tutor in the Iowa College, which position he occupied four months. He then taught six months in the graded school of Grinnell. In the summer of 1878 he received the Master's degree, and in the fall was chosen professor of languages in Mitchell Seminary. In 1879, moved to Minneapolis, and founded the "Minneapolis Academy." His wife, whom he married in 1878, was Miss H. A. Noyes of Independence, Iowa. She was born October 29th, 1852, and graduated from the Iowa College in 1878. She supported herself during the entire course by teaching vacations.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 536

DAVIN, John was born in Northampton, Massachusetts, in November, 1852. His parents removed to Beloit, Wisconsin, when he was a babe, and in 1864 they removed to this city. At the age of thirteen, John commenced life for himself. He first worked on the canal, and then went into the Arctic mill, where he remained for seven years. He then went into the old Washburn mill one year, and came to the Cataract, where he worked as packer one year, and has since remained in that mill. He has learned milling thoroughly.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 537

DAVIS, J. H. was born at Warren, Vermont, April 12th, 1838. He grew to manhood on a farm, and came with his parents to this city in 1858. He engaged as check clerk with the C. M. and St. P. Railway, and remained in that position until the spring of 1880, since which time he has given his entire attention to his interest in the Meyrs and Davis drayline. He became a member of that firm in 1871. Mr. Davis is an unmarried man, and resides with his mother at 111 Sixth street South.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 537

DAVIS, William H. was born at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, May 1st, 1840. He learned the trade of machinist, serving four years with Alfred Jenks and Son. In 1866, removed to Canton, Ohio, and for five years was foreman of E. Balland Company's 's iron works. He was engaged at his trade in Wheeling, Virginia; returned to Canton, and went to Cleveland, Ohio, until 1876, when he came to Minneapolis and engaged as superintendent of the Harvester Works, which position he held until October. 1879. He then entered into partnership with Hashow and Maish in the Variety Iron Works. Mr. Davis was married November 24th, 1864. Children: Calvin Hartley, born in Philadelphia, and Mabel Ellen, born in Canton, Ohio.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 536

DAVISON, C. Wright was born in Leeds county, Province of Ontario, February 27th, 1849. At the age of sixteen he graduated from a country winter school and began teaching, receiving for his services the princely sum of six dollars and fifty cents per month, and board. At twenty-one he went to Nebraska and engaged in carpenter work, then as clerk, and afterward as district agent for the American Insurance Company at Kansas City and St. Louis, Missouri. He then engaged with Richard Edwards on the city directory, and in the winter of 1872 was sent by him to publish the St. Paul directory. In 1873, returned with W. M. Campbell, and issued St. Paul, Minneapolis and La Crosse directories. In 1874-5 was in the printing business. In 1876, was manufacturing fine furniture, employing twenty men. Since that time has given his attention to the directory and Abbott's map of Minneapolis, enjoying a prosperous business, the result of grit and perseverance.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 537

DAVISON, R. A. was born in Ohio. He moved to Iowa, and engaged as cashier with Matthews and son, at Rockford. He remained there two years, and when the First National Bank of Cedar Falls was organized, he accepted a position in it and remained for six years. He then came to Minneapolis and opened the banking business of R. A. Davison and Company, on the east side. Mr. Davison was married to Miss Mary L., daughter of Hon. H. Leavitt, of Waterloo, Iowa.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 253

DAY, Alcibiades born in Franklin county, New York, 1839. Enlisted in Company E, 113th Illinois and died in the hospital at Memphis, Tennessee, in the spring of 1862.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 253

DAY, Enos born in St. Albans, Vermont, in 1800. Lived there twenty-one years, then moved to Franklin county, New York. Married to his third wife, Lucinda Simonds, in 1833. Moved to St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1856, and to Excelsior the same year. Died in 1874. His wife died in 1872.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 253

DAY, George E. born in Franklin county, New York, in 1845. Lived with his parents until their death, excepting the time spent in the army. Enlisted August 14, 1862, in Company B, 9th Minnesota Volunteers. Served three years, and was discharged at Fort Snelling. Married in 1877 to Mrs. Stoddard, daughter of C. J. Westlake. They have one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 334

DAY, Joseph W. was born in Piscataquis county, Maine, July 22d, 1849, and lived with his parents, engaged in farming, until 1865, when he came with his father to Hennepin county. His father died in 1877, leaving Joseph to care for the mother and family. He has made his home in Plymouth since coming to this county, and in 1871 settled on his present farm. Married Ellen S. Hughes in l871. They are the parents of four children: John A., Albert W., Elmer L., and Elzada B.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 537

DAY, W. H. H. of the firm of Smith & Day, was born in Washington county, Maine, November 20th, 1840. He came with his father to Minneapolis in June, 1854, and has resided here since. In March 1876, he entered into partnership with J. R. Smith in the hardware business at 529 Washington Avenue south. He was married in August, 1863, to Nettie K. Hanscomb, of Maine. They have four children: Addie M., Franklin E., Fannie E. and Frederic H.

 

From the Minneapolis Morning Tribune, Dec 17, 1928.

DAYTON, Mrs. Viola - aged 43, passed away Saturday, beloved mother of Wilma and Mrs. Vivyen JOHNSON.  Services will be held at 10 a.m. Tuesday at Stapleton Chapel, 3006 Lyndale av S.  Interment Woodland cemetery, Iowa Center, Iowa, 3 p.m. Wednesday.

Submitted by Jackie Ginn. (Jackie is not related to the above and does not have additional information.)

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

DEAN, Cordelia R., daughter of Rev. Samuel W. Pond and wife of William J. Dean, was born at the mission station of Oak Grove, now Bloomington, Hennepin County, Oct. 10, 1844, at which place her parents were then missionaries to the Dakota Indians.

Later the family moved to Shakopee, where her father built, in 1847, the first frame house in the Minnesota Valley. It was near this house that a battle occurred in 1857 between the Chippewa and Sioux Indians.

She was married to Mr. Dean at Shakopee, Dec. 24, 1867.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 537

DEAN, Ernest a native of Sweden, was born in 1851. He emigrated to America in 1866, located in Hastings, Minnesota, one winter, then came to Minneapolis. First worked at painting, and in 1870 engaged with Greenleaf and Buchanan, dealers in boots and shoes. He then passed two years at Brainerd, and on his return to this city engaged as salesman with Clementson for six years. Then with C. A. Heffelfinger until the organization of the firm of Liljengren and Dean, furniture manufacturers, in May, 1880. He was married in 1875 to Ida Peterson.

 

From "Minneapolis, Portrait of the Past", Collected and Compiled by Edward A. Bromley, Voyageur Press Inc. 1890.


Click for large image)

DEAN, Joseph, Joseph Dean came to Minnesota and settled at Bloomington, in 1852. When Hennepin county was organized he was appointed a county commissioner. In 1855 he became a resident of Minneapolis, and was numbered among its enterprising citizens until his death, which occurred at Eureka Springs, Ark., May 20, 1890. In 1861 he formed a partnership with T. A. Harrison, H. G. Harrison, and William Harrison, under the firm name of J. Dean & Co., their business being the manufacturer of lumber. He was one of the incorporators of the Security Bankk, and its first cashier; was a trustee of Hamline University, and was identified with several corporations in this city. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

DEAN, Joseph was born January 26, 1826, near the City of Enniskillen, County of Fermanagh, in the west of Ireland. His father, John Dean, emigrated while he was a child to Canada, and when ten years of age moved to Belvidere, Ill. Here be grew to manhood working on the farm and learning the carpenter's trade. In 1850 he was married to Nancy H. Stanley, and the same spring came to Minnesota, settling at Oak Grove, now Bloomington, on the Minnesota river, where he engaged in running a ferry, and two years later made a claim there. In the meantime he worked at his trade at Fort Snelling and at St. Anthony. When Hennepin County was organized in 1852 he was elected one of the first commissioners -- John Jenkins and Alexander Moore being the other two. This was the only election in the county for which the candidates were elected unanimously, each receiving seventy-one votes. He was appointed postmaster of Bloomington in January, 1854, the first post office established in Hennepin County outside of Fort Snelling, the Minneapolis post office not being established until a few days later.

Mr. Dean moved to Minneapolis in the spring of 1856, where he continued to reside until his death in 1890. He was engaged as contractor and builder, operating a sash and door factory at the Falls. In 1859 he was elected county treasurer, which office he held for two years. In 1863 he formed a partnership with the Harrison Brothers, and for fourteen years the firm did a very large and profitable business in the manufacture of lumber.

In the summer of 1877 Mr. Dean was appointed cashier of the State National Bank, which was soon after merged into the Security Bank, of which he became cashier, his former partners being the principal owners of the new bank. In 1882 he resigned, owing to ill health, and afterwards devoted most of his time to his private business affairs and in travel. Mr. Dean was a prominent member, of the Methodist Episcopal church, holding official positions in the Centenary, Hennepin Avenue and Franklin Avenue churches. Mrs. Dean died in 1872 and Mr. Dean was re-married in 1876 to Elizabeth Stevens of Belvidere, Ill., who survives him. His death occurred at Eureka Springs, Ark., May 20, 1890. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

DEAN, Nancy H. ( Stanley ), wife of Joseph Dean, was born near Dunkirk, New York, in 1826, and came with her father's family to Belvidere, Ill., at an early age. Here she was married to Mr. Dean in 1850, and the same year came with her husband to Minnesota. She died in Minneapolis, October, 1874, leaving four sons, Alfred J. Dean, William E. Dean, Frederick W. Dean, and George P. Dean.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

DEAN, William J. was born near Port Hope, Ontario, July 19, 1843, and came to Shakopee with his parents in June, 1855. His father, Matthew Dean, there pre-empted and opened up a farm, and in the early days the large family were familiar with the privations of frontier life. School privileges at that time were very limited, and William worked on his father's farm until the call for volunteers came in 1863, when he left the harvest fields and enlisted in Company I Ninth Regiment Minnesota Volunteers. The regiment served for one year guarding the frontier, and was located most of that time at Fort Ridgely.

They were then ordered south and he served with his regiment during the whole three years, and in all the battles they were engaged in, the principal ones being at Guntown, Miss., Nashville, Tenn., and Spanish Fort, Ala., besides many skirmishes and long marches, and was honorably discharged as a non-commissioned officer at the close of the war.

After his return home he took a commercial course, and then clerked for four years in Shakopee in a general store, afterwards removing to St. Paul, where he was engaged as a bookkeeper and salesman.

In the fall of 1877 he removed to Minneapolis and engaged in the sale of farm implements, starting the first regular wholesale farm implement house in the city, in which line he has been engaged from that time to this.

His political affiliations were with the Republican party until 1886, since which time he has been a Prohibitionist, and was twice the nominee of his party for the office of governor of the state. In 1900 he ran as an independent candidate for the office of mayor of Minneapolis.

For over ten years he has been a director of the Y. M. C. A. in Minneapolis, and for the last four years has been its president. For four years he was a member of the board of corrections and charities of the City of Minneapolis. He has been an active member of the Methodist church since 1866, and has been honored with every office in the church to which a layman is eligible.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 320

DEGARDINS, JOSEPH was born in Quebec in 1835, where he lived for seventeen years, when he went to Bangor, Maine, and worked at lumbering two years. In 1854 he moved to Minnesota and worked in the woods until the spring of 1855, when he came to Corcoran and made a claim in section 19 ; sold part of it and made another on section 26, where he now lives. He enlisted in a Minnesota regiment in 1862, and served three years against the Indians, was discharged at Fort Snelling. July 1861, he was married to Miss T. Scott. They are the parents of six children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 537

DELORIER, Joseph was born in Dakota Territory, near the Canada line, in 1849. He moved to St. Cloud, Minnesota, in 1864, and to this city four years later. From 1867, he was engaged in surveying for seven years; since then has kept a boarding house at No. 13 Second street north. He married Adelaide Boucher in 1876, who has borne him one child, Wilfred L.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 537

DEMEULES, Z. was born in lower Canada July 23d, 1839. He received his education at Montreal College and came to Minnesota in 1855, settling at Osseo, where he engaged as clerk in a general store. In 1862 he established business for himself, and in 1879, removed to Minneapolis and opened his grocery store at 27 First street south. He has been a notary public in Hennepin county for sixteen years. Married Margaret Labresche, of Michigan, in 1859. Of the nine children born to them, eight are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 538

DENNIS, W. H. architect, was born in Delaware county, New York, in 1845. At the age of fifteen, he went to New York city, began learning the profession of architect, and made that place his home for fifteen years. During this time, he spent two years in Europe, perfecting himself in his chosen profession. He had charge of the city hall building at Cleveland, Ohio, which cost half a million dollars, and was employed on the state capitol of Michigan. He was married in 1877, and came to Minneapolis the following year. He drew the plans for the residence of R. B. Langdon and the wholesale stores of T. A. Harrison, Wyman and Mullin, Ball and Naylor, the Hennepin Avenue Methodist church, and many other prominent buildings and residences.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 538

DENNISON, D. was born in Farmington, Maine, in 1843. In 1866 he removed to New York city and remained there until 1874, when he came to this city. He was engaged with the firm of Barnard and Cope, furniture manufacturers, until the fall of 1879, when he became one of the partners in the firm of J. H. Hiscock & Co. Mr. Dennison was married in 1872 to Helen Green.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 538

DENNISON, James was born in Farmington, Maine, in 1842. In 1865 went to New York city and eight years later removed to Little Falls, New York, where he was employed as foreman in a furniture factory. He then returned to Maine and came to Minneapolis in February 1880, and engaged in the furniture manufacturing business as a member of the firm of J. H. Hiscock & Co. In September, 1862, he enlisted in the Eighth Maine and served thirteen months as member of the band. He then went to California and remained until he went to New York in 1865.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 325

DEVERY, Patrick a native of Ireland, was born in 1818, and lived with his parents twenty-one years. He then came to America; stayed in Ohio a few months, and in New York ten years. Came to Minnesota and settled in Maple Grove, October 1854; he made a shanty of rough boards a bedstead of hickory poles, and used, a dry-goods box for a table. Mr. Devery is the father of eleven children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 538

DICK, H. T. a native of New York, was born in 1844. He was engaged in the restaurant business in Iowa for several years, and came to this city in 1878, where he opened a restaurant on First Avenue south, but not making it pay, he removed to Washington Avenue south, and in December, 1880, opened at his present location 405 Nicollet Avenue, where he has accommodations for forty people. He married Lizzie Ceperley in 1872, and has three children: Maud, Charles and Hattie.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 538

DICKINSON, Seymour was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, April 5th, 1843. Moved to Wisconsin in 1856, and in 1862, enlisted in the Twenty-first Infantry; reenlisted in the Third Wisconsin Cavalry in 1863, and served until his discharge in the fall of 1865. In 1873, went into the sewing machine business, and two years later, removed to Owatonna, Minnesota. In 1879, came to Minneapolis and has had charge of the office of the American Sewing Machine since. He was married in 1860 to Matilda Rickel, by whom he had two children; Elsie and Viola. His first wife died in 1873, and he married in 1875, Fanny L. Peet. Their children are: Agnes, Ida, and Warren.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 266

DICKEY, H. C. is a native of Nova Scotia, and came to St. Anthony, in 1865, where for ten years he worked at carriage making. In 1875 he removed to Maple Plain, where he continued carriage and wagon making, and now does a thriving business.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 538

DILLINGHAM, Fred W. was born in Oxford county, Maine, August 11th, 1851. In early youth he came with his parents to Minneapolis where he was educated at the common schools and State University. He worked for his father, one of the pioneers of this county, until 1876, when he engaged as salesman with the North Star Boot and Shoe Company, in which position he still continues.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 253

DITTFACH, Fritz born in Germany, 1843. Emigrated to America in 1869, and settled at Winona, where he remained about one year, then to Rushford, and worked two years as second miller, and two years as first miller. Worked in the Anchor mill at Minneapolis a short time; then took charge of May's mill at Excelsior. Has been married twice. His present wife was Janett Miller, of Rushford. He has had four children; three are now living.

 

From "1868 - 1968 - Maple Plain & Independence Past - Present" published by the Maple Plain Garden Club. Information in Italics added by Claudine Pearson from personal knowledge and research. For further information she may be contacted. ClaudeP@aol.com

DITTY, John (born 13 Feb 1829 in Dauphin Co, PA to Issac Ditty, who was born in Dauphin Co to Johannes Ditty and Anna Maria Schneck Ditty.  Johannes was born 10 May 1746 in Switzerland, but I believe his family fled France as they were Protestants and were being persecuted.  The family came here around 1760 to PA, and several were in the Revolution) and Jane Elizabeth Ditty born 7 Feb 1831, PA, daughter of Henry Rheem and Susanna Rheem, moved their family after the Civil War from Crown Point, IN, in 1865, ( John was mustered into the military in Michigan City, which is about 20 miles from where I currently live) to a location north of Cokato, Minnesota. After the death of their parents, the six children, Charles, William, Annette, Ella, John and Cora (Cornelia) moved to Maple Plain in 1876.  They lived on the land which later became the home of George Richards. William and Charles worked for the St. Paul, Minneapolis and Manitoba Railroad which was later called the Great Northern. In August, 1884, William was married to Lilly Budd and Charles to Anna Budd, the same day.  John married Harriet Haskell of Maple Plain and Cora married Frank Styner, living on what is now the Herum farm.

Three daughters, Blanche Myrtle and Edna, the present wife of Ernest Pearson ( my family line) were born during the time their father, William Ditty, worked for the railroad company while living at Burnsville, Minnesota.  He was conductor on the passenger train, but n 1894, he became a conductor on a freight railroad cut thru Maple Plain.  He bought a farm on the West end of town which was known as the Clauson Briley farm.  There, five more children were born - Clifford, Clayton, Annette, Perry (now living in Delano) and Mildred.  Mrs Ditty passed away in 1916 and Mr. Ditty in 1942. The Pearsons still live on the Ditty farm west of Maple Plain.  They have four sons, Marcel "Zeke", Donald (my Dad), Gordon and Lyle and two daughters, Elaine and Mary Ann.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 538

DIXON, Charles B. was born at Janesville, Wisconsin, July 27th, 1856. While young, his parents moved to New York, and he grew to manhood in that state, learning the milling business at Lockport. Came to Minneapolis in July, 1879, and worked at the Standard mill. He was married January 28th, 1878, at Lockport, New York, to Miss Helen Eager.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 243

DOBSON, William born in England, February 14, 1837, came to America in 1857 and to Minnesota, stopping in St. Paul until 1861, when he enlisted in company D, Second Minnesota Infantry; was at the battles of Shiloh and Corinth, served four years, mustered out at Louisville, Kentucky, July 1865. Returned to St. Paul, and lived there until 1871, when he located on the farm where he now lives. Married, August 1866, to Anna Vernon. They have four children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 538

DODGE J. S. a native of New York, was born in Oswego county, March 18th, 1853. He learned milling in his native town, Pulaski. Came to this city in 1870, and engaged as head stone-dresser at the Washburn B mill. Two years later he removed to Elkader, Iowa, and had charge of the Elkader mills. He returned to Minneapolis in 1874 and has since been with the Washburn mills. Since January, 1880, he has had charge of the Hungarian department in the C mill. Married Ida Sherman of Iowa, September 18th, 1876.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 539

DODGE, James Albert professor of chemistry in the University of Minnesota, was born at Salem, Massachusetts, March 27th, 1848. He graduated at the Salem high school in 1863, entered the classical course at Harvard University in 1865, and graduated in 1869. He next taught school one year in Newport, Rhode Island, thence returned to Salem and taught in the high school three years, paying close attention to the science of chemistry. In 1873, he went to Europe, pursuing the study of chemistry at the Universities of Heidelberg and Berlin, in Germany. He went from Germany to Manchester, England, and studied with Professor H. E. Roscoe, the famous chemist. In 1875, he returned home and taught in the Omaha, Nebraska high school, making a specialty of teaching chemistry. In the fall of 1876, he returned to Europe to complete his studies at Leipsic and Heidelberg, receiving from the latter the degree of Ph. D. in the spring of 1878. Returning home he took a position as professor of natural science in Baldwin college at Berea, Ohio. In the fall of 1880, he accepted the offer of professor of chemistry in the University of Minnesota.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 539

DOELL, John W. was born in Saxony, German Empire, August 28th, 1851. After attending college at Eisenach four years, he came to America in 1867, and was engaged for several years as a type-setter in Philadelphia and Pittsburgh. In 1872, he came to Addison, Illinois, where he completed his studies in English at the Seminary whence he graduated in 1874. Coming to Minneapolis he was engaged in teaching Trinity Parochial school, continuing until November 1st, 1880, when he resigned.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 538

DOLE, A. M. was born in Waterbury, Vermont, March 1st, 1814. At the age of fifteen he went to Ottawa, Canada, and was with Hamilton Brothers in the lumber business. Then engaged in merchandise and lumber business at Pembrook, Ontario, under firm name of Cameron and Co. In 1855 he came west on a prospecting tour and after seeing Minneapolis, determined to make that place his home at some future time. He started a lumber mill at Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, and continued there until 1862, when he sold his interest to his partner and managed his business in Canada until 1872, when he came to this place. In 1878, he became interested in the Star Oil Company, of which he is the manager. Married in 1857, Miss S. M. Stiles of Fort Covington, New York. They have had two children, Fannie J. and George. Fannie died in 1868 and George is with his father in the Star Oil Company.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 539

DOLLIVER W. A. was born at Kenduskeag, Maine, October 2d, 1844. He received his education in his native town and remained there until the age of twenty-one, when he went to Bangor, Maine, and began in business as an insurance agent. He remained at Bangor until coming to Minneapolis in 1874, and has since resided here. He still continues in insurance and now conducts what is known as Dollivers' Insurance Exchange, representing six of the leading companies. He was united in marriage November 15th, 1870, to Miss Ella Simonton, of Maine. They are parents of one son, aged one year.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 281

DONALDSON, Major J.H. was born September 5, 1835, in Muskingum county, Ohio, his parents being natives of Virginia, who came to Ohio at an early day. In 1856 he married Miss Cochran of the same county and State, came immediately to Minnesota and located a claim, near where is now the village of Farmington, then a wilderness. He remained there until the breaking out of the war, when he entered the Fourth Minnesota infantry, as private; soon after received a commission as Lieutenant, and was sent at once to Fort Ripley, where he held command during the winter of 1861-1862. In the spring of 1862 he went south, and joined the army immediately after the battle of Shiloh, and helped drive Beauregard's army into Corinth. Was on the staff of General Sanborn, during, and prior to, the siege of Vicksburg vicinity. He received the commissions of First Lieutenant, Captain and Major during his service. On leaving the service, he returned to his home, and with Governor Wm. R. Marshall opened one of the largest arms in the state, where he remained for three years. He then removed to St. Paul, and opened a Real Estate office, at the same time conducting his farm. In 1877, removed to Minneapolis where he dealt in real estate. In 1880, purchased is present residence at Shingle Creek. Has been county commissioner of Dakota county, and Representative of the same. Is still in the Real Estate business. Office in Pence Opera House block, Minneapolis.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 539

DONLIN, Edward was born in November, 1824, and is a native of Ireland. He came to America in 1839, and was one of the first settlers in Minnesota, locating in Washington Lake township, Sibley county; he had the honor of naming the township. In 1865 he came to Minneapolis, and was employed by others seven years, then commenced business for himself, and is now proprietor of the Northwestern Marble Works. He was married in 1849 to Miss Jane S. Bunnell, of New York city. They are parents of six children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 539

DONNELLY, M. was born in Lewis county, New York, January 31st, 1837. He learned the shoemaker's trade at Booneville, Oneida county. He first started in the pursuit of his trade in his native county. He came to Minneapolis in 1872, and started in the boot and shoe business in February of the next year, at his present location, 312 Washington Avenue north. He employs nine men who are constantly at work in the manufacture of all kinds of boots and shoes to order. He married Helen E. Hinton, of Lewis county, New York, in 1859.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.


(click for large image)

DORR, Caleb D. was born July 9, 1824, at East Greatworks, Penobscot County, Maine. In the fall of 1847 he came west with a party consisting of Ard Godfrey, John McDonald, George Forbes, and Mr. Peak of Maine, and William A. Cheever, Mark Copewell, Joseph Fernald and Ira Burrows from Massachusetts. Mr. Dorr says the railroad from Albany to Buffalo was then a "rocky affair and they had a boisterous time."

At Buffalo they took a boat for Milwaukee, and from there to Galena by team, and from there up the river by boat, arriving at St. Anthony October 1st, 1847.

That fall he assisted Mr. Godfrey in building the temporary dam between Nicollet Island and the east side. October 20, with a crew of men, he went to Swan River, near Little Falls, for timber for the permanent dam. They agreed with Hole-in-the-Day on a big price for each tree cut, and after putting the logs in the river, they drove them to Pike Rapids, where they divided one raft into four, but finally snow came, and on November 15th they had to abandon the logs, and started for St. Anthony. When they arrived at the mouth of Rum River they were joined by Daniel Stanchfield's crew, who had been up the Rum River for the same purpose. Mr. Dorr says, "You can bet it was a wild night with rough men and whisky." In the night Stanchfield's temporary boom broke and turned their timbers loose, and what did not go over the falls was caught in the ice. On reporting the failure of the expeditions, it was decided to build the dam of hardwood timber, which was taken from Nicollet and Hennepin Islands. The planks for covering the dam were hauled from the St. Croix River during the winter. Mr. Dorr worked on the dam through the winter and put in piers for the boom. In the spring of 1848 he made two trips to Crow Wing for timber for the boom cut by Daniel Stanchfield during the winter. He was successful and had the boom completed by June 1st. On July 2d. R. P. Russell, agent for Mr. Steele, sent him with a crew to drive in the logs cut by Stanchfield on the Crow Wing River the previous winter, as the mill was about ready to start. On September 9th, 1848, he came in with most of the logs, and soon after went up Runi River about twenty miles for a small lot of logs. After getting these logs down and securing the boom and finishing the dam, on November 10th, Mr. Dorr quit work for the season.

On the 24th of November he left Fort Snelling for the State of Maine and matrimony. On arriving at the mouth of the St. Croix he was disappointed to find that no boats were running, but plenty of ice. Here he joined a party of surveyors, and with a rowboat started down the river. After a perilous journey, partly by land and partly by river, and compelled to abandon all baggage, except what he could carry on his back, he finally reached Dubuque ten days later. At Galena, with others, he took the stage, an ordinary lumber wagon, for Chicago, where they arrived after a hard trip of seven days. From Chicago he and others hired a team to take them to Niles, Michigan, from which point there was a railroad to Detroit. On arriving at Detroit he found the large boats had been laid up for the winter, but found a man going to Chatham, Canada, and took passage with him. Here he saw a large number of colored people who had come from the south via the so-called underground railroad. From there he went by stage to Niagara Falls, crossing the river below the falls in a small yawl and soon reached Buffalo, from which point he went to Boston, and then to Portland by rail. From Portland he took the stage again and reached Bangor January 5, 1849, being over forty days on the trip.

He was married to Miss Celestia A. Ricker in March, and started west again on April 9th, and arrived at St. Anthony on May 11, 1849, with his bride. They found temporary quarters with Ard Godfrey's family, who came out the month before. Captain John Rollins and family came with them. That summer Mr. Dorr built a house on Second street, between what is now First and Second avenues southeast.

In the spring of 1849 Mr. Dorr purchased one of Muzzy's best shingle machines and brought it to the falls, but as there was not room for it on the dam, he sold it, and later it was sent to Fort Ripley, where it was ran by mule power and the shingles for the fort made.

Mr. Dorr engaged in logging, and lumber business, and later was land examiner, locating many thousands of acres for D. Morrison and others at the falls. He was one of the owners of the first steamboat running above the falls, the Governor Ramsey, which did a large business for several years.

In 1866 Mr. Dorr was appointed boom-master of the Mississippi and Rum River Boom Company, which position he held until 1882, and again from 1885 to 1888. Mr. Dorr was one of the large stockholders of the company.

Mr. Dorr, in partnership with E. W. Cutter, built, in 1859, for Eastman & Gibson, the Cataract mill. This was the first flour mill built on the west side of the river at the falls except the small government mill. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

DORR, Celestia A. ( Ricker ) was born at Buckfield, Oxford County, Maine, April 20, 1828. She was married to Caleb D. Dorr March 4, 1849, and the next month accompanied her husband to St. Anthony Falls, where they have since resided. With the exception of a few years they have not kept house, preferring to board at hotels and travel or spend the winters in a warmer climate. They have no children. Mrs. Dorr's father and mother and two brothers came West in 1853, all of whom since died at St. Anthony.

 

DOUGLAS, George P. George Douglas was a lawyer. He was born in Vermont in 1866. His family moved to Minnesota in 1873. His father was in the dry goods business, Camp, Douglas, & Gold. George P. Douglas graduated from Yale University in 1889 and graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1890. He was married in 1899 to Bessie Pettit, and he and his wife had three children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 539

DORAN, J. W. was born in 1850 in Indiana. He moved, in early life, with his parents to Ohio. He lived there five years, then went to Jamestown, Blue Earth county, Minnesota, in May, 1857. He resided there until coming to Minneapolis in 1872. He learned the trade of cooper in this city, and joined the association in 1876. He was married in 1879 to Miss M. C. Graham. Residence, 918 Chicago Avenue.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 539

DORNER, J. H. was born at Adrian, Michigan, in 1852. He went to Chicago in 1870, and learned the art of making confectionery with Mr. Eckardt, the famous Chicago caterer. He remained there until 1880 when he came to Minneapolis. He has now one of the finest establishments of the kind in this city. His wife was Pauline Kelly, of Chicago.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 540

DORR, C. D. was born at East Great Works, now known as Bradley, Maine, in 1824. He followed lumbering through early life and in 1847 came to St. Anthony. In 1849 he built a frame house, then in company with a few men went to Swan river and met "Hole-in-the-Day," an Indian chief at Little Rock, and arranged with him for getting out timber, for which they were to pay five dollars per tree. They cut about one hundred sticks which was the first timber gotten out. Mr. Dorr continued in lumbering until he became connected with the Mississippi and Rum River Boom Company. For ten years he was employed in looking up and locating government, state, and school lands. He served as alderman of St. Anthony one term. In 1866 he took the position of boom master and yet serves in that capacity. He married Celestia A. Ricker of Maine, March 4th, 1849.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 540

DOUGHERTY, James was born at Baltimore, Maryland, August, 1855. He came to Minneapolis in 1862 with his parents. He commenced working in the Pillsbury mill in 1871 at the foot of the ladder and has advanced step by step until he has reached the position he holds at present, that of stone dresser. He has been stone dresser and grinder for six years past. By his strict attention and industry gives entire satisfaction to his employers.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 540

DOUGLASS, Daniel is a native of England. He came to Minneapolis in 1871, and was in the employ of Walker Brothers five years, being foreman three years. After leaving their employ he engaged in business for himself and is now a member of the prosperous firm of Douglass and Hall, machinists and mill furnishers. He was married at Bury, England, August, 1866, to Elizabeth Holt. Mary B., Sarah A., and Annie are their living children. Residence on Cedar Lake road.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 540

DOW, Hezekiah B. is a native of New Hampshire, born December 30th, 1826. He lived with his parents on a farm until twelve years of age, when they moved to Gilmanton, New Hampshire, and four years later to Vershire, Vermont. At the age of seventeen he went to Lowell, Massachusetts, and served an apprenticeship as mason and plasterer. He heard of the falls of St. Anthony and resolved to see them, so in 1850 he started west. At the time he arrived at St. Anthony there were but few families here, but his trade yielded him four and five dollars per day, which soon enabled him to purchase a home on the banks of the Mississippi and send for his wife, whom he had left in Maine. They lived on the east side thirteen years. In 1864 he removed to Minneapolis and bought property of Mr. Bickford, where he now resides, at 401 Fourth street north. He was married to Miss Eliza Goodrich of Bartlett, New Hampshire, in 1855. Their only surviving child is Horton L., who is station agent at Osakis, Minnesota, for the St. Paul, Minneapolis and Manitoba Railroad.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 244

DOW, Daniel E born in Maine, January 25, 1831, lived there twenty-one years, then came to St. Anthony, Minnesota, and worked at black-smithing for two years ; preempted land on Lake Calhoun, sold it, and located the farm on which he now lives. In 1880 visited the old home in Maine. Married Mrs. Belinda Hamilton , September 6,1855. They have three children now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 540

DOWNEY, John F. was born at Hiramsburg, Ohio, January 10th, 1846. When he was eleven years old his parents removed to Michigan. He attended school at Three Rivers, and Colon Seminary, staying at the latter place two years. Thence he went to Hillsdale College, Michigan, entered the freshman class in the spring of 1867 and graduated in 1870, after which he took the place of Professor Collier, professor of natural sciences, for a year, and then was principal of the school at Cassopolis, Michigan. At the expiration of that time he took a post-graduate course in the higher mathematics, astronomy and civil engineering at the University of Michigan. For several years after completing his post-graduate course he was professor of mathematics and astronomy at Ann Arbor. In the fall of 1880 he received an offer and accepted the same position at the University of Minnesota. He was married, December, 1875, to Miss Stella Osborne, of Cassopolis, Michigan, by whom he has one child, Harold D.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 540

DRANGE J. O. a native of Norway, was born in 1830. He came to the United States in l861, and resided in Racine, Wisconsin, eight years, engaged in blacksmithing. He then went to Otter Tail county, Minnesota, on a farm, remaining three years; thence to Minneapolis, where he worked at blacksmithing until 1879, when he opened a clothing store, located at 309 Washington Avenue south. His wife was Jennie Heen, whom he married in 1876.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 540

DRESSLER, William was born in Germany, July 24th, 1831. He came to the United States in 1852, and passed the time in prospecting in various parts of the country until 1856, when he came to Minneapolis. He removed to St. Paul and lived four years; thence to Osseo, Minnesota, in 1862, and remained until 1864. He then went to Watertown, Minnesota, and engaged in the grist and saw-mill business until 1870, when he returned to Minneapolis, and has since been in a sale and boarding stable. He was married in 1859, to Doretha Ruter, of Germany. They have seven children: Matilda, Amelia, Martin, Anna, Fred, Albert, and Otto.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 541

DRISCOLL, D. born in 1840, is a native of Ireland. At sixteen years of age he learned carriage-making, serving an apprenticeship of five years, also paying a premium of fifty dollars. He has been in the business continually ever since. He came to America in 1862, locating at Waupun, Wisconsin. In 1871 he removed to Minneapolis, and worked at his trade until 1875, when he established business for himself. In 1879 the firm of Driscoll and Forsyth was formed. He married Miss Margaret Ryan, in 1866. They have five daughters and two sons.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 542

DROLL, W. was born in 1846, at Bavaria. He came to America in 1868 and to Minneapolis in 1873, and has since been engaged in the manufacture of barrels, tubs, hogsheads, kegs, etc. He was married in 1878. Residence 828 Main street north-east.

 

From "1868- 1968 Maple Plain & Independence Past - Present" published by the Maple Plain Garden Club. Submitted by Claudine Pearson. ClaudeP.@aol.com

DRYSDALE, Charles family came to Minnesota in 1880 and purchased the house and land where Robert Peterson now lives.  All but sons Joseph and George moved to Dayton, Washington, in 1885.  The reason for leaving Minnesota was that "they couldn't stand the storms and the thunder and lightening in the summers."  Mr. Charles Drysdale was a stone mason and came from Nova Scotia.

Joseph married Nellie Bud and built  the house where the Holidas now live. George married Ida Richards and built the house now owned by Kenneth Bryant.  Their daughter Mrs. Margaret Arnold still resides in Maple Plain.  Another daughter, Mrs harried Hultgren lives in Minneapolis.

Alexander and Sarah Drysdale Hill came to Minnesota in 1883 from Nova Scotia and purchased the farm now owned by Stanley and Grace Hill.  There were no buildings on this land.  After working for James J. Hill, of Empire Builder fame, at his North Oaks farm in Ramsey County for two years, the buildings were erected by Alexander who was as carpenter.

In 1934 Alexander and Sarah Hill celebrated their 55th wedding anniversary.  In 1913, after 30 years, they visited their home farm in Nova Scotia.  Following this visit, they were very pleased that they had come to Minnesota to make their home and rear their family, composed of two daughters, Mrs. Mary Smith and Sadie Hill, and sons Murray and Stanley, both of whom still reside in Maple Plain.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 541

DUBOIS, C. H. was born March 24th, 1847, at High Falls, New York. The son of a farmer in poor circumstances, he worked his way through the Albany Normal school. After serving for three years as principal of a large public school, he spent a year at Cornell University. Next he attended the law department of Michigan University, from which he graduated. After residing a year in Galveston, and another in Washington, he purchased the Herald at Grand Haven, Michigan, and two years later, the Saturday Evening Post at Grand Rapids. Noting the rapid growth of Minneapolis in wealth and population, Mr. Dubois concluded that here was a much larger field than in Michigan. On the 26th day of July, 1879, he started the Saturday Evening Spectator, which is now a well established weekly newspaper.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 320

DUFOR, Moses was born in Quebec, Canada, in 1832, and lived there eighteen years. In 1851 he went to Maine and worked at lumbering five years, to St. Anthony in 1856, went up the river and worked in the pineries five years, after which he spent seven years among the Chippewa Indians as interpreter for traders. In 1870 he bought the farm where he now lives. Married Rosette Lasart, by whom he has had five children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 305

DUGAS, William one of the pioneers of Hennepin county, was born at Three Rivers, Canada, .May 17th, 1809. He learned the trade of millwright, and at the age of twenty-two went to New York city, then started for Africa, engaging as ship-carpenter. At New Orleans he abandoned the trip, as his ship did not sail. He then came up the Mississippi river to Saint Louis, thence to Chicago, and after a stay there of four years, went to Council Bluffs, Iowa, via the Missouri river, with Bourbonais, who had charge of the Pottawattamie Indians. Then returned to Chicago, and had charge of a crew of men on the canal then being opened there. Three years later, he removed to Galena, Illinois, and then went to Prarie du Chien, Wisconsin, where he married Sophia Stromm, who died twenty-one months later, leaving one child, Charles, who is now town clerk of Dayton. In the spring of 1844 he removed to Saint Paul, where he remained over two years, and married in January 1846, Miss Susanna Raiche. The same year he made a claim at Saint Anthony, near Cheever's claim, which he afterwards sold to Franklin Steele. He returned to Saint Paul in May, 1849, and was elected to the Territorial Legislature the following fall. After remaining in Saint Paul two years, engaged in the hotel business, he sold out, returned to Saint Anthony, and established a ferry about half a mile above the present upper bridge. He and others, procured a charter for a bridge, but it was not built. In 1867 he sold the ferry and moved to Bottineau Prairie, and engaged in farming until 1866, when he removed to Dayton, where he has since resided. His second wife bore him three children, two of whom are living: John, aged twenty-three, and Louis, aged twenty-one.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 218

DUGGAN, William J. is the owner of 245 acres of land, 130 is plow land, the balance woodland and pasture. He was born in Tipperary, Ireland, in 1838; came to America with his parents, in 1847, residing in Illinois until 1853, when he came to Hennepin county, and has since resided on the farm he now occupies. This farm was pre-empted by his father in 1853. In 1862 he was one of Capt. Northups company who went to the relief of Fort Ridgely. Was married January 21st, 1871, to Cordelia Kyte, by whom he has four children: Mary, Katie, Maggie, John.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 541

DUHNKE, William is a native of Prussia. He came to America in 1854; resided at Chicago one year; thence to Milwaukee remaining two years. He next made Indiana his home where he remained seven years, dealing in general merchandise, also kept the Tell City post-office. In 1866, he came to Minneapolis, and after being a dealer in crockery one year, opened the Mozart hall of which he is proprietor. He married Augusta Guhr in 1857. She died in 1871, leaving two children; William and Amelia. Mr. Duhnke married again, Annie Guhr, who bore him two children; Reinhold and Laura.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 541

DUNHAM, C. H. was born at Plainville, Connecticut, June 26th, 1852. He moved with his parents to Faribault, Minnesota, when a child; while there learned milling and worked in mills until he came to Minneapolis, which was in August, 1880. On his arrival in this city, he entered the Union mill as miller.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meeting of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

DUNHAM, John was born at Geneva, N. Y., Dec. 23,.1830, and came to St Anthony in May, 1857. In August he opened a retail grocery store in upper town near Dorman's bank, which business he conducted alone until 1870, when he formed a partnership with John C. Johnson to conduct a wholesale grocery business. They located on Hennepin avenue between Second street and Washington avenue, Minneapolis, where they carried on an extensive business for over twenty years. In 1892 Mr. Dunham with drew from the firm of Dunham & Johnson and formed a partnership with Wm. W. Eastman for carrying on the same business at 117-121 Second street south, where they have been located ever since, Mr. Dunham giving close attention to the management of the large business. Mr. Dunham has been continuously in the grocery business since 1837, a longer time probably than any other man in Minnesota.

In 1858 Mr. Dunham was one of the leaders in organizing the Minnesota Fire Engine Company, of which he was afterwards foreman. He was married Nov. 11, 1851, to Miss Nancy C. Lipe, who died Oct 10, 1872. On Sept 14, 1874, he was married to Mary Elizabeth Clement.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meeting of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

DUNHAM, Nancy Catherine, daughter of David A. Lipe, and wife of John Dunham, was born at Stone Arabia, N. Y., September. 28, 1832. She was married to Mr. Dunham Nov. 11, 1851, and came to St. Anthony in September, 1857.

She died at Minneapolis Oct 10, 1872, leaving three sons, Frank, born at Geneva, N. Y., and Henry and Walter, born at St. Anthony. Their oldest son, Frank, died at Minneapolis in 1897.

 

From the Minneapolis Morning Tribune, Dec 17, 1928

DUNLAP, Edith MACDERMID, wife of Norris H. Dunlap, 2421 Emerson av S., passed away Saturday.  Funeral services Tuesday at 2 p.m. from Lakewood chapel.

Submitted by Jackie Ginn. (Jackie is not related to the above and does not have additional information.)

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 541

DUNN, L. A. was born at Lancaster, Ohio, August 19th, 1850. He came to Minneapolis in 1869 and received his education at the University of Minnesota, and after graduating read law with Beebe and Shaw, and with Lochren, McNair and Gilfillan, and was admitted to practice. He was appointed clerk of the municipal court by Judge Cooley in 1877 for one year. He was succeeded by Mr. Wilson, who died in 1879, and Mr. Dunn served the remainder of his term. The spring of 1880, he was appointed for one year. His marriage occurred in 1876. He is the parent of one son, William.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 541

DUNN, Thomas is a native of Ireland, born in 1847. He came to the United States in 1857, his father having preceded him. He learned milling with the Pillsburys, was with them six years, and is now in the Anchor mill. Ten years previous to his coming here he was engaged in cotton mills. He married Miss Mary McCarthy, September 19th, 1870. Their children are: William J., Thomas M., Juliet, Ellen and Grace.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 541

DUNNINGTON, R. P. was born in Morgan county, Ohio, in 1835. He located at St. Anthony in 1856, and assisted in building Bassett's saw-mill on Bassett's Creek; also assisted in putting in the machinery at the North Star Woolen Mills and the Cataract mill. He continued as a millwright until 1873, when he took the Pettit & Robinson saw-mill to operate. In 1878 he opened a liquor store and billiard hall. He married Ella Rowe in 1867. She died in 1870, leaving one child, Parris M.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 542

DUNSMOOR, F. A. has been a life long resident of Hennepin county, having been born at Richfield, May 28th, 1853. He received his education at the public schools and State University of Minneapolis. He first studied medicine with Drs. Goodrich and Kimball, of this city, and graduated from the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, of New York, in 1875. He afterwards received private instructions in surgery, diseases of the chest, pathology and chemistry, from Professors Hamilton, Flint, Janeway, and Doremus. He was associated for a time with H. H. Kimball in practice, and as a surgeon for the Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad. He is a member of the State Medical Association, and is professor of surgery in the medical department of Hamline University. He was married in 1876, to Bessie Turner, daughter of the late Dr. Turner, of the United States army.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 541

DUNSMOOR, J. A. was born in Lunenburgh, Worcester county, Massachusetts, December 18th, 1808.. He located first at Farmington Maine, and was elected from that district to the legislature. He also held many responsible offices in that locality, some of which were: postmaster, county treasurer, superintendent of school boards, etc. He removed to St. Anthony in 1851, and the next year bought land in the present town of Richfield, Hennepin county. A portion of this land he donated to the Richfield Mills Company, being where the mills now stand. Another portion he donated for the school building. He was a man of unusual enterprise, and ranked among the most prominent men in his town and county. Among the offices of trust which he held were: assessor, postmaster, and justice of the peace. In 1873 he removed with his family to Los Angeles, California, at which place his busy and well spent life ended, December 23d, 1873. The remainder of the family still resides there, except one son, Frederick A., who is a resident physician of Minneapolis. Mr. Dunsmoor was married June 4th, 1837, to Almira Mosher, of Temple, Maine. Their children are: James F.., Irving A., Albert V., Charles H., Frederick A., and John M.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 320

DUPONT, Joseph a native of Montreal, Canada, was born in 1831. He lived there seventeen years, when he moved to Vermont and stayed eight years. In 1856 he came to Minnesota, and made a claim in Corcoran, where he has since resided. He was married in 1859 to Angelina Fortin. They have six children now living. In 1863, Mr. and Mrs. Dupont visited their native home, remaining about ten months.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 289

DURNAM, John M. was born in New Brunswick, April 11th, 1820. In 1844 he moved to Bangor, and engaged as contractor and builder for about four years. From there he went to Lewiston, in the same business. In 1852, he came to Minnesota, and settled in St. Anthony. In the fall of 1852, in company with Mr. George T. Vail, he started the first sash and door factory in St. Anthony. Followed this business for two years. In the fall of 1854 he moved to his claim, seven miles above Minneapolis; rented it in 1867, and returned to Minneapolis. He built a residence there, and lived in it for four years; then went to his farm for a short time, and again returned to Minneapolis, where he built another house, and lived there five years. Then, in 1876, he went back to the farm to live. He has been Justice of the Peace and Supervisor. In 1853, he was married to Louisa M. Reidhead. She has borne him five children: Maurice M., George A., Jessie, A. B., and De Witt C. Jessie and De Witt C. died in infancy.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 282

DUTTON, Josiah was born at Charlestown, New Hampshire, September, 1822, and three years after removed with his parents to Essex county and then to Warren county, New York. There he lived until 1853, when he came to Minnesota and three months after, preempted the land on which he now lives, containing 126 acres, all under cultivation. Married Miss D. C. Clark, of Vermont, March 12, 1843. They have had four children, two now living; A. C. and Jesse V.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 542

DYER, E. W. was born at Addison, Washington county, Maine, in 1836. He engaged in farming and boat building, and in 1864 came to Corcoran, Hennepin county, Minnesota, then went to Pike's Peak for two years and returned to Corcoran in 1859. In 1862 he removed to Rockford, Wright county, and for two years was a carriage maker, then worked a farm until coming to Minneapolis in 1875, and has since been proprietor of the Wilber House. November, 1879, he took the Clark House and ran it one year, then returned to the Wilber House. He married Annie Astrope, of Canada, in 1863. Their children are: Abbie F. and Harris H.