Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
C
page 1 of 2


Go to page 2 of Surname C

Use the Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames (Ctrl & F)

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 524

CAHILL, W. F. came to Minneapolis in 1853. He bought the Island mill in 1860, and operated it until 1870, when it was destroyed by fire. The same year he built the Holly mills, and also the Florence mill at Stillwater. Cahill and Company purchased the Dakota mill in 1873, and in 1877 the Galaxy, from the Ankeny estate. The latter mill was destroyed by the explosion of May, 1878, and rebuilt by Cahill, Fletcher and Company, in 1878-9. It was opened in December of the latter year. Mr. Cahill also had an interest in the Minnetonka mill, from 1875 to 1877. He was married in 1853, to Sarah M. Bailey. Their children are: Florente, now the wife of P. Greenleaf; Mariam B., now Mrs. F. Hinkle, Helen E. now the wife of W. T. Maxfield; Paul W., died at the age of four years.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 524

CAIN, James came to Minnesota in 1863, and for five years was engaged in farming in Dakota county; then came to Minneapolis in 1868, and followed lumbering seven years. In 1875 he engaged in saloon business on Second street north where he remained two years, then moved to his present location, 24 Hennepin Avenue. September 27th, 1876, he married Frances Murphy.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 524

CAIN, T.H. was born in March, 1856. In early life he went to Canandaigua, New York, thence to Clinton, Iowa, and learned the trade of horseshoer. He located at. Minneapolis in October, 1878. Here he worked for different parties until March, 1880, when the existing firm of Keep & Cain was formed.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 524

CALLADINE, George harness and horse furnishings, 16 First street north. He was born in Hertfordshire, England, in 1827. At the age of twenty-two he entered the army and served as saddler, three years, in the Eleventh Hussars. In 1852, he went to Australia, and remained three years; returned to England, and in 1856 came to Minnesota; settled at Rockford, Wright county, where he still owns 240 acres of land. At the breaking out of the war, Mr. Calladine recruited a company on money raised by the sale of his live stock; of this company he was first lieutenant, and served three years and six months; was mustered out as captain at Chicago in 1865. He participated in many of the principal engagements of the war, and was provost marshal for General Burnside during his Tennessee campaign. In 1866, he came to Minneapolis and engaged in the harness business with Mr. Pavitt; since 1870 Mr. Calladine has carried on the trade alone. He was married in 1866 to Margaret McDonald, of Chicago. They have two children, Caroline M. and Margaret E.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 524

CAMP, Arthur A. was born in Jersey City, New Jersey, August 15th, 1850. He was educated in Burlington, Vermont, graduated from the University of that place. In 1869, he learned the drug business at Saratoga Springs, and continued in it until 1875, when he removed to New York and was engaged as assistant house physician in a hospital. He studied medicine and graduated from New York Homeopathic Medical College in 1878; he came directly to Minneapolis, and has since been in continuous practice here. He was elected president of the Homeopathic Medical Society of Hennepin county, in September, 1879 and was re-elected in 1880. Dr. Camp married Miss Mary Walton, at Saratoga Springs, in 1878. They have one child; Arthur W.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 524

CAMPBELL, John McK Contractor and builder, is a native of Scotland, where he was born January 1st, 1842. He emigrated with his parents to Prince Edward Island in 1843. In 1856, he entered the coast merchant sailing, and continued until 1863, when he returned home and served an apprenticeship at ship building; then went to sea for one year; he landed in New York, traveled about through several states and finally settled in Owatonna, Minnesota, where he remained three years doing carpenter work. He removed to Minneapolis in 1870, and has since been engaged here in contracting. In 1873, he married Mary Morrison. Three children have been born to them; Anna Belle, Alvin B. and Mary.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 273

CAMPBELL, L.K. a native of Maine, was born in Washington county in 1852. When quite young he moved to Winnebago county, Wisconsin; was educated at Omro, and has followed teaching for the past eight years. He came to Minneapolis in 1878 and taught school in Crystal Lake, Richfield and Medina.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 525

CANNEY, T. J. a native of New Hampshire, was born in Tuftenborough, October 27th, 1831. He tame to Wright county, Minnesota, in 1857, moved to Clear Water in 1859, thence to Minneapolis in 1864 and started a dairy, which business he continued until 1876, when he purchased the state right for patent concrete sidewalks. He was married in 1855, to Julia Smith of New Hampshire. Their children are: Fred, Frank, John, Flora, Bessie and George; the latter died in 1876 aged twelve years. Mr. Canney is contractor in concrete walks and drive ways, also house and barn roof painting, with fire and water proof paint; No. 1929 Western Avenue.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 525

CANTIENY, Casper a native of Switzerland, was born in 1807. He emigrated to America in 1850, and located in Ohio for five years, during which time he followed house carpentering. He then spent two years in Illinois and three in Wisconsin, in the hotel business; also kept the Garden City Hotel of St. Paul two years. In 1861 he enlisted in the First Minnesota Cavalry, and served seventeen months. From that time he worked at the carpenter's trade in St. Paul and Red Wing until 1865, when he came to Minneapolis, and followed his trade here four years. In 1879 he erected the building he now uses for a liquor, cigar and confectionery store, No. 1 Nicollet Avenue. He was married in 1848, to Maria Coray. They have four children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 289

CAPRON, Thaddeus C. was born in Bristol county, Massachusetts, in 1821. He lived there until 1850; moved to Waterbury, Connecticut. In the spring of 1854 he came to Hennepin county, and settled in Minneapolis. In 1874, bought the farm oil which he now lives. Married, in 1847, to Adelia Prince, of Maine. They have had seven children, five of whom are now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.


Page 217

CAREY, John is the owner of 93 acres of land on sections 8 and 9,Richfield Township, 45 acres being under cultivation. He was born in Tipperary, Ireland, June 14, 1826, and remained there until nearly 20 years of age, when he came to America. Resided in New Jersey one year, thence removing to Maryland, where he remained until 1855,when he came to Minnesota and purchased the farm he has since occupied. Was married to Ann Regan, a native of Ireland, in 1854. They have had twelve children, ten now living: Lizzie, James, Mary, Maggie, John, Nora, Jeremiah, William, Patrick, Agnes.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 525

CARLIN, E. J. was born at Troy, New York, in 1848. When a child he went with his parents to Binghamton, New York and remained until 1870, when he removed to Iowa. In 1871 he came to Minneapolis, and has since been engaged in the cooper business, with the exception of three years passed in Philadelphia. His wife was Ella McCarthy, whom he married in 1875. Their residence is No. 714 Seventeenth Avenue south. Mr. Carlin was one of the founders and is a charter member of the Hennepin County Barrel Company.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 348

CARLSON, Lewis, a native of Denmark, was born in 1848. He came to America in 1869, and settled in Winona, Minnesota, where for three years he was engaged in the manufacture of barrels, then he removed to Chicago and worked at the trade there, three years. In 1875, he came to Minneapolis and was in the cooper business until 1879, when he started his dairy; he now has twenty-seven cows. In 1873, he married Abline Hanson. They have two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 525

CARLTON, William M. was born at Manchester, New Hampshire, November 27th, 1844. When a child he went with his parents to Beaver Dam, Wisconsin; from there he removed to Watertown and learned the milling business. He spent some time in Madison, Beaver Dam and Monroe, and in 1872 came to Minneapolis; he worked at railroad building on the frontier one season, but returned to this city and has been with the Holly mill since June, 1874. He is now head miller. April 26th, 1870, he married Maggie Graham, of Wisconsin. Their children are Clara, Jeanette and Elizabeth Grace.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 261

CARMAN, Frank was born in Ohio, and came to Minnesota with his parents in 1823. He enlisted in Company D, Sixth Minnesota Infantry in 1862 and served until mustered out at Fort Snelling in 1865. He was married to Miss Adelia Moore of Hennepin county, March 22, 1868, and the year following, located at the pleasant home in Mound city where he has since resided. They have four children; Herbert, James, Mabel and Della. Mr. Carman is engaged in running a steam freight boat, between Mound City and Wayzata on Lake Minnetonka.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 325

CARON, Octave a native of Canada, was born in 1836. He lived there seventeen years; then came to Minnesota, and worked on a farm; also at the Sioux Agency. In 1855 he went to Shakopee. He ran a ferry for two seasons, at Mendota. Enlisted in 4th Minnesota, Company E. Was in Sherman's march to the sea, and was honorably discharged in 1865. He has lived in Maple Grove since 1878. In 1859 he married Philomene Le Duc. They have nine children living. He owns land in Brooklyn, and Wheatland, Rice county.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 526

CARPENTER, H. M. native of Rhode Island, was born in Providence in 1828. He came to St. Anthony in 1854 and worked two years as clerk for Tufts, Reynolds & Whittemore. In 1857 he engaged in general merchandise business with Mr. Andrews as partner, but they were burned out, in about sixteen months, and in 1860 Mr. Carpenter started in the same business alone. He continued it four years, and in the meantime bought an interest in a paper mill. In the spring of 1865 he started the paper store at St. Paul, and the following year took a partner, J. T. Averill, the latter taking charge of the St. Paul store. Since the withdrawal of Cutler and Secombe from the firm, Mr. Carpenter has had entire control of the paper mill. He married Kate Ladd, of Providence, Rhode Island, April 20th, 1852. Three children have been born to them: Frank, Henry and Edwin.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 525

CARR, G. C. born in Lauderdale, Mississippi, June 1st, 1859. His parents were slaves and his father died in the great struggle for freedom; his mother came to this city with her children, and at the age of six years G. C. was obliged to go on the street blacking boots and selling papers, until 1870, when he commenced attending the public schools; his love for penmanship induced him to turn nearly his whole attention in that direction. In 1875 he went to Red Wing and worked as shop-boy in a barber's shop mornings and evenings, attending school during the day. He remained until 1878, having learned the barber's trade. His business enabled him to attend Commercial college, and he is now bonding his energies to perfect himself in penmanship, with a view to teaching. His place of business is at 409 Hennepin Avenue.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 525

CARR, L. S. head miller at the Union Mill, was born at Watertown, Wisconsin, February 23d, 1851. He learned milling at home, where he worked about seven years; he came here in September, 1874, and was in the Washburn "A" mill until May 2d, 1878. On that day Mr. Carr left the mill three minutes before six o'clock, and at ten minutes after six the explosion occurred which left the mill a mass of ruins. After this he worked in the Pillsbury, the Washburn "B" and the Washburn "C" mills until March 1st, 1880, when he went to the Union mill. He was married May 29th, 1878, to Ida R. Ripley.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 253

CARSON, Elijah born in Somerset county, Maine, 1806 ; lived there thirty years ; moved to Chicago and remained one year. All his family died there excepting one daughter; moved to Bloomington, Illinois, and remained four years ; settled in Excelsior, Minnesota, in 1855, and has lived here ever since excepting four years in California. Married in 1866 to, Maria Wilson of Excelsior.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 525

CASE, E. D. was born in Minneapolis, October 2d, 1857. He was married December 24th, 1878, to Eva M. Cobb. E. D. is the son of Emanuel Case, one of the early settlers of Hennepin county, who died a few years since. Mr. Case is engaged in the livery business at 211 Plymouth Avenue.

 

Richard Cashman, Train Accident and Death
Researched by Richard's g-g-niece Kate
shiel007@tc.umn.edu

CASHMAN, RICHARD,
Minneapolis Tribune, Thursday, November 18, 1869 (approx page 5, top of column 3, near ad for music store):
"ACCIDENT * Richard Cashman, an employee of the Milwaukee & Minneapolis railroad, had one of his feet partially cut off yesterday by a caboose car passing over it. He had just been loading some tools on the car preparatory to going down on the Chicago & St. Paul road to work, and in attempting to jump in the car after it had started, slipped, striking his foot on the track when the wheels passed over it and injured it as above described. Medical attendance was promptly summoned and an amputation was performed."

Minneapolis Tribune, Tuesday, November 23, 1869 (approximately page 4 or 6; page with ads including one for a music store):
"DIED * Richard Cashman, whose foot was crushed by the cars in the Milwaukee & Minneapolis railroad yard, in this city, last Tuesday morning and afternoon suffered amputation, died on Sunday night, mortification having ensued."

Saint Paul Dispatch, Thursday November 26, 1869, page 8, column two, about 2" down:
"DIED OF HIS INJURIES.*Richard Cashman, whose foot was crushed by the cars in the railroad yard in Minneapolis, last Tuesday morning, and afterward suffered amputation, died on Sunday night, mortification having ensued.

Conclusions:
Accident happened on Wednesday, November 17, 1869 in a RR yard.
It sounds as if the amputation might have been performed in the RR yard; it became infected.
Richard died the evening of Sunday, November 21, 1869.
Richard worked for the Milwaukee & Minneapolis railroad.

Notes:
1.  The land on the edge of downtown Minneapolis that Richard started homesteading shortly before his death had/has a railroad track running through it.
2.  Richard was married but without children; Minneapolis has probate and court case files that weren't completed until the 1920's, when Richard's nephew, MN Senator Tom Cashman saw them completed per request of Tom's father Ed Cashman of Clinton Falls, Steele Co., MN. Ed was Richard's brother.
3.  Richard Cashman is buried in Sacred Heart Cemetery in Owatonna, with his brother Ed and other family

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 525

CATES, GEORGE W. a native of Maine, was born in Cutler, Washington county, in 1854. He came to Minnesota when a child, and lived on a farm at Bloomington until 1870; since that time he has been engaged in the agricultural implement business. He is now with H. Kirkwood as book-keeper and traveling salesman. September 18th, 1877, he married Mary C. Phillips, of St. Paul, who has borne him one child, Edith E.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 524

CAUVET, E. C. of the firm of Cauvet and Reid, was born in New York city, November 4th, 1836. He enlisted May 24th, 1861, in Company C, 42d New York Infantry. At the battle of Ball's Bluff he was promoted to second lieutenant, and first lieutenant at Antietam. December 13th, 1862, at the battle of Fredericksburg, he was promoted to captain; and January 1st, 1864, was appointed assistant provost marshal, under General Hancock. He held this office until June, 1864. Was mustered out at New York city, July 13th, 1864. After leaving the service he went into the plumbing business at New York, which he continued ten years. In February, 1874, he came to Minneapolis, and has been in business here since that time. His wife was Emma Knight, whom he married January 8th, 1866. Three children have been born to them; only one is living, Viola L.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 235

CAVANAUGH, John was born in King's county, Ireland, June, 1831, and lived with his father until twenty-two years of age; came to America; spent one year on Long Island, then tried the fortunes of the sea, sailing on the "James Adgers" and the "Nashville," plying between South Carolina and New York. After this, spent two years at Cooperstown and in 1857 came to St. Paul; from there to Shakopee, where he remained eighteen months. 1868, married Miss Ellen Moriarty. Twelve children have been born to them. The living are: George S., John R., Henry, Mary L., James O., Charles A., Eugene F., and Ellen A. In 1858, purchased the farm where he now lives, which is pleasantly situated north of Lake Riley.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 228

CHADWICK, William as born in England, Nov. 11th, 1824. He came to America with his parents in 1829, and settled in Quebec, where they remained until 1832. They then removed to Kingston, where William attended school until fifteen. He was employed afterwards on the steamboats of the St. Lawrence, and canal boats on the Rideau canal, until twenty-two, when he married, bought a farm, and lived on it seven years. He then lived one year in Kingston before coming to Minnesota. He came here in 1854, and settled on his present farm in 1869. He married Miss Elizabeth Morris in 1845. She was born in England, January 15th, 1827, and ten children, of whom eight are living, followed the marriage. Robert, Mary A., Hector, Emma J., Clara J., George F., William A., and Eddie.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 526

CHAFFEE, J. F. pastor of Hennepin Avenue Tabernacle, was born in Attica, New York, November 5th, 1827, converted and joined the Free Will Baptist at twelve years of age. At eighteen, moved to Illinois and soon joined the Methodist; before twenty-one years of age, was admitted on trial in the Rock River Conference, and sent to the Carthage circuit for one year, at Oquawka two years, Monmouth one year, Knoxville one year, Lewiston two years, Jefferson street, Chicago, two years, transferred to Minnesota in 1857; to St. Anthony until the spring of 1859, then to Jackson street, St. Paul, from the spring of 1859, to the fall of 1860, then two years in Minneapolis. Five years presiding elder of the Minneapolis and St. Paul district. Three years pastor of Centenary church, during which time the church was built and dedicated. One year city missionary, during which time the Seventh street church was built and dedicated; for the next three years, was agent of the Hamline University, during that time which he relocated on fifty acres of valuable land. The next year supplied Duluth, one year in Faribault, two years presiding elder of Winona district, one year in Jackson street, St. Paul, then invited to come to the present pastorate on Hennepin Avenue; was a member of two general conferences in 1868 and 1880; was married in 1849 to Calista Hopkins, of New York; have two children living: Carrie C. and Hugh G.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 526

CHAMBERLAIN, W. H. a native of Maine, was born in 1830. In 1846 he went to Boston, Massachusetts, and remained four years, working in a furniture store, and part of the time clerking in a hotel. In 1850 he went to New York and kept books one year in the Commercial Exchange bank; from there he removed to Brooklyn, where he learned the jeweler's trade, then spent one year in Ohio, and in 1857 came to Minnesota; he located in Saint Anthony, but in 1862 moved on this side of the river, and since that time has been engaged in the jewelry business here; he is at No. 6 Washington Avenue south. Mr. Chamberlain was with General Sibley in his raid against the Indians in 1862. He was married in 1856, at Troy, New York, to Charlotte Knickerbacker. Their living children are: William, Ida, Mary and Charlotte.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 325

CHAMPLIN, O. R. born in Chenango county, Now York, January 8th, 1832, and came to Maple Grove in 1854. He married Miss H. M. Bosworth, in 1857. The first winter he passed in this county, the Winnebagoes gave him some trouble. He built his house in the woods, using wooden troughs for shingles. Mr. Champlin was in Stearns county during the Indian outbreak. Nearly all the people left the country, excepting his family and a young man named Warner.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 526

CHAMPION, W. B. was born on Prince Edward Island, in 1848. He moved to Maine and resided about eight years, then came to Minneapolis in 1878, and engaged in forming the Hennepin County Barrel Company, of which he is the president. His wife was Miss Minnie McArthur to whom he was married in 1870. They reside at 309 Washington Avenue north.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 289

CHANDLER, E. H. was born in Oxford county, Maine, in 1839. He moved to Minnesota in 1854, and settled in Minneapolis where he remained for eight years; then he removed to Osseo. Enlisted in 1861 in Co. D, 1st Minn. He was crippled for a short time at the first battle of Bull Run; he served three years, and was discharged at Fort Snelling. He was married in 1865, to Sarah Curtis. They have five children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 526

CHANDONNET, Z. L. pastor of the church of Our Lady of Lourdes, was born July 10th, 1848, at St. Pierre Les-Recquets, Nicollet county, Quebec. He attended the Petit and Grand Seminaries, in Quebec, completing his theological education at Three Rivers, where, on the 22d of November 1874, he was ordained and at once appointed Vicar of St. Francis of Xavier's church at Baliscan. Here he remained until September 29th, 1875, when he was appointed to a like position at St. Annals Church, at Yamachiche. This position he retained until October, 1877, when he came to Minnesota, and was placed in charge of the churches at Belle Prairie and Little Falls, Morrison county, remaining, there until March 1st, 1879, when he was placed in charge of the churches at Lenz and Corcoran, Hennepin county, and in December following was transferred to his present charge in Minneapolis.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co.

Page 527

CHANT, James was born in Somerset county, England, January 16th, 1840. He came to the United States in 1873, and located the same year at Hawley, Clay county, Minnesota, on a farm. Here he remained until 1878, when he became a partner of Mr. Maskell in the city meat market. Mr. Chant's family consists of his wife and nine children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co
Page 217

CHASE, C. C. was born in Haverhill, Mass., May 16th, 1844. Resided in his native state until 1874, when he came to Hennepin county, purchased twenty acres of land on section 15, town of Richfield, where he conducts a market garden. Mr. Chase is a practical gardener, and has been quite successful in the business.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 527

CHASE, Josiah H. a native of Kingston, New Hampshire, was born September 15th, 1840. He learned the trade of carriage making of his father, and remained with him until 1852, when he went to Boston and worked in a clothing store, at a weekly salary of two dollars and seventy-five cents. In 1856 he came to Olmsted county, Minnesota; afterward made a claim of 160 acres in Mower county. In the fall of 1856 he came to St. Anthony, and the following spring purchased, in company with S. A. Lewis, a stock of boots and shoes, to which in a few months they added general merchandise; in two years Mr. Chase bought out his partner and continued the business alone; in 1861 he closed the dry goods department, and carried only boots and shoes and clothing. In 1866 he was burned out and at once located on Main street; in 1875 he erected the building he now occupies, located on Central Avenue, corner Second street. Mr. Chase is the oldest clothing dealer in the city. He was married in 1863, to Ellen May Rankin. They have had four children only two of whom are now living: Henry and Josiah.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 243

CHASTEK, John M born in Bohemia, February 24, 1837. In 1854 came to America. Lived in Racine county, Wisconsin, till 1855, when he came to Minnetonka, and in 1864 bought the farm on which he now lives. Enlisted in Company E, Hatch's Battallion, Minnesota Volunteers. Was mustered out at Fort Snelling in 1866. Married Annie Pribyl, of Wisconsin, March 17, 1868. They have seven children, Apolona, Anna, John, Frank, Emil, Petrolina and George.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 527

CHILSTROM, C. E. a native of Sweden, was born July 22d, 1851. He came to America with his parents in 1856 and located in Wisconsin, but removed to Minnesota, and his parents now reside in Litchfield. In January, 1871, he came to Minneapolis and worked for Dr. Linn, afterward for Pabody and Whittaker, and has continued in the drug business since. The firm of Patterson and Chilstrom was formed in October, 1880 ; they carry a full line of goods appertaining to the drug trade. Mr. Chilstrom's wife was Matilda Nelson of Sweden, to whom he was married in May, 1880.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 289

CHIPMAN, S. P. a native of Maine, was born in Oxford county in 1823. He lived there thirty years, his occupation being farming. He moved to La Fayette county, Wisconsin, for three and one-half years; then to Ripley county, Indiana, where he remained eleven years. In the spring of 1868 he came to Hennepin county; in the fall he was appointed superintendent of the county poor farm, and had charge of it for about four years. He finally settled in Litchfield, Meeker county, and was engaged in wheat buying for eight years. In 1880 he bought his present farm and located in Brooklyn. He enlisted in Co. A, 83d Ind. Inf. as Captain, in August, 1862; was twice wounded at Vicksburg, May 19, 1863. The first wound was from a spent ball, which struck him in the forehead; was soon after struck in the foot, and taken to the hospital, where he remained until he could be taken home. He was granted a furlough until able to take his place, when he was promoted to Lieutenant Col. of the 83d. He was honorably discharged at Huntsville, Alabama, April 26, 1864. In 1854, he was married to Achsa Cutler, of Franklin county, Maine. They have had three children. One is now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 527

CHITTENDEN, E. H. was born in Monroe county, New York, in 1832. In 1856 he went to Medina, New York, and practiced as veterinary surgeon four years, then removed to Ohio and remained two years. In 1862 he began steamboating on the Ohio river and followed that business four years; he then came to Minnesota and engaged in farming in Faribault county until 1874, when he removed to Minneapolis. He built two small steamers and ran one of them one season between this city and St. Cloud, then sold her and resumed his practice as veterinary surgeon, which he has continued since. Was married in 1858, to Hannah Gerry; six children have been born to them but only two are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 243

CHOWEN, Joseph H. was born May 1, 1831, in Monroe, Wyoming county, Penn. Lived there twenty-three years, then came to Minnesota and located the farm he now lives on in Minnetonka. He established a nursery in the spring of 1880. Married Jane Fuller, March, 1859, who died September 1872. In 1873, was married to Caroline E. Gunn. He has seven children, four by his first wife.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 243

CHOWEN, William S. born in Green county, N. Y., June 22d, 1826. Moved to Wyoming county, Pennsylvania. At twenty years of age, he went to White Haven, and engaged in lumbering; followed it for eight years, and one year lumbering in Virginia. Came to Minnesota in 1858, and located the farm in Minnetonka on which he now lives. Helped build the first school house in the town. In 1857, was elected to the first Legislature of the state, and introduced the Agricultural School bill and a memorial to Congress for an agricultural land grant, for college purposes. Both bills were passed while he was in the House. Enlisted, August, 1864, in Co. F. Eleventh Minn. Inf., with the rank of Sergeant. Stationed at Nashville and Gallatin, Tennessee. Mustered out, 26th of June, 1865, at Fort Snelling. Has been several times chairman of town board. Married, May 25, 1865, to Mary M. Frear; have six children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 527

CHRISTIAN, Llewellyn a native of Wetumpka county, Alabama, was born June 10th, 1841. In 1844 he went with his parents to Wilmington, North Carolina, and in 1849 removed to Geneva, Wisconsin. In 1854 he went to Chicago, and attended high school four years. At the expiration of that time he went to New York, and remained until 1872, when he came to Minneapolis and engaged in the Zenith mill, the firm name being Christian, Day and Company. From that time until the present he has been associated with J. A. Christian. His wife was Miss Eliza French, whom he married in 1874.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 527

CHRISTIAN, J. A. was born in Wilmington, North Carolina, September 12th, 1832. He moved to Walworth county, Wisconsin, in 1847, and from there to Chicago in 1851; thence to Caledonia, Illinois, where he dealt in cattle, hogs, wheat, etc., until 1860, when he went to Colorado, and for nine years engaged in mining. Six years of this time he was treasurer of Summit county. In 1869 he came to Minnesota, and for two years was in the lumbering business at Dayton; then came to Minneapolis and ran the Zenith mill for two years. He entered the firm of George H. Christian and Company, in 1873. The latter retired at the expiration of one year, and the firm took the name of J. A. Christian and company. The mill explosion of May, 1878, caused suspension of business, and in July of the same year a new firm was formed, under the name of Christian, Brother and Company, and own the Crown Roller mill. In June, 1874, Mr. Christian married Mary E., Hall, who has borne him three daughters: Carrie, Annie, and Susie.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 274

CHRISTLIEB, B.F. was born in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, October 10th, 1836. He came to Medina in 1859, and until 1864 was engaged as local surveyor and engineer. He was then in the employ of the St. P. & P. k. R. for several years. In 1870, under Chief Engineer Spaulding, he assisted in locating the first five miles from N. P. Junction. Has been connected with other roads, among them the Lake Superior & Miss., the St. Paul & Duluth and the Minneapolis & St. Louis. In 1873 he was compelled to abandon his profession on account of poor health. In 1877 he formed a partnership with A. Lydiard in mercantile business at Long Lake. He has been prominent in local politics. Has been a candidate for the Legislature on the Democratic ticket several times; has also been Town Clerk, and was elected Treasurer in 1880.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 273

CHRISTLIEB, I.A. was born in Pennsylvania, in 1834. Moved to Medina in 1855, preempted 160 acres and bought for cash as much more. He experienced many hardships, paying exorbitant prices for everything, and was compelled at times to live on sour corn meal. The grasshoppers came and destroyed everything; many of his neighbors left, and he would have been obliged to do the same, but for the means he brought with him. During the Indian outbreak he sent his family to Minneapolis to keep them from the murderous Sioux. Has been Town Clerk and Supervisor for seventeen years, and member of School Board sixteen years. He married Susie Baird, of Springfield, Ohio, in 1859. They have two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 528

CHRISTLIEB, Levi born in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, July 8th, 1844. He went to St. Joseph, Missouri, in 1869, and the same year removed to this city. Until the spring of 1870 he worked with Greeley, Loye and Company, harness-making; then with Davis and McCallum, and the Trades Manufacturing Company, until August, 1874, when he went into partnership with John H. Arnell, and has continued to do a prosperous business since. They are located at 108 Central Avenue. Mr. Christlieb is unmarried.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 243

CHURCHILL, Salmon, R. born in Trumbull county, Ohio, February 23d, 1823. Lived there twenty-one years, and learned the shoemaker's trade. Came to Minnesota in 1856, and located where he now lives. Enlisted in 1861 in the Second Company Minnesota Sharpshooters, and was mustered out in 1862, on account of disability, at Washington, D. C. Health improved, and he enlisted again in Co. F, Eleventh Minn. Inf. On September 4th, 1850, he married Sarah Hoagland. They have had four children. Two are now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 528

CHUTE, Richard was born at Cincinnati, Ohio, September 23d, 1820, and moved to Columbus at the age of seven years, and four years later to Fort Wayne, Indiana. In 1841, he formed a partnership with William G. Ewing in the fur trade; from that time until 1854, he visited in the autumn of each year, Minnesota, Iowa and other western points. He was at St. Anthony in 1844 and built a house, which was used for several years as a trading post. After the death of his partner in 1854, Mr. Chute located in Saint Anthony, and until 1868, had charge of the property, since owned by the Saint Anthony Water Power Company; he sold lots lying east of Main street, but was restricted from selling between that and the river; since that time he has been engaged in the real estate business. While traveling in the fur business, Mr. Chute was present at the forming of several treaties with Indians. He was at Agency City, Iowa, when the treaty was concluded with the Sac and Fox tribe by which they ceded to the government all their lands in Iowa territory, he was also at Washington when the treaty was made with the Winnebagos in 1856. In early days he took a lively interest in railroad matters and was among the incorporators of some of the companies. Mr. Chute was commissioned by Gen. Sibley as Colonel of the Seventeenth Regiment Militia, and in 1862, he was quartermaster of an expedition from Fort Snelling to the Chippewa country, under Gen. Dale. In 1863, he was appointed regent of the State University. He is an elder in the Andrew Presbyterian church, and has been superintendent of the Sabbath School for many years. He married Mary Young, of Indiana, February 28th, 1850. They have three living children; Charles, Willie and Grace.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 261

CLARK, Allen W. was born in Cataraugus county New York, March 22, 1830. His father died July 4, 1852, leaving Allen to care for the family which he did faithfully. He was engaged in blacksmithing until 1866, when he came to Minnetrista, where he has since divided his time in farming and blacksmithing. In 1870, his shop was destroyed by fire, and in 1877 his house was burned; after each disaster he rebuilt. He was married November 2, 1854, to Miss Abigal R. Merriman., of N Y. They have two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 528

CLARK, C. W. a native of Delaware county, New York, was born March 3d, 1827. Until seventeen years of age, he lived on a farm, then learned the black-smith's trade. In 1847, he went to South Wilbraham, Massachusetts; thence to Illinois, and in 1860, came to this city. In 1867, Mr. Clark built a shop near where Goodfellow and Eastman now are, and in 1875, bought his present shop which is 2Ox66 feet, and two stories high, situated on the corner of Third street and Third Avenue south. He was married December 19th, 1852, to Eliza Bliss, of Massachusetts, who has borne him nine children, seven of whom are living.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

CLARK, Edwin, son of Rev. John and Abigail Clark, was born in Bridgewater, N. H., February 25, 1834. His ancestors settled at Newbury, Mass., in 1630, and the family became one of the prominent and influential families of New England during the Colonial period and since. His grandfather and several members of the family served in the Revolutionary War. Mr. Clark's school education was obtained mostly in the public schools and academies of Caledonia county, Vermont, where his parents removed when he was eight years of age. His father was pastor of the Congregational church at Burke, Vt., for fourteen years.

To help pay the expenses of his education, Mr. Clark taught in the public schools of the county for two terms, when he was 17 and 18 years of age., Judge Henry Belden of Minneapolis and his three brothers being among his pupils for one term.

He learned the printing business at St Johnsbury, and in 1855 went to Boston, where he found employment in the printing and lithotypeing business. In the spring of 1857 he concluded to go west, and landed at Reed's Landing, Minnesota, May 23, 1857, arriving at St. Paul with his cousin, Franklin Cook, June 2d. Three months later, in partnership with W. A. Croffut, he purchased of Charles G. Ames The Minnesota Republican, the first Republican paper published in Minnesota, and on September 28, 1857, issued the first number of The Falls Evening News, the only daily paper in Minnesota, outside of the capital city, during the territorial period. In the fall of 1859 Mr. Croffut sold his half interest to Uriah Thomas. The same year Croffut & Clark printed the first city directory of St. Anthony and Minneapolis.

In 1860 Mr. Clark secured, with the co-operation of the Hennepin county members of the legislature, the election of Orville Brown as state printer, in which he was a silent partner. In 1863 he sold The News printing establishment to Wm. S. King, and accepted a clerkship in the house of representatives at Washington, D. C.

In 1865 he was appointed U. S. Indian agent for the Chippewa's of Minnesota and Dakota by President Lincoln, the commission being signed only two days before his assassination. The following year he was reappointed by President Johnson. Mr. Clark's Indian pay roll gave the number of the tribe at over 6,000. While Indian agent he built the agency buildings at Leech Lake, also the first steamboat on that lake, and made there the first kiln of brick burned north of Little Falls.

Mr. Clark was in business at Melrose from 1867 to 1893, having built the first dam, mill and store there in 1867, and in 1872 secured the location of the St. Paul & Pacific Railroad through his farm and laid out the village, now city, of Melrose. In 1880 he planned and secured the building of the present brick public school building at that place. From 1867 to 1873 the settlers were rapidly pushing the frontier farther to the northwest; consequently the market was good for flour, and Mr. Clark shipped thousands of barrels of flour annually in that direction, supplying for several years the military posts at Forts Abercrombie, Wadsworth, Totten, Devils Lake, and shipping both floor and seed wheat down the Red River to Fort Garry, as well as to all intermediate settlements. During those years the supply of wheat for the mill was drawn largely from the country south of Melrose for a distance of fifty miles, and within a radius of fifty miles nearly every farmer and business man was acquainted with Mr. Clark personally. After the completion, in 1872, of the St. P. & P. R. R. to Melrose, which was the terminus of the road for six years, Mr. Clark commenced shipping a portion of his flour to the Eastern and foreign markets in varying amounts, from 20,000 to 50,000 barrels annually. His cousin, W. H. Clark, was a partner with him from 1867 to 1878. Mr. Clark also carried on a large mercantile business until 1884 and gave regular employment to fifteen coopers in addition to the employees for the mill, store, engine room farm, office, etc. He built the first brick block of four stores at Melrose in 1884.

Mr. Clark is one of four members of the Veteran Volunteer Firemen's Association of Minneapolis who were members of the fire department of the city in territorial days, having been a member of Cataract Engine Company in April, 1858.

In 1894 he returned to Minneapolis, where his wife died July 8th. For the past three years he has devoted considerable time to the affairs of the Territorial Pioneers' Association, and last year was one of the promoters of the building of the log cabin of the association at the State Fair Grounds. Two years ago he proposed the plan of issuing the annual souvenir publication. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

CLARK, Ellen Frances, wife of Edwin Clark and daughter of Morrison and Sally (James) Rowe, was born at Gilmanton, N. H., February 9, 1836. She graduated from the New Hampton. N. H., Institute in 1857, and the next year came west, teaching in the public schools of St. Anthony and Minneapolis until her marriage January 1, 1860. The Godfrey house, to which she was taken as a bride, is quite a historic dwelling, having been built by Ard Godfrey in the fall of 1848 out of the first lumber sawed in the mill built by him. above the falls, and was occupied by his family more than a year prior to the occupation of the Stevens house, and is today the oldest frame dwelling in Minneapolis. In 1851 the first post office at the falls was located in the house, and on February 14, 1851, the Catamet lodge U. D. was organized in its parlor.

During the time Mr. and Mrs. Clark occupied the house several of the printers of the city met daily at their table, Le Vinne Plummer, afterwards lieutenant colonel, and two sons of Governor Miller, one of whom was killed at Gettysburg, being members of the family for several months prior to the Civil War, and it was in this house that their eldest son, Everett, was born, June, 1862, and six months later Mr. Clark's sister, Mattie A., was married to J. R. Cummins of Eden Prairie.

Mrs. Clark was a member of the Free Baptist church and wherever her husband was located in later years, either on the Indian reservations or on what was then the northern frontier, she endeared herself to all who became acquainted with her by her kind solicitude for the welfare and happiness of all she came in contact with. For many years she was a Sunday school teacher, taking an active part in church work in addition to her family and social duties.

She died at Minneapolis July 8, 1894, at the of 55, leaving husband, two sons, Everett E. and Walter Clark, and one daughter, Mrs. Dawes How.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 528

CLARK, H. B. was born in Brockton, Massachusetts, March 7th, 1841. He received his early education in his native town and worked for his father until 1859, when he went to California. He returned in 1861, and worked at the wholesale grocery business in Boston, Massachusetts, until 1869, when he came to Minneapolis. The following year he opened a meat-market, and has been in that business since, with the exception of two and one-half years which he spent in charge of the National Hotel of this city. He removed to his present location in July, 1880.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 528

CLARK, Isaac B. was born in Effingham, Illinois, October 2d, 1856 When two years of age he moved with his parents to Missouri and lived on a farm until eighteen years old. In 1874, he removed to Galesburg, and two years later went south; he visited Memphis, New Orleans and Saint Louis. In 1878, he came to Minnesota and settled in this city. In the spring of 1880, he traveled through Dakota and Montana, but returned here in the fall of the same year and opened his photograph gallery on Washington Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co
Page 253

CLARK, J.H. born in Bennington, Vermont, 1830. Moved to Wyoming county, N. Y., thence to DeKalb county, Illinois. Married Susan Dudley in 1848; went to California in 1849; returned in 1850 ; went again, and returned to Illinois in 1851, where he remained four years, removed to St. Anthony, Minn.; thence to Wayzata, being one of the first settlers; in 1856 preempted the land on which Long Lake village now stands; in the year 1858, moved to Excelsior, and in 1860 returned to Illinois and located in Henry county; in 1862 enlisted in 112th Illinois regiment, serving as Sergeant, promoted to Lieutenant by Governor Yates, had entire command of the company for two years; was wounded it Atlanta, absent from command only about four months; joined the company at battle of Franklin. On dispersion of Hood's army joined Sherman's command at Goldsboro, North Carolina, and was mustered out at' Greensboro, and honorably discharged at Chicago, July 3, 1865, returning to his family in Henry county, where he remained until the spring of 1867, when he returned to Excelsior. Has been honored with all its offices. He represented his district, in 1877-78, in the House. He is the father of eight children, seven now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 235

CLARK, James was born March 17, 1836, in Donegal county, Ireland, and came with his parents to America in 1843. The journey here was one of extreme peril, and well-nigh proved fatal. The steamer they embarked on, encountered a severe storm and was beached on the Isle of Man; sailed to Liverpool, and from there to America, landing at New York, August 1843, located in Brooklyn, where, after leaving school, James was engaged in carpenter work until 1855, when the family came to Minnesota, settling in Eden Prairie. James remained in St. Paul, at his trade for about two years, after which he went to New York and in 1861 married Miss Prudence Sterritt, who bore him ten children, all living except one. Returned to Minnesota in 1862 and, leaving his family here, went South and was employed at his trade in the Quartermaster's Department of Maj. General Thomas' command, In 1864, went to Illinois in the employment of the Chicago and Alton R. R. Co. April 1865, went to St. Louis, and Sedalia, Missouri, returning to his family in October. In 1868 went to Tennessee, remained there sixteen months. After the death of his father, in 1878, he settled on the old homestead, where he has since remained.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co.
Page 529


(click for large image)

CLARK, John, a native of Norfolk, England, was born November 13, 1827. He came with his parents to America in 1834, and located at Genesee, New York; remained there three years, and then removed to Kishwaukee, Illinois, where he resided until 1867, when he came to this city, and has since lived here, with the exception of eighteen months passed in Florida. While at Kishwaukee he learned the trade of carriage-making and blacksmithing, and has been in that business all his life. He was married in Illinois to Miss Esther Palmer. They are the parents of five children: Ella, now the wife of J.W. Crockett, Walter, Frederick, Luther and Charles.

Corrections to the above gleaned from family documentation, a story written by John Clark in his later years and diaries written by his wife Esther (Palmer) Clark; John Clark was born in 1828, not 1827. He came to America with his parents in 1836, not 1834, and they came to Minneapolis in October of 1868, not 1867. (Correction submitted by great-great granddaughter, Claudia Schuman) schumanC@comcast.net

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co.

Page 528

CLARK, John Sinclair was born at Saint Marys, Nova Scotia, in 1849. After teaching for a few years he came to Minneapolis, in June 1870, and entered the classical course at the University. Acting as assistant librarian of the institution for four years he thus furnished himself with the means necessary to carry through the full University course, and graduated in June, 1876. He was immediately tendered, and accepted, the position of instructor in Latin and mathematics. This place he filled until the spring of 1880, when he was appointed assistant professor of Latin, and still remains as such.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co.

Page 529

CLARK, John W. was born at Minneapolis, January 5th, 1861. He is engaged as book-keeper for his father, F. P. Clark, at his saw-mill on the corner of Main street and Fourth Avenue N. E.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co.

Page 334

CLARK, Thomas was born in Yorkshire, England, November 5th, 1828, and lived with his father until eleven years of age, his mother having died while he was young. At the age of thirteen, he began life for himself, and was engaged in farming until 1850, when he came to this country. Resided in Massachusetts, three years, New York, five years; in Canada three years, and in Huron county, Michigan, until 1869, when he came to Plymouth. He enlisted in the Twenty-ninth Michigan Volunteers, in 1864, and was mustered out at Nashville, Tennessee, in 1865. He was married to Jane A. Sanderson, of England in 1848. They have had eight children, seven of whom are living.

 

As listed in the Proceedings and Report of the Annual Meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers - May 11, 1899 and 1900.

CLEMENT, Andrew A. was born at Clairmont N. H., April 9, 1814. He came to Minnesota with his family in 1854, arriving at St. Paul on the War Eagle's last trip that year, Nov. 9. On account of low water, they were on the river five days in making the trip. Mr. Clement was a hotel keeper, having conducted the St. Lawrence Hotel at Ogdensburg N. Y., before he came to Minnesota. He was proprietor of the old Winslow House at St. Paul, in partnership with Mr. Parker, and in 1857 moved to St. Anthony and conducted the Tremont House. In 1861 had charge of the Nicollet Hotel, succeeding Eustis, Nudd & Hill.

He died Feb. 20, 1882, leaving a widow, one son and four daughters.

 

As listed in the Proceedings and Report of the Annual Meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers - May 11, 1899 and 1900.

CLEMENT, Emily M., widow of A. A. Clement, was born at Winchendon, Mass., April, 1819. She was married at Cambridge, Mass., in 1844 and came west with Mr. Clement in 1854, assisting her husband in conducting the various hotels they had charge of. She now resides with her son, E. B. Clement, at Minneapolis. Her daughters are Mrs. Ella Clement Donaldson, Mrs. J. F. Wilcox, Mrs. A. H. Pauly and Mrs. C. H. Moses.

 

CLERIHEW, Alexander E., was born in 1861 in New York City, was educated in the public schools of Montclair, New Jersey, and of Cincinnati, Ohio, studied at Princeton University (class of 1885), came to Minneapolis in 1884, and initially worked at his father's firm, Shotwell, Clerihew & Lothman. He was the son of Alexander M. Clerihew ( -1908) and Emily Van Wyck House Clerihew ( -1918). In 1888, there was the "Maidens Strike" at Shotwell, Clerihew & Lothman, when 260 female employees at the clothing factory walked out based on a longstanding demand that piece rates which had been cut at the first of the year be restored to the former level. The strike was not resolved, the striking maidens found other work or returned to their homes in the country and, several months later, Shotwell, Clerihew & Lothman closed its doors. In 1890, he became associated with Forman, Ford & Company as credit man. Subsequently, Clerihew was the vice president and president of Forman, Ford & Co., the vice president of the Northern Linseed Oil Co., and the vice president and president of the National Glass Distributors Association and was a director of the First National Bank of Minneapolis in 1911. Forman, Ford & Company were wholesale dealers in glass and paints and paint manufacturers. In 1886, he married Evelyn J. Forman, a daughter of Frank W. Forman, a senior partner of Forman, Ford & Company, and they had a daughter, Catharine/Katherine, who was a debutante in 1909. Catharine Clerihew married George Norton Northrop of New York city. Frank W. Forman was the half-brother of Le Roy, Minnesota, author Justus Miles Forman, who died in the sinking of the Lusitania just before World War I. Clerihew was a member of the Minneapolis Club, the Minikahda Club, the Lafayette Club, the Automobile Club, and the University Club of Chicago. Clerihew had two sisters, Mrs. R. K. Buckman, Jr., and Mrs. Anson C. Morgan, both of Highland Park, Illinois.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 266

CLEVEN, John has been a resident of Independence since 1872. He was born in Norway in l842, and came to America, locating in Minneapolis, in 1870, remaining there until he removed to his present home. He married Miss Inger Regene, in 1871. Clara B., James and Emma, are the children, aged respectively, six, four, and one and a half years.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 529

CLOUGH, Gilbert is a native of Lyme, New Hampshire; he was born August 26th, 1839, and came to Minneapolis with his parents in 1857. He worked at logging from the time of his arrival, and in 1866 went into the business with his brother, D. M. Clough; their cut the first year was one and, one-half million feet; it now amounts to about eighteen millions annually. Mr.Clough's wife was Fannie Shereton, whom he married May 28th, 1873. They reside on Fifth street near Fourth Avenue S. E.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 529

COBB, Daniel A. M. was born November 7th, 1818, in Onondaga county, New York, where his father was a preacher for forty years. The subject of this sketch was converted May 5th, 1839; educated in the Onondaga institute, teaching school at different times; entered the ministry in 1843, at the Oneida annual conference. First appointment for one year to Elbridge and Sennet, next to Freetown. Then for two years each at the towns of Owasco, Moravia, Asbury, Cortlandsville, Norwich, New York Mills, and Utica. Was transferred to the Minnesota conference in 1857 and appointed presiding elder of the Winona district for two years; from there to the Red Wing district as presiding elder for four years; after that stationed in Minneapolis in what is now the Centenary church; then appointed chaplain for the Sixth Minnesota Regiment, remaining in the chaplaincy until the close of the war; was present at the last battle at Fort Blakely, Mobile. On returning home in August, 1865, was mustered out of service, and the September following, was appointed to the Jackson street Methodist Episcopal church, St. Paul for three years; thence to Rochester two years; then to the Minneapolis first church for one year; at the end of that time, took a supernumary relation and went east on a visit for one year, preaching at the Ashgreen Methodist Episcopal church, Albany, New York, for seven months, and the Wall street church, Auburn, two months. Returning to Minnesota at the end of the year, was appointed presiding elder for the Minneapolis district for two years, and presiding elder for St. Paul district for two years; thence to the Centenary church for two years; then appointed presiding elder of the Owatonna district for four years; when he came to Minnesota in 1867, as presiding elder of the Winona district. There was twenty-two thousand square miles of territory to look after. Providing himself with a pair of Indian ponies and a buckboard, drove for four years organizing quarterly conferences; establishing churches, preaching, and in one year, preached two hundred and eighty-six sermons, taking wheat for pay, throwing the sacks into his wagon and carrying it to Red Wing to sell. He has taken charge of forty-nine camp meetings, extending from the Iowa line to Breckenridge; was elected chaplain in the Minnesota legislature for two years. First candidate for governor on the prohibition ticket in 1860. For thirty-seven years this veteran of Methodism has preached every Sunday excepting the time he was in the army, and one Sabbath out of the desk, on account of sickness. The honorary degree of A. M. was conferred upon him by State University at Athens, Ohio. Married April 22d, 1858, in Red Wing, to Louisa M. Sherman, who was educated at Fort Edwards, New York, and for three years was preceptress in the Hamline University. They leave three children; Alonzo W., Temperence Irene, and Ida May.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 529

COBB, H. J. native of Harmony, Somerset county, Maine, was born in l837. He came to St. Anthony November, 1853, and engaged in lumbering. In the summer of 1855 he brought the first cattle on a steamer from Rock Island, Illinois, and has since that time been engaged in the cattle trade, with the exception of three or four summers. Mr. Cobb is the pioneer cattle dealer of this county. He is now a member of the firm of Smith, Cobb and Brackett, stock dealers. He is also in the grocery business on Fifth Avenue south. In 1857 Mr. Cobb married Miss Mary Monel of Harmony, Maine. Their children are, Edward, George and Gracie. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

As listed in the Proceedings and Report of the Annual Meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

COBB, Harrison J. was born at Ripley, Somerset County, Maine, May 4, 1837. He Came to St. Anthony November 9, 1854. Mr. Cobb says the stage he came on from Dubuque to St. Paul was the first one over that route. In 1863, in partnership with, Levi Leighton, he leased the meat market of Hayes & Martin, St. Anthony, and carried on that business for a few Years. Later Mr. Cobb was carrying on a crockery business in Minneapolis, and in partnership with Mr. Leighton became interested in pine lands and the lumbering business. In the summer of 1869, when Governor J. Gregory Smith, president of the Northern Pacific Railroad, with a party of directors and friends, made the trip from St. Cloud through to Fort Stevenson to examine the proposed route for the railroad, he had charge of purchasing the supplies and outfit for the party in connection with George A. Brackett. In 1870 he was given the contract to furnish the N. P. R. R. all the lumber needed for buildings and bridges from Duluth junction to Red River, and with J. B. Bassett as a partner built the first mill at Brainerd and furnished the lumber for the road to Red River, and afterwards to Bismarck. Besides supplying the lumber for the railroad, they furnished all of the lumber used for the first few years in building the city of Brainerd. Mr. Cobb was dealing in live stock for thirty-two years, being a partner with H. H. Brackett for seventeen years. He was married in May, 1857, to Miss Mary P. Morrill, and has since made his home in Minneapolis. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

 

As listed in the Proceedings and Report of the Annual Meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

COBB, Mary F. ( Morrill ), wife of Harrison J. Cobb, was born at Cambridge, Somerset County, Maine, May 4, 1839. She came west in the spring of 1857, arriving at St. Anthony on May 4th, and the next day was married to Mr. Cobb at the house of Captain John Tapper, the ferryman and toll collector on Nicollet Island. In this particular case, however, Rev. Charles Seccomb received the toll. They were probably the first couple married on Nicollet Island, and it was in a small log house in the woods on the island that they commenced housekeeping.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 217

CODE, George owns 200 acres of land, of which fifty acres are cultivated, the balance meadow and woodland. He was born in Carlow county, Ireland, October 29th, 1824. Was engaged in farming in his native country until 1849, when he emigrated to Canada, locating at Ottawa, where he engaged in farming and lumbering for seven years. In 1856 he came to the United States, coming directly to Minneapolis, where he resided until 1863, when he purchased the land he now owns in Richfield, and has since been engaged in farming. Was married October 27th, 1859, to Grace Watt, a native of Ontario, Canada. She was born May 15th, 1836. They are the parents of six children: Robert F., George A., Mary, William, Elizabeth, and Joseph W.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 530

COLBRATH, W. C. was born in Adrian, Michigan, in August, 1848. He came here in 1864 and worked for leading druggists of the city until 1872, when he went into busines with a partner; after two and one-half years he bought his partner's interest and has carried on the business alone since that time. He keeps a fine line of artists and carriage painter's materials and occupies the floor and basement of his store, No. 43 Washington Avenue south. Mr. Colbrath was married in 1874 to Lucy C. Russell, daughter of R. P. Russell, one of the pioneers of this county.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 530

COLE, Emerson a native of New Hampshire, was born in Milan in 1839. He came to Minneapolis in 1864 and engaged in the milling business, which he has followed to the present time. His wife was Agnes O'Neill of St. Paul. He is a member of the firm of Cole and Hammond, manufacturers of lumber.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 530

COLEMAN, Thomas is a native of Ireland; he was born in 1838. In early childhood he came with parents to Kingston, Canada, he removed to Chicago, Illinois, and thence to Galena, where he learned the shoemaker's trade and worked until 1848; he then removed to Cincinnati, Ohio, and from there to California, but finally settled in Minneapolis in 1863. He worked for different boot and shoe houses here until 1878, when he started in business for himself, and has since been doing a good trade. In 1865 he married Margaret T. Williams, who has borne him two children.

 

COLEY, Howard Bennett, Late in the year 2000, while searching Westminister's Archives, senior pastor Timothy Hart-Anderson found a dusty old scrapbook titled "Book of Remembrances, Class No. 1. Compiled by ten boys ages 10-12, and inspired by their teacher Andrew Benton, the book is filled with photos, information about the boys, inspiring quotes from notable regional and national figures, and messages to future students. Click on the link below to explore the Book of Remembrance and read the legacy left by ten boys, including Howard Bennett Coley.
http://www.ewestminster.org/classof01/biographies

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 530

COLLINS, D. F. M.D. was born in Cork, Ireland, September 19th, 1850, and was educated at St. Vincent's Seminary of that city. He came to the United States in 1866, and lived in New York city one year, when he went to London, England, and studied for two years; he returned to New York and went to the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, where he graduated in 1873; during the same year he was elected a member of the New York Medico-legal Society, and in 1875 he was appointed one of the physicians connected with the board of public charities and corrections of New York city. Dr. Collins removed to Minneapolis in February, 1879; since coming here he has been appointed consulting physician of the orphan asylum., and medical examiner of the Catholic Mutual Insurance Association. He was married in Paris, France, May 16th, 1874, to Miss Frances Brown. They have two children: Mark and Jerome.

 

As listed in the Proceedings and Report of the Annual Meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers - May 11, 1899 and 1900.

COLLINS, Loren Warren resides at St. Cloud; is a widower; was born in Lowell, Mass., 1838; settled upon Eden Prairie, Hennepin County, in 1854. Enlisted August 9th, 1862, in the Seventh Minnesota; served through the war; brevetted captain March 30, 1865. Was county attorney for ten years in Stearns County; member of the house of representatives in 1881-1883; one of the managers conducting the impeachment proceedings against District Court judge Cox; was appointed judge of the Seventh Judicial District, April 17, 1883; was appointed associate judge of the Supreme Court, Nov. 12, 1887, to fill a vacancy caused by the death of justice Berry; elected 1888, re-elected 1894, 1900. Upon the death of Senator Davis, in December, 1900, he was tendered an appointment to the United States Senate by Governor Lind, but declined.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 235

COLLINS, William O. who figures conspicuously in the early history of Eden Prairie, is a native of Canada. , Was born December 6, 1812. Until eighteen years of age remained with his parents, on the farm, and when twenty years of age went to Vermont, remaining there one year, then to New York, learning the carpenter's trade, following it for two years. Returned to Canada and married Miss Isabella Latta, December 27, 1836. Of eight children the result of this union, three are now living. Entered the British army in 1837, during the Rebellion in Canada, and remained in her Majesty's service two years. Removed to Massachusetts in 1842, remained two years, went back to Canada where he remained until 1854, when he sought a home in the West, locating in Hennepin county in 1855, on the farm where he now lives. In 1866 his buildings, valued at $3,000, were destroyed by fire. Mr. Collins is a member of the M. E. Church and still active in all public affairs.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 530

COLLOM, Jesse was born at Meadville, Pennsylvania, and when a child came to Saint Paul with his parents. In 1865 he came here and attended school for a time, and in 1870 went in Mr. Marshall's store and learned the jeweler's trade, remaining two years. He then went to Iowa and to California, but returned to this city in 1876, and has since kept a jewelry store at 29 Fourth street south. In 1874 Mr. Collom married Ada Needham. Their children are Willie and Verney.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 530

COLSTROM, N. E. a native of Sweden, was born May 9th, 1834. He emigrated to America in 1869 and located in this city. In 1870 he married Martha Britha. They have four children; Annie, Charles, John and Frank. Mr. Colstrom is the inventor and manufacturer of the Minneapolis slab-press brick machine, also brick moulders and trucks. This machine was perfected in 1876, by Mr. Colstrom, who is the sole proprietor. Twenty-two thousand bricks can be turned out in ten hours, by this machine. His place is 142 Twelfth street north.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 530

CONKEY, J. H. was born at Plattsburg, New York, December 25th, 1820. He came west in 1850, and located in Wisconsin. It was he who laid the first iron on the Chicago, Milwaukee and Saint Paul Railroad between Milwaukee and Waukesha. In 1859, in company with R. B. Langdon and others, he did the first grading on the Saint Paul and Pacific Railroad, and afterward engaged in business in Wisconsin until 1865, at which time he removed to Faribault, where he remained six years. He came to this city in 1872, engaged in business in company with R. B. Langdon at the Union planing mill, and has since continued in the same. Mr. Conkey was married in 1848 to Martha A. Langdon. She has borne him six children, only three of whom are living: Frank, Robert and Jennie.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 243

CONNOLLY, T. born in Ireland in 1842. Came to Minnesota in 1860, stopped in St. Paul short time, and went to Georgetown in the employ of the Hudson Bay Company for two years, when the Indians compelled the company to leave. In 1868 went to Lake Winnipeg, as trader for the Hudson Bay Company; returned to St. Paul 1864, and to Minneapolis in 1867 and worked five years lumbering. Then as patrolman on the police force for three years, court officer one year, and captain one year. In 1878 he was appointed Superintendent of Hennepin county Poor farm Married Anna Kelley in 1867. They have three children, two boys and one girl.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 253

CONNOR, Daniel born in Ireland, 1823, moved to America in 1849, and settled in New York where he remained two years; moved to Elgin, Illinois, and worked at shoemaking five years; moved to Delavan, Wis., and lived five years, then removed to Excelsior, Minnesota, and settled on the banks of Lake Minnetonka. He began keeping summer boarders in 1863, at Long View House, once known as the Water Cure site. Enlisted in Independent Rangers, as 2nd Lieutenant, serving as Captain Co. H, state Militia. Married in 1872 to Mary Ann Nifort.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 530

CONNOR, Elias H. was born at New Sharon, Maine, August 23d, 1824. He lived in his native town until twenty-one years of age, then spent three years on the Penobscot River. In 1848 he came to Lakeland, Minnesota, opposite Hudson, Wisconsin, where he worked one winter, then located at St. Anthony, and has since resided here. He is a carpenter and millwright, and he built the first two story frame house in the city, for Captain Rollins, in 1849. He purchased lots in 1850 and built his present residence on Second street, south-east. He has carried on a large business in contracting, building and drafting; he was in charge of the wood work on both the old and new suspension bridges, and drove the first horse across the old bridge; when the new one was building, Mrs. Connor and her daughter Georgia, then only six years old, walked to the middle of the bridge on a single plank, and returned in safety. . Mr. Connor built the first bridge across the Saint Croix, at Taylors Falls; he has built a number of large mills in different cities, and has had extensive contracts in carpenter work in all parts of the country adjacent to Minneapolis. He married, in 1855, Miss Hannah Rollins, who has borne him three children: Lillian, Georgia and Rosa.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 531

CONVERSE, A. S. a native of Windsor, Massachusetts, was born January 4th, 1820. When eighteen years of age he removed to Chenango county, New York, and remained there in the carriage making business until 1854, when he came to Minnesota, and located in Dakota county; but in January 1855, he engaged in wagon and carriage making in Minneapolis, and has since been a resident of this city. His wife was Caroline Kenyon, whom he married in Chenango county, New York. Their children are. Vanelia, who was the wife of A. D. Prescott, (deceased), Rufus and Alvin. They reside at No.725, Washington Avenue north.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 315

CONZET, Martin a native of Switzerland, was born in the year 1829, and emigrated to America in 1847. He worked at the carpenter's trade in Dubuque, Iowa, six years, removed to St Anthony in 1853, and worked at carpentry and cabinet-making until 1856, when he kept a boarding house. The same year he made a claim, where he now lives. He was elected constable at St. Anthony in 1855, and held the office two years; has held the office of town assessor ten years. At the Wright county fair, the family made forty-three entries and received eleven premiums. He was married in 1852, to Elizabeth Beauchlein. They have seven children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 531

COOK, C. H. was born in the state of New York in 1846. In 1851 he went with his brother to Wisconsin, then passed some time in Iowa, and came to Minneapolis in the spring of 1880. He was married in 1875 to Frances Becker. They have two children.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

COOK, Franklin was born in Campton, N. H. March 30, 1828. After completing his school education in the academies of the state, in 1852, he went to Boston, where he spent five years as civil engineer and surveyor, mostly on the Fitchburg, and Boston and Maine railroads and docks. In the spring of 1857 he came to Minnesota, first doing surveying at Lake City, arriving at St. Anthony on June 4th. Here he found plenty of work to do and decided to locate permanently. In January, 1858, he returned to New England and was married to Miss Mary Jane Rowe of Gilmanton, N. H., on January 29th. He returned to St. Anthony with his bride in April, and continued in the business of surveying, being elected city and county surveyor for several terms.

He laid out and subdivided several of the additions to the cities of St. Anthony and Minneapolis. In the summer of 1857 he was the engineer in charge of the construction of the dam of the Minneapolis Mill Co., the first one built on the west side of the falls.

In 1870, he received a commission as principal assistant engineer in charge of the United States government work for the preservation of the Falls of St Anthony, and personally superintended the construction of the "apron" at the falls, which has successfully withstood the test of floods and time. Later he took contracts for the construction of bridges and other work, and for twelve years before his death carried on quite an extensive business in quarrying stone on his farm in South Minneapolis, employing a large number of workmen.

A few months before his death his kindness of heart led him to go security and make endorsements for many thousands of dollars for a party upon what proved to be very ill-advised recommendations, resulting, finally, after his death, in the sacrifice of his entire estate.

For thirty years he was a member, and most of the time an officer, of the Free Baptist church of Minneapolis, and one of its principal supporters financially. He was a man held in the highest esteem by all who came in contact with him, either socially or in business or in his service. He died at Minneapolis, June 5, 1887, at the age of fifty-nine, leaving a widow, two sons and one daughter.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 531

COOK, H. T. is a native of Canada. At the age of six years he moved with his parents to New York, and remained there until 1851, when he went to Wisconsin, and learned the wagon makers trade at Oshkosh, after which he removed to Iowa; came to this city in 1877, and has been in business here since. His wife was Zayda Holsen, of Iowa, whom he married in l853. She has borne him three children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 325

COOK, John was born in Lincolnshire, England, in 1820. When fifteen years of age, he had learned the bakers' trade; came to America in 1849, stopping a short time in Now York and Buffalo. In 1850 he went to DuPage county, Illinois, and remained five years. He married Mrs. Mary Ann Hardy. Came to Minnesota in 1855 and settled in Maple Grove. They have ten children living. Mrs. Cook died June 1st, 1876.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

COOK, Rufus was born at Campton, N. H., March 18, 1826. Mr. Cook never regretted that he was born in that part of New Hampshire, properly called "the Switzerland of America," an inspiration to the Hutchinson family as they sing: "We have came from the mountains of the old Granite State, Where thy hills are so lofty, magnificent and great"

After living twenty-two years on the old homestead, where he learned to use the scythe and hand rake in the haying season, and the sickle in harvest time, he decided on making a change in business and location. Railroads were being built in, be New England States and this new enterprise offered attractions that induced Mr. Cook to fit himself for a civil engineer. After he completed the course of studies he entered the office of Parker, Stearns & Sanborn, civil engineers, Boston, Mass., where he remained until the close of 1856. In 1857 he was city engineer of Charlestown, Mass., but during the summer relinquished the position and took Horace Greeley's advice to go west, and accordingly left the "Hub" for St. Anthony Falls with his family, where they arrived in September of that year. There were no sleeping or dining cars at that time, and it was a great relief to change from the cars at Duluth to the large steamer which landed. them at St. Paul. The stage ride of ten miles from St. Paul to St. Anthony was not without interest. At Cheever Town the celebrated Cheever Tower on which was inscribed "Pay your dime and climb," attracted the attention of all stage passengers, and near by was the first wing of the Territorial, now State, University, built the year previous, but unfinished for several years later. Mr. Cook visited the University grounds and buildings a few days ago and was impressed with the wonderful change in forty-three years, from the single small uninhabited structure of 1857 to the various palatial buildings of today where thousands of young men and women are preparing themselves for usefulness in the different occupations and professions.

Mr. Cook opened up an office in Minneapolis and his early surveys were for the Minneapolis Mill Co. on the dam then being constructed above the falls. He was afterwards employed as engineer in the construction of the canal which has since furnished the power to operate the large mills of the city for so many years. In the winter of 1858 he compiled and published the first map of Hennepin County. In 1864 he returned to Boston, where he remained until 1883, when he returned to Minneapolis again, and has since resided here.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 531

COOLEY, George W. civil engineer, office 411 Nicollet Avenue. Mr. Cooley is a native of New York city; he was born in the year 1845, and lived with his parents until nineteen years of age, when he came West and engaged with the St. Paul and Pacific Railway Company as assistant engineer, and served in their surveys until l867. It was he who drove the first stake for the St. Paul and Pacific Railway west of the Mississippi. During 1867-'68-'69 he was engaged in the United States surveys in Minnesota and Dakota. He located the junction of the Northern Pacific Railway with the Lake Superior and Mississippi and commenced the construction of the Northern Pacific Railway February 15th, 1870, under General Ira Spaulding. In l870 Mr. Cooley resumed business in Minneapolis as civil engineer and surveyor, and has continued in the same line to the present time. He has surveyed about one-third of this city, and has been engaged on many of the railroads and public improvements throughout the country. He served one term as county surveyor, was assistant engineer of the falls improvement, also of the work on the Minnesota river, and has lately completed the improvement of Hull's Narrows, Lake Minnetonka, having been appointed by the legislature. Mr. Cooley is now chief engineer of the Minneapolis, Lyndale and Lake Calhoun Railway.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 531

COOLEY, Grove B. was born at Attica, New York, December 10th, 1827. In 1848 he began the study of law at Canandaigua, and two years later, moved to Wisconsin, where he was a professor in the Ripon College from 1853 to 1858, teaching the dead languages and the higher branches of mathematics. In the autumn of 1858 he removed to Minnesota and located at Mantorville, Dodge county, where he was engaged in the practice of law, serving four years as county attorney and eight years judge of probate. He was also a leading member of the board of education of Mantorville. He was a member of the state legislature in 1872 and chairman of the judiciary committee, leaving a good record. He was associated for two years with Hon. A. J. Edgerton, now United States Senator, in the practice of law at Mantorville, under the firm name of Edgerton and Cooley. For four years he was a partner of Hon. Samuel Lord, now deceased, under the firm name of Cooley and Lord. In 1872, Judge Cooley came to Minneapolis and entered into partnership with Thomas Lowry, which continued until the spring of 1874, when he was unanimously elected judge of the municipal court of Minneapolis, which position he has filled to the general satisfaction of the public and continues to hold. In 1856 he was made a Master Mason in the Ripon Lodge, Ripon, Wisconsin, and has since been an active member and a diligent Masonic student. In 1872, he was Grand Master of Masons in Minnesota.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 532

COOMBS, Joseph was born in the year 1831, in England. He came to America in 1852 and lived four and one-half years in Maine, then came to St. Anthony and took a homestead. For two years he worked in the mines near Lake Superior, and in 1864 returned to Maine, where he is married to Miss Agnes L. Conary. He remained there nearly two years, then returned to Minneapolis, and has since been engaged in the coopering business here. Mr. Coombs resides at 605 Twelfth Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 532

COOPER, B. a native of Pennsylvania, was born Lancaster county, in 1841. He came to this city in 1857, and for about seven years was engaged in carpenter work and farming, with the exception of some time spent south during the war. Mr. Cooper is now engaged in contracting and building. The following are a few of the any buildings erected by him: The residences Mrs. Byers, W. B. Jackson, J. M. Williams and D. R. Barber. He employs about twenty-five men; office, corner of Hawthorne Avenue and Twelfth Street. In l869 Mr. Cooper married Addie Bassett. They have two children: Edna and William.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 532

COOT, Charles was born in New York city, August 30th, 1847. He moved here in October, 1875, and worked one year in the car shops of the street railway. In 1876 he went to work for J. T. Elwell, in the spring-bed business, and has charge of the manufacturing department. At the age of seventeen Mr. Coot enlisted in the United States navy; he was on the Ladonia, an iron-side steamer, eight months, then was transferred to another steamer and remained until the close of the war. He was honorably discharged April, 1865.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co
Page 217

COPLEY, Mary is the owner of eighty-two acres of land, forty acres under cultivation. Was born in Ireland, March 21st, 1837. Remained in her native country until 1860, when she came to New York City, and thence to Boston, where she remained three years. In 1863, removed to St. Paul, where she resided until 1868, when she married Mr. Copley. and has since resided on the farm she now occupies.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 532

COPLIN, Charles was born in La Porte county, Indiana, October 13th, 1849. In 1864 he moved Richmond, remaining one and one-half years; thence to Chicago for two years and on to Iowa. He located in Minneapolis in 1874, dealing in groceries two years, then went into the meat market with Fortier and Company. Their place of business is known as the "Excelsior Market." Mr. Coplin was married December 13th, 1876.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 320

CORCORAN, Patrick, B. is a native of Ireland, where he was born in 1825. During the Irish famine he occupied the position of Government relief officer. In 1847 he emigrated to America; went to Maine and stayed about two years. In 1849 he went to New York, where, for five years he was engaged as sawyer in a lumber mill; while there, he lost his right hand. In 1855 he came to Minnesota and after prospecting for a time, located where he now lives. He was one of the first settlers in this town, which was named for him. In 1863 he started a store, and has been post master since that time. He built a new store in 1867, to accommodate his increasing business. Mr. Corcoran has filled the offices of Justice of the Peace for fourteen years, and Town Supervisor twelve years; he also organized and taught the first school in the town. Married in 1851, Anna Freehan. They have eight children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 320

CORCORAN, William a native of Cork county, Ireland, was born in 1821. In 1847 he came to America, landed in Boston, Massachusetts, and lived there two years; moved to Buffalo, New York, and stayed one year, then moved to Minnesota in 1855, and located in Corcoran, where he now lives. He has filled all offices of trust in the town. In 1854 he was married to Catherine Crawford, by whom he has had five children, four are now living. In 1863 Mrs. Corcoran died, and in 1866 he married Mary Burke

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co. (See also F.R. E. Cornell below)

Page 532

CORNELL, F. R. E. was born November 17th, 1821, at Coventry, Chenango county, New York. At the age of fourteen he began teaching winters, and when possible to do so he attended school at Oxford Academy. In 1840 he entered Union College at Schenectady, and after graduating in 1842 taught several years, in the meantime reading law. He was admitted to the bar in 1846, and commenced practice with A. G. Chatfield, the late Judge Chatfield of this state; continued until 1854, when he came to Minneapolis. He was elected to the state senate in New York, has been a member of the city council, of the state legislature several times, and was attorney general six years. In January, 1875, he took his seat as associate judge of the supreme court, and still holds that position. His marriage with Eliza Burgess occurred in 1847. They have had three children; the living are Frank and Carrie.

FROM "Minneapolis, Portrait of the Past", collected and compiled by Edward A. Bromely. Voyaguer Press. 1890


(Click for large image)

CORNELL, Judge F.R. E. Judge F. R. E. Cornell was born at Coventry, N. Y. in 1821. He studied and practiced law iwth success at the East, and came to Minneapolis in 1854. He had been a member of the State Senate in New York. He was a member of the City Council, went to the Legislature, served two terms, and in 1875 became Associate Judge of the Supreme Court. He was deeply interested in all public enterprises and active in helping them on. He stood high in the regard of the community in general and the legal profession in particular. After a lingering illness Judge Cornell died in June, 1881.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 532

CORRENS, T. W. a native of St. Lawrence county, New York, was born in 1835. His early life as spent in farming; in 1872, he went to Iowa and remained six years. He came to Minneapolis in 1878, since which time he has kept a saloon at 526 Washington Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 532

COSTIGAN, Wyman was born in Penobscot county, Maine, December, 1844. He became a resident of Minneapolis in 1869, and was a lumberman until he entered into partnership with Fortier and Coplin in 1875. He was married in 1866.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by: Wayne C. Blesi.  waybliss@aol.com


William and Bessie Cotton
(Click to enlarge)

COTTON, William M. was born in Brooklyn Township on May 2,1865, son of Delvin and Sarah nee Merril Cotton. William married Margaretta  Blesi  in 1898 daughter of John and Margaret nee Pourrier Blesi of New Schwanden, Dayton Township. Margaretta also called Bessie, was born on Sep.9,1878 in Dayton Township. They had a farm on the East end of Champlin Township where they lived most of their lives. There were 6 children born of this union. 1.Louise in 1900 married John Reynolds,2. Albert in 1904 , 3. Peter in 1908, 4. Orville in 1911, 5. Margaret in 1913 married Leo J. Moos ,6. Lenora in 1917  married Arthur Thompson.. William died on Nov.16,1950, buried in the Champlin Town Cemetery. In 1955 Margaret sold the last of the farmland for residential development and also remarried to John Hyndman in 1955, they were both aged 77. John died in 1962 and Margaret died on Apr.13,1966.Margaret is burried with Her first husband William M. Cotton at the Champlin Town Cemetery.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co Page 217

COUILLARD, Cornelius one of the old settlers of Richfield, was born at Frankfort, Maine, October 31st, 1818. At the age of seventeen, learned the trade of tanner and currier, following it eight years; then worked in a ship yard. In April, 1854, came to St. Anthony, and engaged in carpenter work, and on the old suspension bridge. In August 1854, he made a claim of 160 acres, in Richfield; 1855, removed with his family, and has since resided there. The whole quarter section has been brought under cultivation. He was Married, Sept. 11th, 1884, to Nancy J. Couillard, of Maine, who died October 6th, 1875. They had nine children: Ellen M., Ellery A., Amanda M., died August, 1839; Annie A., died August 17th, 1877; Malonah, died March, 1849; Adelbert H., Emma D., Charles A., Fred. L.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 289

COULTER, Andrew J. was born in Washington county, Maine, in 1830. He spent three years on a coasting vessel, and one year in California. Came to Minnesota in 1855 and took a claim on Rum River which he sold in 1856. He lived three years at Minneapolis; took a claim it Fort Snelling and held it until 1866, when he came to Brooklyn and bought 305 acres. He now has 146 acres. Married in 1854 to Lois M. Johnson. They have six children.

 

From 1868 - 1968 Maple Plain & Independence Past - Present" published by the Maple Plain Garden Club.Submitted by Claudine Pearson ClaudeP@aol.com

COX, David - came to Maple Plain in the 1860's.  He was married to Lucinda Fogleman.  He farmed south of Maple Plain, a strip stretching from what is now County Road 19, west to County Road 83, south of the old Rufus Bryant farm to what is now owned by Leslie Glomboski.  At first it was all timber and produced lots of maple sugar and syrup. They had two children, Charles and Nellie.  Charles was born in Maple Plain, Dec 9, 1866.  He had a hotel and livery business which he opened in 1903 and operated for twenty-five years. The hotel was located on County Road 19 near the R. R. crossing.  The livery barn was later used as a feed mill by Levi Carlson for many years.  Then it was moved to Levi's place on the West side of Maple Plain where he continued to grind grain and sell feed until 1956 when the building was torn down.

Charles Cox passed away in 1958, and his wife, Frances, in 1943.  Mr. Cox was 91 years of age, and survived by two sons, William of Wayzata and Melvin of Farmington, and one daughter, Mrs. Esther Stinson of Maple Plain.  He had lived his whole life in this area.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 532

CRAIK, Andrew was born in Scotland in 1817. When an infant he came with his parents to Canada, and at the age of sixteen commenced to learn milling. In 1846 he removed to Three Rivers, Canada, and engaged in the manufacture of oat-meal for the Quebec market. In 1861 he removed to La Crosse, Wisconsin, and eight years later came to this city; he purchased the Edina mills at Richfield, and has since conducted them, in company with his brother John. He also has a flour and feed store at 219 First Avenue south. Mr. Craik was the first man to manufacture pearl barley and oat meal in the state of Minnesota. His wife was Miss Elizabeth Broadfoot of Scotland. She has borne him six children: William, James, John, Andrew, Isabel and Alexander.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 533

CRAMSIE, E. A. a native of Pennsylvania, was born at Philadelphia, in 1836. He learned the blacksmith's trade, and in 1856, moved to St. Paul, where he worked at his trade with his father and brother. He enlisted in the Tenth Minnesota Infantry and served until the regiment was discharged. On his return from the army, he came to this city and worked for different persons until 1875, when he established business for himself at 111 Main street southeast; he now has a partner and they transact a general blacksmithing business, making a specialty of fine horse-shoeing. Mr. Cramsie married Miss Mary Ahern, of St. Paul, in 1858. They have had seven children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 281

CRANDALL, D. C. was born at Lake George, Warren county, New York, November 22d, 1820, where he lived till manhood, and was occupied in lumbering. He moved to Minnesota in 1855, and located where he now lives, and preempted the same in 1861. Married, in 1844, Miss Julia Myers, of Lake George, New York. They have three children living: James, Eugene and Vernon.

 

History of Goodhue County, Red Wing, MN 1878.

CRARY, G.H, ,dentist. Born in St. Lawrence county, NY on September 24, 1840. Moved to Malone, Franklin county, NY in the spring of 1860. Graduated at Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery, Philadelphia. Married Kate Cooper April 8, 1861. She was born in Coopersville, Cinton County, NY on February 24, 1840 and died August 16, 1874. Mr. Crary emigrated to Minneapolis in 1866 to practice his trade. George K. and Lillian are his children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 533

CREIGH, A. J. has been identified with the city of Minneapolis since 1876; he came here that year as the agent of Emerson, Fisher and Company, carriage manufacturers of Cincinnati, and has since, by square dealing, and strict attention to business, established a good trade which is yearly increasing. The sales for the year 1880, amounted to six hundred buggies; he also deals largely in horses and harness.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 348

CRIPEAU, F. S. was born in 1828, in Canada. At the age of nineteen, he went to Rhode Island, remained only one year and returned to Canada , in 1848, he moved to Illinois, and the following spring came to Saint Anthony, where he was engaged as clerk a few years for Mr. Bottineau, and then made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, which is a part of his present place. In 1864, he enlisted in the First Minnesota Heavy Artillery and served until the close of the war, when he started in the gardening business; he raises vegetables exclusively, using about twenty acres of land for this purpose. Mr. Cripeau was married in 1854, to Rosalie Giard; ten children have been born to them.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 533

CRITTENDEN, M. H. born in Washtenaw county, Michigan, in 1834. In 1855, he moved to Winona, Minnesota, engaged in farming until 1863, when he went to Rochester and embarked in mercantile business. In 1867, he removed to St. Paul and commenced the manufacture of galvanized iron cornice, roofs, etc. Mr. Scribner, his present partner became interested with him in 1872; their office and factory in St. Paul is on the corner of Sibley and east Sixth streets, and in this city at 203 and 205 First Avenue north. Mr. Crittenden was married to Miss Murray, in 1855. They are the parents of two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 289

CROOKER, N. born in Limerick, York county, Maine, in 1826. At eleven years of age he moved with his parents to Oxford county, Maine. He spent some time in Massachusetts, and May 10th, 1854, came to St. Anthony. He bought a claim in Brooklyn on which he has since lived. He was married in 1853 to Esther A. Reidhead. Their children are: John and Charles. Mr. Crooker was one of the first settlers in the eastern part of the town.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 533

CROSBY, Richard a native of Canada, was born January 23d, 1851. He came with his parents to Le Sueur county, Minnesota, when he was five years of age, and remained on a farm until he was nineteen. Came to Minneapolis in 1874, and has worked as mill wright since that time. He has been employed in the Anchor mill since June, 1879, occupying the position of head millwright. Mr. Crosby was married in 1874; his wife was Eveline A. Campbell, who died in August, 1876, leaving one child, Alice M.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 533

CROSS, Captain Judson Newell was born January 16th, 1838, in the town of Philadelphia, Jefferson county, New York. He is the son of Rev. Gorham Cross, who was pastor of the Congregational Church at Richville, St. Lawrence county, New York, for forty years. He went to Oberlin College, Ohio, at the age of seventeen and remained until the war broke out, supporting himself by teaching during the college vacations, which at that time were in the winter. He was the second one to sign the roll at the great church at Oberlin, April 20th, 1861, when after a stirring speech by Professor Monroe, a hundred college students enlisted in a half hour and became the somewhat famous company C, Seventh Ohio lnfantry regiment. He was commissioned its first lieutenant April 29th, 1861; he was with his regiment through the several campaigns in West Virginia, under Generals McClellan, Rosencranz and Cox, was severely wounded in the arm and shoulder, and taken prisoner at the battle of Cross Lanes in West Virginia, August 26th, 1861. Being too badly wounded to be sent on to Richmond, he was kept in the rebel camp during the battle of Carnifax Ferry, September 10th, where General Rosencranz first won his fame, and at the ferry the next day when the two armies, Generals Floyd and Henry A. Wise on the rebel side, fought several hours over them at Clifton, and was finally recaptured by General Rosencranz on the 11th of September. He was taken by slow stages to Cincinnati, where he was skillfully treated by Dr. Muzzy and his arm saved. November 25th, 1861, he was promoted to captain of company K, the same regiment, and as soon as able he was detailed as recruiting officer at Cleveland, where he remained until he rejoined his regiment early in 1863, at Dumfries, Virginia, having been married to Clara Steele Norton at Oberlin, Ohio September 11th, 1862. His wound gave him so much trouble that he resigned February 9th, 1863, and studied law at the Albany law school until June 13th 1863, when he was commissioned first lieutenant in the Fifth regiment V. R. C., and promoted to captain, October 28th, 1863, by President Lincoln, and was stationed at Cleveland, St. Louis, and Indianapolis. In December, 1863, he was placed in command of the military post at Madison, Indiana, remaining until April, 1864, when he was made acting assistant adjutant general of the district of Indiana, and chief of staff of the commanding general of that district. In July following he was ordered to Washington, D. C., and received the appointment of assistant provost marshal of the district of Washington, and placed on the staff of the military governor. In November he was appointed provost marshal of Georgetown, D. C., and soon after special mustering officer, to muster for pay at Annapolis, Maryland, the eighteen thousand returned prisoners of war from Andersonville. He resigned his commission and was honorably discharged March 16th, 1865. He finished his law studies at Columbia College, New York city and the Albany law school, graduating in the spring of 1866. He soon commenced practicing law at Lyons, Iowa, of which city he was elected mayor in 1871. He remained in Lyons nearly ten years as partner of Hon. A. R. Cotton, who was in congress part of the time. Captain Cross came to Minneapolis October 15th, 1875, and formed a law partnership with his old friend and classmate, Col. H. G. Hicks, with whom he is still in active practice. He is a member of the Plymouth Congregational Church of this city, and in politics is a republican. He has four children living: Kate Bird, aged sixteen; Morton Murdock, aged fourteen; Nellie Malura, aged eleven, and Clara Amelia, aged three. One, Clevie S., died in Mancy.