Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
C

Page 2 of 2


Go back to page 1 of Surname C

Use the Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames (Ctrl & F)

 

From the Minneapolis Morning Tribune, Monday, Dec 17,1928

COGSWELL, Nicholas A., aged 71 years.  He is survived by his wife, 2 daughters, Mrs. F. E. WILLIAMS, Mrs. L.M. KIRSCHEM, 1 son L. C. Cogswell, and 1 sister, Mrs. Joseph SEBASTIAM.  Services will be held at Amor Mortuary, 2300 Henn. av. tuesday, Dec. 18, at 10:30 a.m.. Interment at Lakewood cemetery.

Submitted by Jackie Ginn. (Jackie is not related to the above and does not have additional information.)

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 534

CROSS, Wm. was born in the province of Ontario, Canada, June 9th, 1858. He grew to manhood there and learned the trade of tinsmith; in 1879 he removed to Minneapolis, and worked at his trade until April, 1880, when he started in the business with Hans Lindas, the firm now being Cross and Lindas. They deal in stoves and tinware, and manufacture copper and sheet-iron utensils. They are located at 829 Washington Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 534

CULVER, G. W. a native of Saint Paul, Minnesota, was born July 11th, 1857. He received his education in the schools of that city and completed a course at the Faribault military school. At the age of sixteen years he began business by assisting his father, Geo. Culver, in the management of the Metropolitan hotel at Saint Paul. In the fall of 1878 he started in the book business, soliciting for different publications. He continued this until December, 1879, when he established a book store at Stillwater, located on lower Main street; and in the winter of 1880 he purchased one-half interest in the book store at 255 Nicollet Avenue, Minneapolis, firm name of Culver and Merrill. Mr. Culver married Miss Saidee Ten Eyck, in Saint Paul, July 11th, 1879.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 534

CUMMINS, R. R.a native of Delaware county, Pennsylvania, was born May 17th, 1844. He learned the trade of machinist at Philadelphia. August 8th, 1862, he enlisted in the army of Potomac, and took part in all the battles in which the regiment engaged. He was mustered out July 23d, 1864, and came to Eden Prairie, Hennepin county. He built the steamer " Mary," for Captain Halsted, in 1876, and ran one season as her captain. During the winter following he assisted in building the "Hattie" and in the summer of 1877 he ran the "Fresco," on Lake Minnetonka. In 1879 he came here, and worked for C. C. Washburn three months, and since that time has been in the Galaxy mill. May 2d, 1865 he married Georgiana Leigh, who has borne him two children : Oscar and Lena.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 534

CUMMINGS, A. A. was born in Illinois, near Chicago, November 7th, 1855, and made that city his home until he grew to manhood. He learned the painter's trade with William Glasgow at Chicago, and worked with other fine workmen until he is now master of the art. In 1877 he came here and engaged in sign and ornamental painting for Mr. Wagner. In 1879 he formed a partnership with Mr. J. M. Bausman, which continued until October, 1880, when Mr. Cununings went into business alone. His present location is at 252 Hennepin Avenue.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co
Page 218

CUMMINGS, George W. a native of Maine, was born April 8th, 1853. Engaged in farming until 1867, when he came with his parents to Bloomington, Hennepin county. At the age of twenty-one, he embarked in dairy business. In 1878 he bought the land he now occupies. His dairy business has been quite successful. Was married to Miss Alice Gilchrist. Dec. 25th, 1875. They have three children: Arthur A., George H., and Ruth W.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 534


(click for large image)

CUMMINGS, R.W. (same as Robert Winthrop Cummings & R.W. Cummings below) a native of Lycoming, Pennsylvania, was born in June, 1825. He attended York Academy seven years, and in 1843 came west. He traveled through several states, and finally located at Cottage Grove, Minnesota, in 1845. There he opened a farm and made some improvements, but lost it, because of being a minor. In 1847, he came to Saint Paul and worked as clerk for Mr. Jackson in mercantile business. The fall following he came to St. Anthony and made a claim at what is now the junction of the main line and branch of the St. Paul, Minneapolis and Manitoba railroad, improved it and followed general farming until 1853, when he went into the real estate business, and has been thus occupied until the present time; his office is at 100 Central Avenue. Mr. Cumming's wife was Martha Estes, of St. Anthony. Their children are Minnie and Louise, both living with their parents at 325 Sixth Avenue south-east.

From "History of the Minnesota Valley". Published by the North Star Publishing Company, 1882.

CUMMINGS, R. W., a natice of Lycoming, Pennsylvania, was born in June 1825. He located at Cottage Grove, Minnesota, in 1845. There he opened a farm and made some improvements, but lost it, because of being a minor. In 1847 he came to St. Paul and worked as a clerk for Mr. Jackson in the mercantile business. The fall following he came to St. Anthony and made a claim at what is now the junction of the main line and branch of the St. Paul, Minneapolis and Manitoba Railroad, improved it and followed general farming until 1853, when he went into the real estate busines, and has been thus occupied until the present time; his office is at 100 Central avenue. Mr. Cummings' wife was Martha Estes, of St. Anthony.

From "Minneapolis Portrait of the Past", A Photographic History of the Early Days in Minneapolis. 1973 (Reprinted from the 1890 "Minneapolis Album)

CUMMINGS, R. W. a native of Pennsylvania, born in 1825, came West in 1843, and after tryng his fortune at several other points settled in St. Anthony in 1847. He took up a claim where afterward was located the junction of the man line and branch of the Great Northern Railroad. He her ran a farm until 1853, and then switched off to the real estate business, which still (1890) engages his attention.

History of Minneapolis, by Judge Isaac Atwater, and Hennepin County, by Col. John Stevens, 1895. Submitted by grt. granddaughter, Cynthia Ellis.

Pages 27, 28 and 726

CUMMINGS, Robert Winthrop was born in 1825 in Williamsport, Lycoming Co. Pa.  His father's name was Andrew Cummings and his mother's name was Mahaffey, both of Irish decent.  At the age of 19 he turned his face westward in search of a settlement.  He stopped in his quest a short time in Iowa.  Thence he proceeded to the Falls of St. Anthony.  It was in 1844 that he first visited the place which three years later he made his home.  The Falls of St. Anthony were still unmarred by the hand of man.  No town stood upon its banks.  The entire white population of the region north of Fort Snelling was less than fifty, and they were chiefly half breeds, or discharged soldiers from Fort Snelling.  Mr. Cummings made a permanent settlement in St. Anthony in 1847.  Young Cummings was a vigorous young man of twenty-two and he was anxious to co-operate with others in building up a community.  For forty-four years he continued to live on the spot which he first saw as an unbroken wilderness.  Mr. Cummings made claim in section thirteen, on the rising ground beyond the marsh strip seat of the river.  A few years later this was laid out partly as Maple Hill Cemetery and the remainder as Ramsey and Lockwood's addition to St. Anthony, and is now embraced within the cith limits of Minneapolis.   When the city government of St. Anthony was organized in 1855 he was elected alderman from the third ward and thus served in the first city council ever established in the city.  He was amoung the active men who in 1856 first organized the Republican party in St. Anthony.  It was about 1854 that Mr. Cummings opened an office and embarked in the real estate business which he followed through the remainder of his life..   Mr. Cummings was married in St. Anthony in 1854 to Miss Martha J. Estes who was born in Maine.  He had removed from the East Side to a new home on Portland Ave. where Mrs. Cummings now resides with their two daughters, Minnie and Louise.  Mr. Cummings died September 11, 1891 and is buried at Lakewood Cemetery.

 

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 229

CUNNINGHAM, H.D. one of the early settlers of the state, was born in Augusta county, Virginia, December 13th, 1822. Came to Minnesota in 1856. Settled in Nicollet county and followed farming. Married Miss Mary Ellison in 1857. In 1858 went to Yellow Medicine and took charge of the schools of the Dakota Mission, where he remained until the spring of 1865, when he moved to Minneapolis and engaged in the flour and feed business. Located on his present farm in 1874. Held the office of town supervisor three years, school director and treasurer for two years, and is now in the employ of the American Tract Society as colporteur.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 535

CUNNINGHAM, T. C. was born at Bangor, Maine, in 1857. He came to Minnesota in 1859, and located in Rice county, where he followed milling until coming to this city in 1876. He was in the restaurant business until January, 1880, when he took the Bushnell House, of which he is now proprietor. Mr. Cunningham was married January 13th, 1880, to Miss Ellen Peters.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing Co

Page 348

CURLY, Peter, a native of Ireland, was born in 1825. He came to America in 1846, and worked in the cotton factories of Lowell, Massachusetts, until 1849, when he came to Saint Anthony, and helped build the first Catholic church here. He preempted the farm where he still lives, one mile from the city limits, and built his present residence, in 1856. He was married in 1849, to Catherine Cain. They have had two sons, only one is living; John J.

 

Submitted by Pamela Wagoner (wagonerp@ohsu.edu) great-granddaughter. Information taken from Civil & Church documents. (Curtin)


(Click for large image)

CURTIN, Hannah Gilligan McLaughlin was born 10 January 1861 in Glenwood, Winneshiek county, Iowa.  The eldest known daughter of John J. Curtin and his wife, Margarete McHugh Curtin.  According to the 1900 census, Hannah was one of eleven children, ten of which are known.  Her siblings were James F. Curtin, born December 11, 1858, died February 3, 1939 in Minneapolis; Margareete or "Meg" Curtin (married James Moran) born May 15, 1865, died July 10, 1948 at Soldier's Home in Minneapolis; Mary Curtin (married David Fitzgerald) born July 1865, died before 1939; Emma V. Curtin (married Owen Flynn) born April 11, 1867, died March 10, 1935 in San Francisco, CA; Francis Curtin born about 1871 in Iowa, died before 1885; John J. Curtin, born August 1875 in Iowa, died September 3, 1938; Teresa Ellen Curtin (married Thomas Joseph Flynn) born January 17, 1879, died January 28, 1952 in Anaconda, Deer Lodge, MT; Thomas Curtin born March 1880 and died after 1939; Joseph Curtin born October 23, 1884 in Minnesota and died tragically on November 19, 1909 in Minneapolis from a house collapsing on him while he took a lunch break.  The Curtin family moved from Iowa to Minnesota sometime between 1880 and 1884 after financial setbacks.

Hannah Curtin married William P. Gilligan, son of William Gilligan and Ellen Fitzpatrick Gilligan.  William P. Gilligan was born in 1863 in Illinois and died on October 14, 1887.  Their first child, Helen Terressa "Nell" Gilligan (married Bernard Wheaton Japs) was born December 6, 1885 and died August 12,  1930 in Minneapolis; their second child, John Francis Gilligan was born October 26, 1887, twelve days after his father died of typhoid.  John Francis died on December 19, 1928 in Spokane, Washington.

Upon her husband's death, Hannah moved back into her parents' home, where she lived until her marriage to Thomas Anthony McLaughlin on November 17, 1891.  Thomas Anthony McLaughlin was born on February 28, 1859 in Petersville Parish, Queens county, New Brunswick and died on May 12, 1920 in Spokane, Washington. Thomas emigrated to Minnesota about 1881with three of his brothers, John McLaughlin, Edward D. McLaughlin and Richard Archibald McLaughlin.   They were followed later by a younger sister, Ellen or "Nellie". 

The first listing for Thomas in the Minneapolis city directory says that his occupation was a light trimmer, so it is no surprise that his family was among the first to have electric lights. Thomas worked his way up to becoming a foreman on many bridge building projects.  Sometime after 1910 he moved  to Spokane, Washington where he became the construction foreman for the Monroe Street Bridge in Spokane.  His family followed about a year later.

Thomas suffered a lengthy illness before his death, but was kept at home in the kitchen space.  One of his daughters related a story of how she dropped off her children at his house so she could go to a dentist appointment.  When she spoke to Thomas and said she would see him later, he told her that he had an appointment at 2:00 PM.  Thinking nothing was strange, she returned from her dentist appointment and found that her father had died at 2:00 PM.  Thomas Anthony McLaughlin is buried at Fairmount Cemetery in Spokane, Washignton.

In 1929, Hannah Curtin Gilligan McLaughlin returned in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  In 1940 she was admitted to Soldiers Home in Minneapolis.  In 1942, while in Soldiers Home, she suffered a broken hip.  On March 19, 1948 she died.

Hannah Curtin Gilligan McLaughlin is buried at St. Anthony of Padua Cemetery in Minneapolis with several of her siblings and their families; her first husband, William; his mother, Ellen; and her fifth daughter with Thomas, Florence, who died at age 1. 

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 535

CURTISS, C. C. was born August 23d, 1837, in Clinton, Oneida county, New York. In 1858 he graduated from the normal school at Albany, and has since followed the profession of teaching, with the exception of two years that he kept books, in New York city and Rochester. He came to Minnesota in 1869, having previously received the degree of M.A. from Hamilton College, New York, and settled in Rochester, where he was elected city superintendent of schools, which position he held one year; then went to Winona, and remained four years, teaching penmanship in the normal school. In 1874 he came to Minneapolis, and started "Curtiss Business College," and started another in St. Paul in 1879. Mr. Curtiss married Maggie Hamilton, who has borne him five children. Those living are: Willie, Harry, and Fred.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co
Page 289

CURTIS, Henry was born in Cook county, Illinois, October, 1844. He came with his father in 1855 to Brooklyn, where he has since made his home. Enlisted in 1862 in Company D., Sixth Minnesota. Served three years and was honorably discharged in 1865 at Fort Snelling. Married in 1869 to Susie E. Thayer. They have two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 535

CURTIS, THEODORE F. son of Theodore L. Curtis, Was born at Portland, Maine, February 7th, 1855, and came here with his parents, when a babe. In 1878 he opened a restaurant at No. 39, Washington Avenue south, afterward kept the "Bon Ton," and in April, 1880, opened the "Fulton Market" restaurant, at 221, First Avenue south, where he is still in business.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 535

CURTIS, Theodore L. a native of Freeport Maine, was born in 1818. He came to Minneapolis in 1855, and followed the business of contractor and builder for a time, and afterward engaged in furniture manufacturing and undertaking. He married Miss Esther Moore, August 27th, 1846. Six children were born to them: Emma, Susie, Fannie, Theodore, Etta, and Norman. Mr. Curtis died September 11, 1874.

 

As listed in the Proceedings and Report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

CUSHMAN, Charles M. was born at Attleboro, Mass., July 6, 1829. He came up the river on the steamboat War Eagle, arriving at Minneapolis May 6, 1857; Mrs. Cushman on Lady Franklin the previous year, both from Dunleith.

Mr. Cushman's early years were spent on his fathers farm, working summers and going to district school in the winter. Later he attended Phillips' Academy in Andover, Mass., and Bridgewater State Normal school. Before coming west he taught school for several years in his native town.

On arriving in Minneapolis he was requested to take charge of the only school then in existence in Minneapolis, and did so, teaching one term. The school was located on Washington avenue, adjoining the St. James Hotel, in a two-story frame building.

He commenced business as a book seller and stationer in the summer of 1858 at 24 Washington avenue South, enlarging his store in 1865, and in 1886 built a new four-story brick block on the same ground. He is still in business at the old stand, the name of the firm now being Cushman & Plummer. Mr. Cushman was married to Emeline S. Clark November 24, 1859.

 

As listed in the Proceedings and Report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

CUSHMAN, Emeline S. daughter of Charles Clark, and wife of Charles M. Cushman, was born in Corning, N. Y., June 19, 1840. She came to Minneapolis with her father's family July 15, 1856, and was married to Mr. Cushman on November 24, 1859.

Mrs. Cushman's father was one of the early contractors and builders in Minneapolis, which business he followed for many years. In 1857, he built the first Hennepin, County court house at a cost of $36,000, and the same year the residence of Dr. A. E. Ames opposite, costing $12,000, and the Cataract House, now Sixth Avenue Hotel, at a cost of $30,000. He also built the first Plymouth Church edifice and many other buildings later. At Corning, N. Y., he built the first residence erected at that place.

Mr. and Mrs. Cushman have been connected with the Plymouth Congregational Church since its organization., Mr. Cushman being a deacon for several years.

 

History of Hennepin County and City of Minneapolis, 1881. Northstar Publishing Co

Page 535

CUTHBERTSON, James a native of Canada, was born in 1843. He came to Minneapolis in 1866, and worked at pattern making for the Minneapolis Iron Works, and remained with them three years., In 1870 he engaged in business for himself, and in 1874 the firm of Fender and Cuthbertson was formed; they manufacture the Standard middlings purifiers, and other mill furnishings, at 425 Fourth street south. Their goods are largely used in all the mills of this city, also in many other places throughout the country. In 1874 Mr. Cuthbertson married Hannah Bates; two children have been born to them: Harry and Jennie. Mrs. Cuthbertson died February 23d, 1880.