Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
T

Use Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames on the page (Ctrl & F)

 

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 642

TAMM, J.W. was born at Logansport, Indiana, in 1848. Learned milling at Maumee City, Ohio. In 1872 he became a resident of Minneapolis and engaged in the Arctic mill; he had charge of that mill for six years. Next he was employed in the Phoenix and has superintended it since. He was married in 1875 to Miss Alice Isenberger of Logansport.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 352

TAPPER, Captain John a native of England, was born in Dorsetshire,, on the 25th of March, 1820. He emigrated to America in 1840, and spent the first summer in St. Louis. In the fall he went to Fort Atkinson, Iowa, remained one and one-half years, then went to Fort Crawford, Wisconsin, and lived until the autumn of 1844, when he removed to Fort Snelling. At the beginning of the Mexican war he went to Mexico, with Dr. George Turner, of the United States Army, and remained with him until the close of the war, when they returned together to Fort Snelling, and Mr. Tapper engaged with Franklin Steele. He was at the Fort something over a year; then came to St. Anthony, and managed Steele's boarding-house one season; then took charge of the ferry, and afterward of the first suspension bridge. In 1862 he removed to Iowa, and engaged in farming. He returned in the winter of 1880-81, and located on a farm belonging to the Steele estate, near Minnehaha Falls. On the 8th of August, 1853, he married Matilda Stinson, of Minneapolis. This was the first marriage which occurred on the west side. Five children have been born to them: Rosie E., Frank H., Willie D., Mary M., and Jesse B. The first four were born on Nicollet Island, the last one in Iowa.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 642

TATE, Melvin, was born at Peekskill, New York, February 1st, 1851. Went to Duluth, Minnesota, in 1871; remained three years working in a general merchandise store, also a short time in a hotel, In 1874 he came to St. Paul, the next year locating in Minneapolis. In October, 1880, in company with Mr. Boardman, he opened a restaurant at 2l4 Nicollet Avenue. He was married in 1875 to Theresa Windolph, who has borne him three children. Laura is the only one living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 267

TAUTGES, Adam, was born in Prussia, in 1847, and came to America in 1868. He came directly to Minnesota, and located in Medina township, where he remained with his parents until 1876, when he bought the farm he now occupies in this town. He married Miss Mary Wagner, in 1877. They have one child, Anna, aged two years.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 268

TAUTGES, Peter was born in Prussia, in 1856, and came to this country with his parents, in 1868. He located on his present farm in 1879. He was married to Sophia L. Hofflin, in 1877. Their children are Mary A., aged two years, and William A., aged one year.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 642

TAYLOR, A. B. a resident of Minneapolis, came from New York four years since. Is a wholesale dealer in grain, and is the first and only man here who makes a specialty of wholesale dealing. Previous to starting in business in 1879 he bought wheat for the Millers Association. Office over Security Bank.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 642

TAYLOR, B.L. D.D.S. 214 Nicollet Avenue, was born at Westchester, Pennsylvania, in 1832. Received the principal part of his education in his native place. He came to Chicago in 1856, and two years later to Minneapolis. He graduated from the Pennsylvania Dental College at Philadelphia in 1869, and has since been in dental practice in this city. He was married in 1866 to Harriet Hurlbut, of Little Falls, New York. Alice and Henry are their children. Residence 620 Fifth street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 643

TAYLOR, F. C. was born in Lewis county, New York, October 12th, 1846. There he received his early education and training. He located in Minneapolis, December, 1871, and was employed as clerk in a grocery store until 1876, when he started in the same line for himself and has since been doing a prosperous business. He was married in 1870 to Mary Hinton, of Lewis county, New York. They have two children, Charlotte A. and Frank G.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 277

TEAS, Gibson was born in Delaware, in 1809. He moved to Wayne county, Indiana, in 1818; thence to Hennepin county, Minnesota, in 1856, and settled near Starvation Point, Lake Minnetonka. In 1858, he sold all his effects but land, for a twenty dollar gold piece, and moved to Indiana. Married Miss D. Stafford in 1859, and returned to Hennepin county in 1861, experiencing many hardships. In 1862, expecting hourly to be attacked by Indians, they loaded their goods into a spring wagon, and left, but afterwards returned to the farm, where they have since remained.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 643

TENANT, C. E. was born at Lisbon, Lawrence county, New York, in 1845. At the age of nine years, he accompanied his parents to Wisconsin. He resided in that state until 1878, removing in the spring of that year to Red Wing, Minnesota. He remained one summer, then removed to Stillwater, where he resided until his coming to Minneapolis in 1880. He joined the Hennipen County Barrel Company the same year. In 1863, he enlisted in the Thirty-second Wisconsin, under Col. De Groat, and served until the close of the war. Resides at 412 Twelfth Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 643

TENNANT, G. H. was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, 1847. Came to Minneapolis in 1867 and for three years was engaged in manufacturing shingles, with Bassett one year and with Morrison Brothers two years. He was then in St. Louis one and one-half years in the in the manufacture of eave-troughs. On returning he entered into partnership with Witbeck, Potter and Company in a planing mill and box factory and two years after added the manufacture of sash, doors and blinds. In 1875 the firm dissolved. Mr. Eldred then became proprietor of the planing mill, which Mr. Tennant superintended for him two years. In 1875, in company with Mr. Russell, built the East Side planing mill. He was married to Elizabeth Blackney, in 1870. Their children are: William S. and Grace.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 643

TEMSTEDT, Johannes was born in Westmandland, Sweden, June 22d, 1847. After finishing his theological studies at the Lyceum, at Stockholm he came to America in August, 1875. After remaining in New York until the following summer, he was ordained at Jamestown, New York, on the 25th of June, 1876. Thence coming west to Illinois, he presided over churches at Batavia, Bethlehem and Aurora for about two years. July 20th, 1878, he removed to Minneapolis, and has since presided over Angustana and Bethlehem churches.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 643

THARALSON, Andrew was born in Norway, January 9th, 1846. Here he passed his youth and acquired a knowledge of cabinet making. He emigrated to America in 1866,settling at Chicago, Illinois, where he worked at his trade until 1869. He then removed to Minneapolis, following his trade until 1870, when he started in the grocery business which has been growing rapidly. He was elected to the state legislature of Minnesota, in 1878, and re-elected in 1880. His marriage with Tirja Tentz took place in 1868, in Norway Their children are: Taly, Emma, Edward, Conrad and Amalie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 292

THAYER, A. A. was born in Lenawee county Michigan, December 28th, 1848. He lived there until he came to Minnesota with his parents, in 1854. Enlisted in Company C, 7th Minnesota, February 11th, 1865, and served until the close of the war. Was honorably discharged at Fort Snelling, August 16th, 1865. Married his second wife, Carrie Hill, in 1877. They have one child, Elsie May. Mr. Thayer's first wife bore him two children: William and David L.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 297

THAYER, David B. was born in Seneca county, New York, in 1822. In 1847 he moved to Lenawee county, Michigan, and married Catherine Warren. He came to Hennepin county in 1854, and settled near Osseo, on a claim of 160 acres, which is still owned by Mrs. Thayer. Mr. Thayer died at Osseo, August 31, 1873. Four children were born to them. A. A. Thayer, their son, enlisted in 1863, in 7th Minn., as drummer boy, when 16 years old; being taken sick at, Montgomery, Alabama, he returned home, and was honorably discharged.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 643

THEILEN, Charles is a native of Prussia, born June 5th, 1812. Received his education there and served in the Prussian army three years. In 1853 he came to America, locating in Indiana, thence to Chicago, and on to St. Anthony by team. Was one of the early pioneers and endured the hardships of frontier life. In 1859 he purchased the lot where he now lives, and erected a stone house which has since been his home. He worked in saw mills for five years, after which he engaged in mercantile business, continuing until 1878. He then sold to his son, retiring from active business life. Was married in Prussia, 1837, to Miss Mary G. Schildgen, who bore him eight children, four of whom are living: Nicholas, Anna M., John and Annie. Mr. Theilen was a member of the city council in 1874-1875.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 643

THEOBALD, Louis is a native of Germany, born in 1831. Came to the United Stated in 1851, remaining in New York nine months; thence to St. Louis where he resided about four years. in 1856 he removed to New Ulm, Minnesota, being in the mercantile business twenty years; was also engaged in a grist and saw mill. Located in Minneapolis in 1874, and opened a saloon in 1880, known as the Teutonia Hall. He was united in marriage with Anna Meyer, in 1855. Sophia, Bertha and Victor H. are their children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 643

THIBODEAU, B. was born in Aroostook county, Maine, in 1846. Here he remained until 1864, then went to Bangor where he learned the trade of shoemaker, and worked at it in various places throughout the country. He removed to Minneapolis in 1878 and after a short period he resumed his trade and also made boot and shoe pacs for a firm at St. Paul. In April, 1880, he opened an establishment of his own for the special purpose of manufacturing boot and shoe pacs. Married in 1871 to Mary Poirie, of Nova Scotia, who has borne him five children, three living: John, Clara and Joseph.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 356

THIRY, Frank a native of France, was born February 25th, 1835. He engaged in farming till 1853 when he came to America. After a residence of two years in New York, where he learned the tinners' trade, he removed to Utica, thence to Illinois, and worked at his trade at Napierville. In 1857 he came to Saint Anthony and worked as tinner for Spence and Pomeroy. In 1860 he established a hardware and tin store, and carried on the business five years, then took as partner, Charles Henry, and the firm of Frank Thiry and Company did a successful business for about ton years. Mr. Thiry was obliged to leave the city on account of ill-health, and has since lived on his farm. He still owns the business house, number 9, Main street, E. D. He was married in 1860, to Caroline Stolzman; they have had eight children, seven of whom are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 644

THOMLEY, Anthony was born in Norway, 1838. Came to the United States in 1854. He went to Wisconsin, where he remained six years, with the exception of a few months passed in Minnesota. In 1862 returned to his native country, remaining eight years. He then came to the United States, locating at La Crosse, Wisconsin, remaining also a short time at Eau Claire. In 1879 he became a resident of Minneapolis and opened a saloon at 223 Washington Avenue south. He married Mary Johnson of Eau Claire, in 1874. Ira A., and Annie are their children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 256

THOMPSON, Augustin was born in Somerset county, Maine, in 1847, and came to Minnesota in 1863. Located in Minneapolis. In 1874 he engaged in the drug and fancy goods business, which in 1879 he removed to Excelsior, and has since conducted a general merchandise business. Married, January 15th, 1871, to Miss E. Nettie Parker, of Minneapolis. She was the fifth white child born in Hennepin county.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

THOMPSON, Ellen Maria ( Gould ) was born at Conway Centre, N. H., Dec. 9, 1842. She was educated at Chelsea, Mass., and in the spring of 1857 came west, arriving at Minneapolis May 1st. Miss Gould was married to J. H. Thompson Sept. 18, 1860. Three children have been born to them - Nellie H., who died in 1893; William Gould, who died Oct. 28, 1989, at the age of 32, and ,one daughter, now Mrs. Edwin P. Capen of Minneapolis. (SEE ALSO JOSEPH HAYES THOMPSON BELOW)

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 644

THOMPSON, E. P. was born at Lowell, Massachusetts, in 1849. Moved to Zumbrota, Minnesota, in 1865, and in 1869 went to St. Paul to learn the jeweler's trade and remained until coming to Minneapolis in 1872. He began in the business soon after his arrival and has since continued, having a thriving trade. Located at 105 Washington Avenue south. He married Lizzie C. Hall in 1876. Lottie M. and Clara L. are their children.

 

From "History of North Washington" Published 1904. Transcribed by: Candy Grubb

THOMPSON, Harry, W. Harry W. Thompson is well known in northern Washington, and also to the newspaper fraternity throughout the state of Washington. At the present time he is conducting a hotel in Republic and a farm near by. He was born in Hennepin county, Minnesota, on June 1, 1862, being the son of Augustus and Sarah (Bazley) Thompson, natives of Pennsylvania and England, respectively. The parents settled in Minnesota after their marriage, where the father died in 1892, and the mother still lives. They were the parents of fifteen children, named as follows, Mary, Fannie, Augustin, William,Sarah,Harry W.,Charles,Fred, Lora,Lillie,Ellen,George, Vernie, and two others who died in infancy. The father of our subject was a veteran of the Mexican war, and after that he followed farming for the remainder of his life. Harry W. received his education in Hennepin county and later took a course in the Minneapolis business college. At the age of twenty-one he began life for himself, and the first year operated his mother's farm. After that he came to Washington and located in Dayton, where he was engaged in a printing office for two years. He then went to Okanogan Co., being one of the first settlers there, and was employed as compositor on the first paper published in that county. In 1890 Mr. Thompson bought out the Okanogan Outlook and operated it for eight years. In 1892, he lost everything by fire, but rebuilt and went forward with the business until 1896,when his entire property was washed away in the flood. Again he rebuilt and continued the business for two years more, then discontinued and went into the hotel business for one year. Later we see him in Toroda in the merchandise business, and in 1898 he settled in Republic and he opened the Thompson hotel which he operated nearly two years. Then he took a homestead adjoining the town, which he still owns. About one third of the place is under cultivation, and is supplied with good fences, buildings and other improvements. Later Mr. Thompson opened the Eureka house, and then took charge of the Delaware Hotel, which he runs now as a first-class house. In 1883, Mr. Thompson married Miss Josephine Sly, and to them five children have been born, named as follows, Pearl, Lulu, Perry, Raymond, and Richard. Politically, Mr. Thompson is a Republican, and recently took the field for county assessor, but as the county was Democratic, he did not win. He has been school director at various times and has held various other office. Fraternally, he is affiliated with the I.O.O.F., the Rebekahs,and the Fraternal Army. His wife and daughters belong to the Rebekahs, and his wife to the Eastern Star.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 644

THOMPSON, John was born in 1832, and is a native of Canada. He moved to Milwaukee, remaining one and one-half years, thence to New Lisbon, Wisconsin, where he remained four years. In 1873 he located at Minneapolis, and five years later joined the Co-operative Barrel Company, and has remained with them since. Is a cooper and has followed his trade twenty-eight years. He was united in marriage, in 1854, to Miss Maria Powers. They are parents of six children. Residence, 1407 Fourth street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 644

THOMPSON, John a resident of Minneapolis, is a native of Norway, born in 1843. Learned the trade of ship-carpenter in his native country, and in 1865 came to America. For seven years he resided at LaCrosse, Wisconsin, being employed in Davidson's shipyards, two years, and was in the saloon business five years. He removed to Minneapolis in 1872, and has since been engaged in the saloon business. He was married to Miss Lena Johnson in 1874.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 644

THOMPSON, J. H. was born in York County, Maine, August 17th, 1834. Learned the tailor's trade at North Bridgeton, after which he removed to Augusta, thence to Minneapolis in 1857. He has been continuously in business in this city since. He was married in this city to Miss Ellen M. Gould of Minneapolis, in 1880. They have had three children: Mattie C., William G., and Nellie H. Resides 613 Hennepin Avenue.

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

THOMPSON, Joseph Hayes was born in South Berwick, Maine, Aug. 17, 1834. His father. Daniel G. Thompson, was a farmer, and moved to, North, Yarmouth, Maine, in 1844. Here young Thompson received the privileges the country school afforded at that time, working on the farm part of the time, until he was fifteen years of age. He then entered a store as clerk, where he was employed for one year, when he commenced to learn the tailors' trade with Nathaniel Osgood at North Brighton, Maine, attending the Village Academy the next winter. When nineteen years old, he went to Augusta, Maine, and engaged with Richard Bosworth as clerk and cutter, continuing in this business for three years. In the winter he decided to go west, and he finally landed at Minneapolis in February, 1857, and immediately opened a tailor shop, which he has kept open for over forty-four years. during all of which time he has conducted a large and profitable business, for many years carrying a stock of clothing, furnishing goods, etc., additional to his tailoring department.

He was the first, and for several years the only, express agent in Minneapolis, and later was the first to sell steamboat and railroad tickets to the East. In August, 1862, he volunteered for the relief of Fort Ridgley, joining Anson Northrup's company.

Mr. Thompson was supervisor of the town of Minneapolis for several years, and later alderman of the city.

He has always been prominent in Masonic circles, and for more than twenty years has been grand treasurer of the order in Minnesota. He has been actively engaged in managing the various lines of his extensive business until the last few months, when he went south, hoping the change of climate would restore him to his former health. He returned to his home a few weeks ago, and his many friends will be pained to learn that his recovery is not considered certain by his physicians. He was married to Miss Helen Gould, Sept. 18, 1860. (SEE ALSO ELLEN MARIA (GOULD) THOMPSON ABOVE)

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 644

THOMPSON, J. M. was born at Brooklyn, Minnesota, October 4th, 1859. He passed his early boy-hood on a farm with his parents, then entered the Minneapolis Mill, in the employ of Crocker, Fisk and Company. He learned the miller's trade, and has been engaged with the firm since.

 

Minneapolis Morning Tribune, Monday Dec. 17, 1928

THOMPSON, Mrs. Peter, 4755 Camden av, passed away Dec. 14, aged 65 years.  She is survived by husband, 3 sons; Engwald, Emil, Elmer; 2 daughters, Mrs. Gordon NELSON, Gladys Thompson; also mother, Ingeborg LANGLE; 3 sisters, Mrs. M. BYRDAHL of Minneapolis; Mrs. Ole B. KUISETH, Helge E. KULSETH, of Selbu, Norway.  Services Wednesday from the home, 2 p.m.; at Gethsemane Lutheran church, 47th and Colfax N. 2:30 p.m. Interment Crystal Lake cemetery.

Submitted by Jackie Ginn. (Jackie is not related to the above and does not have additional information).

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 644

THOMPSON, R. B. was born in Kane county, Illinois, in l849. He came to Minneapolis in l865, and was with Captain Rollins four years. He attended the University one and one-half years. Through the influence of Captain Rollins he secured a situation with H. J. Taylor of St.. Paul, in the lumber business, and remained with him five years. He then returned to this city and engaged with Merriman and Company, which firm still retains his services. Married Miss Gussie Ringer in 1875. They have one child: Arthur.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 644

THOMPSON, T. is a native of Norway, born in 1853. Came to the United States in 1866, locating at Empire, Minnesota, remaining three years; thence to Minneapolis. Three years later he went to Chicago, and the next year returned to his native country. In 1878 he again became a resident of Minneapolis dealing in flour and feed at 926 First Avenue south. His wife was Annie M. Oleson, whom he married in 1880.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 644

TIDD, ISAIAH was born, March 14th, 1827, at Passadumkeag, Penobscot county, Maine. Engaged in lumbering there until 1851; He then came to St. Anthony, and in the fall of 1852 went up the Rum river exploring for Blaisdell and Jackins. He was lumbering for them three years, and was with a brother in business seven years. He joined the North Star Barrel Company in 1879, and in 1880 bought into the East Side Co-operative Company as a cooper. He was united in marriage to Miss Hannah Fleatham, a native of New York, August 13th, 1854. This was the first marriage in Minneapolis township. They have two children: Etta May and William R.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 352

TILLENY, L. was born in Plymouth, England, in 1831. When a babe he came with his parents to America, and lived in Vermont until March, 1854, when he went to California, where he was engaged in mining and the dairy business until 1860. He then removed to Wisconsin, and in the fall of 1863 came to Minneapolis, and purchased the farm he still owns, on sections 6 and 7. He is a breeder of the celebrated Norman and Clyde horses, from imported stock. Mr. Tilleny was married, in 1858, to Lydia Stanton.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 645

TINKELPAUGH, J. B. is a native of Luzerne County, Pennsylvania, born in 1827. His early years were passed in mechanical pursuits, in the states of New York and Indiana. He came to Minneapolis in 1857, and as a mechanic was engaged in the erection of some of the first buildings in this city and Anoka. In 1863, removed to Michigan, and three years later went to Bates county, Missouri, where he resided eight years. In 1877, returned to this city, and has since been manufacturing confectionery in East Minneapolis.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 237

TIRRELL, C.B. was born September 25th, 1836, in Androscoggin county, Maine. He received his education at the Lewiston Fall Academy. At the age of eighteen he came to Minnesota, and in the summer of 1855, taught one term of school in St. Anthony. After this he came to Eden Prairie, and taught the first winter school in the town, during the winter of 1855-56. In the fall of 1855, his father came to Eden Prairie, and preempted the farm now owned by Chesley. In 1858, he went to Shakopee, began the study of law, and was admitted to the bar, March, 1860. He practiced with L. L. Baxter, in Chaska, and in 1861 enlisted in Company C, First Minnesota Infantry, and served until discharged for disability, in 1864.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 645

TISSOT, Felix was born December 21st, 1834, in Lyons, France, in which city he was partially educated. In 1854, he came to America, and after a brief visit to St. Anthony, repaired to the Barrens, St. Mary's College Mission, where he completed his theological education, and on the fifteenth of August, 1858, was ordained at Dubuque, Iowa, after which he was stationed at Wabasba in charge of all the parishes in Wabasha and Goodhue counties until his removal to Minneapolis in 1866.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 645

TITTERUD, E. M. was born in Norway, January 17th, 1833. Learned the shoemaker's trade in his native country, and in 1866, came to the United States. Settled in Minneapolis, and after being a journeyman for Dillingham and Veazie a short time, he started a shop of his own in which he still continues at 1110 Washington Avenue south. He was married in 1866 to Miss O. B. Berg, a native of Norway. They have had eight children, five now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 645

TITUS, O.H. was born in Onondaga county, New York, February 10th, 1849. He came to Afton, Minnesota, in 1865 and remained one year and returned to New York. In April I871,came to Minneapolis, and was with the Pillsburys eight months; then was with G. H. Christian in the Washburn B mill one year; thence to Chicago where he ran the State mill one year. Was also engaged in milling in other places and returned to this city in 1878. He was employed in the Zenith mill three months, then entered the Pettit mill where he has since remained as stone-dresser. He married Emma Lamson, November 17th, 1872. Albert H. and Carrie, are the children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 645

TODD, Julius C. was born in Alabama, September 30th, 1847. He is of African descent and was a slave in the south until released by President Abraham Lincoln's proclamation. In 1864 he came north to Minneapolis, where he has since resided. He is now doing a prosperous business as an expressman.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 645

TOLLEFSON, A. is a native of Norway, born February 8d, 1837. At the age of fourteen he learned carpentering, and has followed it since. He came to America in 1861, locating at Lansing, Iowa. He built thirteen churches at and near that town. In partnership with his brother, dealt in lumber in connection with his trade, from 1872 until 1878. He removed to Minneapolis in 1878, and has since been doing a fine business as contractor and builder. Married Miss B. Knutson, of Norway, in 1860, who has borne him three sons and three daughters. Residence, 900 Fourteenth Avenue south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 646

TORNQVUST, Gustaf Edward, was born in Westergotland, Sweden, November 27th, 1850. Attended the Lyceum at Stockholm, where he studied theology. Came to America in August, 1877, and went to California as a missionary to the Scandinavians. In 1879 returned to Chicago, was ordained and went back to San Francisco, where he remained until August, 1880. He then received a call from the congregation at Minneapolis, and at once took charge.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 645

TOSCANY, L. proprietor of the Quebec House, is a native of France, born in 1842, and came to the United States at two years of age. In 1874, removed to Minneapolis from Bay City, Michigan, where he had resided fifteen years in the hotel business. He has been proprietor of the Quebec House since May 15th, 1880. It is located at 228 First street north.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 646

TOUSLEY, O.V. superintendent of public schools in Minneapolis, was born at Clarendon, Orleans county, New York, March 11th, 1834. He was educated at the common school, Albion Academy, two years at Oberlin, Ohio, and at Williams College where he graduated in 1854. While in college he studied law, and after graduation went to Albany, New York, into the office of Hill, Cagger. and Porter. Soon after was admitted to the bar and spent some time reading law, history, and in general study in the state library. The next three years he spent settling up the estate of his father who had died a number of years before. His mother died when he was thirteen years of age. In 1857, he came west, stopping for a time in Illinois and Iowa. He invested his patrimony in such channels as to turn his attention from law to teaching, and went to Tennessee where he taught two years. When war was breaking out he came to Indiana, and at New Albany taught in Tousley's Academy for ten years. In 1869 he came to Minneapolis and entered the office of Judge Atwater, remaining about six months When he was called to take charge of the high school, and in 1871, was appointed superintendent of the city schools to take the place of Professor Hiskey, deceased. Since that time he has continued to raise the standard of the schools, until now Minneapolis has one of the finest systems of schools in the United States. Professor Tousley was married in 1858 to Miss Susan S. Toll.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 646

TOWERS, F. E., M.D. was born at Richmond, Vermont, March 6th, 1851. He was educated at Barre, Vermont, graduating from the Goddard University at that place in 1872. He studied medicine at Burlington Veterinary Medical College and graduated from the State University of New York with the degree of medical doctor. After graduating he studied one year with Professor A. D. Loomis, M. D., taking a special course in physical diagnosis. He practiced in Corry, Pennsylvania, four and one-half years, coming to Minneapolis in May, 1880, where he has since practiced. Located 1119 Washington Avenue north.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 646

TOWERS, S. I. was born at Richmond, Vermont, September 11th, 1853. After receiving a liberal education in his native town he went to New York city in 1874, where he worked one year. He then went to New Jersey, being engaged in the drug business. In 1877 he went to New Orleans and after a short stay returned to his old home, remaining until 1880. He located in Minneapolis in June of the Same year and started in the boot and shoe trade, at 1119 Washington Avenue South.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 645

TOWNE, L. M. was born in Kent county Michigan, July 17th, 1857. Became a resident of La Crosse in 1865 where he remained until coming to Minneapolis in 1874. Worked for the North-western Telegraph Company until December 1879, when he bought stock in the Telephone Company, and was first treasurer, which position he held till the election of Mr. C. H. Prior. Mr. Towne is at present, auditor of the company.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 646

TOWNSEND, G. B. was born at Jay, Maine, May 2d, 1845. He lived with his parents on the farm until sixteen, then went to Massachusetts and worked one season on a farm and returned. In 1864, enlisted in the Thirty-first Maine. Received his discharge at the end of eighteen months, having participated in many of the hardest fought battles of the war. He returned home, and the next year went to Portland, Maine, and attended the Bryant and Stratton Business College. In 1877, located at Minneapolis, engaging in different occupations for one year, then was employed by C. A. Pillsbury. His position at the Excelsior mill is that of shipping clerk and salesman.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 646

TRACY, C. W. was born in Windsor county, Vermont, in June, 1847. Remained there until the age of fifteen, then went to New York city and engaged in the produce, commission and whole-sale grocery business for four years. he then removed to Green Bay, Wisconsin, and remained in grain speculations until coming to Minneapolis in 1876. In the fall of that year entered the Millers' Association. In January, 1880, took charge of "Elevator A" for the Minneapolis Elevator Company, and has since held the position of superintendent. He was married in May, 1871, to Miss Mary E. Durkee of Vermont. Their children are Martha, Sherman and Minnie Lee.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 646

TRAEGER, August is a native of Prussia, born August 4th, 1821. Came to the United States in 1852, and worked at tin-smithing in Ohio three years; then removed to Fort Wayne, Indiana, thence to Decatur, where he attended to hardware business until coming to Minneapolis in 1866. He began the manufacture of eaves-troughs; also sold lightning-rods throughout the country. Since 1879 has been proprietor of a billiard hall and sample room. He was married to Mary Briske. Their children are Emma A., Maria L., August C., Theresa J., Wilhelm F., Bertha C., Louise P., Charles J. and Adolph G.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 327

TROTT, William was born in England, in 1828. He came to America in 1846, and worked on a farm in Orleans county, New York, a few years; then went to Indiana, as foreman on a railroad. Poor health compelled him to resign. He came to Minnesota in 1853, and bought a claim in Eden Prairie; sold it for $500 ; then explored different parts of the then territory, making several claims and selling them. In 1854, he came to Maple Grove; bought a claim, built a shanty, which he covered with bark, and lived in it the first winter. July 1866, he married Lilly Sutherland, of Canada.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 301

TRUSSEL, J. H. is a native of New Hampshire, born in New London, Merrimac county, September 26th, 1828. He resided in his native town ten years, then to Wilmot, N. H., and remained there until twenty-one years of age, when he went to Concord, and remained five years. In the fall of 1855, he came to Hennepin county, and made a claim of 160 acres in Brooklyn. Remained on it one year; then removed to Champlin, where he has since resided. In 1871, he sold his farm in Brooklyn. He has held the office of Supervisor several times, also Assessor and Treasurer. Married in 1857, Mary E. Hill, who was born in Carroll county, New Hampshire in 1831, and came with her parents to this county in 1853. They have bad five children, three of whom are living.

 

File contributed for Minnesota Biographies Project by: Wayne C. Blesi.  waybliss@aol.com
 


Johann Ulrich Tschudi
(Click to enlarge)
 

TSCHUDI, John Ulrich and Maria (Mary) nee Blesi ,sister of Peter Blesi, came from Glarus and Schwanden Switzerland to New Schwanden in 1855, and settled in the Maple Grove Township area, his Brother Jacob John Tschudi also came with them and settled in the same area. He married Katharina nee Zopfi from Switzerland who died in 1876 and then Jacob married Marie Wilhamena Von Hoffwegen. They moved to Minneapolis, MN. and had 4 Children. John U. and Mary Tschudi had no children.  John U. fought in the Civil War from Sep.1,1864 to Jan. 1865 and discharged by General Order. John U. died in 1900 and Mary Tschudi died in 1923. Mary was given a nick name of Buzzy Mary because she was always talking. They are both buried in the St. Fridolin Cemetery, New  Schwanden also known as the New Schwanden (Swiss) Cemetery of Champlin, MN. Hennepin County

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 293

TSCHUDY, J. J. a native of Switzerland, was born in 1832. Came to America in 1861, and located in Peoria county, Illinois. Remained there only four months; then came to Minnesota, and. settled in Maple Grove. In 1869 he removed to Brooklyn. He is now treasurer of school district No. 33. Married Mary Hanser for his second wife. He has three children: Jacob, John and Mary ; the two former by his first marriage.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 237

TUCKEY, E.A. was born in Chenango county, N. Y., August 17th, 1826. At twenty-one started for the Northwest, visiting Detroit, Chicago, Galena and Mackinaw. Returned to New York and worked at the carpenter trade until he came West in 1855 and settled in Scott county. Remained there fourteen years; then went to Lake Crystal and was engaged in business about two years. In the mean time, bought his present place on section twenty-seven, Eden Prairie. Served three year's in Company A. Fourth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, participating in the battles of Corinth and Iuka, in the siege of Vicksburg, and in Sherman's march to the sea. Returned home in the fall of 1864. Married Miss Marcina Baxter, of Steuben county, N. Y., in 1850. Ten children have been born to them, eight of whom' are now living: Selah P., Zella M., Ann M., Emma M., Abbie A.. Ida R., Edson N. and Harry H.

 

Obituary - Minneapolis Tribune - Tuesday Feb 12, 1929

TURGEON, Mrs. A. J. 52, of 1605 3rd St. was found dead in bed when her son Luvern, 15, came home from school. She had been in ill health for some time. Survived by husband and five sons; George, Albert, Lawrence, Luverne, all of Minneapolis, and Eugene of Witchita Falls, TX, and two daughters, Mrs. Emma Jodell and Adeline Schmidt. Funeral Thursday, 9 am at Our Lady of Lourdes.

 

TURNBLAD, Swan, Swan Turnblad (1860-1933) came to the United States with his family in 1868. His parents made the decision to leave their farm in the famine-ridden area of Småland, Sweden. The family settled in a Swedish community, Vasa, in southern Minnesota, where they joined relatives who had settled in the area earlier. In 1879, Swan Turnblad left Vasa for Minneapolis, where he lived the quintessential rags-to-riches American success story. After he moved to Minneapolis, Turnblad worked at several Swedish language newspapers as a typesetter. His interest in the printing industry eventually led to his success as the publisher of the Swedish language newspaper Svenska Amerikanska Posten, for which he soon became the manager. Within ten years, he was the sole owner of the paper and, under his management, circulation of the weekly paper soared to over 40,000, a substantial increase from the 1,400 it initially claimed. Svenska Amerikanska Posten was likely the principal source of Turnblad's wealth. The success of the paper was a result of Turnblad's aggressive management style, as well as the large numbers of Swedish immigrants who supported it. He created a technically advanced newspaper by using the best printing equipment available. He was the first Swedish publisher in America to set his paper by Linotype machine. In 1903, Svenska Amerikanska Posten also became the first Swedish language paper to use a duplex rotary color printing press, enabling the creation of color illustrations. In Minneapolis, Swan Turnblad met and married Christina Nilsson (1861- ), who, like Turnblad, had come to America from Sweden with her family. Her family settled in Worthington, Minnesota in 1876. Her first job in America paid no wages, but gave her work experience and English language training. Later she worked as a waitress for one year. In 1882, Christina moved to Minneapolis, where she met the young newspaper man at a Good Templar meeting. They were married in 1883 and the couple had one child, Lillian Zenobia Turnblad (1883- ). In the early 1900's, the Turnblads started to plan the building of their palatial estate. Their many trips to Europe certainly influenced their decision on the stately chateau style of the mansion and the ornate designs of the interior. The property on Park Avenue was purchased in 1903 and plans were drawn up. The structure took nearly five years to build. It appears that no expense was spared in constructing the mansion, but exact costs are not known since the Turnblads did not take out a mortgage on this property during construction, bills were paid as they came due, and there are no records of construction costs. Artisans reportedly were led blindfolded to and from their jobs each day so that they never saw the total project and, thus, could never be able to duplicate it anywhere else in the world. Swan Turnblad also served on the Minnesota State Board of Visitors for Public Institutions. The transition from private residence to museum happened in 1929, when the family donated the house and the newspaper to establish the American Institute for Swedish Arts, Literature and Science (later changed to the American Swedish Institute).

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 277

TURNHAM, J. was born in Illinois, in 1850; moved to Minnesota and settled in Medina. He is the owner of Turnham's Sorghum Mill, built in 1877, and located on his farm three miles from Long Lake; capacity one hundred gallons per day. He raises five to ten acres of cane per year, making about 1,000 gallons, besides manufacturing for other parties. Mr. Turnham married Ellen McKeneff in 1875. She has borne him two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 256

TURNER, P.H. born in Kennebee, county, Maine, in 1838. Came to Minnesota in 1856, and settled in St. Anthony, where he conducted the harness business. Also opened a shop in Minneapolis, managing both at the same time. He then spent four years in Anoka county, farming. In 1876, located in Excelsior, and opened the only harness shop in town. Married, in 1876, to Beulah Philbrook. Have two children.

 

From "Minneapolis, Portrait of the Past", collected and compiled by Edward A. Bromley, Voyguer Press. 1890.


(click for large image)

TUTTLE, Calvin Calvin A. Tuttle arrived at St. Anthony in 1847, and was one of the energetic pioneers. He was among the first to cross the river and take up a claim and build a house on the west side. He was a contributor to the original University fund. He was interested in the erection of a saw mill in 1853, and was one of the first white men to visit Lake Minnetonka since 1822.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 277

TWIST, J. D. a native of New York, was born in Madison county. He moved to West Virginia, thence to Ohio, thence to Indiana, and in 1867 came to Medina, where he has since resided. He has one of the largest and most complete sorghum mills in the county, producing about 150 gallons of syrup per day, equipped with Stubbs & Sons patent pans, and all under cover. He married Elizabeth Lynch. They have five children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 306

TWOMBLEY, Abraham was born in Canada, in 1808. Moved to Champlain, New York. Lived there several years. Married, at twenty-two, to Rosabel Rose. He moved to Bottineau Prairie in 1857, and lived with his wife in a tent three months. Sold his first claim on the Prairie, and bought one in the woods, where he has since lived. Mr. and Mrs. T. Celebrated their golden wedding, November 8th, 1880. They have 108 children and grandchildren.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 647

TYLER, James A. was born at Machias, Maine, in 1851. Came to Minneapolis in the spring of 1872, and learned the carpenter's trade; has since continued in that business. He married Miss Ella L. Wilkins, of Middletown, Massachusetts, in 1879. Residence, 216 Twentieth street north. H. M. Leighton, his partner, is also a native of Maine. They are doing an extensive business as contractors and builders. Office and shop located on Fifth street between Sixth and Seventh Avenues south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 647

TYLER, T. S. was born in 1837 in New York city. In early life he moved with his parents to Michigan. He has traveled through many of the states engaged in the Coopering business. In 1876, removed to Minneapolis and has lived here since that time. He is one of the directors of the Cooperative Barrel Manufacturing Company.