Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
S Page 2 of 2


Back to Page 1 of Surname S

Use Windows Find feature to locate surnames (Ctrl & F)

 

From the Minneapolis Morning Tribune, Dec 17, 1928

SEHL, Nicholas J., passed away December 16.  Funeral 9 a.m. Wednesday from his home, 1108 7th st SE., 9:30 a.m., from the St. Lawrence church.  Remains at Rainville Mortuary until noon Tuesday.

Submitted by Jackie Ginn. (Jackie is not related to the above and does not have additional information.)

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 634

SPAULDING, W. A. Dentist, was born in Penobscot county, Maine, March 7th, 1842. Moved to Wright county, Minnesota, in 1856, and settled at Monticello. In l862 he enlisted, and was three and one-half years in active service; mustered out in 1865. Since the war he has made this city his home. In 1870, assisted in the location of the Minneapolis and St. Louis Railroad, and had charge of bridge building on that line until 1872, when he engaged in surveying townships in north-western Minnesota. Mr. Spaulding graduated from the Ohio college of dental surgery March 4th, 1875, with the degree of D. D. S.; since that time has been in practice. His wife was Miss J. C. Johnson; they were married in 1866. Three children have been born to them: Willie, Susie and one who died in infancy.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 256

SPAULDING, Z. D. born at Pomfort, Vermont, in 1821. Moved to Sullivan county, New Hampshire; lived there twenty-two years, and moved to Burrellville, R. I., where he learned the machinists' trade. Came to Minnesota in 1854. Settled near Excelsior, experiencing many hardships, having to grind corn in a coffee mill. Married his third wife, Nancy J., daughter of Amasa and Anna Seamans, in 1875. Mr. Spaulding remembers the Indian raid of 1862, very distinctly. At that time many of his neighbors removed to Minneapolis.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 634

SPEAR, Edward Jr. was born in 1828. at Warren, Ohio, and received his education in his native place. Was in the army five years; was in command of an Ohio battery three years of the time, and then was paymaster of the army of the Tennessee; after the war he passed five months in Europe. In 1878 he came here and established the North-western Stove Works, located in South Minneapolis. Mr. Spear married, in 1856, Emma Louder. Their children are. Louie, Edward, Bertha and Harry.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 634

SPECK, R. a native of Germany, was born September 14th, 1841. Came to the United States in 1864 and resided at St. Paul until 1874 when he came here and for about one year was in the produce and commission business, since then he has had a grocery and general merchandise store, his present location being 501 First street north.. His marriage with Mary Joungclaus occurred in 1872. Of their four children, those living are: Carl, Gustave and Adolph.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 634

SPILLANE, David a native of New York, was born August 15th, 1855, at Dunkirk. When a babe he moved with his parents to Fillmore county, Minnesota. When seventeen years of age he commenced the milling business at Whalan. In July, 1879, he came to Minneapolis and engaged with the Standard mill, where he occupies the position of grinder.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 277

STAFFORD, J. D. was born in Indiana, in 1842. Came to Minnesota and settled in Medina, in 1861. He enlisted in 1862, serving part of the time among the Indians, the balance of the time South. He was at the siege of Fort Blakely on Mobile Bay for fourteen days. Was honorably discharged at Fort Snelling in 1865. Married Ella Styner in 1869. They have three children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 634

STAHR, J. H. was born December 29th, 1842, in Denmark. Came to this country, worked one year at farming in Indiana, six months in a rolling mill, and then was engaged as clerk in a hotel, previous to returning to Denmark on a visit. In 1866 he removed to Wisconsin and engaged in the grocery business; came here in 1876 and was in different lines of business till 1880, when he opened a second-hand store at 208 Plymouth Avenue. In 1865 he married Christine Hanson. They have had nine children; only three are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 635

STAMMWITZ, Carl G. was born in Germany in 1831. Came to St. Anthony in 1858, and was head miller for Morrison and Prescott, at the Farmer's mill, six years. Lon 1865, bought the St. Anthony mill in company with G. Schober; they purchased a half interest in the People's mill in 1870, and the next year disposed of the St. Anthony mill; in 1875 they took the machinery out of the People's mill and built the Phoenix. Mr. Stammwitz married Caroline Peterson in 1861. Their children are Carl, Annie, Frederick, Olga, Adolph, Otto, Augusta, Bertha, Henry, Alice and Alvin (twins,) and George.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 230

STANDISH, F.G. born in Benson, Vermont July 10, 1834. Moved to New York in 1836. To Illinois in 1848. To Minnesota in 1856. Made a claim seven miles west of Rockford, Wright County, in 1858. Drafted in 1862, and furnished a substitute. Sold his farm same year and moved to tells town. Married in 1863 to Miss C. Harrison, and settled on his present farm in 1868. Have four children. He was one of the volunteer company that went to Fort Ridgely in 1862.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 246

STANKARD, George M. was born in Ohio, June 27th, 1857. Learned the miller's trade. Went to Toledo and worked in the South Toledo Mills. In 1877 he moved to Niles, Michigan. Worked in River Side mill till October, 1877, when he came to Minneapolis. Worked in the Pillsbury mill until 1878, then for Croswell and Syme at Long Lake as head stone dresser. In 1880 took the same position with the Minnetonka Mill company.. His father and family live in Ohio.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 221

STANSFIELD, James was born in the State of New York, September 3d, 1828. At the age of fifteen he went to sea and followed that occupation until 1849, when he passed one year as steward on the Hudson River steamboats. In 1850 went to California, and remained five years. Came to St. Anthony in 1855 and engaged in furnishing supplies to steamboats until 1862, when he engaged in the restaurant business, which he continued in Minneapolis until 1859, when he engaged in real estate business, and has followed the same extensively. In 1872 he purchased the farm in Richfield which he has since occupied. In 1856 he married Susan Wagner. They have three children living: Frank H., Charles L., and Ella B.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 237

STARING, Jonas born in Herkimer county, Now York, May 6th, 1809. His father died when he was eight years old, and the family located in Lewis county, New York, where he followed farming for ten years. Carried on a grocery for two years at Little Falls, New York. Went to boating on the Erie canal, captain of the Erin, a freight and passenger boat. Bought and run the packet boat Ann Allen, four seasons. Sold out, went to Indiana, and run a boat on the Wabash & Erie canal. His health failing he returned to New York. At Utica he established a large clothing house, employing 380 persons. Came to Minnesota in 1854, bought his present location, built a house, the first frame in the town, and soon moved his family here. Married Miss Hannah De Voe in 1833. Had five children, two now living: Myron S. and Mary A.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 237

STARING, John H. was born in Martinsburgh, N. Y., August 26th, 1830. At nine years of age, removed to Jefferson county, where he remained until twenty-one years of age. Went as sailor on the brigs "Manchester," "Northern Light" and "New York." Came to Eden Prairie in 1856, remaining there for five years, and in Minneapolis one year. Married Miss Margaretta Brewster, April 28th, 1861, by whom he had nine children, six now living: Matilda M., Nettie. F., Cora A., Ada M., Sarah J. and John R.

 

From "Minneapolis Portrait of the Past", collected and compiled by Edward A. Bromley. Voyaguer Press. 1890


Click for large image

STEVENS, Col. John H. The patriarchal countenance of Col. John H. Stevens is familiar to the Minneapolitans of 1890, and his presence is considered an honor at any occasion. The colonel must feel like a Rip Van Winkle as he walks the streets of the great city. Forty years have certainly wrought a wonderful transformation from the scene that met his eye as he made the first settlement on the west side of the river in 1849. Here he has lived ever since, watching with pride the marvelous strides the city has made, and doing his part in a modest, unassuming way, to help on the development. He was frequently honored with official responsibilities in the early days.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 292

STEVEN, William was born in Nova Scotia, in 1820, and lived there until twenty years of age; then resided in Aroostook county, Maine, four years, engaged in lumbering. Came to Minnesota in 1850, and went into lumbering on Rum River. At the expiration of one year he entered a store in St. Anthony, where he remained for three years. In 1854 he began trading at Mille Lacs Post, where he remained for eleven years, and in 1865 settled on his present location in Brooklyn. Married, May 20th, 1865, to Ellen Smith. They have had five children. Those now living are: William W., Robert, Elthea, Clifton and Laura G.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 237

STEWART, Barnard C. was born in St. Louis, Mo., Aug. 8, 1856. His father came to Minnesota when Barnard was one year old and bought the farm on which he now lives on section twenty-seven. Attended school until eighteen.. November 12th, 1879, married Miss Addie Cooper, of Bloomington. They have one child, Mary J.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 635

STEBBINS, C. M. a native of Long Meadow, Massachusetts, was born in 1829. Lived with his parents until sixteen years of age, when he went to Connecticut and worked at carpentering four years. In 1849, returned to Massachusetts for one year; then went again to Connecticut and remained till July, 1878, when he came to this city; his place of business is 218 Second Avenue south. Mr. Stebbins was married in l856 to Miss Langdon. They have two children, Hattie and Henry.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 635

STEBBINS, E. S. was born in 1854, at Boston Massachusetts. Moved to Troy, New York, in 1868, and two years later went to Saratoga. In 1872 he commenced the study of architecture. Went to Boston and attended the Technological Institute two years. He worked with E. D. Harris three years on the Grand Union Hotel, Saratoga, and the fourth year had entire supervision of the work. In 1877 he came here. His office is 304 Nicollet Avenue. Mr. Stebbins drew plans for the Hennepin county jail, Christ Church, Hennepin county poorhouse, Richfield town hall, and several public buildings at Grand Forks, Dakota. He was married in 1880.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 638

STEELE, E. H. a native of Vermont, was born in 1846. Was employed in 1868, by the firm of Whitten, Burdett and Young of Boston, as traveling salesman, and continued with them until 1874, at which time he established the clothing business which he is conducting so successfully in this city. Mr. Steele's family consists of only himself and wife. They have a fine residence on Eighth street. This building is heated by steam, fitted with electric bells, burglar alarm. etc.

 

From "Minneapolis Portrait of the Past", collected and compiled by Edward A. Bromley. Voyaguer Press. 1890


(Click for large image)

STEELE, Franklin The name Franklin Steelle probably figures more largely in the early annals of Minneapolis than that of any one man. From his arrival at Fort Snelling in 1838, at the age of twenty-five, down to his death in 1880, he was one of the most active and enterprising pioneers that ever helped bild up a great city. During all those long, trying years he seems to have held fast to his faith in the future of the city. He had a hand in every enterprise and was the prime mover in a majority. His name is mentioned frequently elsewhere in connection with important events. He live to see a city of fifty thousand people in place of a group of Indian wigwams, and left a large family to reap the harvest of wealth from the seeds he has sown with so much pains and perserverance. CLICK HERE FOR ADDITIONAL BIOGRAPHY

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 638

STEELE, Franklin Jr. son of the late Franklin Steele, and one of the first white natives of Hennepin county, was born in 1849. Since reaching his majority he has been engaged in business at Minneapolis. Mr. Steele studied law, and was admitted to practice in 1872, by Judge Wilkin, of St. Paul, passing his examination with great credit. He was married in February, 1872, to Kathleen Lynes. They are the parents of two children. He is a member of the firm of Franklin Steele, Jr., and Company, dealers in agricultural implements, wagons, etc., corner of First street and Second Avenue south. Residence on Nicollet Island.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 638

STEFFES, Nicholas a native of Germany, was born December 10th, 1848. Came to America with his parents in 1855. and lived on a farm in Wright county, Minnesota, until the age of eighteen, when he volunteered in the Tenth United States Regulars at Fort Snelling, and served his full time of enlistment. He has since resided in Minneapolis. He joined the volunteer fire department in 1875, and served as driver until the organization of the paid department, when he was appointed foreman of Hose Company No. 4. In 1876 he married Kate Bofferding. Their children are Annie and John.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 638

STEPHENS, J. F. was born July 4th, 1852, in Chester county, Pennsylvania. His father was a miller, and he learned the trade with him, in his native place. He worked at farming for four years previous to coming west in 1872. He reached this city December 1st of that year, and commenced work in the Minneapolis mill, filling a minor position at first, but by industry and attention to business advanced to the position of head miller, which position he fills to the entire satisfaction of his employers.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 638

STETSON, Frank L. born December 19th, 1853, in Knox county, Maine. He moved with his parents to Boston, in 1865, and there attended graded schools, afterward went to the Dean Academy at Franklin. In the spring of 1869 he came here and sought employment in the lumber mills; he had charge of the Northern Pacific railroad company's mills at Brainerd in 1878, returned here and until the spring of 1880 was foreman in Leavitt, Chase and Company's mill, since that time has filled the same position with Merriman and Barrows. He is second chief engineer of the fire department of which he has been a member since 1872. Mr. Stetson's wife was Ida Winslow, their marriage occurred in 1877. They have had one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 639

STETSON, H. A. a native of Lincolnville, Maine, was born in 1849. Came to Minneapolis in the fall of 1867 and was employed in saw mills five years; then in company with W. C. Stetson, his brother, built the mill which bore their name; after operating it three years disposed of his interest and went to work on the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railway. In April, 1879, engaged to work in the mill for his brother, who sold in 1880 to Wheaton, Reynolds and Company, and he has been with them since. He married Lillie Howe, in 1876. Blanche and Alice are their children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 639

STETSON, W. C. was born October 16th, 1841, in Waldo county, Maine; he came to St Anthony in 1857 and worked in different mills fourteen years. In 1861 he enlisted in the Ninth Minnesota Volunteers. After service he returned to Minneapolis and in 1871, built a planing mill, in company with his brother; they operated the mill eight months, then he bought his brother's share and sold a half interest to B.F. Nelson. In l878 they built the St. Louis, and the year following Mr. Stetson closed out his interest in both mills. He built in 1880 the Farnham and Lovejoy mill, and has since operated it for them. In 1859 he married Catharine Griffin.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 639

STEVENS, Frank a native of Worcester county, Massachusetts, was born July 5th, 1853. Worked in that state at different lines of business until April, 1878, when he removed to Minneapolis, and after clerking in a grocery store until 1879 he embarked in the same for business himself. He had a fine trade up to December, 1880, when, desiring a change he sold, with the intention of engaging in other enterprises.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 639

STEVENS, Col. John H. the pioneer of Minneapolis proper, is a native of Lower Canada. His parents, who were natives of Vermont, emigrated from there to one of the eastern townships of Lower Canada, where John H. was born, June 13th, 1820. The family trace their descent to the so called French Huguenots, who emigrated to New England, coming over with other Puritans in the Mayflower. Gardner Stevens, His father, was an extensive farmer, and gave his sons a liberal education. At an early day Mr. Stevens determined to become one of the pioneers of the far west. His first move was to the lead mines of Illinois and Wisconsin. During the war with Mexico, he served with the army of invasion and after the war closed he came to the territory of Minnesota, which had recently been set apart from Iowa. He located on the original townsite of Minneapolis, opposite the beautiful and picturesque Falls of St. Anthony; here he lived alone and desolate with the Indians. The nearest habitation of white men was Fort Snelling. Since that time vast and wonderful changes have been made, such as but few men have witnessed in the short space of thirty-two years. He has lived to see grow from his humble home a city of fifty thousand souls, and should he be spared until he reaches his three score and ten, he will doubtless behold a city of over one hundred thousand inhabitants. He has frequently been honored with seats in the senate and house of representatives in the state legislature, and has also held high and responsible offices of trust and honor, both civil and military with the greatest success and credit. He was married May 10th, 1850, in Rockford, Illinois, to Miss Francis H. Miller, of Oneida county, New York. Their children living are, Kittie D., wife of P. B. Winston Esq. of this city; Sarah, who resides with her parents; Orma, a graduate of the city high school; Francis H. Gardner, their only son, is a civil engineer.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 639

STEWART, Daniel D. D. pastor of the First Presbyterian Church, Minneapolis, the subject of this sketch, was born in Amsterdam, Montgomery county, New York, July 17th, 1811, spending most of his early life in that vicinity, pursuing academical studies at Johnstown, under the Rev. Gilbert Morgan. Entered Union college in 1830, graduated in 1833. After graduating went to Europe, traveling in England, Scotland, Germany and France; on returning, entered the Theological Seminary at Princeton, New Jersey, in 1835, graduated in the class of 1837-1838, under Drs. Alexander and Miller. After leaving the seminary, was called, accepted and settled over the first church at Amsterdam, New York, in 1839, remaining there for about one year, when he received a call from Ballston Springs, where he remained for nearly four years, from thence to the First church in New Albany, Indiana, where he ministered to them for about four years; from that charge to the care of the Theological Seminary, where he remained until the spring of 1853, when he again went to Europe, going as far as Italy, with his wife, who is a daughter of Asa Mann, of New Albany, Indiana. On his second return from the Old World, was called to the charge of the First Presbyterian Church of Camden, New Jersey, ministering to them until 1861. From Camden went to Johnstown, New York, remaining there until 1869. While in Johnstown his efforts were marked with success exceeding the expectations of his most sanguine admirers. Finding the church somewhat disrupted, in debt, without an organ, and no income; leaving it united, with one of Hook's best organs, out of debt, and with an income of five thousand dollars. The one ever-to-be remembered. day in the history of this church was when on that day he took into the church one hundred and fifty members, one hundred and thirty of them being on profession of faith; a large number of them between the ages of fifty and seventy. When in Camden, found the church on the mission board, raised it to a self-sustaining church, besides sending out a colony, which became self-sustaining, building a new and elegant church, and is the second church in Camden. From Johnstown again to New Albany, where he preached in the pulpit of the Second church for two years. In 1871 came to Minnesota on account of a serious trouble with his eyes, expecting to remain but for a brief time; was invited while here to supply the Andrew church which he consented to do, and remained with them for two years, when he came to the West Side, June 1st, 1875, as stated supply, where he has remained up to the present time. His first wife was the daughter of Peter Vain, merchant, of Albany, New York, with whom he lived for about six years, having one daughter, now the wife of cashier Harris of the Northwestern bank, and one son by the present wife, J. C. Stewart, now with the Monitor Plow Works. Walter M. Stewart died at twenty-four years of age, after finishing his studies for the profession of medicine.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 640

STEWART, Levi M. is a native of Maine; received there an academic education, and afterward graduated from Dartmouth college: is also a graduate of the law school at Cambridge. After practicing law successfully for a time in his native state he came West, and has been a resident of this city since 1856. His office is at the corner of Washington and Nicollet Avenues.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 640

STIMSON, C. F. was born April 19th, 1822, in York county, Maine. He was in the lumber business at Washington, Maine, four years; in June, 1848, removed to Stillwater, and the same year to St. Anthony, being engaged in lumbering most of the time until 1879. He, in company with William Simpson and A. Rogers, built the mill now owned by Farnham and Lovejoy, also the building now occupied as a paper-mill. Mr. Stimson served one year as treasurer of Ramsey county, while St. Anthony was in that county. He moved to his farm near Elk River in 1879. His marriage with Olive Estes occurred in 1850. Children: Albert, Ella, William and one who died in infancy.

 

From "1868 - 1968 Maple Plain & Independence Past - Present" published by the Maple Plain Garden Club. Submitted by Claudine Pearson. ClaudeP@aol.com

STINSON, John Robert secured title to land in Section 35 in Independence in 1857.  He was born in Maine in 1842 and passed away in Maple Plain in 1905.  In 1863 he was married to Frances Worthington of Illinois. She died in maple Plain in 1918.  He enlisted in the Civil War.  He was the father of the late Wallace Stinson who married Dora Batdorf. He farmed west of Maple Plain.  Louis Stinson, now living in Maple Plain, husband of Esther Cox Stinson, was the son of J. Wallace and Dora Stinson.  Louis Stinson has two sons, Lawrence of Wayzata and Robert, now living in Pennsylvania.

Paul Stinson, son of J. Wallace and Dora Stinson as the first serviceman from this area to die during W.W.I.  He passed away at Fort Snelling Hospital October 11, 1918, during the influenza epidemic.  The American Legion Post at Maple Plain is named for him, the Paul Stinson Post, No. 514.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 640

STOCKTON, E. H., M.D. was born October 4th, 1827, in Bucks county, Pennsylvania. Attended school at Trenton, New Jersey, and studied medicine at Philadelphia. In 1849 he attended two courses of lectures at the Ohio Medical College of Cincinnati. Followed his profession in Ohio and Indiana until 1865; since that time he has been in practice at Minneapolis. In 1869 he was made a member of the State Medical Society, and is one of the city board of health. Dr. Stockton married, in 1871, Miss Rose Wilson of Indiana.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 640

STONE, Alvin was born in Salmon Falls, New Hampshire, October 13th, 1825. In 1848 made an extended tour in the South; returned the next year, and in 1850 come to Minneapolis. His principal occupation has been painting; he has been a member of several different firms, and has done a very large business by contracts. In September, 1851, Mr. Stone returned to his native state; the following March married Elizabeth Goodwin, at Lowell, Massachusetts, and at once came West. They have had seven children; those living are Hattie and Harris.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 641

STRANAHAN, J. F. was born July 18th, 1854, at Bunker Hill, Michigan. In 1856, accompanied his parents to Minnesota and located in Goodhue county. At the early age of fourteen he commenced learning carpentering; went to Northfield in 1870 and two years later removed to St. Paul, where he assisted in building S. Mayall's block, Dr. Dewey's residence, and several other fine buildings. Since 1879, has lived in Minneapolis. He married Jerusha Hamilton in 1877. They have one child, Winnie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 640

STROTHMAN, E. E. a native of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, was born August 18th, 1845. Learned the machinist's trade at the Bay State Iron Works, and after serving his apprenticeship remained with the firm four years. In 1867, in company with his brother, he commenced manufacturing steam engines, but in 1870 he came to this city and was with the North Star Iron Works until he started his present business. His wife was Etta Banker, whom he married in 1868, at Milwaukee. They have two children, Clarence and Herberd.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 641

STROTHMAN, J. H. a native of Wisconsin, was born August 18th, 1845, at Milwaukee. Attended school there, and served an apprenticeship as machinist in the Bayfield Iron Works. In 1869, came here, and was at the North Star Iron Works until 1872; since that time he has been in the employ of O. A. Pray and Company as foreman. Was married in March, 1872. Of their four children. Morris only, survives; Nellie, Jennie and an infant have passed away.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 277

STUBBS, C. R. was born in Ohio, in 1845. He came with his parents to Hennepin county, and has since resided here. Mr. Stubbs married, in 1869, Esther White. They have four children. He owns a Sorghum Mill, Stubbs' Patent, Pans, and Excelsior Machine, capacity 150 gallons per day, two horse power.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 277

STUBBS, Henry was born in Ohio, in 1806. He moved to Minnesota in 1856, and made a claim in Medina, where he now resides. At that time Minneapolis had but one or two stores; Medina people had to go there to mill for some years. The first school in this town was held in an old log blacksmith shop on Mr. Stubbs' place. He was the first postmaster at Tamarac, afterwards changed to Long Lake.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 641

SULLIVAN, Daniel a native of Maine, was born in 1847. He came to Minnesota in 1878, and located at Minneapolis. His place of business is No. 18, First street north.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 641

SUMNER, Elmer H. born at Bangor, Maine, January 3d, 1853. Came to this city in 1877 and engaged in lumbering during the winter months: Kept a restaurant two years on Nicollet Avenue, and since August 1880, has been in the same business at No. 1, First street north; his wife has the management of the restaurant in his absence. Mr. Sumner married Mary Fay in 1872. They have one son, Eugene.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 641

SUTHERLAND, Byron born July 15th, 1846, in Westfield, New York. Moved to Pennsylvania and enlisted in 1862; he was wounded at Spottsylvania in 1864, and the next year was transferred to the veteran reserve corps on account of disability; in July 1865, he was honorably discharged. He attended school in Pennsylvania until 1870, and then read law at Jamestown, New York. In the fall of 1872, taught in Pennsylvania, and the same year was elected superintendent of schools in Warren county; he continued reading law and was admitted to the bar in 1875; the next year, removed to Minneapolis; his office is at 201 Nicollet Avenue. He married in 1877, Sarah Brown; she has borne him one son, Renne.

 

From "Our Independence 1854 - 1981" Submitted by Claudine Pearson. ClaudeP@aol.com

SUTTON, Frank - Early history books say that Frank Sutton came to our area in 1855.  He was one of the first settlers on the West border of Independence. Be owned land in both Independence and Franklin Townships.  His residence may be have been in Franklin Township, which would account for the name not appearing on the early census.  Frank's son, David Sutton, and his family were long time residents of west Independence.  His daughter, June, still lives on the old homestead.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 641

SUTTON, W. D. a native of Louisville, Kentucky, was born in 1837. Enlisted in 1861 and served three years. In 1864 he went to Chicago and followed his business of contracting and building for seven years, then after a short residence at St. Louis removed to Memphis, and three years later to Iowa. In 1875 went to Wright county, Minnesota, and bought the farm he still owns. In October, 1880, he came here to work at his trade. His marriage with Martha Lawson occurred in in 1865. They have one child, Minnehaha.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 641

SVERDRUP, George was born in the western part of Norway. December 16th, 1848. He attended school at Christiana from 1862 to 1865, when he entered the University in the city of Christiana. During 1870, he traveled through Italy and Germany, and in 1871, passed theological exanimation at the University. The year 1873, he spent in Paris, in the study of the Semitic languages, Assyrian antiquities and other sciences connected with the study of the old testament. In 1874, he received a call from this conference since which time he has been closely identified with the history of Augsburg Seminary.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 641

SWANBERG, N. P. a native of Sweden, was born in 1838. Emigrated to America in 1869, and located at Hastings, Minnesota, and engaged in carriage making. In 1870, removed to this city and after working about three years for different parties established the Minneapolis carriage works at 605 Third street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 356

SWANSON, C. J. was born in Smoland, South Sweden. He emigrated to the United States in 1869, and settled in McLeod county, Minnesota; one year later he came to Minneapolis. He began the manufacture of brick in 1876. The business has since been prosperous. The yards are located on the east side of the river, three miles north of the city and furnish employment to forty-five men and ton teams. He was married in 1876, to Christine Johnson, who has borne him one child.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 641

SWENSEN, Peter P. born in Sweden, February 10th, 1844. When ten years of age came to America with his parents and lived on a farm in Minnesota until 1861, when he enlisted but was rejected because of being under age; he then went to Dubuque, Iowa, enlisted in the regular army and served three years. He then went to Tennessee and engaged in the grocery business; afterward removed to Cincinnati, where he owned an interest in a planing mill. In 1869, after a two years residence in St. Louis, came here; his principal occupation since has been salesman. In 1871 he married Annie Johnson. Their children are: Charles. Harry and Bertha.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 642

SWETT, O. T. born at Limerick, Maine, September 27th, 1832. For a time was employed as salesman by a grocery firm at Cambridge, Massachusetts. In the spring of 1856 he came to St. Anthony and engaged with Hayes and Stimson in their meat market; the next year he made two trips to Galena. Illinois, to purchase groceries and provisions, but met with an accident which disabled him for nearly one year. In 1857, after the fire on Main street, he, E. Hayes, and Charles Straw started a general store, having purchased the remainder of a stock of dry goods and groceries from Carpenter and Andrews, who suffered from the fire. Mr. Swett has been alone in the business since 1862, in 1877 he disposed of the groceries and has since handled dry goods, notions and gents' furnishing goods. He was alderman from 1859 till 1861. Married in 1858, Sarah Hayes, who has borne him two children: Ella and Arthur. Mr. Swett has been in the dry goods business continuously in this city longer than any individual or firm.

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

SWETT, Owen Thomas was born Sept 27, 1831, at Limerick, York County, Maine. He came to St Anthony April 30, 1856, and for the first six months drove the meat wagon of Stimson & Hayes, who at that time supplied nearly all of the families of St. Anthony and Minneapolis, there being only one other meat market, which was located in upper town. In the fall of 1856 Mr. Swett, in partnership with E. B. West, went to Iowa and Illinois and bought a drove of two hundred hogs, and was returning with them on the steamboat, when the cold weather caused the captain of the boat to unload his cargo on the last day of October at Point Douglas, and they were compelled to drive the hogs in from that point, and feed them with corn, costing 1.10 per bushel, for several weeks, until real freezing weather. Under the circumstances the venture was not a financial success. On the same trip Mr. Swett purchased about 1,200 pounds of butter, not gilt-edge quality, as his customers could testify, which he sold during the winter at 32 cents per pound. In January, 1857, he made a trip to Galena and Dubuque, where he purchased a team of horses and load of provisions. It was not a pleasure trip, as the snow was two to three feet deep on the sometimes trackless prairies, with thermometer 30 to 35 degrees below zero for thirty days. On his return from this trip he took a load of passengers, mostly merchants going east to buy goods, from St. Anthony to Muscada, eighty miles east of La Crosse, that being then the nearest railroad point. At that time, however, all goods from the east were shipped via Dunleith, as the La Crosse Railroad was not completed until late that year.

In the spring of 1857 Mr. Swett went into the grain, feed and provision business, and in the fall of the same year put in a stock of dry goods and groceries, being located on lower Main street, near where the Pillsbury A mill now stands. Mr. Swett is one of the few old time merchants who has continued in the same business on the east side until the present time. Until 1863 Erastus Hayes was a partner, since which time he conducted the business alone until last year, when his son became a partner. Mr. Strau was also a partner for a short time at first. Mr. Swett now has the largest dry goods store on the east side, having lately moved into the new Chute block, his third move in forty-three years. Mr. Sweet was married to Miss Sarah Hayes at St. Anthony, April 6, 1859. (SEE ALSO BELOW)

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meetings of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

SWETT, Sarah Hayes, wife of Owen T. Swett, was born at Limerick, York County, Maine, January 7, 1828. She came to St. Anthony May 10, 1857, after a delay of three days at the foot of Lake Pepin for the ice to break up, the boat being the first one to come through that spring.

She was married to Mr. Swett April 6, 1859, and they have lived at the corner of Fourth street and Seventh avenue southeast for nearly forty years.

Her father was John C. Hayes of Limerick, Maine. Their children are Ellar, wife of Geo. T. Huey and Arthur H. Swett, in business with his father in Minneapolis. (SEE ALSO ABOVE)

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 642

SWICK, Joseph was born March 5th, 1825, in Germany. Was educated in his native country, came to America in 1851, and located in New York; removed to Connecticut and worked at his trade of cabinetmaking. In 1855 he came to St. Anthony and worked in L. Johnson's furniture manufactory until they sold to Barnard and Company. He lost two fingers by a circular saw, but as soon as he was able to work, went into the same shop and remained seventeen years with the latter firm. From 1857 to 1861, his wages were one dollar per day, and during that time he did not receive a dollar in money, being paid with orders on stores. Since leaving that business he has been farming. He married Christiana Frost, in 1851. Their children are Joseph, Annie, William, Sarah and Charles. Three are married and all live near the old homestead.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 642

SYKES, E. T. a native of Uxbridge, Massachusetts, was born October 12th, 1850. When a child he moved to Melville, and there received his education. He was in business eight years at Waitham, then in 1879. came to this city and engaged in plumbing and gas fitting. At first he required the services of only three men, but his business has grown to such proportions that he now employs twenty-five. The firm name is Sykes and Andrews; No. 256 Hennepin Avenue.