Make your own free website on Tripod.com
SURNAME
R

Use Windows "Find" feature to locate surnames on the page (Ctrl & F)

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 337

RADINTZ, F. one of the early settlers of Plymouth, was born in Prussia, June 29th, 1828. He remained with his parents until fifteen years of age, when he began life for himself, and was engaged as shepherd until 1852, when he came to America. He went to Sheboygan, Wisconsin, and thence to the Lake Superior copper mines for nearly two years. In October 1854, he came to, what is now Plymouth, and made a claim of the farm where he now lives. He built a small log house and shaved out shingles for the roof. After remaining one year, he removed to Saint Anthony where he was engaged in well-digging for two years. In November 1857, he was married to Christina Snabel, of Prussia, and located on this farm, which he has since improved until it is a fine place. He has been treasurer of the school district and has done much for the cause of education. Of the fourteen children born to them, eleven reside with their parents on the farm.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 616

RAINEY, Thomas G. M.D. was born at Belfast, Ireland, March 27th, 1845. He came to the United States in 1863. His education was obtained partly in Ireland, also at Hillsdale, College, Michigan. He studied at the Medical University of that state, and graduated with the degree of M. D. in March, 1872. He commenced his practice immediately at Ionia, and remained two and one-half years, then studied in New York and London one year. He returned to America in 1876, locating at Portland, Maine, and resumed practice. In 1879, he became a resident of Minneapolis, where has since practiced his profession.

The following was submitted by his granddaughter Cynthia Ellis, cellis@cmc.net 

Dr. Thomas G. Rainey was born in Belfast, Co. Antrim, Ireland March 27,1845.  I have never been able to find out when he came to this country but the first record I have of him is that he attended Hillsdale College in Michigan 1867-1868.  In 1868 he entered the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, Mi. and he graduated as a doctor in 1872.  The next time I was able to trace him was in the 1880 census of Minneapolis, MN.  I believe he practiced medicine in Minneapolis for several years but to my knowledge was not connected with any hospital.   On September 9,1895 he married my grandmother, Minnie Cummings.  On September 13,1886 my mother Louise was born.  I am not sure as I have no record but I believe my grandmother and Dr. Rainey were divorced sometime in 1887.   The next place I was able to trace him was in St. Louis, Mo in 1889 where he was registered to practice medicine.  I do not know how long he stayed in St. Louis but I believe it was there that he re-married.  His wife's name was Ester (G.) born in Minnesota in 1864.  I am not positive of that as I have 3 different census and they are all a little different.  They had 3 children Rosalie, Nancie and Reginald and each census varies about their ages and where they were born.   His next move was to Cleveland, Ohio where he practiced for 16 years until he died December 20,1916. If anyone who reads this happens to know any more about Dr. Rainey or his second family I would be most grateful for any additional information.  

 

From "Our Independence 1854 - 1981: Submitted by Claudine Pearson. ClaudeP@aol.com

RAMOLA, Joseph his wife and two sons came from Waverly, Minnesota in 1903. They settled on the farm on Nelson Road that is owned now by Richard Schumacher.  There were six children in the family:  Felix, Alex, Ambrose, Ann, Monica and Rufina.

Felix and Ambrose married and farmed in independence near their original homestead.  Felix's son, Joseph, lives on Nelson Road.  Ambrose and his wife have one son, Roger, remaining at home. Another son, George, and his family live on Copeland Road.  George's children are Jason and Jennifer.

Ambrose is known because of his many years of selling  Pioneer Seed.  He also has butternuts which he cracks on cold winter days and sells to neighbors and friends.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 617

RANK, John P. a native of Germany, was born in 1829. He came to the United States in 1843, and remained eleven years with his parents on a farm in Canada. In 1854, he came to Minneapolis and worked in the woods one winter, the year following engaged in the grocery business. In 1863, he bought a building in which he kept saloon until it burned in 1868. He erected a new building on that site, and in 1874 again opened a saloon where he now is. He married Miss Mary Gluck in 1859, Edward, John, Louisa, Kate, Henry, Louis, Anna, Frederick and Otto, are the children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 321

RANKING, Christian was born in Prussia, in 1835. He lived there twenty-four years; moved to America in 1859, and settled in Corcoran, where he now resides. He was drafted in 1865, into the Second Minnesota Regiment and was discharged at Washington, at the close of the war. In 1860 he married Katrine Heagleman. They have ten children living.

 

Hennepin County Biography -Submitted by Jeannette Rapley Sauntry

RAPLEY, Charles J. was born July 20, 1856 in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin to Charles Rapley and Mary Freeman.  Charles is found in the 1860 census town of Friendship, with his mother Mary Freeman Parks and brother George. (See the Fond du Lac Biographies for his parents, and Cameron, Barron county for his brother George) The surname is spelled Rapilje by the census taker.   Little is known of him until he marries  Dorothy Mary Ewer, daughter of Henry and Mary (Tolerd) Ewer, on March 22, 1890 in Barron county, Wisconsin.   Dorothy and her parents are found in Barron, Wisconsin in the 1880 Census

 The 1902 Minneapolis city directory lists a “Charles J Rapley  tmstr. r. 611 17th Ave N”.  Family history indicates he worked either on the railroad or for the city streetcar company.   Charles death certificate gives teamster as his occupation and  indicates he died as a result of a streetcar accident in Minneapolis on July 1, 1915.

Dorothy is found in the 1916 Minneapolis city director living at 1622 N 6th and listed as a widow of Charles, living in the same house is Jeanette E. Rapley a dressmaker and  Jesse L. messr.   When Dorothy dies January 27, 1950 her last address is 2420 4th Ave South, Minneapolis. The death certificate also gives the informant’s name as Marcella Knoll 2110 4th St. North, Minneapolis, MN. The obituary in the Minneapolis Morning Tribune indicates Dorothy is survived by 2 daughters and three sons.  

 Children of Charles and Dorothy Rapley are known to be George Rapley born Feb 23, 1910, Minneapolis, MN, died February 21, 1990 Minneapolis, MN, burial at Fort Snelling National Cemetery. MN.   Theodore Rapley is named as the informant on George’s death certificate, perhaps he was another son. Jesse L. Rapley living with Dorothy in 1916 may be the third son. Of the two daughters, one may have been Jeanette living with Dorothy in 1916 and the other, Marcella Knoll who is the informant at the time of Dorothy’s death.  

 Charles and Dorothy (Ewers) Rapley are buried in Crystal Lake Cemetery, Minneapolis, MN

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 617

RATHS, N. was born at Luxembourg, October 27th, 1839. He came to the United States in 1855, locating first in Iowa. In 1864, he removed to Minnesota and engaged in farming in the suburbs of Minneapolis, until 1870, when he started a grocery store at 1307 Washington Avenue north, in which he is still doing a thriving business, and owns the property on which he is located. His marriage with Anna Bofferding occurred in 1867. They have five children living: Maggie, Nanny, Willie, Philomena and George.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 617

RAUEN, Jacob is a native of Prussia, born November 1st, 1836. At twenty years of age, he came to the United States and first located on a farm in Crystal Lake, Hennepin county, Minnesota. Here he remained until 1868, when he removed to this city, and the next year built the Harmonia House, which he still owns. This hotel was managed by him until 1877, when he retired from active business on account of poor health. He was foreman of the old Germania Hose Company four years, and assistant engineer of the Minneapolis fire department two years. He married Miss Ernestine Stultzman, of Germany in 1865. They have three children living, Henrietta J., Annie C. and Charles.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 617

RAUEN, Peter a native of Germany, was born October 17th, 1834. He came to the United States in 1854, and remained in Chicago two years then located in St. Anthony, and is one of the old pioneers of this region. He removed to St. Paul and remained until 1859, when he returned and commenced in the grocery and general Merchandise business, at the corner of Plymouth and Washington Avenues, which he has since continued. He is now the oldest German grocer in the city, and has accumulated much valuable property. He was married in 1854 to Christina Thielen, of Germany. They have had twelve children; six are now living. Annie, Jacob, Mary, Susan, Josephine and Lizzie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 617

RAYMENTON, W. L. was born at Chester, Vermont, November 18th, 1852. He received an academic course at Burr and Burton's Seminary, at Manchester, Vermont, in 1872, and attended Middlebury College one year, after which he returned to his native town. He read law at the following places: at Chester, with Hugh Henry; at Uxbridge, Massachusetts, with George W. Hobbs; at Worcester, with C. A. Merrill, and in the summer of 1879 was admitted to the bar. He removed to Minneapolis the fall following, and opened an office in company with G. W. Hael in April, 1880. The firm is known as Hael and Raymenton.

 

RAYMOND, Karl Browne, Late in the year 2000, while searching Westminster's Archives, senior pastor Timothy Hart-Anderson found a dusty old scrapbook titled "Book of Remembrances, Class No. 1. Compiled by ten boys ages 10-12, and inspired by their teacher Andrew Benton, the book is filled with photos, information about the boys, inspiring quotes from notable regional and national figures, and messages to future students. Click on the link below to explore the Book of Remembrance and read the legacy left by ten boys, including Karl Browne Raymond.
http://www.ewestminster.org/classof01/biographies

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 617

RAYMOND, Thomas was born in Rindge, New Hampshire, May 2d, 1830. In 1855 he went to Moline, Illinois and engaged in manufacturing pails, and tubs for nine years. He removed to Minneapolis in 1864, was in the same business for five years, and for six years following was employed in flouring mills and furniture factories. Since 1876, he has been in the employ of Washburn and Company. His marriage with Miss Hannah Longton occurred in 1856. They are parents of five children: William S., Ida I., Lulu L., Charles and George.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 617

REA, Judge, John P. was born October 13th, 1840, in Lower Oxford township, Chester county, Pennsylvania. His father owned a woolen factory, and he passed his time there and attending school, until September, 1870, when he went to Piqua, Ohio, where he taught school. He enlisted in 1861 in company B, Eleventh Ohio Infantry, being one of the first in the state to enlist. He served in that regiment four months, when he was commissioned second lieutenant of company I, First Ohio Cavalry; he was promoted to first lieutenant March 12th, 1862, and in April of the next year to the rank of captain, and soon after was brevetted major. He served in the regiment three years and four months, having been absent only ten days, seven of which, he was a prisoner and three days sick. In 1865 he entered the Wesleyan College at Delaware, Ohio; he graduated in the classical course in June, 1867.During the vacation of 1866 he entered the office of Hon. O. J. Dickey, Lancaster, Pennsylvania, as a law student and was admitted to the bar there in August, 1868. In March of the next year he was appointed one of the three notaries public of Lancaster, by Gover- nor Geary. April 12th, 1869 he was appointed by President Grant, assessor of internal revenue for the Ninth district of Pennsylvania, which office he held until it was abolished by law in 1873. He continued practicing law in Lancaster until December, 1875, when he removed to Minneapolis. January 2d, 1876, he became editor of the Minneapolis Tribune and remained in that connection until May, 1877. He once more resumed his practice and in November of that year was chosen probate judge and re-elected in 1879. He married Emma M. Gould of Ohio, October 26th, 1869.

 

Minneapolis Morning Tribune, Monday Dec. 17, 1928

REED, Vernon G. Rites To Be Held Tuesday Funeral services for Ve(missing) Reed, 39 years old, a chief (missing) the Minneapolis & St. Louis (missing) who died Saturday afternoon (missing) Andrews hospital, will be (missing) Tuesday morning.  Services (missing) held at the residence, 262 (missing) avenue south, at 8:30 a.m. (missing) St. Stevens church at 9 a. (missing) terment will be in Lakewo (missing) tery.  Mr. Reed, who was (missing) Minneapolis, is survived by (missing) and a son, Richard.

Submitted by Jackie Ginn. (Jackie has no relationship to the above and does not have further information.)

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 618

REES, Gustavus a native of Germany, was born June 18th, 1848. He came to America in 1854, was in the mercantile business until 1871, when he came Minneapolis, and became a partner of his brother in a clothing establishment.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 618

REES, R. was born in Germany, in February, 1842. He came to America in 1854, and engaged in the mercantile business, until 1869, when he located in Minneapolis, and opened a clothing store. The firm name is R. Rees and Brother.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 301

REEVES, J. W. was born in Butler county, Ohio, in 1842, and remained in his native state until 1865, when he came to Minnesota, and located in Ramsey county, near St. Paul. In 1877 he came, to Champlin, purchased a farm of forty acres, and has since resided in this town. In 1863 Mr. Reeves enlisted in Company D, 2d Ohio Heavy Artillery, and served until honorably discharged, in 1865, coming west the same year.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 618

REHL, Louis a resident of Minneapolis, was born in Germany, in 1849. He came to the United States in 1865; and was in the Lake Superior copper mines, working at his trade, that of blacksmith, three years, then came to this city. He was employed as a blacksmith several years, then opened an establishment of his own at No. 1817, Riverside Avenue, corner of Fourth street south. He is a manufacturer of wagons also the patent meat blocks for butchers. He married Henrietta Paul in 1868, who bore him four children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 618

REID, A. M. president of the North Star Boot and Shoe Company, was born in Greene county, Ohio, in 1829. Here he received his early education, and upon reaching man's estate was in manufacturing and general merchandise business for fifteen years. Having concluded to go west he visited all important cities west of the Mississippi, for the purpose of finding a desirable place in which to permanently settle. Upon arriving at Minneapolis he decided to look no further, but returned to arrange his business, which he did, and located here with his family in November, 1865. He did not resume an active business life until he became one of the firm of Kelly, Reid and Wagner, wholesale grocers in 1870. He was one of those who organized the North Star Boot and Shoe Company, and was secretary and treasurer of the company until 1877, when he was elected its president. He was married in 1848, to Julia Miller, of Ohio. Finley M., Lafayette M., and Ada Viola, now Mrs. F. E. Hesler, are their children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 618

REID, F. M. secretary of the North Star Boot and Shoe Company, was born in Greene county, Ohio, July 15th, 1850. He came with his parents to Minneapolis in 1865, and received his education at the common and high schools of the city. His first experience in mercantile pursuits was with the firm of Kelly, Reid and Wagmer, wholesale grocers, his father being a member of the firm. He was employed next by the North Star Boot and Shoe Company as their first book-keeper. He opened and kept the first set of books used by the company. He was soon promoted to the position of secretary, which he still holds with credit. He was married in 1878, to Jennie M. Higgins, daughter of M. L. Higgins, of Minneapolis, who has borne him one child, Bessie M.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 618

REID, L. M. was born at Cedarville, Ohio, June, 1852. He came to Minneapolis in 1865, and attended school here, after which he clerked for Kelly, Reid and Wagner. He had an interest in the North Star Boot and Shoe Company for three years, then went into the present, business of plumbing, gas fitting, etc. The firm name is Cauvet and Reid. Mr. Reid was married in l876, to Miss Frankie Cook, of this city. They have two children: Finley Earle and Harry Fayette.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 618

REID, William R. is a native of Ontario, Canada, born May 17th, 1856. He learned milling at home and worked four years at Spicerville, Canada, and has since then worked in mills at different points in Minnesota and Wisconsin. He came to Minneapolis, March, 1880, and engaged with the Pettit mill as grinder, and has since been with this firm.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 284

REIDHEAD, P.W. a native of Maine, was born in Hancock county, October 26th, 1844. He lived there until 1860 when he came to Minneapolis; remained four years and then returned to Maine. In 1866 he came back to Minnesota and settled on the farm owned by his father in Crystal Lake. He married, in 1865, Miss A. M. Kincaid. They have had four children. Mr. Reidhead's father came to this county about 1849 and remained until his death.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 321

REINKING, Frederich a native of Prussia, was born in 1827. He emigrated to America in 1847; stopped in Baltimore five months, then went to Pittsburg and remained seven years, working on a steamboat. In 1856 he moved to St. Paul, thence to Corcoran where he has since lived. His wife was Charlotte Schafer; by her, he has had eleven children, eight of whom are now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 276

REISER, George a native of Germany, was born in 1816. Moved to America, settled in Boston, Massachusetts, and worked at bronzing for eleven, years. In 1855 he settled in Medina, Hennepin county. He was a member of the first board and suggested the name which the town now bears. He married in 1845, Mary Ann Letzkus. They have seven children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 276

REISER, Joseph, was born in East Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1846. Moved to Hennepin county in 1855, and settled where he now lives. He is the son of George Reiser, one of the pioneer settlers of this part of the county. In 1869 he married Julia Prelwitz. They have six children.

 

As listed in the proceedings and report of the annual meeting of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, May 11, 1899 and 1900.

RENO, John Christmas was born at Londonville, Ohio, December, 1822. His grandfather, Rev. Francis Reno, was educated at William and Mary College, Virginia, ordained an Episcopal clergyman in 1792, and later built the first Episcopal Church west of the Allegheny mountains; his father, John Reno, was a merchant and farmer in business at first in Pittsburg, PA, and afterwards moving to Londonville, where the subject of this sketch was born. His mother, Eliza W., was a sister of Charles W. Christmas, who settled in Minneapolis; in 1850, and took up one of the first claims on the west side of the river.

At the age of eighteen young Reno entered a store as clerk at Beaver County, Pa., where he remained about five years. He was next employed as clerk on a steamboat plying between Pittsburg and St- Louis, with an occasional trip to New Orleans. He followed the river for the next eleven years, during which time he commanded several boats, and in some of which he was part owner. In 1854 he built and commanded the Fairy Queen, on of the elegant boats then playing the Ohio and Mississippi. In the spring of 1856 he sold his boat and came to Minneapolis, where he arrived May 12. Soon after he purchased a one-third interest in the Christmas property in North Minneapolis, located between Twenty and Twenty-third avenues. I.I. Lewis owned another one-third. The land was plotted and several lots sold that year.

Captain Reno was not satisfied with the plan of having all the freight for St Anthony and Minneapolis put off at the levee at St. Paul, and he was so enthusiastic about bringing the boats to the falls that he got others interested with him and in February, 1857, accompanied by lvory F. Woodman, he visited Pittsburgh and made contracts by which the owners of four boats, Cremona, Harmonia, Orb and Rosalie agreed to make regular trips from Foulton City to the Falls of St Anthony. Warehouses were built on each side of the river, and that season there were fifty-two steamboat arrivals, discharging over ten thousand tons of freight The depression following the financial panic of 1857 had its effect on the river business, and navigation was never afterwards resumed, except by an occasional boat, owing to the obstructions and rapids below the falls.

Captain Reno expects, however, to live to see his dream of 1856 a reality in the near future, by the completion of the two United States government locks and dams now in course of construction between Fort Snelling and the falls. In 1857 Capt. Reno became the third president of the Minneapolis board of trade. The following year he moved to Pittsburg and engaged in river business again, later being in command of a steamboat in the government service. In 1863 he took part, with his steamboat, the Lebanon, in the Yazoo Pass expedition, where in executing a military order at night, he received an injury which compelled him to leave the service. He next moved to Cincinnati, where he remained fourteen years. In 1877 he returned to his old employment, on the river, running the Laura Laura L. Davis, between Cincinnati and Tuscambia, on the Tennessee river. In 1884 he retired from the steamboat business and returned to Minneapolis, where he now resides.

Captain Reno has always been a zealous supporter of the Episcopal Church, and in 1858 was one of the charter members of the Gethsemane Church of Minneapolis. At the present time he is connected with St. Mark's Church. He was married Dec. 21, 1852, to Miss Jane Howard, daughter of William J. Howard of Pittsburg, Pa. The family consists of three sons, William J., Alexander N. and Howard, and one daughter, Virginia H. Reno.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 351

REY, Michael, was born in Alsace, in 1826. He came to America in 1849, and was employed in a wholesale store at Saint Louis, until 1859, when he removed to Bunker Hill, Illinois, and engaged in farming. In September 1869, he came here and bought the place he now owns. He married at Saint Louis, in 1852. Seven children have been born to them. Mr. Rey has a fine garden, with eighty square feet of hot beds; he raises strawberries, raspberries and all kinds of vegetables.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 618

RHUART, S. T. was born at Cleveland, Ohio, December 27th, 1850. During the spring of 1871 he came to Minneapolis and for six years worked at blacksmithing. In 1877 he became the proprietor of the Washington Avenue House, which is owned by C. M. Warner. He married Miss Mary Sexton, March 4th, 1877. Albert H. and Maggie I. are their children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 619

RICH, S. M. was born in Boston, December 2d, 1851. He came to Minneapolis in 1879, and engaged in dealing in oysters, salt, dried and canned fish, which is exclusively wholesale. His trade extends throughout Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin and Dakota, and its growth has been very extensive. Mr. Rich was married in 1873, to Mary A. W. Brigham, of Boston. They have three children: Mortimer B., John H. and Henry L.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 619

RICHARDS, EDWARDS A. was born in Berlin, Wisconsin, September 17th, 1850. He came to Minneapolis in 1872 and worked in the Washburn A mill five years. After the explosion he was employed in the Pillsbury mill until the Washburn C started, and since been in this mill. He married Mary Eckes in 1877. Their children are, Nellie and George.

 

From "1868 - 1968 Maple Plain & Independence Past - Present" published by the Maple Plain Garden Club.

RICHARDS, George - George Richards and his sister, the late Ida Drysdale, came to Maple Plain with their parents, Mr. and Mrs. A. K. Richards, in 1879.  There were woods east and north of the village.  The cattle ran at large.  Rail fences enclosed the fields and yards.  There were cattle guards at the railroad crossings to prevent cattle from going onto the track.  Prior to the erection of the guards a woman's cow was run over by the train.  She demanded payment for the cow.  The pay was slow in coming, whereupon she took the matter in her own hands, and with a pail, kettle of soft soap and broom she soaped the rails.  The oncoming train could not make the grade. She continued to soap the rails until the railroad company paid her for her cow.

George Richards was cooperative weather observer (no pay but the government supplied the instruments).  In 1951 the weather bureau got around to honor its volunteer observers with a trip to Washington.  He was one of four with records of 60 years service or more, but he was the only one able to make the trip.  His entries make fascinating reading.  He writes of the famous blizzard of 1888 when the temperature here dropped to 40 degrees below zero and two hundred people in Minnesota and the Dakotas froze to death.  A freak year was 1886 with a temperature of thirty above on January 30 and on February 7 "sleighing went off."  For sixty of his sixty-six years as observer he did not miss a day of service.  In 1951 he was given a special citation by the Secretary of Commerce.  Failing eyesight forced him to give up the service in 1957.  He died in Maple Plain in February, 1968, at the age of ninety-five.  He has three sons, all living, Myron d., Melvin A. and Vernon D.  His grandson, Byron Richards, was one of the honor guards at the bier of the late President John F. Kennedy in the East Room of the White House.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 619

RICHTER, C. H. is a native of Prussia, born June 4th, 1837. In October, 1863, he came to the United States. He made Springfield, Illinois his home two years, then to Brownsville, Minnesota. In 1866, he came to Minneapolis and worked two years at tailoring, then removed to St. Peter and taught school two years. He returned to this city in 1870, and has since been in the saloon business at 317 Washington Avenue north. He married Mary L. Kletzin in 1868. Henry, Fritz, Emma and Ida are their children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 619

RIDEOUT, F. C. was born in Maine, in 1852, and there received his education. In 1876, he came to Minneapolis and at once commenced dealing in flour and feed. He and his partner, Mr. Albert Bailey, are owners of a feed mill of one ran of stone at 401 Sixth Avenue south, and a two-run mill at corner Second street and Fourteenth Avenue north. Mr. Rideout was married to Miss Mary E. Bailey, November, 8th, 1879. Residence 407 Fourth street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 237

RILEY, Matthew O. was born in Ireland in 1830. Attended school until fifteen years of age. Came to America in the spring of 1845. Worked in a cotton factory in Lowell, Massachusetts; also on the Meredith Bridge public works, then to farming in Massachusetts until 1852, when he came to Minnesota. Went from St. Paul to Sauk Rapids on the steamer Governor Ramsey. Returned to St. Anthony, spending some time in the St. Charles Hotel, then running a ferry-boat at Fort Snelling. In 1853 located where he now lives. Married Miss Elizabeth Austin, July 22d, 1858. Had five children, three now living: James F., Elizabeth, and Margaret. Mr. Riley is one of the oldest settlers of the county.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 619

RILEY, Theodore Miles rector of Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, was born at Carlisle, Pennsylvania, June 9th, 1842. He was a member of the class of 1861 at Dickinson College, Pennsylvania, and of 1863 of the Theological Seminary of New York. Was ordained deacon in June, 1863, by Bishop Potter of New York, and passed his deaconate at Newburgh, New York, as assistant to the Venerable Dr. John Brown, rector of St. George's, Newburgh. Ordained to the priesthood by Bishop Potter, June 10th, 1866. First parish was All Saints Memorial, at Highlands, Navasink, New Jersey, from January, 1866 to 1868. After spending the winter in Oxford, England, returned and accepted the rectorship of St. Paul's, Winona, Minnesota, remaining there until October, 1872. He then being elected rector of St. Cumming's parish, Philadelphia, entered upon its duties the first Sunday in Advent of the same year, there remaining until the imperative order came to leave the laborious charge to return to Minnesota as rector of Holy Trinity, of Minneapolis, January 15th, 1876. He also performed the duties of rector at Fort Snelling for several years. He is a member of the ecclesiastical court of this diocese, one of the bishop's examining chaplains, and was twice a supplementary deputy to the general convention, taking a seat as deputy in the latter part of the general convention of 1880.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 619

RING, John was born in Sweden in 1859. Was in the army thirteen years; entered as a private and was promoted to an officer. He was converted while there and held prayer meetings in camp, converting many; was honorably discharged for holding divine service in camp; then went into missionary work and was, confined in prison thirty-one days for preaching between the hours of ten and twelve on Sunday, it being a law that none but regularly ordained Lutheran ministers should preach during that time. He converted the jailor while confined. Came to America in 1866, and organized a church in Chicago; preached three years, commencing with thirty and leaving with 150 members. Went to Wisconsin in 1869 and organized a church at Trade Lake, and one at Grantsburg; preached there three years. Came to Minneapolis in 1872 and organized the present church. Went to Omaha in 1874, preached three years there and in Council Bluffs. Then to Kirwan, Iowa, in 1877, to the Swede Baptist church for three years, then returned to Minneapolis in July, 1880. Was married in 1850, to Miss Erickson, who died in 1856, leaving three children: Martha, Christian and John. Married again in 1875, to Martie C. Wicklund.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 619

RINKER, Andrew city engineer, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 15th, 1849. After completing his education as civil engineer, he obtained the office of surveyor of the ninth district of Philadelphia in 1866, which position he filled four years. He was then engaged as draughtsman in the registry bureau one year, when he came to Minneapolis and accepted the office of assistant city engineer, and served until 1875. He then formed a partnership with George W. Cooley, civil engineer and surveyor, of this city. In 1876 he engaged in business for himself, and in 1877 was appointed city engineer, which he still holds. He was married in 1876, to Miss Susie E. Johnson. They have one daughter, Florence. Residence, 18 Tenth street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 236

RITCHIE, Peter was born in Canada, October 19, 1828. At the age of twenty-two, went to Collinwood and engaged in mercantile business, then removed to Pickering, and established a wholesale cigar house. Married Miss Margaret Kidd in l854. Have had eight children, seven of whom are living. Came to St. Paul in the fall of 1856, remained there during the winter, then settled in what is now Acton, Meeker county, which town he named. This town has since become noted as the place where the first blood was shed in the Indian massacre of 1862. Went to Canada this year on account of the Indian outrages, and returned in 1864. Lived in Scott county six years. Rented the farm he has since bought, situated on Minnesota river, where he does quite a freighting business, using his own barge.

 

From Genealogical Research and Family Records, submitted by Claudia Schuman schumanC@comcast.net  February 21, 2003.


(Click for larger image)

ROACH, Chester was a native of Steuben County N.Y., supposedly born in the town of Bath. His parents names are unknown to us. In 1850 Chester was living with the Archibald Gates family in Bath, NY, was 16 years old and listed as a farmer by occupation. In 1855 he was still living in Bath, but in the Lawrence Church household, age 20, and "Tinner" was his listed occupation. He came to St. Anthony, Minnesota sometime after 1855, and was married to Angeline Hedderly, daughter of Edwin and Mary Jane (Kennard) Hedderly, on February 22, 1858. In 1859 he was in partnership with his father-in-law in the Hardware business at 116 Hennepin Ave. on Bridge Square, but later became sole proprietor and operated this business for many years. Edwin Hedderly gave his daughter Angeline and her husband Chester, as wedding gift, property located at 519 Hennepin Avenue where Chester and Angeline Roach raised their six children; Adelaide, born Dec 8, 1858, married Augustus McCracken; Janette, born March 28, 1862, married Fred Russell; Laura, born Nov 21, 1866 and died April 2, 1882; Frederick, born Nov 18, 1868, married Ida Mae Nelson; Angeline Elizabeth, born Dec 4, 1870, married John T. Ludlam; and Arthur Martin, born July 29, 1881, married Nelly Pearl Light.

Chester Roach died on February 3, 1892 leaving the property at 116 Hennepin Avenue. His wife Angeline was the sole owner of the home and property at 519 Hennepin, given to her exclusively by her father as wedding gift. The property at 116 Hennepin was sold when Chester died, and his sons, Frederick and Arthur Roach, renovated the 519 Hennepin Avenue property and went into the bicycle sales and repair business. They continued in business until 1908 when it was sold and the Plymouth Building, still standing, was then erected and is located (2003). Angeline (Hedderly) Roach died February 9, 1925. Chester Roach's original burial took place at Lyman' s Cemetery, on Lake Street and Cedar Ave., now known as "Old Pioneer and Soldiers" Cemetery. His body was later removed to Lakewood where he and Angeline were buried together.

Obituary - Minneapolis Tribune - February 4, 1892

DEATH OF CHESTER ROACH

ROACH, Chester, a well known citizen, passed away yesterday at his residence, 515 Hennepin Avenue, from inflammation of the stomach and bowels. Mr. Roach was a native of New York, was 59 years old and has lived in Minneapolis 38 years. He retired from business some time ago and leaves considerable property, including a block on Hennepin Avenue opposite the City Hall. The funeral occurs Friday at 2:30 p.m. from the residence with interment at Layman's.

Obituary - Mineapolis Journal - February 4, 1892

DEATH OF CHESTER ROACH

ROACH, Chester for years engaged in the Hardware business on Hennepin Avenue across from the City Hall, died yesterday of inflammation of the bowels, at his home, 515 Hennepin Avenue, age 60 years. The funeral will be held from his late residence tomorrow afternoon. He leaves a wife and several grown-up children and a valuable estate, including the homestead and the Bridge Square Block, where he was so long in business.

 

Biography of Angeline (Hedderly) Roach, written by her son, Frederick Roach,
Feb 1925.


(click for larger image)

ROACH, Angeline (see Hedderly family) was born December 2, 1838 in Philadelphia, on Calahill St. Her father was Edwin Hedderly, her mother was Mary Jane Kennard. They moved to Indianapolis when she was 2 1/2 years old. Mary Jane's mother had 2 children, one of the children died about the time Mary Jane, as Mrs. Hedderly, moved to Indianapolis. In Indianapolis they first lived over a grocery store. Then they moved to Illinois St. and lived here until August 1840. Mary Jane was then 12 years old. That summer she bought the small pocket knife she gave to me (Frederick Roach) about 1915. At this time the family consisted of Angeline Elizabeth, the oldest, Mary Emma, now Mrs. Henry Vroman of San Jose. Theresa Jane, now dead. Edwin Powell married ? Charlotte Carter, not married. Thomas Lupton married Jessie McGregor of Stillwater, Minnesota (I think). Alfred Henry married Ada Gorton of Minneapolis. They now live in Los Angeles. Daniel Gibson married Lillian Foster. At that time the Foster family home was on First Ave. North between 6th & 7th St. on the north side of the street about the center of the block in a white house. Josephine married Alvin Butler, they now live in San Jose.

The family lived in St. Anthony in 1850 at the Company House for about a year. This Company House belonged to the trading company that Edwin was working for. The family then moved to the rear of a store opposite the old St. Charles Hotel on the east side of St. Anthony proper on what was known at Main St. They did not use the store. The family lived there about a year. Thomas was born in this store. Edwin then took up a claim on the west side in March 1853. This claim was jumped, then Edwin took up a claim where the gas works now stand.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 620

ROBER, Lewis was born at Baldwinsville, Onondaga county, New York, November 11th, 1855. He became a resident of Minneapolis in 1880, and engaged in the North-western mill as machinist. He resides at corner of Eighth Avenue and Fourth street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 327

ROBERT, A. was born in Belgium, May 12th, 1813. For forty-three years he lived in his native land, then came to Minnesota, and settled in Corcoran. He removed to Maple Grove, and has since resided here. In 1863, he enlisted in Hatches Battalion Minn. Cavalry, and was discharged in May, 1866. Mr. Robert has never married.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 327

ROBERT, Henry a native of Belgium, was born May 15th, 1819. When thirty-four years of age, he came to America, and located at Lake Superior; then removed to Minnesota in 1856; lived at Greenwood five years, and in Corcoran two years; then came to Maple Grove. He removed to Corcoran again, but returned to Maple Grove, and has since resided here. He married Miss Matilda Twombley, October 3d, 1859. They have four children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 316

ROBERTS, Albert a native of Maine, was born in 1844. He enlisted in 1862, in Company C, twentieth Maine Regiment, was in the battles of White Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg and Cold Harbor. At the latter place he received a gun shot wound in the face, carrying the ball for nearly two months before it could be extracted. He graduated at Eastman's Commercial College, Poughkeepsie, New York, in 1866. Moved to Minnesota and settled on his present location. He has been chairman of the Board of Supervisors two years, assessor eight years, and was enumerator in 1875 and 1880. He married in 1868, Isabella M. McKindly. They have four children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 620

ROBERTS, William P. was born in Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, but when quite young accompanied his parents to Hartford county, Maryland, where his father died in 1858. They returned to the old homestead in Pennsylvania where he passed his time until 1863, when he enlisted in the Forty-seventh Pennsylvania Volunteer Militia, but was soon commissioned as second lieutenant in the Forty-fifth United States Colored Infantry, then was promoted to first lieutenant in August, 1865, and was discharged December 15th of that year. In January, 1866, he entered the State Normal School at Millersville, Pennsylvania, from which he graduated in 1867, and immediately entered the law school at Ann Arbor Michigan, graduating in March, 1869. He was admitted to the bar by the circuit court of Washtenaw county, Michigan, the same year. He soon came west and began his practice in Nebraska City, Nebraska. In 1874 he came to Minneapolis and the following spring opened an office where he has passed the greater portion of the time since in the diligent practice of his profession. He is now a member of the law firm of Benton, Benton and Roberts. His marriage with Miss Anna M. Pugh, occurred at Oxford, Pennsylvania, in 1869. He was made a widower in 1870. Six years after, he married Miss Agnes D. Taggart. They have two children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 620

ROBERTSON, James head miller of the Model mill, is a native of Scotland, born October, 1842. He came, with his parents to America when a babe, and located at Racine, Wisconsin. He learned milling at Racine, where he remained until 1871, when he removed to Lanesboro, Minnesota; he remained three years, then located in this city in 1875. He was employed in the Dakota mill three years, and has since been in charge of the Model mill.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 246

ROBERTSON, James K. born in Scotland, May 14, 1839. Served an apprenticeship of seven years at machine and engineering work. Run a locomotive on the Glasgow & Southwestern R. R., Scotland, then an engine for Baird Bros. 'Great Iron Works', Scotland. In 1865 came to America. Was engineer in the coal regions of Pennsylvania. Went to Nova Scotia in 1866. Started a tobacco factory in Dartsmouth. Sold it, and in 1876 came to Minneapolis, to work for Camp & Walker. Then came to Minnetonka, and now runs the engine in the mill. July 12, 1861, married Ellen Park, of Scotland. They have seven children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 620

ROBERTSON, L. R. was born near Ithaca, New York. September 3d, 1847. He acquired a knowledge of telegraphy when fifteen years of age, and operated at Ottawa, Canada, nine months. He was then transferred to Rouse's Point, New York; he was at that place when the news of the assassination of President Lincoln was sent over the wires. In 1865 he came west, his parents having preceded him, to Wisconsin, and was soon after sent to Minneapolis by the president of the North-western Telegraph Company. On coming here he took charge of the office in 1866, and is now manager of the same. He was married in 1870, to E. Louisa Waters, of this city. They have two children: Phillip W. and Raymond.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 620

ROBINSON, A. C. was born in St. Lawrence county, New York in l841. He learned the carpenters trade at the age of fifteen, and has been engaged in the pursuit of his trade continuously, except three years passed in the army. He enlisted in the fall of 1861, in the Sixtieth New York Volunteers. He received a wound at Lookout Mountain from which he suffered for five years. He was discharged from the hospital in 1864, and at once returned to St. Lawrence county, remaining until 1866, when he removed to Marseilles, Illinois, engaged in contracting and building. After the Chicago fire he passed the winter there taking contracts. In the spring of 1872 he located at Worthington, Minnesota, making it his home eight years, when he came to Minneapolis and at once made himself known as a contractor and builder, which business he still follows.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 246

ROBINSON, Alfred B. born in Vermont, May 1, 1815. Went to Whitehall, N. Y., enlisted in Company I, First U. S. Regular Infantry. Joined his regiment at Prairie du Chien, Wis. There three years. Then ordered to Florida under Col. Zachariah Taylor. Remained there five years. Ordered to Fort Snelling in 1842. Was there until 1845, when he was discharged. Came to Minnetonka in 1853, and in 1855 located where he now lives. In 1861 enlisted in Company A, Third Minnesota Volunteers. Was discharged and enlisted again in Company B, Sixth Minnesota Volunteers. Mustered out, October 1865. He married Celesta Caddet, who died in 1878. He is the father of three children. Two now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 621

ROBINSON, Charles register of deeds of Hennepin county, was born at Allegheny City, Pennsylvania, September 11th, 1839; he moved to New Castle and there remained until 1857, when he came to Minneapolis and worked in a harness shop one year, then learned photography and began business, continuing until the spring of 1862. He then went with the army of the Potomac as mail agent, suttler's clerk, etc., until the seven days' retreat, when he returned home, but soon after entered the western army, with the intention of taking pictures, but was taken prisoner at Fort Pillow; his apparatus was burned and he was robbed of his money and all his clothing except what he had on. He borrowed money enough to return home. On arriving he began working on a farm, continuing until the spring of 1868, when he entered the register of deeds office as clerk. He was deputy register six years and was elected register in 1877, and re-elected in 1879. He was married at Minneapolis in 1871 to Mrs. Annie Merritt. Two children have been born to them Charles and Florence P.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 621

ROBINSON, Charles N. was born at Millville, New Jersey, January 11th, 1853. He came with his parents to Minneapolis, when five years of age; attended the city schools and for two years was a student at the University. Since leaving school he has been in business with his father, S. C. Robinson, in contracting and building, with the exception of one year, during which he was employed in scaling logs for Day and Son. He is now a partner of the firm of Bardwell, Robinson and Company, in the manufacture of sash, doors, blinds, etc., at the foot of Thirteenth Avenue south. He was united in marriage to Miss Kate Eveland in 1875. They have one son, Frank. A., son George D., died in infancy.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 620

ROBINSON, D. L. was born at Falmouth, Massachusetts, in 1845. He located in Minneapolis in the fall of 1875, and was one year with S. B. Mattison in the omnibus business, also one year with W. L. Nichols. The firm of Robinson and Mead was then formed. Their livery stable is of stone 47xl74 feet; with room for ninety horses, located at 220 Third street south. Mr. Robinson was married in 1871 to Ellen E. Kimball of Winona. Ethel W. and Ella O., twins, and Louis K., are their children.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 306

ROBINSON, E. H. a native of Gardiner, Maine, was born in 1829. He remained with his parents on the farm, until seventeen years of age; then learned the mason's trade. In 1849, he, with his brother, moved to Wisconsin, and worked at his trade during the summer, and in the pineries through the winter. In the fall of 1850, he returned to Maine, and the following year, his father and family moved to Wisconsin, locating in Portage county. In the spring of 1853, E. H. came to Minneapolis, and purchased twenty-five dollars worth of goods, which he hired a Frenchman to take up to the mouth of Crow River, in a canoe. They reached their destination in two days, and found but one white man, John Veine, of whom he secured the use of a log cabin for his store. He opened a trade with the Indians, whose reservation was on the west side of Crow River. In the spring of 1854, he succeeded in purchasing Veine's claim, which included the site of the present village of Dayton. Mr. Veine left, and Mr. Robinson was for ten months alone with the Indians, at whose hands he came near losing his life, on several occasions. He sold John Baxter one-half interest in his store, and in 1855, they sold Lyman Dayton, of St. Paul, an undivided interest in a portion of their land. In I856, they sold Mr. Dayton an interest in the water-power and land adjoining. In the fall of 1856, they erected a steam sawmill near the mouth of Crow River. Soon after, Mr. Robinson bought his partner's interest in the store, and in 1857, bought his interest in the mill. He then sold to Mr. Dayton his entire interest in the water-power, and the following spring, sold his stock of goods. In the fall of 1858, he purchased another stock of goods, and in 1861, took as partner in the milling business, Frank Crocker, and continued thus two years, when he bought Crocker's interest, and in 1866, sold the entire establishment to a firm who failed, and the mill was taken away. In 1870, he built a new steam saw-mill near the site of the old one. In 1877, he sold the mill to H. A. Bennett, and it was burned the following year. Mr. Robinson's wife was Mrs. Sarah Gilson of New York, whom he married in 1856. They have had three children; George H., Horace R. and Frank L.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 621

ROBINSON, S. C. was born in Cumberland county, New Jersey, March 1st, 1831. At the age of fifteen he went from home to work on a farm and two years later apprenticed as carpenter, and served until twenty-one years of age. He then moved to Millvii1e, New Jersey, and engaged in his trade. In 1858 he removed to Minneapolis. For six years he was foreman for Eastman, Gibson and Company, in the coopering department, then engaged in contracting and building. In 1876 he entered the firm of Bardwell, Robinson and Company. He was married in 1852, to Miss Mary Dare. Their children are Charles N., and Mary W.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 337

ROEHL, Nicholas a native of Prussia, was born February 21st, 1827. When Nicholas was ten years old, his father died, and four years later, he began teaching, which he continued four years. His mother died, and he engaged in farming for nine years. He was married January 22d, 1849, to Anna Mary Schneider, and in June, 1854 brought his family to America, and settled near Saint Paul. In April, 1864, he bought the farm in Plymouth, where he now lives, situated eleven miles west of Minneapolis, where he has built up a pleasant home. He has been supervisor and justice of the peace, and has also been assessor three years. Of the twelve children born to them eight are now living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 621

ROELLER, M. was born in Ohio in 1845. He accompanied his parents to St. Paul in 1852, where he received his education, remaining until 1864. After spending some time in traveling, he located at Chicago; thence removing to New Haven, Connecticut, where he remained six years. He then came to Minneapolis, where he has since resided. He is extensively engaged in the manufacture of carriages. His marriage with Miss Paulina Dolson of St. Paul occurred June 10th, 1873. Residence, 1212 Seventh street south.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 262

ROEMER, Eliza J. the subject of this sketch, was born in Lincoln, Maine, March 26th, 1831, and came with her parents, W. S. and Matilda Stinson, in 1849, to St. Anthony, Minnesota. January 27th, 1850, she married W. M. Dwinells, of Ramsey county, who was one of the first brick makers in St. Paul, where he died, June 19th, 1875. In 1876, the widow and family came to Minnetrista. She has three children living, Charles, C., Clara B., and Emma J. July 9th, 1877, Mrs. Dwinells married W. H. Roemer, who was born, April 21st, 1850, in Pike county, Pennsylvania, and commenced photographing at thirteen years of age, then learned the harness trade, and followed other pursuits until 1868, when he came to Minnetrista. They have a fine home, three miles south of Maple Plain.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 621

ROGERS, B. C. was born in Vermont in 1836. He came to Minneapolis in 1878, and since February, 1880 he has been proprietor of the New York restaurant at 114 Hennepin Avenue. It has a seating capacity for seventy-five. Mr. Rogers married Elvira Walker in 1874, who bore him one child, Leroy C.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 621

ROGERS, G.D. was born in Pennsylvania September 30th, 1830. At eight years of age he moved to Oswego, New York, remaining until 1847, when he returned to Pennsylvania. In 1854 he removed to LaFayette county, Wisconsin, and engaged in farming and milling until 1862. He enlisted in the Thirty-first Wisconsin Infantry, commissioned as captain. After serving nine months as such he was promoted to the rank of major; one month later he was commissioned lieutenant colonel and next colonel. In the fall of 1865 he was discharged, after which he went to Iowa, speculating in grain. In 1874 he came to Minneapolis, where he has since been engaged in the wholesale grain and commission business. He married Sarah M. Gillett in 1853. Their children are Plum A. and Emma.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 621

ROGERS, N. was born at Adrian, Michigan, in 1836. At the age of seventeen, he went with his parents to Decorah, Iowa, where they had a saw and grist-mill. He remained there six years, when the whole family removed to Leavenworth, Kansas, in l861. His father built a steam saw and grist-mill at that place which he, N. Rogers, run two years. He spent a number of years in Iowa and Wisconsin, coming to Minneapolis in 1874, and has been in the Cataract and Standard mills since. He married Miss Lydia Griswold in 1859. Their children are Albert, Harlan, William F., Edward F. and Clarence E.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 622

ROGERS, Richard was born at Ripley, Maine, June 8th, 1835. He worked with his father at mill-wrighting and milling. In 1853, he went with Gov. Stearns on the Oregon expedition as far as Cheyenne river; he returned alone, and on foot as far as Sauk Rapids. In 1859, he went from St. Joseph, Missouri, to Honey Lake Valley, California. Returned to Illinois, and in 1861, enlisted in the Forty-seventh Illinois Brigade; was three years with that brigade, Eighth Wisconsin, Eleventh Missouri and Fifth Minnesota, known as the Eagle Brigade, commanded by J. Mowers. He contracted a disease of the eyes which at first was not thought serious, but finally resulted in total blindness, in June, 1871. He has received full pension since his discharge. His wife was Miss Nora Jones, of Peoria, Illinois, whom he married in 1865. She died at Peoria in 1871. He lives at 128 Flournoy street, Chicago.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 622

ROGERS, Richard C. was born at Hopkins, New Hampshire, April 20tb, 1802. In early childhood he accompanied his parents to Ripley, Maine, where he lived until 1848, when he came to Fort Snelling. Fifteen hundred Indians arrived the same day, on route for Crow Wing and adjacent points, sent from former localities in Wisconsin. In 1851 his family joined him here, locating where he now lives at 207 Second street south, East Minneapolis. The west side was then included in the military reservation. Mr. Rogers worked first on a mill near the mouth of Bassett's creek. He made two trips to California, and with that exception has lived here since his first arrival. He has retired from active life, and now enjoys the fruits of his labors. He married Miss Mary Watson, who bore him five children. She died in 1860 during Mr. Roger's absence in California. Six years later, he married Mariam Cobb.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 246

ROHLFTNG, Frederick born in Prussia, Dec. 29, 1823. Came to America in 1844. Lived in St. Louis until 1855, when he came to Minnesota and located the farm on which his widow and family now live. Married Wilmina Telgman, of St. Louis, 1866, and returned to his home in Minnetonka. They have five children now living. Mrs. B. is an active member of the church, and now superintendent of the Sabbath-school. Mr. Rohlfing died November 16th, 1878.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 623

ROLPH W. T. of the firm of Salisbury, Rolph and Company, mattress manufacturers, was born in Lewis county, New York, October 20th 1857. He moved with his parents to New York city, where he received his education. He came to Minneapolis, October 1st, 1880, and entered into partnership with T. G. Salisbury and Company in the manufacture of mattresses. Located on 110 Main street, south-east.

 

Obituary- Mpls Journal, 9 Dec 1925
Mrs. Alice (Nettleton) Rollins. Provided by Steve Krahn
millcity@cpinternet.com

ROLLINS, MRS. ALICE, EDUCATOR DEAD. One of 6 Girls in Central's First Graduating Class - Teacher Here 48 Years
Mrs. Alice F. Rollins, one of the six girls in the first graduating class at Central high school, a teacher in Minneapolis public schools for 48 years, 21 of them as principal of the Sheridan school, today is dead at the home of her son, in San Francisco.
Mrs. Rollins began teaching in Minneapolis when there were 14,000 persons in the city, when the city boasted just eight teachers, when hazel nut bushes grew on Fourth street, and when there were 600 Indians camping within a stone's throw of her father's house.
Many of Minneapolis' leading citizens are numbered among Mrs. Rollins former pupils. In the list are Charles and William Bovey, Walter and Clarence Brown, Walter Eggleston, Perry and George Harrison, Anton and Mrs. Anton Knoblaugh, Sam and James Thorpe, Walter and John Boutell, Michael Ja_, leader of the University of Minnesota Band; Louise Dyer, and actress, and many others.
Mrs. Rollins, who was 74 years old at the time of her death, came to Minneapolis with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Nettleton, in 1857. In 1870, she began as a teacher in the old Lincoln school, as a primary principal. In 1872, whe married Charles G. Rollins, and was transferred to the Jefferson school, where she taught until 1876. She taught at Madison until 1878, and then returned to Jefferson as primary principal. In 1880, Mr. Rollins insisted upon her retiring, and she remained in private life until 1890, when Mr. Rollins died. In 1894, she was appointed principal of Schiller school. Next she went to Tuttle school, as principal, and in 1897 to Sheridan, where she served continuously until her retirement in 1918.
In 1904, she wrote a handbok on "Industrial Work for Public Schools," still used as a manual in several cities.
She is survived by a son, Walter, and a daughter, Mrs. Roy Hull of San Francisco; a brother, Berney Nettleton of Seattle, and a sister, Mrs. Nellie Plummer of Los Angeles. - Mpls Journal, 9 Dec 1925
 

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 622

ROLLINS, John one of the earliest pioneers of this region, was born in New Sharon, Franklin county, Maine, March 23d, 1806; lived at or near his birthplace until 1837, when he removed to Penobscot county, and for two years kept a trading post and stopping place for travelers, on the military road between Bangor and Houlton. He then removed to Old Town, where for three years he engaged in lumbering; then settled in Aroostook county, where for nine years he operated as contractor and route agent, and had charge of the state appropriations for both Maine and Massachusetts. He also kept a hotel, and opened up a farm during his stay there. In the fall of 1848 he came west by the route then known as "round the lakes," landing at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, thence by team to Prairie du Chien, from which point he and his partner, A. Godfrey, came to this region, having hired a Frenchman, with three ponies, to bring them through. This journey is fraught with amusing and interesting incidents, some of which will be given a place in this work. When Capt. Rollins arrived at the site of our now prosperous city, there were only two frame houses, one "block" or "timber" house, and one shanty. These were on what is now Second street, near the foundry. One of the frame houses was occupied by R. P. Russell, then newly married, and with whom Mr. Rollins stopped during his stay here. It was the 5th of December, 1848, when Mr. Rollins arrived here. He found the water so low that fording was safe in many places, while above the falls the river was frozen sufficiently to admit of crossing on the ice, something that has not occurred since. On the 25th of December, Mr. Rollins set out for home, making the journey in safety, and the following spring he removed here with his family, and at once mingled in the busy scenes incident to frontier life. He built a house on Main street, near the present location of the great lumber mills. Soon after he formed a partnership with Governor Ramsey and others, and built a small steamboat named the Governor Ramsey above the falls, the machinery for which was shipped from Bangor, Maine, and reshipped at Boston, New Orleans, St. Louis and Dubuque, to St. Paul, from whence it was brought by ox team to its destination. (This machinery is now doing good service on the Red River). After two years of river navigation, Captain Rollins sold his interest in the "Governor Ranasey" and with other parties built and operated the Island flouring mills. Their wheat was shipped here from Wisconsin and Iowa, little or none being raised here at that time. After three or four years of milling, the captain invested in the "Clark" lumber mill, in which he was interested for about ten years. Since then his interests have been varied, but principally given to lumbering and farming. He has now a fine residence, comer of Seventh street and Eighth Avenue south-east, in front of which may be seen a row of beautiful cottonwoods planted by him twenty-four years ago, and now from two and a half to three feet in diameter. Captain Rollins was married to Miss Betsy Martin, June 9th, 1832, at Newport, Maine. Nine children have been born to them, seven of whom are living, and all within four blocks of the homestead.

From "History of the Minnesota Valley", published by the North Star Publishing Company, 1882.

Page 282

ROLLINS, Captain John, one of the pioneers of this region, was born in New Sharon, Franklin county, Maine, March 23, 1806. In the fall of 1848 he came to Minnesota, arriving at St. Anthony Falls in December. At that time there were only four houses in the place. The following spring he brought out his family and has since been a resident of Minneapolis. For two years he navigated the Mississippi above the falls, on the little steamer Governor Ramsey. He has since been chiefly interested in lumbering and farming. Married at Newport, Maine, in 1832, Miss Betsey Martin, who has borne him nine children, seven of whom are living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 623

ROLLINS, Mortimer B. was born at Old Town, Maine, January 26th, 1837. He came to St. Anthony in 1849 with his father, who was among the earliest settlers in the county. In 1860, he engaged in lumbering in which he continued ten years. He then began in the milling business at the Zenith mill, the firm name being L. Day and Company; which firm the fire of 1878, was the means of dissolving. He was married in 1858 to Miss Abby M. Day, who bore him two children, Fred. and John L. Mrs. Rollins died in 1871. His second wife was Maria Ferkins and to them have been born two children, twins, a boy and girl; Harry and Maud.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 623

ROOTES, J. W. is a native of England, born at Kent, September 15th, 1841. He learned the miller's trade in his native country, and emigrated to America in 1860, and located at Troy, New York. In 1861, he enlisted in the Second New York Volunteers, served two years and was honorably discharged. This regiment was the first that camped outside Fort Monroe. Was taken prisoner at Fair Oaks and held five days. He was employed in mills in Ohio and New York, and in 1869 came to Minneapolis. In 1877, he formed a partnership with Russell and Hineline and built the Model mill, and has since been conducting it. He was married to Rebecca Ann Van Epps, March 9th, 1864.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 276

ROSANDER, Andrew J. a native of Sweden, was born in 1850. He emigrated to America in 1872, and located at Castle Rock, Dakota county, Minnesota; moved to Anoka, then to Wisconsin for a short time, thence to Minneapolis and engaged in brick making in 1878. Married in 1880 to Hannah C. Johnson. Mr. Rosander has now rented the ".Medina House" at Long Lake for a term of years.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 623

ROSBACH, Nic. A. was born in Carver county, Minnesota, July 10th, 1856. In 1858 he came to Minneapolis; he learned the business of a butcher when quite a young man, and has been in the business a greater part of his time. In May, 1880, he opened an establishment at 201 Twentieth Avenue south, where he keeps wines, liquors, cigars, and, confectionery. He married Mary Brinkman, May 9th, 1877. Their children are: Cordelia and Christina P.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 623

ROSE, A. S. F. is a native of Upper Canada, born in 1834. He learned the trade of millwright at Buffalo, New York, 1846, and followed that business until August, 1878, when he came to Minneapolis and began work in the Humboldt mill, and until the fall of next year was employed in different mills throughout the north-west, and has since been in the Crown Roller mill. His marriage with Miss Elizabeth Choles occurred at Buffalo, New York, in 1879.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 623

ROSSER, T. L. was born in Campbell county, Virginia, October 15th, 1836. At the age of thirteen he went to Texas with his parents settling in Panola county, where his father owned a plantation. In 1856 he was appointed a cadet to West Point Military Academy, from which he graduated in 1861, and returned to the south. He was commissioned first lieutenant in the artillery service of the confederate regular army but was elected captain of the Washington artillery, from New Orleans, and accepted that position instead. He participated in all of the battles fought by the army of Northern Virginia until the battle of Appomattox, having risen in the mean time to the rank of major-general. He was wounded several times, once quite seriously. At the close of the war he entered the Washington Law University, at Lexington, Virginia, graduating in law, in 1866. He then took charge of the southern division of the National Express Company with headquarters' at New Orleans. The fall of that year, he went to Baltimore and made a hydrographical survey of the harbor there. On coming west he engaged, with the Northern Pacific Railway, as chief engineer of construction. In 1879, he resigned, and engaged in business as railroad contractor. His wife was Elizabeth W. Winston, of Virginia, married in 1863. Their children are, Sarah O., Thomas L., William W. Elizabeth F., and Margaret.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 624

ROTH, Barney was born at Washington, District of Columbia, May 21st, 1853. When a child he accompanied his parents, to Richmond, Virginia. In 1870 he removed to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and became familiar with the bakery business, in which he has since engaged. He became a resident of Minneapolis in 1876, filling responsible positions in different establishments for three years, and has since kept one of his own, at 928 First street north.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 624

ROTH, H. A. was born in New York city, in 1854. He came to Minnesota about 1860, locating with his parents on a farm in Le Sueur county. He came to Minneapolis in 1870, having been engaged in farming and carpentering until that time. In 1879 he opened an establishment, dealing in new and second hand furniture, stoves, crockery, guns, etc., located at 23 Washington Avenue south. He was united in marriage to Miss Maggie Delbon, in 1877.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 624

ROTHAKER, Charles L. is a native of Switzerland, born in 1828. He came to the United States in 1848, going first to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, thence to Cincinnati. He engaged in the bakery and saloon business in Missouri, Wisconsin, and Minnesota until 1868. He then came th Minneapolis and opened a bakery at 709 Nineteenth Avenue south. He was married to Susanna C. Eschler, in 1857. Their children are, Eliza M., Mary L., Charles B., Emil O., Fred J., and Ida J

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 338

ROTHS, Jacob a native of Germany, was born August 6th, 1837. He remained with his parents until he reached maturity. He was married October 19th, 1865, to Katherine Nilles, of Germany, and in November started for America. He came directly to Minnesota and lived on Medicine Lake till January 1866, when he bought the farm where he now lives. He has been treasurer of the to township four years, also supervisor, and is chairman of the present board. He has a family of seven children: four boys and three girls.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 297

ROUGIER, Nelson was born in Montreal, in 1813. At the age of three years he removed with his parents to Kankakee, Illinois; thence to Belle Prairie, Minnesota, in 1856. Ten years later he came to Osseo, and started a wagon shop. He was married in 1833, to Rosa Begnoche, of Canada. They have five children living.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 624

ROWE, C. H. of the firm of Grove and Rowe, wood merchants, was born at New Sharon, Franklin county, Maine, in 1845. He went to Farmington, Maine, in 1867, and attended the Normal school two years. He removed to Illinois in the spring of 1869, and in the fall came to Minneapolis. After teaching school one term at Excelsior he began in the grocery business with W. B. Jones. He engaged in different lines of business until 1874, when he bought a home in this city, and with his partner has pursued his calling as wood merchant. He married Ellen C. Jones in 1870, who died in 1871, leaving one daughter, Mary E. His second wife was Anitte A. Hankinson, who bore him three children: Francis A., Charles R., and Agnes H.

 

Contributed by Wayne Blesi waybliss@aol.com


 
RUEGG, MATHEW
Mathew Ruegg was born in Schwanden, Switzerland on Feb.6,1866. He came to St. Louis, MO. about 1886 & worked for the Anheiser Busch Beer Company and drove the
team of 10 Clydesdales horses that pulled the large beer wagon. He came to the New Schwanden area of Dayton Township around 1905 & married the widow of Nicholas
Wilmes, Maria (Mary) Zopfi Wilmes, on April 1,1906. Mary was born on Nov.15,1868 and they continued living in the Wilmes homestead which was next to the Frederick
Zimmerman's farm on the south side. Maria had 3 children with Nicholas  1. George, 2. Ernestine, 3. Helen Wilmes. There were no children born of Mary's second marriage.
Maria had 3 children with Nicholas 1. George,  2. Ernestine, 3. Helen Wilmes. Mathew died on Oct.8,1934 and is buried in the St.Fridolin Cemetery, New Schwanden,Champlin,
MN. Mary died on Mar.28,1986 & is buried beside Her first Husband Nicholas Wilmes in the St.Vincent DePaul Cemetery,Osseo,MN.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 624

RUNGE, August H. a citizen of Minneapolis, was born in New York city, February 12th, 1852. At the age of twelve years he entered the United states navy as naval apprentice, on board the school ship "Sabine." In June, 1865, was transferred on board the flagship "Colorado" of the European squadron; two years later he was again transferred to the Pacific squadron and remained until his discharge as an able seaman. He then went to the Pennsylvania oil regions to study practical and mechanical engineering. In 1873 he returned to New York and entered a machine shop, here he remained until called to Minneapolis to superintend the steam heating department and engine of the City hall. He volunteered in the fire department in 1874, and was promoted to assistant foreman, and in 1879 was appointed by the city, foreman of Hook and Ladder Company No. 1, in the paid department. He was married in 1876, to Miss Louisa Ende. One daughter was born to them, Mabel S.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 625

RUSSELL, Albert W. was born in Vermont in 1839, where he lived until seventeen years of age. In 1856 he took a prospecting tour through Wisconsin, Illinois and Michigan. In 1850 he learned carpentering and joining. He enlisted in 1861 in the Second Vermont Infantry. He was in many of the prominent conflicts, having his gun shattered into fragments, when in his hands, without being wounded. In 1864 he was discharged, but after a quiet life of two months, he re-enlisted in Company E, Seventh Vermont, and served until 1865. He then returned to Vermont where he speculated in real estate and lumber; thence to Wisconsin, where he traveled for a wholesale house. He located in Minneapolis in 1877, and has since been dealing in sewing machines. He was married in 1866 to Sarah Scribner, by whom he had two children. His wife died in 1876. His second wife was Amelia Lockwood, of this city.

 

From "Minneapolis Portrait of the Past", collected and compiled by Edward A. Bromley. Voyaguer Press 1890. (See also Roswell P. Russell below)


(Click for large image)

RUSSELL, R.P. R. P. Russell is another who takes high rank among the early and active pioneers. A native of Richland, Vt., he was only nineteen years old when he came to Fort Snelling in 1839. In 1847 he lovated in St. Anthony and opened the first store. In 1854 he became receiver of the land office. Later he was in the hardware businesss for at time and tried his hand at farming. He was part owner of a planing mill built in 1862 and made over into a flour mill in 1878; was a member of the firm which which bilt the Dakota flour mill in 1870. He served a term in the legislature and held many local offices. In 1890 he is still living in Minneapolis, which large lumber and other interests to look after.

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing. (See Also R.P. Russell above)

Page 624

RUSSELL, Roswell P. one of the oldest settlers in this county, was born at Richland, Vermont, March 15th, 1820. At the age of thirteen he went to Burlington, where he remained three years; then went to Michigan, and passed two years at Detroit and Kalamazoo. He was a school-mate of H. M. Rice, and both came to Michigan at the same time. Rice went to St. Louis, Missouri, where he engaged with McKenzie to go to Fort Snelling and take charge of the stock of goods taken there by Baker. Needing an assistant, Rice sent for Russell to accompany him. The journey to Prairie du Chien was not difficult, from there to La Crosse they came in a Mackinaw boat, but at the latter place the boat was frozen in and they were obliged to pursue their journey on foot, but being unused to walking, their distress was great. The second night out, they took possession of an old Indian farmer's place, he being absent, and in the morning purchased three pounds of pork of the missionary, for which they paid the modest sum of two dollars. They arrived at Fort Snelling about the 5th of November, 1839 and he remained there until 1847, when he and Findley made a claim on the east side, extending from Boom Island to the present stone arch bridge, and back indefinitely; two years after, they sold this claim to Pierre Bottineau. In 1847, Mr. R. P. Russell opened the first store in St Anthony, in a two-story building of hewn logs, erected by Franklin Steele. The dam was commenced about this time, and the workmen, together with a few French families, were Mr. Russell's customers. One and one-half years later he went to St. Paul, but soon returned and continued his merchandise business until 1854, when he was appointed receiver in the land office, which position he filled three years, a part of the time requiring four or five clerks, the business was so great. In the fall of 1858 he bought the hardware stock of Spear and Davison, which he sold two years later and turned his attention to farming until 1862, when he, in company with George Huy, erected a planing mill; in 1878 they added to the building and converted it into the flour mill. He was also one of the firm who, in 1870, built the Dakota mill. Mr. Russell has been active in both public and private life; has served one term in the legislature, and often in town offices; he was the first chairman of the town board, and holds that position at the present writing. October 3d, 1848, his marriage occurred, with Marion Patch. The children born to them are: Lucy, now Mrs. W. C. Colbrath; Charles, In trade at Fargo, Dakota; Roswell, Jr., book-keeper for B. F. Nelson, (his wife was Caroline Beach); Mary, who is at home; Carrie, now Mrs. Frank Lovejoy; Fred and Frank, twins; George B. McClellan, Willie and Eddie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 625

RUST, George, H. was born July 26th, 1839, at Wolfaboro, New Hampshire. He attended the Academy at his native place, also at Thetford, Vermont and graduated as civil engineer from the Kentucky Military Institute near Frankfort in 1856. He at once engaged in the pursuit of his profession, on what is now the La Crosse division of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railway, He came to Minneapolis in 1857, and has since made this place his home. In 1863, he entered the commissary department of the military division of the north-west, where he remained until 1866. On returning to this city, he became a partner of S. C. Gale, and soon after engaged alone in real estate and insurance business. He married Josephine Varney, of Boston, in 1865. They have one child, Gertrude.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 625

RYAN, John W. was born at Syracuse, New York, May 31st, 1853. He came to Wisconsin when one year old with his parents. After coming to Minnesota, he farmed one year, then was employed on the railroad and ran a train three years, then surveyed for the Chicago and North-western railroad five years. He began milling in March, 1873 for the Pillsbury company, and has remained with them since. He married Miss Mary Rouike, July 24th, 1876. Their children are: Anne and Joseph.W.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 221

RYAN, Patrick A. a native of Ireland, was born in 1831, and carne to this country in 1847. Resided in Pennsylvania and Ohio until 1854 when he came to Minnesota, first settling on a homestead in the town of Hassan, Hennepin county. In 1868 he sold his farm and remove Saint Anthony where he resided until 1874 when he purchased the farm he has since occupied in the town of Richfield. Married Julia Quinn in 1867.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 625

RYAN, Samuel W. of the firm of Ryan, Wales and Company, was born at Sharon, Hillsborough county, New Hampshire, November 24th, 1836. In 1854, he moved to California, where he remained until 1856, when he came to Minnesota and took a claim near Litchfield. Three years later, he removed to Miami county, Indiana, engaged in farming eight years. He then located on a farm at Brooklyn, Hennepin county, Minnesota which he still owns. In 1880, he became a partner in the firm of Ryan and Wales, in which he still continues. He was married in 1859 to Hattie J. Joslyn of New Hampshire. They have five children: Mary B., Marcellus M., Hannah J. Martha C. and Clistie.

 

History of Hennepin County and The City of Minneapolis, 1881. North Star Publishing

Page 625

RYBERG, John is a native of Sweden, born April 18th, 1851.. He came to America in 1872 and two years later located at Minneapolis. He worked at lumbering four years, then became a member of the firm of Ryberg and Company; the firm consisting of John Ryberg, A. P. Molin and C. Johnson. They have the Stockholm meat market at 1410 Washington Avenue south, established in 1876. Mr. Ryberg was married in 1874 to Augusta Oleson, of Sweden, who has borne him three children, Wolfred A., Charles O. and Nellie.

 

Submitted by Wayne Blesi, Waybliss@aol.com


Click to Enlarge

RYCHNER, Samuel Frederick

Samuel Frederick Rychner was born at Aarau, Switzerland on June 5, 1824.  He married about 1849 to Maria "Mary" Flick of Liesberg, Switzerland, Canton Bsrn.
They came to Diana, Lewis County, NY. about
1850. Mary was born on Mar.29,1831. There were 8 children born of this union, all of which were born in Diana, Lewis County NY.
They came to Morrison County, Platte Township near Pierz, Little Falls & Ripley, MN. area about 1870. The Rychner's were related to the Blesi family of New
Schwanden because of the 2 Mueller Sisters of Magdalena Blesi and Mary Richner. This is how Harry H. Blesi met his future wife Sadie M. Signor of Randall, MN. was through the
Rychner acquaintances. The children of Samuel & Mary Rychner are : 1. John Frederick born on Jun. 12,1851 & died in 1870 at Diana, NY, 2. Maria Ann born on Apr.23,1853 &
died about 1923 at Oakdale, N D., 3. Anthony August was born on Aug. 22,1855 & died on Apr.24,1939 at Wyoming, MN. He had a gas station. 4. Charles Edwin was born on Oct.20,1858
& married Maria "Mary" Mueller, He died on Feb.12,1935 in Platte Township, Morrison County, MN., 5. Joseph Bernard was born on Dec.6,1862. His death date is not known.
6. Robert Ralph was born on Mar.23,1865 His death date is not known. 7. Bertha Elizabeth was born on May 20,1868 & died on Jul.14,1936, 8. Henry Gottlieb was born on Sept.12,1869
& married Cora Tamia Olson Rychner on Oct.3, 1923. He died about 1955 near Killdeer, ND.